BBB Accredited Business since

American Mattress Outlet

Additional Locations

Phone: (541) 762-0040 Fax: (541) 762-0042 3306 Gateway St, Springfield, OR 97477 http://www.americanmattressstores.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers mattress sales.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that American Mattress Outlet meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for American Mattress Outlet include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on American Mattress Outlet
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 16, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1977 Business started locally: 01/01/1977 Business incorporated 01/24/1996 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mrs. Cheryl Brazil, President Mr. Leroy Brazil, Partner
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Cheryl Brazil, President
Business Category

Mattresses Futon Sales Beds - Wholesale & Manufacturers Beds - Retail Wall Bed Sales Furniture - Childrens Furniture - Retail

Alternate Business Names
American Mattress Manufacturing

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

American Mattress Outlet has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 3306 Gateway St

    Springfield, OR 97477 (541) 762-0040

  • 4075 W. 11th

    Eugene, OR 97402

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/23/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased a mattress from their company and in under a year it has completely failed to perform and it has collapsed in the middle and is basically spilling off the bed frame (which I also purchased from them for this mattress as to keep the warranty valid). Well, I have been calling them for months and getting the run around from three different guys who keep telling me they aren't the manager, talk to the other guy, then the next guy says the same thing. Last time I contacted all three in the same day, they put a crying woman sales associate on the phone to dodge me after clearly hearing the guys voice in the background telling her to dodge me and that he "wasn't there. NOT HAPPY! They told me they could not warranty my mattress because I moved to the coast and was now in a different zip code and had to deal directly with the manufacturer of the mattress, not them who sold it to me....sounded fishy to me. Well...it was. The company told me they did not do this and it was up to the selling company to deal with the warranty. After that, they would not even respond to my voicemail or emails. I have no issues bringing the mattress back to Eugene, I am only 70 miles away but they still said no. They have delayed so long I think they are doing that to avoid warrantying the mattress. They never even told me how long the warranty was, I just assume it was still valid because they were "working on it". I have not lost my temper and have not done anything unprofessional to deserve to be treated like this and I want to be taken care of like a human being.

Desired Settlement: I would like either a different mattress of similar value of a different brand, if the one I want is more...I have no issues paying extra on top, or if it's less, I will eat the difference. This isn't about money...this is about taking care of people who work hard for their money and have to wake up feeling like crap because their back is all twisted up from laying in a horrible junk bed that didn't last a year. Or a refund and I drop off the defective mattress and walk away and call it even and buy something somewhere else and leave it at that. I am easy to work with.

Business Response:

The customer purchased a mattress from us and called Ryan regarding a warranty issue.  Ryan spoke to him on the phone and told him since he lived out of town to call and speak to a representative at Corsicana directly.  The customer said, "I'm a busy man can you text me the number" which Ryan did.  The next day Ryan received a text message from the customer that stated that Ryan needs to contact Corsicana not him.  It is common policy when a customer lives out of town that they are given the manufacturer number and work with a closer dealer which is only about ten minutes away from the customer.  The customer then sent Ryan a vulgar text.  Needless to say Ryan did not want to have any interaction with this type of behavior.  Also, I am the only sales women employed at American Mattress and I never spoke (cried) to the customer.  We are willing to resolve this however, we would need the customer to comply with store policy regarding how the warranties are handled. 

Thank you,

***** *****

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
I have no recollection of sending a vulgar text message to anyone, I know in the adult world, us adults that want resolution...will never get that by acting childish. You never "cried" you fake cried and pulled the woman card while you were coached in the background by a guy who said he wasn't there.  I don't like being disrespected so badly when all I ever did was buy a product from a supposedly good company and expected to be treated like a human being back.  Yes, I told them to text me.  I run a business and can't hear my phone ring or talk on it most of the time due to heavy industrial noises in the background.  After they texted me and told me to call the manufacturer directly, the manufacturer woman said they don't deal with customers directly and how did I get their number and I told them and they told me I had to call the store I bought the mattress from.  And I have zero clue what distance has to do with this situation.  I go to Eugene on a regular basis and a return would take little effort.  After the company who made the mattress rejected my call for help, the people I bought the mattress from would not reply to my calls either.  Very unhappy with your lack of business ethics.

If my warranty was in fact up, someone there would have just told me I was out of warranty and to deal with it, but the fact that I keep getting the run around tells me that I could have gotten this taken car of if you took the time to take care of customers.
Sincerely,

***** ******

Business Response:

Again, I am the only sales women at American Mattress and I never spoke to you on the phone or in person.  Please just call Ryan so we can get this resolved once and for all.

Thank you.