BBB Accredited Business since

Neil Kelly Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (503) 288-7461 View Additional Phone Numbers 804 N Alberta St, Portland, OR 97217 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.neilkelly.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers home remodeling, construction and solar services at their Home Performance and Solar Division.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Neil Kelly Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Neil Kelly Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Neil Kelly Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 01, 1957 Business started: 01/01/1947 Business started locally: 01/01/1947 Business incorporated 06/22/1964 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Tom Kelly, President/Owner Mr. Monty Moore, Manager Ms. Julia Spence, HR-VP
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Tom Kelly, President/Owner
Business Category

Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Building Contractors Home Builders Home Improvements Construction & Remodeling Services Handyman Services

Alternate Business Names
Home Repair Team Neil Kelly Co Inc Neil Kelly Company Portland Neil Kelly Designers/Remodelers

Additional Locations

  • 15573 SW Bangy Rd Ste 100

    Lake Oswego, OR 97035

  • 190 NE Irving Ave

    Bend, OR 97701 (541) 382-7580

  • 2817 Oak St

    Eugene, OR 97405 (541) 683-6085

  • 5959 Corson Ave S STE B

    Seattle, WA 98108 (206) 343-2822

  • 804 N Alberta St

    Portland, OR 97217 (360) 696-2204 (503) 620-1928 (503) 288-6345 (503) 288-7461

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/12/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We had $28,000.00 worth of work done through *** of Oregon. Since then we have had the highest electric bills we have had in our life!!! Neil Kelly came here once to try to fix it, which basically ended up with turning our inside temp. up more to heat the parts of the house that we questioned them on. They said it would work and it doesn't. This made approx 288sq. ft. of our house just about useless. Since we told them it still didn't work, we have never heard from them again. About a month and a half ago they said they would get back to us, which hasn't happened. I feel this is a very big scam and rip-off. I don't have this kind of money to just throw away.Now I am so mad I don't want any of the people who are suppose to be helping us to ever come on my property again.

Desired Settlement: Make my house useable again. We can't even close doors for privacy in any room!!!!!! We need help.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/02/10) */ Neil Kelly company strives to provide the highest quality work and solutions for our clients. Unfortunately, in this case we did not meet either the clients' or our expectations. The GM of our Home Performance Division meet with the client within a few days of receiving the complaint. He worked with the clients to find a solution that met everyone's expectations. The agreed upon work was performed to remedy the situation. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 9, 2014/02/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Because Neil Kelly came back out and fixed the problem. We are completly satisfied with the results.

11/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have raised issues with the company about the difference between design layout and installation and between specified sink faucet and installed faucet. They refuse to answer my emails or talk about ways to resolve my many concerns.

Desired Settlement: To start with, I would like them to discuss the issue beyond, 'thank you for your input, we will use your feedback in the future'.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/10/04) */ Neil Kelly Company representatives in our Seattle office have had an ongoing correspondence with *** ****** beginning 13 September 2013. Per her email of 30 Sept, she does not necessarily want the originally specified faucet. From her email of that date: Thank you for getting back to me. With your help, I would like to find a low flow faucet that fits my sink. It does not need to be the original Moen. Because the sink is so wide, I need a faucet with a larger reach to keep from hurting my back. The Grohe that was installed is a 2.2 gpm and has slight over a 7 inch reach. I want to stick with a 1.5 or 1.2 gpm faucet as specified but need one with a longer reach and I do not need a pull out faucet. Not sure if such a thing exists. Please let me know if this is possible. Our designer is working with various plumbing suppliers to find a faucet that fit her above stated requirements. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 15, 2013/11/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) If they company follows through and installs the correct faucet, they will have finally made good. But I sure hope no other customer has to go to the lengths that I did to get them to live up to their promises. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2013/11/14) */ Neil Kelly Company is actively working with the homeowner to finalize details and close this case.

10/14/2013 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Neil Kelly Company designed and installed engergy upgrades at our home last fall including a furnace and heat pump, insulation, and new duct runs to our homes second floor. When we were discussing the project I made it clear that with that addition of a heat pump and air conditioning to our home we were particularly concerned with heating and cooling our home's second floor, as we have two bedrooms on this floor and they're always hot during the summer months. The project was completed in early October of 2012, so we were't able to see how the air conditioning would function until it got warm this Spring. After playing with the thermostat, which is located on our home's main floor, we found that we couldn't adequately cool our second floor and that there isn't adequte air flow to this area of the home. Obviously, since this was one of the main objectives of a nearly $25,000 project we called our contractor **** ***** and the company they subcontracted to do the heat pump work. After numerous calls that went unanswered, we finally has people come out to look at our system on two occasions, only to be told that it was working the best that it could. **** ***** had a seperate contractor vist our home for a second opinion and he said that to properly cool our second floor a second zone should have been added. After going back and forth with Neil Kelly Company their only offer was to have us work with the new contractor to add the second zone at our own expense. This additional zone will cost approximatley $3,000.

Desired Settlement: Since Neil Kelly Company designed and installed our heating and cooling system and were aware of our expectations they need to make this system heat and cool as it should. If the system was improperly designed Neil Kelly Company should make corrections at their expense to correct their errors. We've been using supplemental cooling for our second floor all summer long, which has made our energy bills much higher than planned.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/09/25) */ The homeowner was given several recommendations to improve the air flow and comfort of his home. *** **** declined several of the recommendations. Among the declined recommendations were installing a zone system, adding an exterior duct chase, adding a register in the daughter's room, adding passive or "jump" registers to assist in passive air flow. Additionally, it is not clear if the homeowner is allowing the fan to run constantly (24/7) to allow for optimal air exchange and functionality. When recommendations are no implemented fully, a system cannot be expected to function to it's optimal levels. With this in mind, Neil Kelly Company and ***** ****** are willing to investigate the current status of the system using scientific measurement methods. We will also present the data and recommendations that the data suggests. Neil Kelly Company and ***** ****** have been in contact with the homeowner and are putting the testing/monitoring devices in place by 27 Sept 2014.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Neil Kelly Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)