BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Motel Six Downtown include:

  • 4 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 3 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Motel Six Downtown include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Motel Six Downtown
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 30, 2006 Business started: 01/01/2000 Business started locally: 01/01/2000
Business Management
Mr. Ravi Dcruz, Manager Manager, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Ravi Dcruz, Manager
Business Category

Motels

Alternate Business Names
Motel 6 Shilo Inn

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    518 NE Holladay St

    Portland, OR 97232 (503) 234-4391

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Without going into too much detail because it's quite complicated with four rooms involved, this property overcharged me on my credit card. It was not at all what was quoted to me when I checked in and when I checked out, and the manager was extremely rude when I tried to call back to straighten things out. He claimed no knowledge of it and refused to pull up the files. Then, he hung up on me after refusing to go through the charges item by item with me. I don't mind paying what the proper amount should be, but I don't even know what that is since there are several conflicting documents. The staff is poorly trained. All I want is to be charged the correct amount. Additionally, one of the rooms had a non-functional sink. Eventually, this person was moved. This is no way to run a business and I now know why it got such bad reviews online. I should've read this first before staying at this horrible property.

Desired Settlement: The only thing I should be charged for:******** ***** $328.46 (4 nights)***** *** ******* $328.46 (4 nights)******** ***** $402.70 (5 nights)****** ******* $402.70 charged to my credit card and $172.11 on his own. (7 nights)Total charge to me: $1,462.32Thank you!

7/20/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the early morning of Thursday, May 14th we arrived in Portland, Oregon . We had made a reservation to stay at the Motel 6 the night of May 15th. Due to the fact that we arrived earlier than expected from Vancouver, BC, I approached the service window upon our arrival to the Motel Parking Lot at around 8:30-9pm. I asked if our room was available for an extra night. The clerk informed me that it was through the service window (picture attached; he said that at that time, customers could no longer enter), that we could pay for and take the room that night. He said nothing else and handed me the transaction machine. As I was paying I passed the room keys cards (which I was only provided after agreeing to pay (this should have been a warning flag to us, but we trusted that service would be as advertised), to my partner who upon entering and seeing the room called me over and came back saying the room was nothing like what we had seen online (picture of room promoted online for the specific Portland, Oregon Holladay St. Convention Centre location attached). The transaction at that point had sadly, already been completed- but I have to highlight that NOTHING was said to me by the clerk about their supposed no refund policy, I was also not provided at all with any information about their policies/ invoice/ agreement to sign. I accompanied my partner to the room and we promptly noticed that the room had not been properly cleaned and there was an overwhelming smell of mold, cigarettes and dust. I went back to tell the clerk that the room was nothing like what we had seen online, and he showed me to another available room. This room also smelled of old mold and was improperly cleaned, with stained sheets; neither of the rooms were even similar to what was advertised online. It was unacceptable for us to stay at the motel because my partner suffers from chronic asthma and allergies triggered by mold and tobacco (if needed, we can provide proof of this upon our return to Vancouver, BC, next week). We promptly went down to the service window to inform the clerk that we could not stay there and requested a refund, at least a partial refund for one of the nights understanding that there may be some sort of charge in relation to our original reservation. However, the clerk immediately said that no refund was possible, despite our insistence that the service Motel 6 was offering was nothing compared to what was advertised; the rooms were in dirty/ mouldy condition and the one employee on site seemed to be a drug user with erratic behaviour. The clerk would not provide us with any information besides telling us that the manager would be in at 7am. At this point, we contacted the Portland City police, who met with us. They explained that the Motel had failed to provide us with proper paperwork upon our payment and a refund policy explanation prior to payment. Their policy regarding cancellations is online (screenshot attached), but it says nothing about not being able to do refunds should there be a service issue. The clerk referred us to a sign that we could not read from outside the service window, the sign was located inside the reception area by the far wall and not facing towards us until that very moment when he tilted it towards us, which stated that they did not to refunds. The police advised that we speak with the property manager the next morning. We left Motel 6, and had to sleep in our car, since we already provided them our hotel money for the night. Promptly the next morning at 7:30am we returned to the Motel 6 reception area and entered to speak with the property manager. We asked him for his full name, but he would not provide us this info and from the moment we introduced ourselves and said we had to speak to him about a service issue he became very rude and belligerent stating that he had heard about our problem and there was nothing he would do; would being the key word he used many times, because there was in fact something he could do, at a very minimum that was to provide good customer care in that very moment of interaction. We explained how none of the rooms were as published online (showed him the picture; screenshot of online pictures attached)- he said this was not his problem, stated it had only been a matter of minutes between the payment being processed and seeing the rooms which we could not see until the payment was completed until we saw that the rooms were in gross condition, and that we had received absolutely no description of their refund policies prior to payment, nor did we even receive any sort of transaction receipt/ paperwork to sign beside the actual Capital 1 mastercard transaction receipt which came out of the machine. We also explained to him that the police had stated he owed us some sort of partial compensation/ refund, paper work his property manager info. He became more belligerent shouting that he was done talking and to get out. We said that we would not leave until we received some sort of customer service attention. At that point, we retreated to our car in the parking lot where we called the Motel 6 Customer Service line (recording attached). We spoke with Londa, who confirmed that Motel 6 did not have a specific refund policy and that we had to speak to the property manager and that it was he who had to provide us with the customer care, that was up to him to provide us with the refund. She also stated that the Holladay St. Motel 6 location was independently owned. We returned to the reception area to attempt to try to rationalize with the property manager again that he was not entitled keep all of our $213.00, given that we were not provided with the promoted service, nor did we even stay the night, because the rooms were in such negatively health-impacting conditions. We informed him of what the Motel 6 customer service rep had said on the phone, that it was up to him to provide us with the refund, and requested once again his contact info, this t

Desired Settlement: As we said to the Motel 6 property manager we sincerely believe that we are entitled to a refund, for either both of the nights or at least 50% of the two nights (we did not stay at their site for either one of the nights. We really hope to receive some justice for the customer service abuse we suffered and spare others from having to undergo the same trouble.

6/26/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On a recent stay at a motel 6 in downtown Portland, we received the worst customer service and were forced to stay in a motel room that was definitely a health hazard. Upon arrival, we were charged two nights up front for a motel room that was not even what we had asked for and we were told that the room we initially reserved weeks prior was given away and that the room they gave us was already taken. Unfortunately, the surrounding hotels were all completely booked, so we had no other choice but stay. Upon entering the room, it was evident that this place was completely run down and that the owners/management were not properly taking care of the place. There were holes in the walls, ceiling, bed linens, and pieces of furniture were broken. The room smelled as though it had never been cleaned, and although we got a non smoking room, it was definitely not. The bathroom walls, ceiling and bathtub were full or green and black mold. ( I also have pictures that I took of all of this). After seeing this, I was in complete shock that someone would allow their guests to stay on such filth and unsanitary conditions. We immediately asked for a refund, but were told by the owner/manager "I do not give refunds. This is how I become a millionaire!" Seriously? You put people's health in jeopardy to earn an extra buck? I contacted guest relations at Motel 6 and filed a complaint in hopes of alerting corporate of such a disgusting place and to receive a refund. Several days pasted and all I received were two emails saying sorry, we will use your reviews to help encourage our team. This does not cut it. We spent our hard earned money on a motel room stay were we couldn't even spend time in the room for fear of breathing in all those mold spores. Someone should shut this place down and require a serious cleaning. I want our money back for this terrible stay, and want others to know what they are getting in to. GROSS!

Desired Settlement: I am requesting a refund in the told amount of the stay which was $198.43 credited back to my credit card. Also, I am hoping that this place is contacted by the health board so that no one else has so stay in a unhealthy place like that. I am so glad that we didn't have any kiddos staying with us.

5/5/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *******************, Portland's MOTEL 6 is HORRIBLE! The Indian fellow running the place was extremely rude and patronizing! I decided to extend my stay and went to make payment 15 minutes after checkout and was given a lecture on timeliness and was told that I was 'acting like an 18 yr.old', for not coming down to pay on time. Utterly ridiculous. And as a 40 yr old veteran, no less! So very disrespectful. I don't know if was racism per se but it sure felt like racial contempt

Desired Settlement: A refund for one night's stay!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 13, 2014/04/18) */ We have already contacted the guest and have agreed to give him a free stay upon his next visit..anytime he would wish to do so...we have also send him an apologize letter on behalf of our company...


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Motel Six Downtown
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)