This business is not BBB accredited.

Corvallis Super 8 Motel

Phone: (541) 758-8088 Fax: (541) 758-8267 407 NW 2nd St, Corvallis, OR 97330 http://www.super8.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Corvallis Super 8 Motel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Corvallis Super 8 Motel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 19, 2011 Business started: 01/01/1994 in OR Business started locally: 01/01/1994
Type of Entity

Franchisee

Business Category

Motels

Alternate Business Names
Meharban LLC

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    407 NW 2nd St

    Corvallis, OR 97330 (541) 758-8088

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/4/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Even though the room was very clean when we checked in, the first night of our stay (2/12/16-2/14/16) at approx 9:00 pm there was a large, hard-shelled bug (the size of my thumbnail) in the ice bucket. We killed it and flushed it down the toilet. Later that night, approx midnight, there was another one crawling across the nightstand. At this point I was very uncomfortable staying there knowing there were probably more that would surface during the night after we went to sleep. We called the desk clerk and asked for a refund so we could go to a different hotel. The desk clerk said she was not authorized to give us a refund, but she would talk to her manager the next day. She offered to give us a different room, but I knew if there were bugs in one room, they were probably in all the rooms. We politely declined her offer, checked out, and went to a different hotel. On 2/14/16 I got an email from confirmations@reservationcounter.com showing that $207.39 had been credited to my credit card. So I assumed the desk clerk had talked to her manager, the credit had been issued, and all was well. When the credit never showed up on my credit card statement I called the support number in the email, 888-978-6518. The gal I talked to said there was no record of an email having been sent to me, and there was no record of my being issued a credit. She gave me the phone number of the motel. I called the motel and talked to the desk clerk. She said only the manager could issue a credit, and he's only there Wed, Thurs, and Fri. I called back on Thurs and talked to the manager, Tony. He was rude, kept interrupting me, and kept repeating that he knew nothing about this situation, and I needed to talk to the desk clerk. I told him I already did, and she said I had to talk to him. In a very rude tone of voice he informed me he was busy and didn't have time to talk to me. I politely told him I was going to file a complaint with the BBB. He said "go ahead."

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for all three nights, 2/12/16 - 2/14/16 due to large, hard-shelled bugs the size of my thumbnail in the room. We checked out of the motel on the first night, at approx midnight. The total refund should be $207.39.

Business Response: To Whom It May Concern,


Thank you for your letter informing us of this guest's complaint. This guest had made a reservation
approximately a month in advance, using a 3rd party online booking company, for a 3-night stay in
s non-smoking room with 1 queen bed. Her reservation was an Advance-Purchase, non-cancellable, and
non-modifiable, per the booking company's policies. The guest's credit card was charged by that
company at the time of booking. Super 8
Corvallis was provided a Virtual Card to charge for the reservation. A Virtual Card is a credit card
number that is unique to each reservation and is only able to be charged the specific amount for a
specific reservation. Super 8
Corvallis was not provided with the guest' credit card number on the reservation, only the Virtual
Card.


Regarding this guest's experience at Super 8 Corvallis, she arrived at approximately 4:30pm and was
checked into a room. Approximately 7 hours later, around 11:30 pm, the guest came to the Front Desk
and stated she saw a flying bug, about the size of her fingernail, in the room. No mention was made
of seeing multiple bugs and she was very clear with the Front Desk clerk on duty that it was a
flying bug. The clerk on duty immediately offered a change of rooms, which was declined by the
guest. The guest inquired about a refund but the clerk on duty is not authorized to provide
refunds, especially regarding 3rd party reservations, and directed the guest to call the following
morning, between 7am and 3pm, and speak with a Manager. The following morning, the Manager was
informed of the situation. The room was immediately inspected by the Manager, Maintenance Engineer,
and our Head Housekeeper. No evidence of bugs (flying or otherwise) was discovered. There was no
further communication between the guest and Super 8 Corvallis and the reservation remained in our
system until the scheduled check-out date,

Approximately one month later, a phone call was made by this guest to Super 8 Corvallis inquiring
about a refund. The guest was informed that, because there was no further communication from the
guest or the 3rd party booking company about the reservation, Super 8 Corvallis had charged the
full amount to the Virtual Card provided. The clerk explained that because the reservation was
purchased through a 3rd party, Super 8 Corvallis is unable to override the dates and charges
without permission from the 3rd party company. Since that never happened, the reservation was
processed as it was booked. The guest informed the clerk about the email she had received, from an
address at reservaiioncounter.com, stating a refund had been processed. The clerk stated that email
address had no affiliation with Super 8 Corvallis, the guest's email address had not been provided
to Super 8 Corvallis, and $207.39 was not the amount received for the booking as 3rd party sites
charge commission. The clerk encouraged the guest to contact the 3rd party company the room had
been purchased from to explain the situation and see if a resolution could be worked out between
the company and Super 8
Corvallis.


While it is unfortunate this guest had an unpleasant experience at Super 8 Corvallis. that is a
downside to using a
3rd company booking site to make reservations. The property is not able to make changes and refunds
without the approval of this 3rd party company. We always encourage all of our guests to contact
the property directly to make reservations. By eliminating the "middle man", it is much easier and
more efficient to handle room reservations, for the guest as well as the property.
Thank you, Tony B****,
General Manager
Super 8 Corvallis

8/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had called and reserved 3 night stay at motel then 45 min later I called back and canceled due to my wife finding out there was no outdoor pool. When I called back I asked if I was going to see any charges on my account or fees. She had said no since they only charge at time of check in. So she said there was nothing to be concerned about. So on Friday I went to a restaurant and my card was declined due to insufficient funds. So I checked my account and seen i was charged 269.00 I called Friday at 4 and left message for manager no call so I called Saturday and they assured me manager would be in at 12 and they would make sure he called me. I called back at w they said he was busy and they would have him call me. Then I called at 330 they said he would be back at 430 he had went to lunch so I called back at 5 they said he still wasn't back I called at 8 they said he had left and would be in first thing in morning and they would walk Him to the phone. Meanwhile I had to check out of my hotel and go home because I didn't have cash to even feed my kids which I have 5. So we left early and left my oldest son with friends so he could finish his tournament not good we didn't get to see him win state championship due to this.so Sunday came along and I called again all day with no call back .then finally today I call and the girl answered and said yes he is here sorry he hasn't called you back she couldn't believe it either.so then I speak to the manager and he tells me I need to listen to him or he will hang up he inst interested in hearing how many time I called

Desired Settlement: My money back and I want to speak to whoever is that mangers boss. Whether it be corporate or the owner. And a written reason why that manager thinks its ok to speak to people like that after not returning calls for days. I also had a lot more to say in my complaint but it wouldn't let me put anymore up there he actually said I need something from him he doesn't need anything from me so he can just hang up . Wow

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/30) */ Thank you for forwarding this customer complaint and providing Super 8 Corvallis with an opportunity to respond. While we regret any situation in which a customer is unsatisfied, in some cases this cannot be avoided. The cancellation policy of Super 8 Corvallis requires a minimum of 24 hours notice to cancel a reservation without penalty. If a guest needs to cancel without proper notice, they will be charged for the reservation. When someone calls to cancel a reservation, they are given the cancellation number and in some cases, a cancellation letter is emailed to them as well. The cancellation number provides guests with a record that their reservation was canceled. Without the cancellation number, there is no way for Super 8 Corvallis to be sure that someone did, in fact, call to cancel the reservation in accordance with the stated policy. Unfortunately there are instances in which someone does not cancel and when they realize they were charged for their reservation, they contact Super 8 Corvallis and falsely claim they canceled in an attempt to get the charges reversed. The cancellation number provides a method for Super 8 Corvallis to determine if they guest did indeed cancel or not. When a guest does not have a cancellation number, their reservation was not canceled. In this particular case, the guest did not have a cancellation number or even a record of who he talked with about canceling. Because the reservation was not canceled and no one arrived to check-in, it became a no-show and the credit card attached to the reservation was charged for the full amount of his reservation, which was 3 days. When the card holder saw that he was charged for the reservation, he contacted Super 8 Corvallis. The general manager is the only person with access and authority to reverse any charges made by the hotel and he was not available at the time this particular person called. When he did speak with the card holder, he explained the cancellation policy again and asked for his cancellation number. Because he did not know or have this number, Super 8 Corvallis was unable to reverse the charges. Due to the caller's situation however, the general manager agreed to charge for only one night instead of the full reservation of three nights. Guest satisfaction is of utmost importance to Super 8 Corvallis and it's staff. We regret that we could not provide this person with the outcome he desired.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Corvallis Super 8 Motel
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)