This business is not BBB accredited.

P I M A Management

Additional Locations

Phone: (503) 444-3846 516 SE Morrison St Ste M2, Portland, OR 97214 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.pimamgmt.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for P I M A Management include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 2
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

3 Customer Reviews on P I M A Management
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 3
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 3

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 28, 2011 Business started: 04/01/2008 Business started locally: 04/01/2008 Business incorporated 12/30/2011 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. David P St John, Member Ms. Kelly Paterson, Agency Director
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Kelly Paterson, Agency Director
Principal: Mr. David P St John, Member
Business Category

Modeling & Talent Agencies Modeling & Acting - Training

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 9am-4pm
Alternate Business Names
P I M A Management LLC Pro-Image Model Actor Pro-Image Model Actor Management

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

P I M A Management has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    516 SE Morrison St Ste M2

    Portland, OR 97214

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    650 NE HOLLADAY ST

    Portland, OR 97232

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/13/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I responded to an ad on Craigslist looking for people to be extras in movies. I received an email regarding the ad, but it's saying they are a talent placement agency. I am giving an appt. I am introduced to "Dan' how gives me a paper regarding directions and classes and times. Second paper he has me sign says it's not a contract but there is no refund because they have already disbursed money for me. I told him I was only interested in parts as "Extras" on shows not other acting positions. He thens ask for $250 which he deducts from my Debit Acct. It is only after I leave that I find that the receipt says PIMA MGT, Not Pacific Talent Group as I was introduced to them. I feel that they gave me false information just trying to get money from me. I am on disability and do not have a full-time job. I thought this may be a way to work my way off disability, but I feel taken advantage of as 'Dan' played me against myself (so to speak) using my anxiety in order to get my money.

Desired Settlement: I'd Just like to see my $250 refunded to me. I'm embarassed and ashamed that in my rush to try to get off disability I actually once again became too anxious to thoughtfully work through this prior to paying.

Business Response: Did the consumer read what she signed?  There are no refunds.

9/2/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was asked to come in for a in person meeting 8/1/14 at 3:00 PM with Pima. I WAS NOT promised work but, I was told they were not a Scam like ******** ******* I even expressed my concern that I had been scammed before by being promised to possibly get auditions for TV roles or Movies. PIMA said that they are not like other companies they protect you from predators of industry which is odd because when I interviewed with **** ******** ***** he was very polite and courteous answered all my questions. But, after I joined the agency the attitude of **** ******** ***** and ***** **** ****** changed immensely they told me I had joined and that it was to LATE and I need to just relax breath and go to the photo-shoot which they demanded for some odd reason, wanted me to go to immediately so they signed me up the next day they gave me no time to have a say about it. They just said "okay so tomorrow go to that photo-shoot" which also cost extra money. But of course that was not ONE TIME mentioned in the meeting. They also don't bring up all the VERY STRICT rules of the membership such as if you go to one of the classes that there is an additional $10 every week to go to cover (FOOD) cost, as well as you CANNOT CHANGE the day you go EVER! or there will be a FEE. They also have one guy in there that just bashes you and makes you feel uncomfortable by saying things such as "Do you believe in yourself? you don't seem like you do? are you committed? you don't seem like you are 110 committed? if you are unwilling to sign and give it a chance you should just leave! and if you do leave we will charge you a fee if you want to come back" He just bashes you and assumes that he knows how you feel when he shouldn't be talking to people that way when he doesn't know them. After he is done bashing you **** comes back into play with kindness in a positive manner. I am also bothered that the rules can just randomly change at the snap of a finger. this is a text message from **** ***** on 8/14/14 at 8:14 PM "Relax with the passion you have ultimately it won't matter what class you do if you have to change Saturday to Sunday nobody will care as long as your passionate about the process breathe smile repeat" But it clearly says on the sheet I have in my hand right now this "You are not allowed to switch days if you miss two or more consecutive days without contacting the class monitor you must pay a fee to come back" Wow I feel like I'm on probation. For being part of an agency there sure are a tone of strict rules which for some reason are "SO STRICT" other employee's can change the rules and say it is okay to switch days hmmmm.... I also informed **** that I can't attend the classes because I have a job opportunity. How did **** reply to me well the same scripted ******** response. this was at 8/3/14 8:09PM "Your not working yet you have obvious passion for this Relax breathe" I also noticed **** was only asking me questions that involved fees such as this on 8/4/14 at 6:55PM "Does that mean you might make the class over the weekend?" I said I don't know yet. He said 8/4/14 at 7:04 PM "life is good now just do one thing....breathe... im very excited for you" I feel like I am texting a parrot he keeps telling me to relax breathe I don't know why either. I did heavy research online and found that they have a lot of negative reviews also fake emails so they can write good reviews about themselves. One of the reviews was very recent. May of this year saying this place is a Scam. So I realized that this place was not here to help it was just here to drain my bank account quickly. So I asked **** to talk to ***** about a refund and **** did not reply back to me until I tried contacting him THREE different times. I said "You guys don't guarantee me work this job is actual job that guarantees me work. I had to take this job I had no choice. **** replied 8/6/14 12:19PM "I do understand, you are not in a contract, there is no membership to cancel. ***** is not inclined to do any refund" I told **** I was done and that I wanted my picture taken off the website immediately and that I WILL NOT pay the monthly fee to be on the website and that our business was officially finished. The response I got back from **** was an ******* reply which was 8/6/14 at 2:32PM "Done" What agency is that rude and unhelpful to it's Talent and Membership Guest? That right there is the reason why I am upset with PIMA. They have suck up fake employers who make you seem like they want to help you and be your friend when in reality they don't care to find you work or help you at all. All they want is more and more of your money. Because when you say no more they become rude and unhelpful. Which tells you a lot about them and how much they truly DO NOT CARE. So in closing my complaint I am electronically saying "I DO NOT WANT ANYTHING TO DO WITH PIMA" I want my information shredded and my picture taken off the website and I DO NOT! grant any future PAYMENTS! taken from my credit card from PiMA. I am as of today 8/6/14 done doing business with PIMA completely.

Desired Settlement: Due to shady advertising I want $150 of $200 dollars back from Pima. After the rude unhelpful attitude of Pima employee's. I diserve $150 of $200 returned back to me

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/08/07) */ This is what happens when an Agency attempts to help someone new to the industry. This person was given over 2 hours of office assistance on the day he came in. We even built a temporary profile to submit to a (real!) Casting Director that same day! Our job is to represent talent, and have them properly prepared for our Client's needs. We did that and more. We bent over backwards to help this guy, and gave way more assistance than an agency would ever do. If he reads the agreement he signed, he registered for a 10 class workshop. With that, we included the websites that are absolutely necessary to be selected for auditions. He is still enrolled in those classes if he chooses to stand by his agreement with us. We are here to help people who need it - and he definitely needs help if he wants to succeed in this industry. We have booked nearly 1500 auditions this year, and regularly book our talent on paid gigs. We can show every audition, booking, and the resulting paychecks. We are transparent in our talent relations. If they choose not to listen, or go back on their signed agreements, we cannot stop them. This is a real Agency, with real Clients, and over 600 registered Actors and Models who are under NO contract. Everyone here is here by choice, and can quit at any time - but they do not. We do our job better than any other Agency, period, and we can prove it. How can an Agency who represents Investigative News Reporters, Lawyers, Military and Police Personnel, Church Leaders, etc..if we do not do what we say? Those who can see through misinformation and false statements will see that we are the real deal, and help more people in this city than all other Agencies combined. If this person chooses to come back and follow through with what HE chose to agree to, we will re-accept him. Our Agency has been in business for more than 8 years, and we have a great rating in the real world. We have more than 2 dozen Major Casting Directors we work with across the Northwest Region, and dozens of production companies, too. We have NEVER failed to hold up our end of any agreement, but that is not the case with ******* Every Agency has a tremendously difficult time dealing with people who want to be on TV/Commercials/Film, but have no training or background. Without an Agency's assistance, those people will never see the inside of a real audition room. Casting Directors are not obligated to see or hire any actor/model - no matter how much the Talent think they do. It can take years of hard work for an Agency to build industry contacts, and have availability for roles. Our Agency has had a 900% increase in gigs over the last 2 years, and it is not slowing down. The only people who cannot take advantage of this increase are those who refuse to see reality(no matter how much proof is presented to them). Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/08/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) If you want to know the truth about Pima I will provide you all the info you need in this review but it will be very long. BUT! You will know why Pima is a FALSE advertising fake SCAM. If Pima is so successful and they have so much work coming in to it's "Talent" then why not grant my refund back with out making is such a big deal? If they are growing as the biggest agency in Portland at such a respectful fast pace why not give a refund then? Most legit and respected companies want to have they're customers return so they have zero issues giving out a refund to the customer. Pima DOES NOT GIVE OUT REFUNDS Because all they want is YOUR MONEY! Here is an example. When I went in there, they were super nice and generous. After I signed up I felt like I got brain washed into it and said I don't think I want to do this sorry guys let's just call this off. They told me I that it was to late! So I went with it. After I left all they would do is ask me when am I going to the photo shoot when am I taking the classes ALL THOSE QUESITONS involved money the photo shoot is from $45 to $130 and classes are $10 a piece. They never one time informed me if my profile wasn't presented well or how I could make it look better. They only asked question's that involved giving them money. Here is a very good example when I said I don't want to be part of there agency anymore I asked them to remove my profile picture. I got text back saying what a great deal I was walking away from and was told they would work with me if I couldn't attend the classes WHEN IN THE PACKET it is very strict on changing the days you go but ALL OF A SUDDEN it was okay and it didn't matter what day I went to the classes. So after I said not interested remove my picture immediately the only reply I back from Pima was snarky rude reply which was one word "Done". I find that funny. When I don't want to be part of it anymore they lose all courteousy and the polite tone goes to rude and unprofessional. If no one believes me check online for reviews they have so many negative reviews. Pima has the worst ratings and reviews for an agency in the entire city of Portland. You don't hear about it much because when people post on craigslist which is Pima's "Shark Tank Arena" they have the post flagged and removed. People have posted on Craigslist many many times of how they were cheated and also treated by pima but no sees them because Pima doesn't want anyone to see them and spams/flags/or complains to have that posting removed from craigslist. They also make fake profiles and emails to write good reviews about themselves. Pima also begs its "Talent" to write good reviews about them emailing every person they have on there site. Here is an email sent to they're "Talent" "Our Agency is under constant attack online these days. Other start-up agencies, and their actors, have been constantly trying to slander us online in an attempt to shrink our numbers, take our talent, and find a way to get in between our Casting partners and our talent. Veteran Agencies, of which we have a handful in Portland and Seattle, have the same problems we do (unless they have buckled down and paid online companies to only show positive information The reason I am emailing you, and a lot of other Talent, is to ask if you would do the Agency a big favor" The Email you a URL to Yelp. Which is where they have fake people write reviews. VERY IMPOTATNT NOW LISTEN TO ME Carefully Please! If you don't find this a Coincidence then I feel really sorry for you. I just recently filed a complained with the BBB on 8/6/14. And if you check the dates on Yelp for Pima reviews there are all of sudden TWO 5 Star positive reviews. but if you look under those there are TWO 1 star negative reviews in 2013, so after I complain they become a 5 star rating agency from viewers? They say they aren't about money but, helping people. But they refuse to let you bring in your own lunch in the classes. Each class is $10. Also if you don't show up to the photo shoot then there is a $50 fee and it cancels your membership completely. If you sign up for only the basic membership there is a $20 co-pay and the disc with your pictures from the photo shoot that YOU PAID FOR! is an additional $50. It cost $35 a month to be on the website. They also straight up told me to my face actor Cards are a waste of money but they ask you if you want them which cost $104 and $504 if you don't order them by your second meeting. See they pressure you into things very quickly give you no time to think no time to try out the membership and see how it flows. They just ram all this stuff in your face and say you have only 14 days for this and 2 days for that. They won't let you cancel anything without a fee and you can't change your classes...anyone else feel like they are on probation? So let's add up all the money from all the charges you will get scammed with and REMEMBER(Pima isn't about money so they say) Pima get %20 of all your paid gigs, Upfront $200 fee, $35-45 photo shoot and a $50 fee if you don't cancel in 48hrs or less it also cancels your membership, $20-copay for them to complete your 3 website profiles (which they make you do yourself anyways, so I don't know why they charge you)$50 for the disc from your own photo shoot, $104 for Actor Cards (which you should never buy you will never need them EVER)of $504 if you wait more than two meetings with them, membership goes from $300 to 2,000. So you do math and find out it's a lot more than they mention. Don't forget they won't even sign you up for support gigs unless you take the training courses. So if anything I said doesn't make sense go in and see all the fake car sales men attitudes of the employers yourself, check craigslist for bad reviews and also they post for new recruits on craigslist all the time because I'm sure people quit all the time, go in and see how fast and quick you are required to do all these task and see how quick they try to sign you up. A real successful agency wouldn't have you come in to talk as quick as Pima does I called and was asked to come in 3 hours from then, pretty fast. See all of the gigs they give people, see that most of the checks are about 5-14 months old, see the stack of work they can provide you in an entire year. For pima being the biggest agency in Portland the stack was pretty small. So anyone who read my review this is a real review I am a good honest person, I have worked at ****** and retail I struggle with income like everyone else. I have been scammed and treated badly/cussed out by my supervisors, so understand that I took the time to write this to save other people from being scammed by these guys, they are not honest, and agency that begs talent to go write reviews about them is struggling. Do more researching if my review wasn't enough. I will tell you publicly I lost $300 in this fraudulent false advertising scam. And if that $300 can save many many more people from making my mistake I will take it as a gift and find it worth my money. Because these people shouldn't be allowed to continue to do this, they need to be shut down ASAP. I WOULD provide my personal info so you could call me personally to show I am real but I am not allowed too So I hope my review was enough. Check craigslist check for reviews. ALSO!!! I will write another review on the Yelp site where they make fake reviews. I will write my review on 8/10/14 so you know I am real. I'll also add I don't even have Yelp so I'll sign up just to write a bad review to prove my case. I hope my review has helped anyone avoid in doing business with them. I will end my review with my and Pima's response about my refund word for word. ME: "I want to cancel my membership and be refunded $100 at least I think that is more than fair since I was not able to go full force" Pima reply: "We are not inclined to do any refund" So that being said you work hard for your money do not give them any of it and more importantly do not give them any of your time. That is my full review about Pima Thank You! Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/08/13) */ Well, it looks like ***** is unable to understand the agreement he signed. He is lumping together multiple things which may or may not apply to him. Our agreement has many things on it listed out, depending on what the talent agrees to. If PIMA was a scam, how would we have over 600 actors registered here under a completely voluntary agreement? My wall is plastered with Talent Paychecks...and they are real. The checks we post are from gigs our Agency has booked - they are current, and they all have dates, names, and companies. We believe in people, but they must believe in themselves. We can only do so much for people...they must be able to shoulder their own responsibilities to compete successfully in this difficult industry. It is truly unfortunate that our Agency attempted to help ***** out, and this is all we get back. We are still here to help if he wishes to return. Our door is open 7 days a week for a reason. His accounts are still active, and can be submitted to gigs if he chooses to come back and accept our help. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2014/08/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Pima continues to refuse a refund back to me and continues to tell me that I can come back. But they refuse to listen to they're so called talent when they ask anything. Pima just wants me to come back to give theme more money which I WILL NOT BE DOING. The rest of my agreement has more fees such as the 10 classes At($10 a class)Pima just wants all the money they can suck out of people. They don't seem like they care very much because if they did why not just give the refund? They even said themselves they have over 600 actors and talent so if they are so successful and have so much talent then why not just me a refund?


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

3 Customer Reviews on P I M A Management
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart