This business is not BBB accredited.

Trade Shop

Phone: (503) 251-5988 View Additional Phone Numbers 534 SW 3rd Ave  Ste 320, Portland, OR 97204 http://www.tradeshop.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers diamond and jewelry sales.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Trade Shop include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Trade Shop
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 19, 1997 Business started: 08/01/1997 Business started locally: 08/01/1997
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Beth Scott, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Beth Scott, Member
Business Category

Jewelers - Retail Diamond Buyers Diamonds

Hours of Operation
Monday through Friday
10:00am - 6:00pm
Refund and Exchange Policy
7 business days on certified diamonds and in house, unmodified jewelry. No refund on custom manufactured jewelry. Please see our website for more details.
Service Area
National
Alternate Business Names
Affordable Diamonds Online Diamond Deals LLC Ideal Diamonds
Products & Services

Custom jewelry, Certified Diamonds, Celtic wedding bands, restyle, repair, appraisals, earrings, pendants, chain, gemstones, Asha stones, etc


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    534 SW 3rd Ave
    Ste 320

    Portland, OR 97204 (800) 224-8086 (503) 251-5988

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/6/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The following inquiry can be supported with emails and text exchanges. I started working with the Tradeshop on November 17th, 2014. I was seeking a person that was a certified Asha diamond dealer that was comfortable in custom work. I came across the Tradeshop by the Asha website as an authorized dealer. She said ring would be done mid-December. I did not hear from Beth until December 22, 2014. The approved CAD was not until January 23. There was discrepancies in the image and each suggestion or area of concern Beth became more and more agitated. She would reply with several snarky remarks on how my ring is not what she ‘ordinarily’ dealt with because most are above $10,000… January 28th, 2014, 3 plus months my ring was casted. I didn’t want my ring to be casted until two areas were addressed, but she didn’t fix it and casted the custom piece anyway. Beth did not make good on the 48 hour turn around. It took a full 5 days to be casted, then another 3 days to have the stone set… I finally received my ring on the 6th.I went to an appraiser for insurance reasons. Under the microscope the Asha stone had several inclusions and a spot where it looked like a rock chip. The jeweler/appraiser also pointed out that my ring was not likely to be rhodium plated because of the warm hue… just like un-rhodium plated white gold. Beth said that ring was rhodium plated she would replace my stone and help with some of the resetting costs; which was over 4 weeks ago. I have emailed Beth (each time politely) and reminded her that I have not received the stone. She has gotten back to me 2 in the 5 weeks. To make things worse, the stone in the bezel setting is loose… and I can see the inclusions with my naked eye. I have contacted the Asha (email inquiry kept) and they have no record of Beth ordering the Asha stone through them and they said their stone should not have any inclusions under a 10x microscope. So it leads me to believe that it is not an Asha stone.

Desired Settlement: Stone $146 through Asha site Rhodium Plating $70 for both wedding band and ring $85 for resetting (local price for a jeweler here) $301-total

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:It didnt show the steps on how to resolve the issue only that she sent a Word doc.  I also have all emails from ***************** that says they have no record of the Tradeshop ordering a diamond.  The response didnt address why I have not been refunded my ***************** stone (when Bethe said she would send it to me) and didn't respong to the loose setting and unrhodium plated ring.... Not sure if BBB will provide me a copy of what Beth wrote.  I have all emails and texts to support my claim.

Sincerely,

******* *********

Business Response:

*Document attached*

I am more than happy to reply to *******’s complaint.  In fact, I don’t think it an exaggeration to say that there are about 100 emails, text messages and facebook messages between us between December, 22 and February 3rd.  ******* is absolutely correct in that her project was started late.  I took full responsibility for that, apologized to her,  and most certainly gave her the opportunity to walk away, as a deposit for the project had not been run.  All orders are given an estimate of time, when I spoke with her on the phone I was most likely busy, not paying attention, and neglected to think about the fact that we were entering the Christmas rush. That is COMPLETELY my fault. ******* accepted my apology and decided to proceed with us making the ring.

Thus, the new start date is December 22.  Anything previous to that is a mute point. 

December 22nd ******* received her first round of renders, there were some changes to be made to the design and they were given to the cad tech.  Between December 22nd and January 6 is Christmas, New Years, Inventory, and a break from what is the madness in the jewelry industry at the end of the year.  This absolutely was explained to *******.  And while there are other emails and conversations, I’m going to provide a portion of them.

January 9th ******* inquired into having a shadow band made, I believe there was pictures sent over previous to this date, but it was re-addressed.  She was promptly quoted for the band and did not like the price, so the band was going to be re-quoted using a different style sans diamonds.  I asked her to wait until ****** (the cad tech) was completed with the render so I had a weight in metal to give her an accurate price quote since the band was to be 1.5 mm.

January 14th ******* sent to my cell phone a minimum of 8 texts in a row.   She also called my office then my cell phone, then my office and then my cell phone repeatedly.   I was on the phone at the time, cell phone in hand.   I can honestly say, I’ve never had that happen before, from a client.

 January 15th ******* emailed complaining about the amount of time it was taking to get changes done to the render.  She felt it was after Christmas time and certainly things shouldn’t be taking SO long.

Our website does state that custom projects average 2 to 6 weeks.....

January 20th ******* emailed asking how long it was going to take for the Asha stone to arrive.  She decided she wanted to proceed with the shadow band, she received new renders.   And still was not satisfied with the renders, although it had been literally traced in the areas that she repeatedly pointed to.

January 20st I emailed *******.  I told her that we all agreed that the render was what she was asking for. We, would be myself and four other people in the trade, either jewelers or business owners.  That’s 170 years of combined experience of professional jewelers.  I told her that nothing else was going to be done in the render, anything else to shape the ring would be done by hand.  I absolutely suggested that perhaps the best thing for her to do would be to buy the ring off the shelf and have a jeweler  set the Asha for her.  I told her that in 30 years I have never experienced this, from the cad tech being beyond slow, to the amount of time spent talking about a computer picture and that I didn’t know what to do to make the render acceptable to her past what I’d pointed out.  Clients sometimes have a hard time realizing what something looks like when it gets to size when they are looking at a photograph that’s 100 x what the actual size is.  

I did put a photograph of the original ring, and the render onto facebook and asked generally if people thought that the two rings looked the same.  I knew, that there was one small change that needed to be made at the 5:00 position.  I knew that that size of the render , versus the ring in real life was an entirely different view.   I wanted to see what the general public thought.  The answers are attached...and that change absolutely was addressed.

January 21st ******* emailed apologizing for being difficult, saying she needed to check herself and couldn’t believe what a bridezilla she was acting like.

There was conversation the 23rd and 26th about the wax, about the band, etc.  The 28th she was sent a photograph of the ring and matching band in wax.  Her reply: “Everything looks good”      Everything looks good.  I told her the waxes were casting that evening.

If her reply was everything looks good, then where did the “I didn’t want my ring casted until two areas were addressed but she casted it anyway” come in?   because this complaint is the first I’m hearing of this.   Rings are not cast without the client agreeing on the casting.  Had the fact been that she did NOT want the waxes going to casting, her email would NOT have said “everything looks good” but it would have said “no, you cannot cast it until 2 things are addressed” or something of that nature..

Further, in her complaint she first states "the approved cad was not until  January 23rd."  But then later says I didn't make changes she asked for and I ignored her request. The fact is she approved the cad.

The rings were put in the oven the evening of January 28th  My main goal in life was to have the ring ship out Friday the 30th.  Not only was I not  able to be there that day, due to a commitment I had made 6 months previous,  my head jeweler was sick, and busy.  ******* was told that if the rings were not ready by 1 pm they would not ship until Monday.  We are closed Saturday and Sunday

 *******’s deposit was ran 1/28.  The day we went to casting.  Which is normally the day I have all collected funds.  All the way until 1/28 she had the option of walking away with no money due and I would have paid the cad tech for his renders and wax.

The ring took 1 day to cast, one day to polish (finish.)  Then we had the weekend. We are closed.

Monday the 2nd was for the both of us a very disappointing day. I wanted nothing more in the world then to see her ring shipped to her, and she wanted nothing more than for it to be shipped.   My setter is ALWAYS gone on Monday.  My jeweler still sick, he was not comfortable setting the stone, and ******* was advised of this.  Her reply was that she would rather have somebody comfortable with setting the stone set it.  Monday the 2nd ******* also emailed me to ask if the Asha stone had a Certificate of Authenticity.  My reply was that Asha does not issue certificates of authenticity.  We are an Asha authorized dealer and an accredited member of the BBB with an A+ rating.  More often than not our jobs run over $10,000.  Thus, there is no interest, benefit or reason in swapping out, substituting or otherwise misrepresenting a man made stone.  To clarify, an Asha Diamond is not a diamond.  It is a cubic zirconia with a patented diamond coating that makes the stone the hardness of a sapphire, which means that compared to a “regular” cubic zirconia, the stone holds up better to surface abrasion.   We have been selling Asha branded stones for years.  I feel they are a great alternative to a regular cz for those who want the look, but not the cost, of a natural diamond.

Tuesday the 3rd the balance on the rings was ran, the ring set was shipped, photographs were taken and the ring was shipped federal express.  The ring was delivered January 4th.

February 8th I received an email asking about rhodium plating and letting me know she got her ring.

February 11th ******* emailed and said there was damage on the side of the stone, and it was the appraisers guess that the rings were not rhodiumed.  I told her the rings were rhodiumed, I would replace the Asha and I would send $35 to cover the cost to set a cubic zirconia which for setting is the class an Asha lab created diamond would fall into

February 12 ******* emailed “The ring is beautiful.  I start in awe that it is on my finger.  Love the weight, it will hold up nicely. It was worth the wait, thanks again. “ 

I did order the Asha, it was here Monday the 17th.  I have been beyond sick, I haven’t been in the office for weeks,  I was entirely gone for 2 weeks,  I’ve had bronchitis and an ear infection.  I was in the office one day last week, and today is my first day back this week.  My brother has done a few things for me, take messages, help a few local customers on my behalf, but really nothing has been done, for anybody,  because I’ve been in the bed.

 I’m being accused of not providing an Asha stone.  I use www.*****************. com   Her original stone was ordered on invoice number ******* and the replacement stone on invoice ******.  I spoke with www.*****************.com via email. In short btd says they told ******* to talk to me, they did not say I hadn't purchased a stone.  I do not take lightly to the fact that my company is being accused of not providing the correct stone.  Man made or not.  As previously stated, there is absolutely, totally, and completely NO earthly reason, under any circumstance, to not ensure the client gets the correct stone.  Man Made or Not.

I’m being told that there are visual inclusions in a stone that does not have inclusions, which I find extremely interesting.  Especially since I’m in possession of one  6 mm hearts and arrows asha lab created diamond that is *******’s replacement stone...no inclusions.

I'm attaching ****** **** *******s reply in regards to what ******* was told, the grading scale of the stones, and the impossibility of inclusions being seen with the naked eye.

I will not pay $146 for a retail priced Asha stone.  ******* was charged $100 for the original Asha stone that is in her ring. We never sell Asha stones at retail.  They are offered at a discount AND postage is paid for clients buying them through us.   I have already paid for the replacement stone which is sitting on my desk. 

I will not pay $75 for rhodium because past the fact that the rings were rhodiumed, because we do that off top, we use ULTRA white metal.  ULTRA white metal does not NEED rhodium, when the rhodium wears away the client sees no difference in the metal!   That’s the point of the ultra white. There is not a yellow hue.  So I most certainly have to debate that there is any kind of yellow hue in that metal and absolutely will need to see it for myself.  I cannot take somebodies “guess” over the facts as I know them to be true. 

I was willing to pay $35 towards the setting fee of the replacement Asha.  ** ****** in Baker City quoted $25 to set a cz.  *** ***** ******** in Boise, ID quoted $35 for the setting of a cz. 

However, I think at this point, especially because I’m hearing there are visual inclusions in a stone that does not have inclusions, I need to see the stone for myself, because this really is incredible!   I also need to see the chip in the side of the stone, and I need to see the yellow hue for myself.  The stone will be removed, inspected, and if in fact we find there are visual inclusions in the stone, it will be returned to ****** **** ******* to investigate for themselves, otherwise the stone will be disposed of.  But not before clear, digital photographs are taken for documentation before the original Asha is removed and after the new Asha is set.  That speaks also to the color of the metal as the ring is received, versus the color of the metal as it looks when it is shipped back out.  

To be perfectly clear, the rings will be shipped to Portland, the chipped Asha removed, the replacement Asha set, both rings repolished, re-rhodiumed, and returned to ******* at no cost to her.

This is the first time Tradeshop has ever had a complaint with the Better Business Bureau.  The first time that the company has been accused of not providing the right stone, on a man made stone at that, the first time in my life I’ve heard of visible inclusions in an  Asha branded stone, and the first time I’ve been told that a freshly rhodiumed ring set, over ultra white gold has a yellow hue.

I would very much like to see these things first hand.

Regards,

Beth S****

Owner
Diamond Deals, LLC
dba Tradeshop

Business Response: The check was received by her or her boyfriend weeks ago. I have a signature card from the post office as proof of receipt. As far as I'm concerned there's absolutely nothing further to discuss in regards to this matter. She got her check. She has her ring. She's the only complaint to the BBB in the history of the business. I have nothing more to say on the matter. 

Consumer Response:

My HUSBAND picked up the mail that had the check for the agreed amount. I tried to update BBB, to reflect that we FINALLY received the check that resolved the issue from back in February, but could not add anything to the open complaint so I waited. Again, it DOESN'T matter if you never had a BBB complaint before, you have one now. All because of your lack of professionalism and ability to follow through what was promised when dealing with a small-money client. Trust me, the feeling is mutual…


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Trade Shop
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)