BBB Accredited Business since

The Sleep Center

Additional Locations

Phone: (541) 967-8080 Fax: (541) 926-7299 View Additional Phone Numbers 245 Pacific Blvd SW, Albany, OR 97321 http://www.thesleepcentermattresses.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers retail mattresses, bedding, and furniture.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Sleep Center meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Sleep Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Sleep Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 29, 2003 Business started: 09/01/1979 Business started locally: 09/01/1979
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mrs. Debra Ackland, Manager Mr. Doug Ackland, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Debra Ackland, Manager
Business Category

Mattresses Bedding Furniture - Retail

Hours of Operation
Monday - Saturday
10:00am - 6:00pm

Sunday
11:00am - 6:00pm
Alternate Business Names
Ackland Family LLC I Sleep USA The Sleep Center Mattress Outlet

Additional Locations

  • 1327 NW 9th St

    Corvallis, OR 97330

  • 1925 NW 9th St

    Corvallis, OR 97330

  • 2100 14th Ave SE

    Albany, OR 97322

  • 245 Pacific Blvd SW

    Albany, OR 97321 (541) 230-1890 (541) 753-2417 (541) 791-7245 (541) 926-7299 (541) 967-8080

  • 908 NW 9th St

    Corvallis, OR 97330

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/27/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Oct. 21, I bought an adjustable bed for my mother who lives in an assisted living facility because she has been sleeping in her chair. I was told I could return it if she didn't like it. I also bought a pillow and mattress pad. They asked if I would like to take them with me. I said okay. I have the pink sales slip and there is no signature by me regarding any exchange policy so I can only assume I was not asked to sign it. The money for this bed was to come out of some retro Veterans funds that had just came in - with an allowance for a bed in the note. When I told the case manager through Senior and Disability Services she said those funds were not moms to use, but she could keep the bed if a doctors order came in by the last day of the current month. October. Due to the Doctor being out of the office, I was unable to procure said order in time and had to get a refund. When I asked to cancel the order - even when the bed was not delivered yet, they said there was a restocking fee of 20% and no refunds of the pillow and mattress pad - that left the store! I am willing to keep the pillow but an XL mattress cover never out of the package that I do not have a mattress to put on should not be something I have to pay out of my own pocket, let alone a restocking fee for something that never left the store. This $400 is coming out of MY own pocket, as my mother's accounts do not have enough money in them> This is so unfair! Mom is 85 this week and I should not be punished for returning a bed she cannot use now and was never delivered!!

Desired Settlement: I want my $200 back for the 20% restocking fee and I want to be able to return the mattress pad and get a refund of $69.99 for that as well.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1010, 6, 2013/11/13) */ In response to ****** ****'s complaint. **** **** came into our store on October 21,2013 to purchase a Twin Extra long Mattress and a Twin Extra long Adjustable base for her mother. My salesman, ******* was there to help her through this process. **** **** spent two weeks prior to her purchase shopping our stores in Corvallis and Albany. **** **** knew that we didn't keep the Serta West Dean Twin Extra Long and the Serta Motion Essentials Twin Extra long base in stock in our warehouse and that we would have to order them from Serta. **** **** made the decision to purchase this mattress and adjustable base from our Albany location, with the full knowledge that we do not do refunds on Adjustable bases and we only do exchanges on mattresses. And she also purchased a Serta Freestyle memory foam pillow and a Sleep Tite Mattress protector with the full knowledge that we do not do refunds or exchanges on these Items once they are removed from the retail store. All of this is clearly stated on our invoices, plus my salesman, ******* went over all this verbally with **** ****. 1 have her signature on the bottom of my invoice stating that she has read and understands our store policy. I ordered the Serta Mattress and Serta Adjustable base for **** **** on October 22nd, the shipment came In on October 29th and we transported the Mattress and Adjustable base to our Albany location in preparation for the delivery. **** **** scheduled her delivery at time of purchase for October 31st, at the time frame of 10*12. **** **** took the pillow and mattress protector with her. On October 30th1 I received an email from **** **** stating that she needed to cancel her order for the Serta Mattress and Adjustable base. By my store policy, I reserve the right to charge a restocking fee on the order, I cannot send it back to Serta, so we contacted **** **** by phone and told her that we will cancel the delivery, and refund her money minus the restocking fee and minus the cost of the pillow and mattress protector. She was told she can come to our store and pick up the check or we can mall it to her. **** **** chose to come to our store and pick up the check, plus she signed a statement that she understood the refund and the restocking fees and that she was required to keep the pillow and mattress pad, she agreed to it. Also, I would like to point out that we could of refused to refund any dollar amount on the Adjustable base, but we decided that we wanted to help **** **** as much as we could, so we refunded the base too. We have done everything we can to treat **** **** equally and fairly by our store policy. There is nothing more I can do. Please see the store invoices that I am faxing with this letter and also the last email that 1 sent to **** **** explaining this all to her again.