BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Kaiser Permanente Northwest include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 22 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

22 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 14
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 7
Total Closed Complaints 22

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Kaiser Permanente Northwest
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 17, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1945 Business started locally: 01/01/1945 Business incorporated 10/19/1981 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Business Management
Mr. Bernard J Tyson, President/CEO Mr. Eddie Kachnie, Manager Ms. Stephanie K Leonetti, Member Relations Coordinator Ms. Elizabeth Rolls, Supervisor Ms. Clarissa Stone, Manager Mr. Dave Streiff, Manager Ms. Cindy Topping, Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Stephanie K Leonetti, Member Relations Coordinator
Principal: Mr. Bernard J Tyson, President/CEO
Business Category

Medical Service Organizations Insurance Companies Insurance - Health Dentists Hospitals Health & Medical - General

Alternate Business Names
Kaiser Dental Kaiser Foundation Health Plan of the Northwest Kaiser Foundation Health Plan of the NW Kaiser Foundation Hospitals Kaiser Interstate Medical Office Kaiser Permanente Kaiser Permanente Care Management Institute Kaiser Permanente Center for Health Research Kaiser Permanente Clackamas Kaiser Permanente Dental Kaiser Permanente Dental Clinic Kaiser Permanente Glisan Dental Office Kaiser Permanente Laboratory Services Center Kaiser Permanente Mail Order Pharmacy Kaiser Permanente Portland Kaiser Permanente Rockwood Kaiser Permanente Sunnyside Medical Center, Personal Advantage Plan

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Kaiser Permanente Northwest has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10102 NE Glisan St

    Portland, OR 97220

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10200 SE Sunnyside Rd

    Clackamas, OR 97015

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12711 SE Mill Plain Blvd

    Vancouver, WA 98684

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    14406 NE 20th Ave

    Vancouver, WA 98686

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    19500 SE Stark St

    Portland, OR 97233

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    203 SE Park Plaza Dr Ste 140

    Vancouver, WA 98684

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2300 Lancaster Dr NE

    Salem, OR 97305

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3325 N Interstate Ave

    Portland, OR 97227

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    500 NE Multnomah St Ste 100

    Portland, OR 97232 (503) 813-2800 (503) 286-6868 (866) 478-0280 (866) 291-4010 (503) 684-9274 (503) 370-4313 (800) 548-9809 (503) 257-5959 (503) 257-5059 (503) 669-3962 (503) 492-4180 (503) 571-5815 (360) 571-3072 (800) 813-2000 (503) 778-2565 (503) 335-2400 (503) 813-2000

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5725 NE 138th Ave

    Portland, OR 97230

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7105 SW Hampton St

    Tigard, OR 97223

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7201 N Interstate Ave

    Portland, OR 97217

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    822 NE 181st Ave

    Portland, OR 97230

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 34157

    Seattle, WA 98124

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 34295

    Seattle, WA 98124

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 34614

    Seattle, WA 98124

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/17/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was billed 41.00 for a service performed as part of a surgery on July 14th 2015. This service was to be written off by Kaiser according to the explanation of benefits and contract agreed by Kaiser. I called after receiving the bill and was told this was a common billing mistake and would be adjusted. I then paid for other services but the 41.00 was applied to this non allowed charge. After 2 billing cycles, this was still not fixed and I called customer service who agreed to refund my credit card. In April 2016, I am receiving a bill again for 41.00, which is for other services I already paid. The 41.00 charge on 7/14 shows i paid instead of being credited. They also are charging me a $25.00 NSF charge. The customer service department will not allow me to speak to billing about this and just tells me I owe this now.

Desired Settlement: Credit my account for the $41.00 billing error they previously promised to credit, plus the 25.00 NSF charge

Business Response:

This is in response to your letter dated April 21, 2016 regarding concerns submitted to
your office.
**** ******** is asking for your assistance with his concerns regarding charges for
date of service July 14, 2015.
We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy
regulations, we will respond directly to **** ******** at the conclusion of our review.
Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at
503-813-4480.
Sincerely,

****** *********

Member Relations Coordinator

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Business has refused to contact me regarding this situation. They have not responded by letter and will not talk to me over the phone about this issue.

Sincerely,

**** ********

Business Response:

This is in response to your letter dated May 9, 2016 regarding concerns submitted to
your office.
**** ******** is asking for your assistance with his concerns regarding billing
concerns.
We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy
regulations, we will respond directly to Mr. ******** at the conclusion of our review. We
did send you an acknowledgement letter on May 3, 2016 and May 10, 2016 to advise
you of this.
Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at
503-813-4480.
Sincerely,

Angela P********
Member Relations Coordinator
Member Relations Department

6/17/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: See below for expansion

Desired Settlement: Kaiser Permanente cancelled my insurance without notice. I found out when I tried to make an online appointment for an urgent condition. Kaiser stated I had not made a payment on my plan since 1/2016. I read on the phone every payment I had made (every payment was made through current month). They insisted I send copies of bank startements and would not emergency re-instate my insurance. They said it might take weeks to resolve. I have sent the copies to San Diego. Meanwhile, I cannot see my doctor nor procure prescriptions for atrial fibrillation, high blood pressure and asthma. I am 72. Kaiser has repeatedly made serious errors in accounting with me. I have been with them since 2010. My health is truly endangered at this point. I am unable to afford my prescriptions without insurance. I live on social security.

Business Response:

This is in response to your letter dated May 9, 2016 regarding concerns submitted to

your office.
***** ***** is asking for your assistance with her concerns regarding her insurance
being cancelled.
We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy
regulations, we will respond directly to ***** ***** at the conclusion of our review.
Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at
503-813-4480.

Sincerely, 

Latosha L****

Member Relations Coordinator
Member Relations Department

6/10/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Mid-summer of 2015, I had seen a doctor for a yearly health checkup. The whole thing proceeded fine, but afterwards, the company contacted me unsolicited and asked if I'd like to schedule a consultation that honestly, I didn't really need at the time (as it was something I had plans for at minimum several years from now). I asked the agent if I'd be charged for it, to which I was replied a very definitive no. Heck, that's the only reason I even went along with it. If I'd have known they'd charge me an arm and a leg, I'd have never bothered wasting the gas. A week before it was scheduled, I received a reminder call from them, and I once again asked if I would be charged. Again, I was told no. Feeling a bit nervous about the whole ordeal, I called them one more time the day before the appointment and asked again, and for a third time, I was told I would not be charged. I even asked them to write that down on my account. Come a month after the appointment, suddenly I get a $200 bill, which honestly is wayyy too much for talking to someone for 20 minutes about things I already knew. I called them to dispute it, to which they replied it would be under review, then never heard from them again. Now, a year later, they've sent it to collections along with late fee.

Desired Settlement: Given I was charged after being told I wouldn't be on three separate occasions, I feel like the company should keep it's word and not charge me $10/minute for something I didn't even need. Seriously, my credit score's at risk because you guys can't even keep track of your own finances?

Business Response:

This is in response to your letter dated May 4, 2016 regarding concerns submitted to
your office.
***** **** is asking for your assistance with her concerns regarding a billing issue.
We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy
regulations, we will respond directly to ***** **** at the conclusion of our review.
Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at
503-813-4480.
Sincerely,

Suzanne C*****

Member Relations Coordinator
Member Relations Department

5/17/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was billed two late fees, $25.00 each for missed appointments. It is part of Kaiser's protocol to either have an automated system call, or a Kaiser representative call to remind you of any appointments scheduled. Furthermore, I've went out of my way MANY times and called the dental call center and actual dental branches to have my number in which I provided to be called for any appointments under my name and health record number. Continuously, any dental appointment I had, there was in fact a reminder call that went to a random number listed on our health plan (majority of the time number ending in 7075) , which invaded my privacy, inconvenient for me as I personally wasn't notified, and unacceptable as I specifically made requests for it to happen otherwise over seven times. In result, my personal appointment date, time, location, and full legal name was voice mailed to a random number on my health plan who had no business of knowing such personal information. Additionally, the appointments were missed in result of the Kaiser representatives not respecting my request of putting my number down for my appointments, so that I’d directly be notified, and lastly I was billed twice for missed appointments in which I wasn't notified through by number (as I requested over SEVEN times). To top it off, I called the specific dental branch that billed me (Eastmorland Dental) on 4/25/15 approximately 2:15pm, and the representative Mislead me, gave me wrong information about Kaiser rules/regulations, and was rude about it. Being a Kaiser member for over 10 years, I shouldn't have my privacy violated, and any request I make isn’t acted upon.

Desired Settlement: I'd like for the fee charge to my account to be removed, as I did everything in my power to make the correction of my number to be called for any appointments regarding me. Since the Kaiser representatives didn't go through to making my request happen multiple times, I shouldn't be liable for the fee. If the representatives went through it correctly, there would've never been a problem. Furthermore, i'd also like Kaiser to not disclose any information regarding me to anyone.

Business Response:

This is in response to your letter dated April 26, 2016 regarding concerns submitted to
your office.
***** ***** is asking for your assistance with her concerns regarding billing.
We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy
regulations, we will respond directly to ***** ***** at the conclusion of our review.
Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at
503-813-4480.

Sincerely,

Latosha *****

Member Relations Coordinator
Member Relations Department

5/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been trying to get a referral to see an outside therapist from Kaiser for about a month now. Not only are the member service completely useless, but my appeals keep getting denied without any verification from Kaiser. Theh continously get my information incorrect, they do not respond in a timely fashion and they are making my mental health issues even worse. I have from the office that I want to go too that they take Kaiser insurance if Kaiser provides the referral. Kaiser wont even call them to find out. They just say that this office doesnt take Kaiser. I have submitted several complaints which have gone unanswered. A doctor called me weeks ago, unprompted, didnt leave a message and I have left several (although the member service allegedy doesnt have direct access to their doctors) messages, I have never received a call back. I should not have to fight so hard just to get basic care from the doctor of my chosing. Kaiser doesnt care about mental health and doesnt want to help people.

Desired Settlement: I want to talk to someone who knows what they are talking about not be shunted around to 20 different people. I want to go to the therapist of my choosing that TAKES Kaiser insurance. I do not trust them. I just want the help I need without having to jump through hundreds of hoops.

Business Response: This is in response to your letter dated April 19, 2016 regarding concerns submitted to
your office.
****** ***** ***** *********** is asking for your assistance with her
concerns regarding a referral to an external Mental Health provider.
We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy
regulations, we will respond directly to ****** ***** ***** *********** at
the conclusion of our review.
Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at
503-813-4480.
Sincerely,

Suzanne C*****
Member Relations Coordinator
Member Relations Department

5/9/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In December, 2015, my wife, **** ****, was overcharged membership premium by several hundred dollars. In January, 2016, a partial refund was received credited to our credit card, as the payment method. Since that time, another partial refund of $50.98 dated April 4, 2016, was received; the outstanding balance as expressed previously by mail and by phone, is $136.91, the amount of the January, 2016 premium which was paid by check in December, 2015. Kaiser Permanente received a copy of my complaint from the WA Insurance Commissioner, and as of March 31, 2016, an overpayment of $187.89 was identified by Kaiser Foundation Health Plan (KFHP) and acknowledged by Melodie I*******, Senior Grievance and Appeal Administrator, Member Relations Department. As stated before, only $50.98 has been received by check. In the letter of Ms. I*******, she stated: "An urgent refund request was processed and is anticipated to go out in 10 days." Indeed, the whopping $50.98 of $187.89 was received within 10 days. I re-contacted the WA Insurance Commissioner on April 11, 2016, and have received no further information. I have also contacted KFHP CEO Mr. Bernard ***** T****, Sr., by fax; again no reply to my request for follow-up on this. **** **** has been a member of KFHP for 65 years, minus 9 months during my remaining military service in 1972. She has never shorted or cheated KFHP of any amount due, and has always paid promptly by automatic bank deduction from our account.

Desired Settlement: Payment of $136.91 is once again requested. I have previously contacted KFHP by phone seven times, and I have been given false information each time: a refund would be posted to my credit card within three business days; a check had been mailed and should be received within 10 days; still in review; allow a couple of days for reply; refund was issued on 1/4/2016; being reviewed, refund 30 days from 2/5/2016; second review done, checking with "CSC"; another request submitted for refund 3/9/2016. KFHP owes us a refund of the January, 2016 premium paid directly to KFHP by check in December, 2015. KFHP's own internal audit revealed that an overpayment existed and no action has been taken to resolve the balance of $136.91.

Consumer Response:

Greetings, KFHP has responded to my original request for a refund of

$136.91 by providing their internal audit that said I overpaid $187.89.

They then sent me a check for $50.98 in response to that overpayment.

As of April 30, 2016 I am in  receipt of a second check in the amount of $207.81. The total received is now $258.79 on an audited overpayment of $187.89.

This complaint can be closed. I will find out how much of these two checks is actually payable to me, and will proceed accordingly. However, the response to the complaint is fully satisfactory.

2/8/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Kaiser has been requested at least twice to provide doctors chart notes and medical records to Specialty Insurance Company (agent ******* *****) on my behalf to complete a bicycle injury claim. They have been totally unresponsive. I believe the law provides for access to my information. They are in effect obstructing the payment for my claim with American Insurance Company.

Desired Settlement: This claim will only be resolved by providing the information requested multiple times. Stronger action will be considered for non resolution. Kaiser Foundation cooperation will be very much appreciated.

Business Response:


***** * ******

Dear **. ********,

This is in response to your letter dated January 25, 2016 regarding concerns submitted
to your office.


***** ****** is asking for your assistance with her concerns regarding a medical
records request.


We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy
regulations, we will respond directly to ***** ****** at the conclusion of our review.
Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at
503-81 3-4480.


Sincerely,
Suzan C*****
Member Relations Coordinator

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Thank you for starting a review. I am looking forward to a full resolution.

Sincerely,

***** ******

Consumer Response:

 

Dear Ms. *********

 

This is a follow up to your Feb 5 email advising that the subject complaint was closed after I rejected the Kaiser promise to "investigate" as the resolution.  I was advised today that the actual documentation, subject of the complaint, had been received by the requesting insurance company and appears to be satisfactory.

 

Thank you for your help.

 

***** ******

11/23/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been a member with Kaiser for over 2 years. I scheduled an appointment with Kaiser on 10/13/15. I was quoted $33 initially, then $84 for a new patient, then $0 after I had explained that I had been a member with Kaiser for 2 years, on 3 separate phone calls. I was assured that my charges for the visit was $0 on the last phone call prior to my visit. Despite the several phone calls. I received a bill for $250.00 On 10/13/15 I spoke to 4 separate representatives: Roxanne, Brian, Melinda P., and Tamika, a supervisor in escalated calls, all in that order. As of 10/29/15 I spoke to Sophia W. at 3:50 PM to ask about my bill. I asked for the call to be escalated to a supervisor named Jasmine H. who assured me that she will be mailing a detailed itemized bill including procedure codes. I went to the appointment on 10/13/15. I was prescribed Methocarbamol, a muscle relaxer for neck and back pain. I was prescribed albuterol for asthma, which I have received from kaiser on 5 separate occasions over the 2 year period. Over the course of the three phone calls on 10 /13/15 I asked several times how much my charges were, I was quoted several amounts well below the bill I received. $33, then $84 then $0 respectively. I received a bill on 10/29/15 for a grouped charge, keep in mind they are not itemized on the bill, for $250.00. The only things checked during the appointment were my blood pressure, pulse, and ears. Very standard operating procedure. There is no way it costs $250.00 for that procedure. Kaiser is arguing that the reason for the visit was for an upper respiratory infection. I never was prescribed any medication for an upper respiratory infection. Nor does my doctor note indicate that I was prescribed anything for it. I have a doctor's note stating his opinion about an adjustable height desk for work. I was prescribed my regular inhaler PROAIR for my asthma, Methocarbomal for my back and neck pain, and QVAR, which is for inflammation due to asthma.

Desired Settlement: I would like a bill for what I was quoted on the phone for the doctor visit on 10/13/15. They have every single phone call recorded. I requested recordings of all calls made. I would like those as well.

Business Response:

RE: Complaint ID ********


Dear Ms. ********,


This is in response to your letter dated November 10, 2015 regarding concerns
submitted to your office.


*********** ***** is asking for your assistance with his concerns regarding charges he
received for a visit on October 13, 2015.


We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy
regulations, we will respond directly to *********** ***** at the conclusion of our review.
Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at
*************


Sincerely,


Angela P********

Member Relations

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I have yet to be contacted by the business.

Sincerely,

***** *****

10/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Being new to Kaiser, I was unclear of my coverage, so I called membership services to ask about the cost of my scheduled appointment and hour before the actual appointment. I was told that there was no cost for the scheduled appointment. I asked multiple times while on the call for the gentleman to verify as I did not want to be surprised with a bill after the visit. I was told there was no charge. After my visit, I was then sent a bill for $753. I do not understand how Kaiser isn't taking responsibility for their employee giving out incorrect information and making me pay for it. I'm frustrated at the lack of professionalism during this nightmare of an experience.

Desired Settlement: I would like the charge to be written off as misinformation given by the Kaiser employee lead to this whole ordeal.

Business Response:

September 10, 2015
BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU
COMPLAINT DEPARTMENT
PO BOX 1000
DUPONT, WA 98327

RE: Case# ********

Dear Complaint Department,
This is in response to your letter dated September 3, 2015 regarding concerns
submitted to your office.
Ms. *** is asking for your assistance with her concerns regarding charges she has
received.
We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy
regulations, we will respond directly to Ms *** at the conclusion of our review.
Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at
*************
Sincerely,
Ang a P********
Member Relations Coordinator
Member Relations Department

 

BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU
COMPLAINT DEPARTMENT
PO BOX 1000
DUPONT, WA 98327

RE: Case# ********

Dear Complaint Department,
This is in response to your letter dated September 14, 2015 regarding concerns
submitted to your office.
We have already responded to your office regarding this concern and a copy of our
initial letter is included with this one.
Our Member asked for your assistance with her concerns regarding charges she has
received"
We have completed our review of the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy
regulations, we have responded directly to our Member at the conclusion of our review"
Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions" I can be reached at
*************
Sincerely 
~~~
Suzamee C*****
Member Relations Coordinator
Member Relations Department

8/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have suffered from mental health issues for years. I have finally found the courage to seek help, again because things are becoming increasingly unmanageable for me and my life. I am new to Kaiser again after 15 years of having different health care insurance and therefore different providers. My primary care provider refered me to a psychiatric evaluation for proper diagnosis. I called to schedule this appointment and was told that the wait would be very very long, 6 - 8 weeks long. I believe this is unreasonable. If my issue was physical the wait would not be this long.

Desired Settlement: I would like someone at my health care provider to care about my health care and schedule my appointment in a reasonable amount of time.

Business Response:

RE: Case # ********

Patient Name: Health Record #:
***** * ***** ********

Dear Ms. *****,

This is in response to your letter dated June 18, 2015, regarding concerns submitted to your office.

***** ***** is asking for your assistance with her concerns regarding mental health appointment
access.

We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy regulations,
we will respond directly to ***** ***** at the conclusion of our review.

Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at
*************

Sincerely,

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
The response is incomplete. There is no suggested resolution.  In the time that has passed since the first complaint I have had other issue with Kaiser's services.  I made a particular, very intentional appointment at the start of June so that I could manage my panic attacks for a special event taking place at the end of the month.  I was working with my primary care and he told me on June 23rd that he was calling me in a perscription, I asked him to please call it in to the ********* ********.  He said he would.  I arrived at the ********* ******** (5 days later, plenty of time to get the perscription ready) and there was no perscription waiting, the woman in the pharmacy was very rude stating it's a two step process and I have to "check in".  So, I get my number and wait, get called to the window with the same woman and she says she can not release the medication unless I go see an urgent care doctor that same day.  Urgent care is a $40 copay, I stood in the lobby of Kaiser and had a panic attack and couldnt manage to leave for a good 15 minutes. 

If I could cancel my coverage with Kaiser I would today.  I am locked in with my employer until the end of the year.  I will not (unless extreme emergency) utilize their services anymore this year.  Every interaction I have with them is in some way a mess.  My son, who takes a shot every day, has been delayed his perscription twice. The first instance it took two weeks to get him medication, he was out for two weeks!  I called in plenty of time and they lost the order, or the second try they only gave a fraction of the medication because they misunderstood the perscription etc.  the mistakes just go on and on.

I pay every month for coverage for my family and get pushed around by the system that is set up to nickle and dime me to death.  More than once I have been to the dr. and paid the copay, to be told to see a specialist and pay that copay to be told there is no issue or worse yet to wait for 8 weeks for an appointment.

I would like all premiums paid for the year refunded to me.  As I stated I can not cancel so I have to complete the year, however the level of service provided is unacceptable.  I am paying $175 a month for nothing but grief. 


Sincerely,

***** *****

7/27/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been recently contacted by a collections agency due to many charges that were never taken care of. The unfortunate part of this whole situation is that I have never had any idea on any of these charges except for one. *** has alerted me that I owe over 1900 dollars for a 1000 dollars worth of services. But the problem is that not once have I ever been contacted by Kaiser for any of the services. I have spent several times on the phone and in contact with several people at Kaiser and *** trying to resolve this problem. Once even being told because I have never seen a bill that things could be helped out on the situation. One reason we have found out that things are not being seen is because they are sending bills to a house that I have not lived in for 9 years. The hard thing is that every time you go into a doctors office they ask you about your address and you tell them the correct one. SO I have given this company my correct address several times and never once has it been change tell last friday. But here I am getting stuck with a bill that is almost doubled and being told that there is 9% interest every day on my bill. They have been rude and told me that they can not do anything once I was told by an employee that because they were wrong that it should be reversed then told no again and not going to help. The system at Kaiser is totally wrong and they should have at least attempted to call me and get a address or talk about the problem. There is no reason why they should not be able to keep there system up to date and not affect there customer even more. I know that some of the charges are because I had to go back to the hospital three times because there doctors were miss diagnosing.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be taken out of collections and dealt with the proper way and maybe helped out a little due to the rudeness and the unprofessional way of handling patients and there billing

Business Response: RE: Case# 10639780

Dear Complaint Department,

This is in response to your letter dated June 2, 2015 regarding concerns submitted to your office.
Mr. ****** is asking for your assistance with his concerns regarding billing issues. We are in the
process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy
regulations, we will respond directly to Mr. ****** at the conclusion of our review.

Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at
*************

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

There has been no contact via Kaiser at all.  No e-mail, letter, or phone call.  within the time frame that was stated.  I have received a phone call from *** collections, but they have stated that they have not received any information on this account at all from kaiser per this conversation
Sincerely,

***** ******

1/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I canceled my Kaiser health insurance and moved to another provider due to constant inaccuracies and over charges in billing charges. They failed to respond to my correspondence starting on 1/1/14. I had no other recourse but to stop my relationship with them because of their lack or ability to fix their constant overbilling and accounting errors. My account was turned over to a collection agency which I immediately contacted, faxed required proof of my communications, payments for errors Kaiser made. Kaiser took until March 23, 2014 to respond via letter to me, agreeing with me to cancel my health insurance, bring my account to date with all final money owed to them. In the letter they ask for $32. to bring the account to date and close. I then responded with a payment of a final $32. closed my account. Done with Kaiser or so I thought. Unfortunately, on May 1st I was contacted by *** collections for payment of another random bill for $94.76. I called Kaiser spoke with directly and was told, no money was owed - account was closed. I then faxed over to the collection agency a record of the check payment and all related billing information for that specific amount of $94.76 which had already been paid. AMO called Kaiser, no response, several more attempts- nothing. I started to receive more collection calls. I have a VERY good credit rating and I pay my bills on time always. I became disturbed by their lack of attention and resolve. On 10/9, once again I called the collection agency to inform them that this was not a valid outstanding bill and they reviewed my records and said.. hum.. we seem to have a problem with Kaiser. They put the matter in dispute and wished me luck. I called Kaiser, again and again 11 times and was placed on hold for 45 minutes. I owe nothing, Kaiser stated in a letter to me on 03.23.14 that I am paid in full and not a member any longer. They over charge create confusion, then refuse to resolve in a timely professional manner. Please help me. Thank you. Account_Number: XXXXXXXX-XX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want Kaiser to correct my billing errors, cancel ALL collection attempts in writing. Send me a letter stating this resolution so if/when it comes around again I will have something in hand to prove my case without so much of my time & effort wasted for their inaccuracies and over charging mistakes. Maybe a formal investigation needs to happen regarding all the "over charges" & lack of their willingness to resolve. I've discussed with others that say its a common practice of Kaiser to do this.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/15) */ This is not a KP Colorado Member please re-route to the Portland OR region. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 21, 2014/11/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They have not contacted me in writing as of this date. It's been under their review for many months ending in the same result -- nothing! They still have the credit collections contacting me for payment. This is outrageous and not very good business ethics from Kaiser. Shame on them for the disregard and unwillingness to correct THEIR billing inaccuracies. Someone should peel back the curtain on Kaiser's billing standards and practices. Final Business Response /* (1000, 30, 2014/12/17) */ Hello - A letter dated 11/22/2014 was sent to the member from Kaiser's Patient Financial Services Departent.

11/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was suicidal and the head of their psychiatric department refused to admit me declaring it was not a homeless shelter. I was kept in the emergency department until after public transit stopped running and then released and followed and harrassed by armed security until I left kaisers property.

Desired Settlement: I don't expect a settlement. But I want************* held accountable for his malicious incompetence and I dont want other people who are struggling with mental illness and addiction issues to have to go through what I did. I'm lucky I didn't kill myself that night

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/11/06) */ BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU COMPLAINT DEPARTMENT P.O. BOX 1000 DUPONT, WASHINGTON 98327 RE: Case # ******** Dear Complaint Department: This is written in response to your letter dated October 16, 2014, and *********** concerns submitted to your office. ********** is asking for your assistance with his concerns regarding a visit to Kaiser Permanente Sunnyside Emergency Room on 08/15/2014. Your letter was received by Kaiser Permanente on October 20, 2014. We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy regulations, we will respond to ********** directly at the conclusion of our review. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at ************. Sincerely, *************** Member Relations Coordinator Kaiser Permanente Member Relations

10/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We terminated our healthcare coverage policy with Kaiser on 12/31/2013. We are being told we owe for the months of January and February of 2014 with no supporting information. We have attempted several calls to their 800 number with no luck of getting through. This is not the first time this has happened with Kaiser. It's now August of 2014 and we are just now being notified of charges from Jan. and Feb.n and that are not legitimate to begin with.

Desired Settlement: Review your data and drop the claim of unpaid dues. We were not a Kaiser member during the time period you are billing us for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/09/23) */ September 19, 2014 BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU COMPLAINT DEPARTMENT P.O. BOX 1000 DUPONT, WASHINGTON 98327 RE: Case# XXXXXXXX Dear Complaint Department, This is written in response to your letter dated September 09, 2014, and *** ****'s concerns submitted to your office. *** **** asking for your assistance with his concerns regarding a billing issue for premiums sent to him after his coverage terminated on December 31, 2013. Your letter was received by Kaiser Permanente on September 12, 2014. We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy regulations, we will respond to *** **** directly at the conclusion of our review. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ******* ******* Member Relations Coordinator

7/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been on vicodin for a frozen shoulder for about two years. The pharmacy will not let me pick up my medication with out a drug screen I have been without it for about 2 months the reason is sometimes I cant afford it and why take a drug screen I have to pay for if I cant pass **** have smoked a bowl or two of marijuana which is legal in the state of Washington to help me with my pain some times I cant afford that either so I get no relief for the pain. My DR said the federal government wont let me or the pharmacy wont without Drug test Dr is ******** ********** why take and pay for some thing I cant afford or pass. And its legal in are state.I don't get help from the government for anything Im on a fixed income and cant pay for test or medication some times I also will be contacting my company I retired from to file a compliant if I need to.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want them to give me my medication I don't abusive it or sell it I need it for pain.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/06/16) */ RE: CASE# XXXXXXXX Dear Complaint Department, This is in response to your letter dated June 2, 2014 regarding concerns submitted to your office. *** ******* is asking for your assistance with her concerns regarding her prescription for medication from May 25, 2014. We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy regulations, we will respond directly to ********** ******* at the conclusion of our review. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ****** ****** Member Relations Coordinator Member Relations Department Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/06/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I will give them 1 week till the 23 of June to call me if not call I will then respond back with another complaint and will then call the company I have my benefits thru. thank you ****** ******* Final Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/06/27) */ ***PLEASE SEE ATTACHED DOCUMENT ONLINE*** June 24, 2014 ****** ******** ****** ********* ********** **** ******* ***** *** *** ******* ** XXXXX Patient Name: ****** ******* Case#:XXXXXXXX Dear Complaint Department, This is in response to your letter dated June 16, 2014 regarding concerns submitted to your office. *** ******* is asking for your assistance with her concerns regarding her prescription for medication from May 25, 2014. We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy regulations, we will respond directly to *** ******* at the conclusion of our review. Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions. We can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, **** ******* Member Relations Coordinator Member Relations Department

7/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
5/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I canceled my insurance membership with Kaiser in December 2013. They keep billing me even after I visited them on site at Membership, wrote and faxed multiple letter, remained on hold on my cell phone for over 3.47 hours while waiting for them to do something and eventually they did nothing to resolve or correct saying it's under review. (??) My letters to them clearly state and precisely say that I no longer want to be with Kaiser due to my outrageous premium rate increase. They are demanding payment of $1882. of which none is owed. I have all paperwork, faxes, records to prove my point and have gone well beyond reasonable efforts to remedy with them without response of any kind from them except more invoices. This is wrong and harassing.

Desired Settlement: I want these monthly premium charges of $1882.00 corrected and removed since now they are saying that they will send to collections if I don't pay. I have not used any Kaiser Medical services during this disputed time period since I had other insurance with another company. I used my insurance agent to move to another provider. All of this is documented. I have excellent credit and pay my debts on time as I have committed to. I am older and can not afford to get an attorney to remedy and I have never worked with such unreasonable, sloppy with follow up people before. This is hard for me to believe that they just don't get it or they are just harassimg me because they think they can. I am troubled deeply and this is causing me anxiety because I have always been in good standing with all bills, mortgages, businesses, credit cards etc.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/02) */ RE: Case #XXXXXXXX Dear Complaint Department, This is in response to your letter dated April 25, 2014, regarding concerns submitted to your office. **** ******* is asking for your assistance with her concerns regarding cancellation of her policy for 2014. We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy regulations, we will respond directly to *** ******* at the conclusion of our review. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ***** **** *********** **** ************ Member Relations Department Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Thank you, however, I have been trying for months to get this resolved only to hear the same thing --yet again. When I do call them, i am on hold for sometimes hours waiting only to be told they can't do anything and it needs to go on to someone else. Once again, they are saying the same thing and nothing happens except more invoices are sent to me for payment. It's ridiculous and a total waste of my time and no doubt many others. Maybe all these delay tactics, repeatedly bad communications, wasted time is what's causing people to believe our health care providers are overpaid and wasteful.. which is why our premiums are so high. I have no faith that they will respond in a timely manner or provide a workable solution since this is now month 5 on-going.

5/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been using Kaiser as my primary health care starting in 12/13, I am 6 1/2 months pregnant. I have an added choice plan with Kaiser that is a Tier system. In January I noticed my bills that were coming in at a outrages price. I called on 1/2/14 and spoke with the billing department a lady by the name of ***. She indicated that they were billing me as I was going to a outside provider which is a Tier 3, She said that I will send a request to there financial review department call back in 7-10 days. I called back billing on 1/13/14 to follow up with this issue and spoke with a lady name ****** who indicated *** never sent the information through, I at that point was told to follow-up in 7-10 days and I did. This time I spoke with a lady by the name of ****, she indicated that it was in review and to ignore all bills, statements etc. I finally spoke with a supervisor and I can not remember her name same story we are looking into it. I received call from billing asking when are you going to pay your bill, I go to appointment they ask for payment.2/18/14 I called for follow-up still nothing, I was given a supervisor head of billing numbers her name was **************** to help on 3/3/14 with the issue,she indicated I don't know why they gave you my number nothing I can do, they are looking into it and it not a tier issue but a deductible issue? She said this has been an issue didn't you receive a letter in the mail and Ii have not.

Desired Settlement: I would like my account to be figured out, that way I know what I need to pay. I am expecting a baby 6/1/14 and additional charges will be added. I am tired of the run around and how hard can it be to fix the problem, it has already be 3 months. Billing # ************** Supervisor of billing # **************

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/18) */ Dear Complaint Department, This is written in response to your letter dated March 10, 2014, and ************* concerns submitted to your office. *********** is asking for your assistance with her concerns regarding a billing issue for services provided since December of 2013. Your letter was received by Kaiser Permanente on March 12, 2014. We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy regulations, we will respond to *********** directly at the conclusion of our review. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at ************. Sincerely, ********** Member Relations Coordinator Member Relations Department Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I received a letter from Adminstration and it does indicate a issue with my account , however it says it should be resolved within 2 weeks. I went to a appt this week on 3/20/2014 and my account still shows outstanding balance and they are asking for payment. I am still not sure, when this will be resolved by? I would like this to be taken care in a timely manner this has been going on since December 2013. Final Business Response /* (1000, 21, 2014/04/22) */ Dear Complaint Department, This is in response to your letter dates April 10, 2014, regarding concerns submitted to your office. **************** is asking for your further assistance with her concerns regarding billing issues. We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To Comply with federal privacy regulations, we will respond directly to *********** at the conclusion of our review. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at ************. Sincerely, *********** Supervisor, Case Installation Member Relations Department Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/04/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Kaiser has made contact with me however my situation is still not resolved. I received a letter from them stating my claims were billed wrong and they would fix the issue. I then received a bill and those correction were not made. I still have no idea the amount I should pay and ********** who is responding to BBB has not made contact with me.

5/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i am a senior citizen 64 years and went into emergency for a injury referred by 911 emergency paramedics. I am on charity at *************** battleing breast cancer and asked for financial assistance. I am covered by ****** 100 percent charity. I only got half of assistance and all the hospitals get grants to help the poor and i need help with the bill. I clean houses and rebuild my 2000 year car. all the time and have expences that write me down to 20,000. a year.

Desired Settlement: i want my bill of 359.20 to be written off as charity.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/21) */ This is in response to your letter dated April 11, 2014 regarding the concerns submitted to your office. ************ is asking for your assistance with her concerns regarding a billing issue. We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy regulations, we will respond directly to ************ at the conclusion of our review. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at ************ Sincerely, ************ Member Relations Coordinator Member Relations Department

2/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had Kaiser insurance from about 2004 to approximately 2009. During this time I constantly had cysts that required treatment. During one such episode (around 2006-2007), the Kaiser urgent care location was closed, so I called the Nurse help line. She informed me that Kaiser had a partnership with *** ******** ******** and advised me to seek treatment there. I asked her if it was covered by my insurance and she said it was. I received a bill a short time later and called to see why. I remember the woman telling me that I was responsible for a small portion of the $1200 bill. While I was not happy, I ended up paying, I think $250. I assumed that was the end of it. I recently got served with a small claim by a debt collector for around $700. This was 6 years ago and cannot believe the deceit that has taken place. I do not owe this money and now have to defend myself against the claim. It really bothers me too, because I absolutely loved Kaiser and really liked the Doctors. These kind of practices really bother me though and would like an explanation as to why a) they didn't pay the bill as I was told they would and b) why I was never informed as to why. Very disappointed.

Desired Settlement: I expect them to deal with both St. Vincents and the debt collector in resolving this matter.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/11) */ "Dear Complaint Department: This is written in response to your letter dated December 6, 2013, and *** ******' concerns submitted to your office. *** ****** is asking for your assistance with his concerns regarding payment of claims for services provided by ********** *** ******* in 2007. Your letter was received by Kaiser Permanente on December 9, 2013. We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy regulations, we will response to *** ****** directly at the conclusion of our review. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I may be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ***** **** (Member Relations Assistant) (Member relations Department)" Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2014/01/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Did not receive response. New address is ******************* eugene, Or 97401. Please forward this to kaiser so I can get their response. Thank you Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2014/02/04) */ Dear Complaint Department: This is written in response to your letter dated January 29, 2014, and *** ******' concerns submitted to your office. Your letter was received by Kaiser Permanente on January 31, 2013. *** ****** is asking for your assistance with his concerns regarding payment of claims for recent services provided by ********** *** ******* in 2007. Our response to *** ****** was mailed to an address that is no longer valid. Thank you for providing us with an updated contact information - we will forward our response to his new address. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I may be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ***** **** Member Relations Assistant Member Relations Department

2/3/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Re my Kaiser patient #XXXXXXXXProblem with Mail Order Pharmacy, specifically their inability to refill Rx #XXXXXXXXXcc: Oregon Pharmacy BoardJanuary 2, 2014PLEASE HELP!!! I just dont know what to do about the incompetence of the Kaiser Mail Order Pharmacy. The above-referenced medicine is something I am supposed to take twice a day, every day! I re-ordered it on 12/15; there was no problem with the supply of the medication, and it should have been shipped immediately at that time. I ordered it with two other Rxs, one of which is another medicine that Im supposed to take daily, 4 times/day. That medication has also never arrived. There were two additional meds, not required daily, that were also ordered. Apparently there was a hold-up on one of those two additional meds, because its price had almost tripled in the time since I last ordered it (over a year ago). I WAS NEVER CONTACTED ABOUT THIS PRICE QUESTION (whether or not I was willing to pay the increased amount) UNTIL I RECEIVED A LETTER DATED 12/26!!! By this point, I had already called the Mail Order Pharmacy (on 12/26, but before I had recd the letter, which only came a few days later); they explained the delay, although they did not explain why this caused them to fail to send the two medications that I need daily. On 12/26 THEY PROMISED TO GO AHEAD AND SHIP THE THREE MEDICATIONS WHOSE PRICE HAD NOT INCREASED; and I asked them to find out if a less expensive replacement was available for the fourth medication. They said they would call me back when they heard back from my physician about a replacement. However, as of todays mail delivery, the needed daily medications HAVE STILL NOT ARRIVED. This now leaves me almost two weeks without medications that I am supposed to take on a daily basis. If Kaiser feels that the medications that my physician prescribes to be taken 2X/day and 4X/day are unimportant, then why is my physician prescribing them in the first place???This situation is terribly upsetting to me. I feel that I am being completely ignored by Kaiser Member Services, by Kaiser Mail Order Pharmacy, and by the State of Oregon Pharmacy Board. I will now contact the Kaiser Home Offices in Oakland, and I will see if the BBB can do anything to help.In the meantime, if anyone else can do something to help me, PLEASE DO SO!Thank you for any possible assistance,***** ******* Product_Or_Service: medication Account_Number: Kaiser member #XXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I JUST WANT THE MEDICATIONS THAT I AM SUPPOSED TO BE TAKING EVERY DAY!!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/17) * January 14, 2014 Better Business Bureau Complaint Department P.O. Box 1000 Dupont, Washington 98327 RE: Case # ******** Dear Complaint Department: This is in written response to your letter dated January 7, 2014, and *** ******** concerns submitted to your office. *** ******* is asking you for your assistance with his concerns regarding pharmacy issues. Your letter was received by Kaiser Permanente on January 13, 2014. We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy regulations, we will respond to *** ******* directly at the conclusion of our review. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at ************. Sincerely, ***** **** Member Relations Assistant Member Relations Department

10/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There are 3 bills from March 2013 from my daughters birth that were sent to collections. I also have a bill from a back surgery, performed on July 30th, that is currently with Kaiser. I have been in contact since June of 2013 and had several conversations about setting up payment plans, but I also wanted to include my pending back surgery in order to have one monthly payment. I was told to wait and let all bills come through so they could put them all together. I received several EXPLANATION OF BENEFITS summaries that clearly state "THIS IS NOT A BILL." There is a small box that indicates member responsibility that does not even reflect the amount owed. Kaiser states that they sent out 4 or 5 bills that followed the explanation of benefits, however, I have not received any. I asked if this was true, why was it not brought up in one of my many phone conversations, especially if they were about to go into collections. Every time I called I was trying to stay in contact and set up a payment plan when all bills were final and ready. I have paid over $1,600 to date, and want to know why nothing offered or talked about at the time of those payments. My wife and I both have had appointments during the summer and at check-in they always have access to our account. Never once did someone inform me or my wife that there were outstanding bills about to be sent to collections. I felt I was never given the proper opportunity or notice to pay my bills. As of today, September 20, 2013, I have been told that there is no record of conversations or phone calls with Kaisers billing department. CALL RECORD: 5/15- 19 minutes 6/3/13- 10 minutes 7/12/13- 13 minutes 8/5/13- 12 minutes 8/5/13 (#2)- 12 minutes 9/19/13- 2 calls

Desired Settlement: I would like all bills pulled from collections. **************- $1,000 ********************- $2035.48 I want those bills integrated with remaining Kaiser bills for $2,162.80 and given the opportunity to apply for financial assistance and a monthly payment plan. Total proposed payment plan: $5,198.28

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/02) */ This is written in response to your letter dated September 23, 2013, and Mr. ******'s concerns submitted to your office. *** ****** is asking for your assistance with her concerns regarding a billing issue for services provided since March 2013. Your letter was received by Kaiser Permanente on September 25, 2013. We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy regulations, we will respond to *** ****** directly at the conclusion of our review. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Kaiser Permanente Northwest
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart