BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Kaiser Permanente Northwest include:

  • 23 complaint(s) filed against business
  • 3 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Kaiser Permanente Northwest include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Response to 23 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

23 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 5 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 17
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 23

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Kaiser Permanente Northwest
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 17, 2003 Business started: 01/01/1945 Business started locally: 01/01/1945 Business incorporated 10/19/1981 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Business Management
Mr. Bernard J Tyson, President/CEO Mr. Eddie Kachnie, Manager Ms. Stephanie K Leonetti, Member Relations Coordinator Ms. Elizabeth Rolls, Supervisor Ms. Clarissa Stone, Manager Mr. Dave Streiff, Manager Ms. Cindy Topping, Manager
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Stephanie K Leonetti, Member Relations Coordinator
Principal: Mr. Bernard J Tyson, President/CEO
Business Category

Medical Service Organizations Insurance Companies Insurance - Health Dentists Hospitals Health & Medical - General

Alternate Business Names
Kaiser Dental Kaiser Foundation Health Plan of the Northwest Kaiser Foundation Health Plan of the NW Kaiser Foundation Hospitals Kaiser Interstate Medical Office Kaiser Permanente Kaiser Permanente Care Management Institute Kaiser Permanente Center for Health Research Kaiser Permanente Clackamas Kaiser Permanente Dental Kaiser Permanente Dental Clinic Kaiser Permanente Glisan Dental Office Kaiser Permanente Laboratory Services Center Kaiser Permanente Mail Order Pharmacy Kaiser Permanente Portland Kaiser Permanente Rockwood Kaiser Permanente Sunnyside Medical Center, Personal Advantage Plan

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Kaiser Permanente Northwest has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of C-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10102 NE Glisan St

    Portland, OR 97220

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    10200 SE Sunnyside Rd

    Clackamas, OR 97015

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12711 SE Mill Plain Blvd

    Vancouver, WA 98684

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    14406 NE 20th Ave

    Vancouver, WA 98686

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    19500 SE Stark St

    Portland, OR 97233

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    203 SE Park Plaza Dr Ste 140

    Vancouver, WA 98684

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2300 Lancaster Dr NE

    Salem, OR 97305

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3325 N Interstate Ave

    Portland, OR 97227

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    500 NE Multnomah St Ste 100

    Portland, OR 97232 (360) 571-3072 (503) 257-5059 (503) 257-5959 (503) 286-6868 (503) 335-2400 (503) 370-4313 (503) 492-4180 (503) 571-5815 (503) 669-3962 (503) 684-9274 (503) 778-2565 (503) 813-2000 (503) 813-2800 (800) 548-9809 (800) 813-2000 (866) 291-4010 (866) 478-0280

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    5725 NE 138th Ave

    Portland, OR 97230

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7105 SW Hampton St

    Tigard, OR 97223

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    7201 N Interstate Ave

    Portland, OR 97217

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    822 NE 181st Ave

    Portland, OR 97230

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 34157

    Seattle, WA 98124

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 34295

    Seattle, WA 98124

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 34614

    Seattle, WA 98124

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/6/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have suffered from mental health issues for years. I have finally found the courage to seek help, again because things are becoming increasingly unmanageable for me and my life. I am new to Kaiser again after 15 years of having different health care insurance and therefore different providers. My primary care provider refered me to a psychiatric evaluation for proper diagnosis. I called to schedule this appointment and was told that the wait would be very very long, 6 - 8 weeks long. I believe this is unreasonable. If my issue was physical the wait would not be this long.

Desired Settlement: I would like someone at my health care provider to care about my health care and schedule my appointment in a reasonable amount of time.

Business Response:

RE: Case # ********

Patient Name: Health Record #:
***** * ***** ********

Dear Ms. *****,

This is in response to your letter dated June 18, 2015, regarding concerns submitted to your office.

***** ***** is asking for your assistance with her concerns regarding mental health appointment
access.

We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy regulations,
we will respond directly to ***** ***** at the conclusion of our review.

Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at
*************

Sincerely,

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
The response is incomplete. There is no suggested resolution.  In the time that has passed since the first complaint I have had other issue with Kaiser's services.  I made a particular, very intentional appointment at the start of June so that I could manage my panic attacks for a special event taking place at the end of the month.  I was working with my primary care and he told me on June 23rd that he was calling me in a perscription, I asked him to please call it in to the ********* ********.  He said he would.  I arrived at the ********* ******** (5 days later, plenty of time to get the perscription ready) and there was no perscription waiting, the woman in the pharmacy was very rude stating it's a two step process and I have to "check in".  So, I get my number and wait, get called to the window with the same woman and she says she can not release the medication unless I go see an urgent care doctor that same day.  Urgent care is a $40 copay, I stood in the lobby of Kaiser and had a panic attack and couldnt manage to leave for a good 15 minutes. 

If I could cancel my coverage with Kaiser I would today.  I am locked in with my employer until the end of the year.  I will not (unless extreme emergency) utilize their services anymore this year.  Every interaction I have with them is in some way a mess.  My son, who takes a shot every day, has been delayed his perscription twice. The first instance it took two weeks to get him medication, he was out for two weeks!  I called in plenty of time and they lost the order, or the second try they only gave a fraction of the medication because they misunderstood the perscription etc.  the mistakes just go on and on.

I pay every month for coverage for my family and get pushed around by the system that is set up to nickle and dime me to death.  More than once I have been to the dr. and paid the copay, to be told to see a specialist and pay that copay to be told there is no issue or worse yet to wait for 8 weeks for an appointment.

I would like all premiums paid for the year refunded to me.  As I stated I can not cancel so I have to complete the year, however the level of service provided is unacceptable.  I am paying $175 a month for nothing but grief. 


Sincerely,

***** *****

7/27/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been recently contacted by a collections agency due to many charges that were never taken care of. The unfortunate part of this whole situation is that I have never had any idea on any of these charges except for one. *** has alerted me that I owe over 1900 dollars for a 1000 dollars worth of services. But the problem is that not once have I ever been contacted by Kaiser for any of the services. I have spent several times on the phone and in contact with several people at Kaiser and *** trying to resolve this problem. Once even being told because I have never seen a bill that things could be helped out on the situation. One reason we have found out that things are not being seen is because they are sending bills to a house that I have not lived in for 9 years. The hard thing is that every time you go into a doctors office they ask you about your address and you tell them the correct one. SO I have given this company my correct address several times and never once has it been change tell last friday. But here I am getting stuck with a bill that is almost doubled and being told that there is 9% interest every day on my bill. They have been rude and told me that they can not do anything once I was told by an employee that because they were wrong that it should be reversed then told no again and not going to help. The system at Kaiser is totally wrong and they should have at least attempted to call me and get a address or talk about the problem. There is no reason why they should not be able to keep there system up to date and not affect there customer even more. I know that some of the charges are because I had to go back to the hospital three times because there doctors were miss diagnosing.

Desired Settlement: I would like to be taken out of collections and dealt with the proper way and maybe helped out a little due to the rudeness and the unprofessional way of handling patients and there billing

Business Response: RE: Case# 10639780

Dear Complaint Department,

This is in response to your letter dated June 2, 2015 regarding concerns submitted to your office.
Mr. ****** is asking for your assistance with his concerns regarding billing issues. We are in the
process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy
regulations, we will respond directly to Mr. ****** at the conclusion of our review.

Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at
*************

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

There has been no contact via Kaiser at all.  No e-mail, letter, or phone call.  within the time frame that was stated.  I have received a phone call from *** collections, but they have stated that they have not received any information on this account at all from kaiser per this conversation
Sincerely,

***** ******

1/5/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I canceled my Kaiser health insurance and moved to another provider due to constant inaccuracies and over charges in billing charges. They failed to respond to my correspondence starting on 1/1/14. I had no other recourse but to stop my relationship with them because of their lack or ability to fix their constant overbilling and accounting errors. My account was turned over to a collection agency which I immediately contacted, faxed required proof of my communications, payments for errors Kaiser made. Kaiser took until March 23, 2014 to respond via letter to me, agreeing with me to cancel my health insurance, bring my account to date with all final money owed to them. In the letter they ask for $32. to bring the account to date and close. I then responded with a payment of a final $32. closed my account. Done with Kaiser or so I thought. Unfortunately, on May 1st I was contacted by *** collections for payment of another random bill for $94.76. I called Kaiser spoke with directly and was told, no money was owed - account was closed. I then faxed over to the collection agency a record of the check payment and all related billing information for that specific amount of $94.76 which had already been paid. AMO called Kaiser, no response, several more attempts- nothing. I started to receive more collection calls. I have a VERY good credit rating and I pay my bills on time always. I became disturbed by their lack of attention and resolve. On 10/9, once again I called the collection agency to inform them that this was not a valid outstanding bill and they reviewed my records and said.. hum.. we seem to have a problem with Kaiser. They put the matter in dispute and wished me luck. I called Kaiser, again and again 11 times and was placed on hold for 45 minutes. I owe nothing, Kaiser stated in a letter to me on 03.23.14 that I am paid in full and not a member any longer. They over charge create confusion, then refuse to resolve in a timely professional manner. Please help me. Thank you. Account_Number: XXXXXXXX-XX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want Kaiser to correct my billing errors, cancel ALL collection attempts in writing. Send me a letter stating this resolution so if/when it comes around again I will have something in hand to prove my case without so much of my time & effort wasted for their inaccuracies and over charging mistakes. Maybe a formal investigation needs to happen regarding all the "over charges" & lack of their willingness to resolve. I've discussed with others that say its a common practice of Kaiser to do this.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/15) */ This is not a KP Colorado Member please re-route to the Portland OR region. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 21, 2014/11/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They have not contacted me in writing as of this date. It's been under their review for many months ending in the same result -- nothing! They still have the credit collections contacting me for payment. This is outrageous and not very good business ethics from Kaiser. Shame on them for the disregard and unwillingness to correct THEIR billing inaccuracies. Someone should peel back the curtain on Kaiser's billing standards and practices. Final Business Response /* (1000, 30, 2014/12/17) */ Hello - A letter dated 11/22/2014 was sent to the member from Kaiser's Patient Financial Services Departent.

11/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was suicidal and the head of their psychiatric department refused to admit me declaring it was not a homeless shelter. I was kept in the emergency department until after public transit stopped running and then released and followed and harrassed by armed security until I left kaisers property.

Desired Settlement: I don't expect a settlement. But I want************* held accountable for his malicious incompetence and I dont want other people who are struggling with mental illness and addiction issues to have to go through what I did. I'm lucky I didn't kill myself that night

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/11/06) */ BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU COMPLAINT DEPARTMENT P.O. BOX 1000 DUPONT, WASHINGTON 98327 RE: Case # ******** Dear Complaint Department: This is written in response to your letter dated October 16, 2014, and *********** concerns submitted to your office. ********** is asking for your assistance with his concerns regarding a visit to Kaiser Permanente Sunnyside Emergency Room on 08/15/2014. Your letter was received by Kaiser Permanente on October 20, 2014. We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy regulations, we will respond to ********** directly at the conclusion of our review. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at ************. Sincerely, *************** Member Relations Coordinator Kaiser Permanente Member Relations

10/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We terminated our healthcare coverage policy with Kaiser on 12/31/2013. We are being told we owe for the months of January and February of 2014 with no supporting information. We have attempted several calls to their 800 number with no luck of getting through. This is not the first time this has happened with Kaiser. It's now August of 2014 and we are just now being notified of charges from Jan. and Feb.n and that are not legitimate to begin with.

Desired Settlement: Review your data and drop the claim of unpaid dues. We were not a Kaiser member during the time period you are billing us for.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/09/23) */ September 19, 2014 BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU COMPLAINT DEPARTMENT P.O. BOX 1000 DUPONT, WASHINGTON 98327 RE: Case# XXXXXXXX Dear Complaint Department, This is written in response to your letter dated September 09, 2014, and *** ****'s concerns submitted to your office. *** **** asking for your assistance with his concerns regarding a billing issue for premiums sent to him after his coverage terminated on December 31, 2013. Your letter was received by Kaiser Permanente on September 12, 2014. We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy regulations, we will respond to *** **** directly at the conclusion of our review. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ******* ******* Member Relations Coordinator

7/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been on vicodin for a frozen shoulder for about two years. The pharmacy will not let me pick up my medication with out a drug screen I have been without it for about 2 months the reason is sometimes I cant afford it and why take a drug screen I have to pay for if I cant pass **** have smoked a bowl or two of marijuana which is legal in the state of Washington to help me with my pain some times I cant afford that either so I get no relief for the pain. My DR said the federal government wont let me or the pharmacy wont without Drug test Dr is ******** ********** why take and pay for some thing I cant afford or pass. And its legal in are state.I don't get help from the government for anything Im on a fixed income and cant pay for test or medication some times I also will be contacting my company I retired from to file a compliant if I need to.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want them to give me my medication I don't abusive it or sell it I need it for pain.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/06/16) */ RE: CASE# XXXXXXXX Dear Complaint Department, This is in response to your letter dated June 2, 2014 regarding concerns submitted to your office. *** ******* is asking for your assistance with her concerns regarding her prescription for medication from May 25, 2014. We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy regulations, we will respond directly to ********** ******* at the conclusion of our review. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ****** ****** Member Relations Coordinator Member Relations Department Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/06/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I will give them 1 week till the 23 of June to call me if not call I will then respond back with another complaint and will then call the company I have my benefits thru. thank you ****** ******* Final Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/06/27) */ ***PLEASE SEE ATTACHED DOCUMENT ONLINE*** June 24, 2014 ****** ******** ****** ********* ********** **** ******* ***** *** *** ******* ** XXXXX Patient Name: ****** ******* Case#:XXXXXXXX Dear Complaint Department, This is in response to your letter dated June 16, 2014 regarding concerns submitted to your office. *** ******* is asking for your assistance with her concerns regarding her prescription for medication from May 25, 2014. We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy regulations, we will respond directly to *** ******* at the conclusion of our review. Please feel free to contact us if you have any questions. We can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, **** ******* Member Relations Coordinator Member Relations Department

7/9/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
5/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I canceled my insurance membership with Kaiser in December 2013. They keep billing me even after I visited them on site at Membership, wrote and faxed multiple letter, remained on hold on my cell phone for over 3.47 hours while waiting for them to do something and eventually they did nothing to resolve or correct saying it's under review. (??) My letters to them clearly state and precisely say that I no longer want to be with Kaiser due to my outrageous premium rate increase. They are demanding payment of $1882. of which none is owed. I have all paperwork, faxes, records to prove my point and have gone well beyond reasonable efforts to remedy with them without response of any kind from them except more invoices. This is wrong and harassing.

Desired Settlement: I want these monthly premium charges of $1882.00 corrected and removed since now they are saying that they will send to collections if I don't pay. I have not used any Kaiser Medical services during this disputed time period since I had other insurance with another company. I used my insurance agent to move to another provider. All of this is documented. I have excellent credit and pay my debts on time as I have committed to. I am older and can not afford to get an attorney to remedy and I have never worked with such unreasonable, sloppy with follow up people before. This is hard for me to believe that they just don't get it or they are just harassimg me because they think they can. I am troubled deeply and this is causing me anxiety because I have always been in good standing with all bills, mortgages, businesses, credit cards etc.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/05/02) */ RE: Case #XXXXXXXX Dear Complaint Department, This is in response to your letter dated April 25, 2014, regarding concerns submitted to your office. **** ******* is asking for your assistance with her concerns regarding cancellation of her policy for 2014. We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy regulations, we will respond directly to *** ******* at the conclusion of our review. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ***** **** *********** **** ************ Member Relations Department Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/02) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Thank you, however, I have been trying for months to get this resolved only to hear the same thing --yet again. When I do call them, i am on hold for sometimes hours waiting only to be told they can't do anything and it needs to go on to someone else. Once again, they are saying the same thing and nothing happens except more invoices are sent to me for payment. It's ridiculous and a total waste of my time and no doubt many others. Maybe all these delay tactics, repeatedly bad communications, wasted time is what's causing people to believe our health care providers are overpaid and wasteful.. which is why our premiums are so high. I have no faith that they will respond in a timely manner or provide a workable solution since this is now month 5 on-going.

5/6/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have been using Kaiser as my primary health care starting in 12/13, I am 6 1/2 months pregnant. I have an added choice plan with Kaiser that is a Tier system. In January I noticed my bills that were coming in at a outrages price. I called on 1/2/14 and spoke with the billing department a lady by the name of ***. She indicated that they were billing me as I was going to a outside provider which is a Tier 3, She said that I will send a request to there financial review department call back in 7-10 days. I called back billing on 1/13/14 to follow up with this issue and spoke with a lady name ****** who indicated *** never sent the information through, I at that point was told to follow-up in 7-10 days and I did. This time I spoke with a lady by the name of ****, she indicated that it was in review and to ignore all bills, statements etc. I finally spoke with a supervisor and I can not remember her name same story we are looking into it. I received call from billing asking when are you going to pay your bill, I go to appointment they ask for payment.2/18/14 I called for follow-up still nothing, I was given a supervisor head of billing numbers her name was **************** to help on 3/3/14 with the issue,she indicated I don't know why they gave you my number nothing I can do, they are looking into it and it not a tier issue but a deductible issue? She said this has been an issue didn't you receive a letter in the mail and Ii have not.

Desired Settlement: I would like my account to be figured out, that way I know what I need to pay. I am expecting a baby 6/1/14 and additional charges will be added. I am tired of the run around and how hard can it be to fix the problem, it has already be 3 months. Billing # ************** Supervisor of billing # **************

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/18) */ Dear Complaint Department, This is written in response to your letter dated March 10, 2014, and ************* concerns submitted to your office. *********** is asking for your assistance with her concerns regarding a billing issue for services provided since December of 2013. Your letter was received by Kaiser Permanente on March 12, 2014. We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy regulations, we will respond to *********** directly at the conclusion of our review. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at ************. Sincerely, ********** Member Relations Coordinator Member Relations Department Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/03/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I received a letter from Adminstration and it does indicate a issue with my account , however it says it should be resolved within 2 weeks. I went to a appt this week on 3/20/2014 and my account still shows outstanding balance and they are asking for payment. I am still not sure, when this will be resolved by? I would like this to be taken care in a timely manner this has been going on since December 2013. Final Business Response /* (1000, 21, 2014/04/22) */ Dear Complaint Department, This is in response to your letter dates April 10, 2014, regarding concerns submitted to your office. **************** is asking for your further assistance with her concerns regarding billing issues. We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To Comply with federal privacy regulations, we will respond directly to *********** at the conclusion of our review. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at ************. Sincerely, *********** Supervisor, Case Installation Member Relations Department Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/04/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Kaiser has made contact with me however my situation is still not resolved. I received a letter from them stating my claims were billed wrong and they would fix the issue. I then received a bill and those correction were not made. I still have no idea the amount I should pay and ********** who is responding to BBB has not made contact with me.

5/5/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i am a senior citizen 64 years and went into emergency for a injury referred by 911 emergency paramedics. I am on charity at *************** battleing breast cancer and asked for financial assistance. I am covered by ****** 100 percent charity. I only got half of assistance and all the hospitals get grants to help the poor and i need help with the bill. I clean houses and rebuild my 2000 year car. all the time and have expences that write me down to 20,000. a year.

Desired Settlement: i want my bill of 359.20 to be written off as charity.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/21) */ This is in response to your letter dated April 11, 2014 regarding the concerns submitted to your office. ************ is asking for your assistance with her concerns regarding a billing issue. We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy regulations, we will respond directly to ************ at the conclusion of our review. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at ************ Sincerely, ************ Member Relations Coordinator Member Relations Department

2/18/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had Kaiser insurance from about 2004 to approximately 2009. During this time I constantly had cysts that required treatment. During one such episode (around 2006-2007), the Kaiser urgent care location was closed, so I called the Nurse help line. She informed me that Kaiser had a partnership with *** ******** ******** and advised me to seek treatment there. I asked her if it was covered by my insurance and she said it was. I received a bill a short time later and called to see why. I remember the woman telling me that I was responsible for a small portion of the $1200 bill. While I was not happy, I ended up paying, I think $250. I assumed that was the end of it. I recently got served with a small claim by a debt collector for around $700. This was 6 years ago and cannot believe the deceit that has taken place. I do not owe this money and now have to defend myself against the claim. It really bothers me too, because I absolutely loved Kaiser and really liked the Doctors. These kind of practices really bother me though and would like an explanation as to why a) they didn't pay the bill as I was told they would and b) why I was never informed as to why. Very disappointed.

Desired Settlement: I expect them to deal with both St. Vincents and the debt collector in resolving this matter.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/11) */ "Dear Complaint Department: This is written in response to your letter dated December 6, 2013, and *** ******' concerns submitted to your office. *** ****** is asking for your assistance with his concerns regarding payment of claims for services provided by ********** *** ******* in 2007. Your letter was received by Kaiser Permanente on December 9, 2013. We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy regulations, we will response to *** ****** directly at the conclusion of our review. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I may be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ***** **** (Member Relations Assistant) (Member relations Department)" Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 16, 2014/01/24) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Did not receive response. New address is ******************* eugene, Or 97401. Please forward this to kaiser so I can get their response. Thank you Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2014/02/04) */ Dear Complaint Department: This is written in response to your letter dated January 29, 2014, and *** ******' concerns submitted to your office. Your letter was received by Kaiser Permanente on January 31, 2013. *** ****** is asking for your assistance with his concerns regarding payment of claims for recent services provided by ********** *** ******* in 2007. Our response to *** ****** was mailed to an address that is no longer valid. Thank you for providing us with an updated contact information - we will forward our response to his new address. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I may be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ***** **** Member Relations Assistant Member Relations Department

2/3/2014 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Re my Kaiser patient #XXXXXXXXProblem with Mail Order Pharmacy, specifically their inability to refill Rx #XXXXXXXXXcc: Oregon Pharmacy BoardJanuary 2, 2014PLEASE HELP!!! I just dont know what to do about the incompetence of the Kaiser Mail Order Pharmacy. The above-referenced medicine is something I am supposed to take twice a day, every day! I re-ordered it on 12/15; there was no problem with the supply of the medication, and it should have been shipped immediately at that time. I ordered it with two other Rxs, one of which is another medicine that Im supposed to take daily, 4 times/day. That medication has also never arrived. There were two additional meds, not required daily, that were also ordered. Apparently there was a hold-up on one of those two additional meds, because its price had almost tripled in the time since I last ordered it (over a year ago). I WAS NEVER CONTACTED ABOUT THIS PRICE QUESTION (whether or not I was willing to pay the increased amount) UNTIL I RECEIVED A LETTER DATED 12/26!!! By this point, I had already called the Mail Order Pharmacy (on 12/26, but before I had recd the letter, which only came a few days later); they explained the delay, although they did not explain why this caused them to fail to send the two medications that I need daily. On 12/26 THEY PROMISED TO GO AHEAD AND SHIP THE THREE MEDICATIONS WHOSE PRICE HAD NOT INCREASED; and I asked them to find out if a less expensive replacement was available for the fourth medication. They said they would call me back when they heard back from my physician about a replacement. However, as of todays mail delivery, the needed daily medications HAVE STILL NOT ARRIVED. This now leaves me almost two weeks without medications that I am supposed to take on a daily basis. If Kaiser feels that the medications that my physician prescribes to be taken 2X/day and 4X/day are unimportant, then why is my physician prescribing them in the first place???This situation is terribly upsetting to me. I feel that I am being completely ignored by Kaiser Member Services, by Kaiser Mail Order Pharmacy, and by the State of Oregon Pharmacy Board. I will now contact the Kaiser Home Offices in Oakland, and I will see if the BBB can do anything to help.In the meantime, if anyone else can do something to help me, PLEASE DO SO!Thank you for any possible assistance,***** ******* Product_Or_Service: medication Account_Number: Kaiser member #XXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I JUST WANT THE MEDICATIONS THAT I AM SUPPOSED TO BE TAKING EVERY DAY!!!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/17) * January 14, 2014 Better Business Bureau Complaint Department P.O. Box 1000 Dupont, Washington 98327 RE: Case # ******** Dear Complaint Department: This is in written response to your letter dated January 7, 2014, and *** ******** concerns submitted to your office. *** ******* is asking you for your assistance with his concerns regarding pharmacy issues. Your letter was received by Kaiser Permanente on January 13, 2014. We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy regulations, we will respond to *** ******* directly at the conclusion of our review. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at ************. Sincerely, ***** **** Member Relations Assistant Member Relations Department

10/16/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There are 3 bills from March 2013 from my daughters birth that were sent to collections. I also have a bill from a back surgery, performed on July 30th, that is currently with Kaiser. I have been in contact since June of 2013 and had several conversations about setting up payment plans, but I also wanted to include my pending back surgery in order to have one monthly payment. I was told to wait and let all bills come through so they could put them all together. I received several EXPLANATION OF BENEFITS summaries that clearly state "THIS IS NOT A BILL." There is a small box that indicates member responsibility that does not even reflect the amount owed. Kaiser states that they sent out 4 or 5 bills that followed the explanation of benefits, however, I have not received any. I asked if this was true, why was it not brought up in one of my many phone conversations, especially if they were about to go into collections. Every time I called I was trying to stay in contact and set up a payment plan when all bills were final and ready. I have paid over $1,600 to date, and want to know why nothing offered or talked about at the time of those payments. My wife and I both have had appointments during the summer and at check-in they always have access to our account. Never once did someone inform me or my wife that there were outstanding bills about to be sent to collections. I felt I was never given the proper opportunity or notice to pay my bills. As of today, September 20, 2013, I have been told that there is no record of conversations or phone calls with Kaisers billing department. CALL RECORD: 5/15- 19 minutes 6/3/13- 10 minutes 7/12/13- 13 minutes 8/5/13- 12 minutes 8/5/13 (#2)- 12 minutes 9/19/13- 2 calls

Desired Settlement: I would like all bills pulled from collections. **************- $1,000 ********************- $2035.48 I want those bills integrated with remaining Kaiser bills for $2,162.80 and given the opportunity to apply for financial assistance and a monthly payment plan. Total proposed payment plan: $5,198.28

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/10/02) */ This is written in response to your letter dated September 23, 2013, and Mr. ******'s concerns submitted to your office. *** ****** is asking for your assistance with her concerns regarding a billing issue for services provided since March 2013. Your letter was received by Kaiser Permanente on September 25, 2013. We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy regulations, we will respond to *** ****** directly at the conclusion of our review. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

8/23/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: There are 2 main complaints that I would like to address. 1) My mental health referral was suppose to be corrected by the mental health department due to their mistake I was suppose to have a 6 month referral not a 4 day 10 visit referral from May 2-May 6th. I called and they were suppose to get this corrected for me on May 6th. It has resulted in a bill 155.00 which I do not owe Western Psychological because Kaiser was suppose to fix their error. 2) I spoke with ****** in billing that informed me that I had a co-payment for $15.00 on 1/22/2010 that went to collections. I was given the collection agency phone number X-XXX-XXX-XXXX which my debt was suppose to be at, which I wanted to pay immediately since I was never told of this until 7/15/2013. I called the collection agency and they said they have no record of that bill. In the 3 years I could have paid the $15 I was never told of the debt and every visit if I owed anything someone told me and I paid anything I owed. I was never informed in 3 years of the $15.00 from this visit on 1/22/2010. Then I tried to pay this bill and Kaiser refused to take the payment because it was at the collection agency. I cannot pay a collection agency or Kaiser if they have no record of this. I spent a total of 6 hours trying to fix what Mental Health stated was there mistake. On May 2nd 2013 I called Kaiser Mental Health due the advice of my primary care nurse. I received a mental health referral to Western Psychological due to Kaiser being scheduled out so far for 6 months My first visit was on May 6th with Craig Hanson at Western. He wanted me to return and I made an appointment on May 13. I noticed that there was an error on the referral and it wasn't for 6 months like the woman on the phone stated. I called Kaiser on May 6th and they said they corrected it in the system. I should have not trusted the person on the phone and got their name because it was never fixed. I called Western Psychology and spoke with ****** in their billing department and I explained what happened. He called Kaiser and told him I called and canceled the referral on May 6th, which is not true. I called Kaiser July 11th and spoke with ******* in membership services she thought their was something wrong with the referral dates as well and stated it said May 2-May 6th 10 visits. I explained to her what happened with Mental Health and she stated she would get it resolved. I then received a call from her on July 12 saying there was nothing wrong and she cannot fix the problem. So on July 15th I spent most of the day talking to Kaiser representatives who transferred me back and forth saying they couldn't help its this department. I talked to membership services spoke with ******** ******** ****, ****** and ****** who then told me about my bill in collections. I was then told that mental health would be the only department that would be able to help. I was given the phone number XXX-XXX-XXXX and spoke with **** who understood what was going on. She said that all I needed to do was have Western Psychological services call because I cannot complete it and they would be happy to change it for me. She stated she saw where it was done incorrectly.Dr's I saw including ***** ****** wanted me to be seen again I saw ** ******* on May 3rd, ** *** on May 8th. **** said it was an easy fix. I called Western left another message and *** called me back from billing and stated that she would pass the message on to ****** to call me. I waited a few days heard nothing and called ****** back and spoke with him today July 23, 2013 at 7:45 am. He left me a voicemail stating he spoke with 3 departments and spent a long time with Kaiser Claims, Mental Health and Referral department and stated that there was never any records of any of my calls or who I spoke with. Kaiser stated that they will not do anything about it and it is my responsibility, which is false. It is hard for me to believe that all the calls that I have made are not tracked at all. I have provided the names and there is no notes in my account? I spoke with ***** in Claims his # is XXX-XXX-XXXX and he saw everyone who I spoke with when I called him over my billing issues. This needs to be addressed immediately. I do not want to go to collections over a medical bill that was suppose to be taken care of by Kaiser. My second and very important issue is that if I owe $15.00 from 1/22/2010 from *** **** why was I not told about this until my coverage ended 6/30? Why is it the collection agency it was sent to has no record. Why is it when I am not longer a patient due to Kaiser denying my benefits do I get the run around and nothing can be resolved? I want these issues resolved asap ****** from Western Psychology number is XXX-XXX-XXXX ext **** I am sending as well a formal complaint to the Oregon Insurance Commissioner and the Oregon Department of Justice Consumer protection.

Desired Settlement: I would like to get the billing issues and referral issues resolved it shouldn't take multiple hours and people and promises of fixing and nothing happens. Now that I am no longer a member nothing that Kaiser has done in the past is being fixed. This needs to be addressed and fixed as promised. Thank you.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/08/08) */ This is written in response to your letter dated July 25, 2013 and *** ******* concerns submitted to your office. *** ******* is asking for your assistance with her concerns regarding medical services and a billing issue for date of service January 22, 2010. Your letter was received by Kaiser Permanente onJuly 29, 2013. We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy regulations, we will respond to *** ******* directly at the conclusion of our review. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 15, 2013/08/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I have settled this matter already and thank you! Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/08/22) */ This is written in response to your letter dated August 12, 2013 and *** *******' concerns submitted to your office. *** ******* is asking for your assistance with her concerns regarding medical services and a billing issue for date of service January 22, 2010. Your original letter was received by Kaiser Permanente onJuly29, 2013. We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy regulations, we will respond to *** ******* directly, in writing, at the conclusion of our review. The written response will be mailed to *** ******* no later than 30 days from the date your original letter was received. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

8/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The $20 charge is from a duplicate appointment. I initially saw a substitute doctor in the GI department on June 6 2011 when the regular doctor was on maternity leave. I then repeated the *exact* same appointment with the regular doctor on October 7 2011. I had to come back in because the first doctor was incapable of providing service. I was not satisfied with her analysis but she was not interested in listening to anything I had to say. To shut me up, she referred me to the nutrition department. I spent months going through the ringer with the nutrition department because of her, to no avail. After having no success, the nutritionist referred me back to the GI department to repeat the same appointment. At the time of the June 6 2011 appointment I paid the amount they requested of me - $15. At the time of the October 7 2011 appointment, they collected a co-pay again however they instructed me on filling out a request form to have the previous co-pay waived. I was advised to do this by Kaiser employee. The first denial letter was sent by "***** ****" without the proper postage. This is perfect example of the caliber of service provided. I was forced to go to the post office November 4 2011 during their business hours (which conflict with my working hours) in order to pick up this letter and pay the additional twenty cents. I have copies of this as needed. I processed the second request required in order to get the co-pay waived. I received no additional correspondence or invoice from Kaiser regarding this matter after. Since I had received no additional invoice after my second request I therefore concluded the matter was resolved. On June 6 2013 I received a call from ********* *********** company. They said it was regarding a debt from June 6 2011 and August 2 2011. I then called Membership and spoke with ******. I attempted to explain the situation and after much wasted time, she directed me to speak with collections department at another number. On June 11 2013 I called the collections number she gave me and spoke with *******. She was very quick to tell me how wrong I was, how nothing mattered because they sent out letters to me. She very much enjoyed arguing with me and shutting down anything I said. Through our conversation I determined that I needed to speak with a different department to get the $20 waived so she transferred me to *****. Rather than listening to my whole story, ***** also seemed very focused on telling me how they sent me letters and there were no options for resolution. He offered no new information, only repeated the same things over again and paid no consideration to anything I said. He became tired with repeating himself. I expressed I did not believe there was no other option available, so he disconnected the phone call. I then called back to membership and spoke with ****, I explained I had been hung up on and requested to speak with a supervisor. After waiting on hold for 25 minutes, **** said the supervisor would need to call me back and confirmed the number. It is now June 27 2013 and I still have not received a call back from a supervisor. I was informed by ******* and ***** that the reason for the denial is because there is "nothing in my contract which provides for a waiver of payment due to dissatisfaction." This is an unacceptable business practice. As my heath care is provided by my employer, I was not aware of any such contract or clause, I am not aware of agreeing to any such contact. No reputable business could possibly stay in business by saying that their customers are required to pay regardless of receiving service or regardless of their satisfaction with service. That is like saying, you can provide as terrible of service as you chose, or you can provide zero service, but the customer still has to pay you. As demonstrated by the fact I never received a call back from a supervisor, zero service is provided but I'm still required to pay. Why should a health-care provider be held to any less standards of service than a retail store or any other service provider? Shouldn't a heath-care company be held to *higher* standards?

Desired Settlement: I require written confirmation the $20 co-pay is waived and the collections debt is removed immediately.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/10) */ Dear complaint department: This is written is respond to your letter dated July 1, 2013 and Ms. **************'s concerns submitted to your office. Ms. ************** is asking for your assistance with her concerns regarding a billing issue for services provided on June 6, 2011. Your letter was received by Kaiser Permanente on July 3, 2013. We are in the process of reviewing the issue raised. To complywith federal privacy regulations, we will respond to Ms. ************** directly at the conclusion of our review. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX. ********* ** ******** ember Relations Coordinator Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 14, 2013/08/07) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The letter I received states that the charge is still my responsibility because payments are not contingent on the reason for the service or the member's degree of satisfaction with the service. This is just another way of saying that we have to pay them regardless of how terrible they are. If only we could all have jobs like that. Business' Final Response /* (-10, 15, 2013/08/08) */ This is written in response to your letter dated July 26, 2013 and Ms. **************'s concerns submitted to your office. Ms. ************** is asking for your assistance with her concerns regarding issues she is having with Kaiser Petmanente. Your letter was received by Kaiser Permanente on July 30, 2013. Ms. **************'s case is still being reviewed by Kaiser Permanente. A letter will be mailed to Ms. ************** once the review is complete. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX.

7/29/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My son had surgery thru the ER at Salem hospital due to a broken wrist on August 2011. We were double covered during this period. The billing process has been a nightmare from the onset. When he went for his post op appointment they billed out a New patient office visit. Per coding guidelines of the surgery he had there is a 90 day global period. He was not a new patient!! They have never corrected. Many phone calls were made trying to get itemized statements but we were informed that the billing department was behind or the copies we would receive were not legible. Finally very frustrated we repeatedly called Kaiser to ask what our balance was after we made a payment of $1,052.32 which according to our records paid all our remaining balance. On July 24, 2012 we called yet again and were told that our balance was paid in full. Today, July 13, 2013 over one year later with no correspondence since July 2012 we got a bill for $599.10. This in our view is criminal in nature and needs to be addressed.

Desired Settlement: Kaiser billing needs to look into the above mentioned issue and correct it immediately to a zero balance as we were told it was over a year ago by the Kaiser billing department.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/07/15) */ This is written in response to your letter dated July 3, 2013 and *** ******* concerns submitted to you office. *** ***** is asking for your assistance with his concerns regarding a billing issue for services provide on September 8, and September 15, 2011. Your letter was received by Kaiser Permenente on July 5, 2013. We are in the process of reviewing the issue raised. To comply with federal privacy regulations, we will respond to *** ***** directly at the conclusion of our review. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ***** ****

7/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Saturday, April 6, 2013 I went to Kaiser Permanente in an attempt to be seen. After more than a week of suffering, I went to this location to attempt to get a handle on a swollen throat (almost to the point of closing). The morning of Saturday, I called the North Lancaster branch to see if my normal physician was in that day. I was told that the only services that could be rendered to me was a visit to Kaiser's urgent care. At that point in time I asked if there was a physician on staff, and was told there was. I should probably start by saying that my wife works in healthcare, two of my daughters work in healthcare, and that I also work in healthcare administration. This gives me special insight into the abilities of healthcare providers and many of the games that insurance companies play. This is why I asked if I would be seeing a physician. With this being said, I drug myself out of bed and went to this location. Once there I went to the receptionist's office and informed them that I just called and I was there to see a doctor. After paying my $40 co-pay (double the amount of the regular physician co-pay), I was asked to seat myself in the waiting room and wait to be called back. Several minutes later, I was called back by a medical assistant. This woman took my weight, asked me the necessary health related questions and told me the "Dr. would be in to see me shortly." About 15 min. later my "physician" came in to see me. To say this man was rude would be an understatement to say the least. Excuse the cheesy analogy, but this man flew in and out of my room like a cool breeze. Several minutes later I was told by the medical assistant to go to the lab and get a culture. And so I did. The culture came back negative and that is when I started to look through the paperwork I received from the medical assistant. The prescription I was given was for a narcotic painkiller, but nothing else. I then realized that the rude "physician" I had seen was not a physician at all. Next is ridiculous prescription and medical advice was his title. The title was P.A., this stands for physician's assistant. Now there is nothing wrong with being a physician's assistant, but that is not what I paid to see. I was told over the phone by the operator, by the reception staff, and by the medical assistant that I would be seeing a Dr. Not a physician's assistant. Physician's assistants are in no way shape or form medical doctors. They do attend a few medical classes but they do not go to medical school. This is why I specifically asked to see a physician. I could go on and on about this visit, but I am attaching the copy of the letter I wrote to Kaiser Permanente's membership grievance department. I believe that will more than adequately describe what happened. This is why I'm contacting you today. I spoke with Kaiser Permanente and followed all of their policies and procedures regarding a complaint. This is a classic example of bait and switch. I was sold one thing and got another. It would be like going to a fine restaurant and paying for steak and receiving a hamburger. And then when you attempt to call the company on their sales practice they tell you too bad. After receiving a response from Kaiser Permanente this is what I found. The woman I spoke to, ***, I was told my claim was denied. She sent me a letter with essentially denied everything I said I had complained about. After speaking with her on the phone I found out several things about Kaiser Permanente. First of all, their customer service is atrocious. Secondly, there grievance processes consist of individual department and facility self assessments. Meaning, if a complaint is lodged against a particular facility, that complaint then goes to the administrator of the facility which then grades their own service. That would be like asking students to grade their own papers. I don't know about you, but I would've gotten straight A's under those circumstances. In addition, *** informed me that if they were to give refunds to dissatisfied customers "That would be like admitting that their services were good." I asked BBB to get involved today for several reasons. First of all I would love to have my experiences at Kaiser Permanente shared with the public at large. Open enrollment is coming this summer for me and I will be leaving Kaiser about point in time. I would also like the BBB to know that all I am asking for is a $40 co-pay and $20 I am being billed for the lab services to be refunded. This is not a money issue, it is a matter of principle and ethics. If I cannot trust my insurer to have my best interests at heart than how can I trust these people in the event that something catastrophic happens to my health. I found Kaiser Permanente to be dishonest, incompetent, rude, and grossly understaffed and under educated. I have currently attempted to deal with Kaiser personally, now I'm filing this complaint in addition to a complaint with the Atty. Gen. and several other state and federal agencies. Please see my attachments to get a better understanding of the situation. Best Regards, ***

Desired Settlement: A $40.00 refund, and 20 dollars in which I am being billed and refuse to pay. In addition, I would like a formal apology.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/07/01) */ RE: Case XXXXXXXX Dear Complaint Department: This is written is response to your letter dated June17, 2013 and Mr. ********'s concerns submitted to your office. Mr. ******** is asking for your assistance with his concern regarding recent care he received at Kaiser Permanente on April 6, 2013. Your letter was received by Kaiser Permenente on June 19, 2013. We are in the process of reviewing the issue raised. To comply with federal privacy regulations, we will respond to Mr. ******** directly at the conclusion of our review. Olease feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX. ********* ******** Member Relations Coordinator Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 14, 2013/07/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Business' Final Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/07/15) */ This is written in response to your letter dated July 3, 2013 and Mr. ********'s concerns submitted to you office. Mr. ******** is asking for your assistance with his concerns regarding a billing issue for services provide April 6, 2011. Your letter was received by Kaiser Permenente on July 5, 2013. We are in the process of reviewing the issue raised. To comply with federal privacy regulations, we will respond to Mr. ******** directly at the conclusion of our review. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ***** ****

6/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Complaint is over double billing.Paid in full on statement 2/28/2013 account ******* total 511.00 for:1/10/13-office visit 159.00 adjustment of 28.00 131.001/10/13-Lab Services 40.00 adjustment of 16.00 24.001/11/13-Radiologic 38.00 adjustment of 20.00 20.001/11/13-electrogram 21.00 adjustment of 5.00 16.001/11/13-EmergencyDpt 320.00 no adjustment 320.00Total 511.00 paid on 4/4/13 out of my HSA accountMay 10, 2013 receive new bill new account #********Charges for EmergencyDpt now reflects1/11/13-EmergencyDpt 320.00 adjustment of 112.00 balance of 208.00 I paid for this date of service already. Found out the Emergency Charges did not apply my plans discount. This is a new plan and it took over 4 months for Kaiser to realize. I paid the full amount of 320.00 and should have a credit amount of 112.00 dollars

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Credit of 112.00applied back to HSA account that it was paid for.Would like to know any state of federal guideline for timely billing dates of service?

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/20) */ May 17, 2013 BETTER BUSINESS BUREAU COMPLAINT DEPARTMENT P.O. BOX 1000 DUPONT, WASHINGTON 98327 RE: Case # XXXXXXXX Dear Complaint Department: This is written in response to your letter dated May 14, 2013 and Ms. ******’s concerns submitted to your office. Ms. ****** is asking for your assistance with her concerns regarding a billing issue she is having with our Patient Financial Services Department. Ms. ****** is stating she is due a refund based on an overpayment of a bill. Your letter was received by Kaiser Permanente on May 16, 2013. We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy regulations, we will respond to Ms. ****** directly at the conclusion of our review. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ********* ** ******** Member Relations Coordinator Member Relations Department Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 20, 2013/06/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The letter attached was old. I have been contacted via mail by ***** *****. The letter still has claims that are is dispute from 2012. I have asked that an account history from 2012 account and 2013 to be sent for review. Letter states all accounting in now correct however no documentation was provided. M's ***** and will mail out documentation for review. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 18, 2013/06/20) */ Ms. ****** was sent a letter dated June 15, 2013. Her account was audited and charges moved accordingly. Kaiser Permanente feels this case was resolved fairly and hopefully Ms. ****** feels the same. Ms. ****** is welcome to contact the individual who sent her the resolution letter in regards to her case. Thank you! ********* ** ******** Member Relations Department Kaiser Permanente

6/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I decided to give Kaiser its last chance. So I reenrolled like a dummy after several advertisements begging me to come back showed up at my home. Against my better judgement I reenrolled, and I just want out of this trap. The doctors there rob patients of copays, and offer no immediate medical treatment. I have Reactive Arthritis. My immunes system is so strong that it attacks my joints, organs and tissues. The only thing that works is methyl prednisone when I have a rash on my scalp. It itches so bad it seems like Gremlins are going to jump out of my skin. I was at the Murray Hill location a few days ago.******* refused to give me prednisone and offered a topical. I was furious and explained to her that it was on my head, topacles never work and that I have hair (which is about 8 inches long). She told me that it was unethical to prescribe prednisone even after seeing the lesions all over my body and knowing that I have been prescribed this on several occasions. What made me the most uncomfortable was when she first walked into the doctors room, she looked around (for a gown) then said, "How come you aren't naked?!" The tone of her voice and body language said sexual harassment. She clearly could see there was no gown for me to wear anyway, and even ith a gown on I wouldn't have been fully naked as she stated. From that point on she had an attitude (when I didn't respond the way she wanted), and refused medical attention that works. She told me I would have to wait for an appointment to see a dermatologist and at this point I was absolutely livid that a company like Kaiser allows things like this to go on. A doctors oath is to do no harm, and I don't feel I should have to pay to be treated like this. I wasn't asking for narcotics. I am was asking for skin relief to sleep for a change. I shouldn't have to pay 35.00 each time to see a doctor that may be incompetent and keep paying until I find one plus 77.00 a month. I feel violated, and ripped off.

Desired Settlement: I want all my money back. I want a refund of 77.00, 35.00 co pay and them to cancel my service and NEVER send me their junk mail again.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/06/05) */ I spoke with patient directly after this complaint was filed with the BBB in addition to our own internal Member Relations Department. The patient would not allow the PA to examine the scalp but simply wanted medication without her seeing the rash on his scalp or other areas of his body. Began yelling and swearing at the PA as soon as she said she needs to see the rash before prescribing any medication. The visit had no charge associated with it and the patient choose not to meet with the manager face-to-face regarding his care immediately after the appointment. Has since had several visits, one for this issue and received treatment.

5/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I set up the payment of a hospital bill to be paid the day before the due date. According to my bank's bill pay service, they did receive the check on that date. Despite the receipt, I received a second bill in the mail over a week later stating that they had not yet received the money. Upon recieving the notice, I checked to confirm that they had in fact received the money. The customer service department of Kaiser Permanente confirmed that they had received the check two days before they sent the second payment notice. I have put together the following timeline: 4/15 - date that check was recieved according to bank. 4/16 - due date, and date that KP systems show the check is cashed. 4/18 - failure to pay notice sent 4/19 - check deposited to internal KP systems. This second notice is troubling and includes threatening language and was sent despite Kaiser Permanente showing that the funds were recived. I find this to be a fraudulent business practice, possibly intended to trick me into double paying, and past experience has proven to me that it is very difficult to get overpayments back from KP.

Desired Settlement: I would like Kaiser Permanente to examine their internal accounting systems to prevent this from happening again. We have had trouble after trouble with their accounting system, and it needs a thourough review. I would also like an appology from Kaiser Permanente.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/05/06) */ Dear Complaint Department: This is written in response to your letter dated April 26, 2013 and Mr. *******'s concerns submitted to your office. Mr. ******* is asking for your assistance with concerns he has regarding our Patient Financial Services Department. Your letter was received by Kaiser Permanente on April 29, 2013. We are in the process of reviewing the issues raised. To comply with federal privacy regulations, we will respond to Mr. ******* directly at the conclusion of our review. Please feel free to contact me if you have any questions. I can be reached at XXX-XXX-XXXX. Sincerely, ********* K. ******** Member Relations Coordinator Member Relations Department

4/8/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
2/5/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
10/18/2012 Billing/Collection Issues