BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 11/19/2012

Empire Marketing Solutions

Phone: (877) 990-8090Fax: (503) 536-65806600 SW 92nd Ave STE 230, PortlandOR 97223-0704 Send email to Empire Marketing Solutions

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers, Social Media Marketing, Search Engine Marketing, PPC Management, Local Search Optimization, Search Engine Optimization, Mobile Search Marketing, Website Development, Logo Design, and Media Development services.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 11/19/2012

BBB has determined that Empire Marketing Solutions meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Empire Marketing Solutions' rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Response to 12 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

12 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Advertising / Sales Issues3
Billing / Collection Issues5
Problems with Product / Service4
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 12

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews Customer Reviews on Empire Marketing Solutions

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience
Neutral Experience
Negative Experience
Total Customer Reviews 0 Customer Reviews

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (12)BBB Closure Definitions
02/10/2015Advertising / Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Compnay inferred that their service would be an exclusive top of the page add on Google search. When I tried to look up my rental on Vacation Rental ****************** it did not come up. When I called ********* at Empire she informed me that the key word was "****************** Vacation Rentals" only. Well that isn't what I thought she was selling me. She wasn't selling me an exclusive top spot listing for Vacation Rentals in ******************, she was selling me only one specific phrase that being "****************** Vacation Rentals". Well to me it is one of two things.1. I completely misunderstood what she was selling or this company is selling fraudulent or misleading sights.

Desired Settlement
I am requesting that they cease and desist advertising for my rental, and refund the money they collected from me.

Business Response
***** ***** signed up with our company on 1/6/2015 for Search Engine Marketing services to sponsor his website for $75.00 per month on a monthly service agreement to renew each month on the 6th unless paused or cancelled by the client. To sign up for our services, new clients are subject to a setup fee of $79.95.

With our Search Engine Marketing services, a client's website is featured under specific keyword (or keywords depending on how many products are purchased) pertaining to the client's business industry and desired monthly premium. $75.00 is our lowest monthly fee for our SEM services.

Before this client signed up for our services, we placed his website under the keyword ************ ******* vacation rentals" to show the client a preview of our service before the client actually signed up and paid for the service. We do this to prevent situations like this to occur so that the client understands exactly what he/she is signing up for.

We also record the telephone conversation between the client and the Sales Manager to prove that we do not mislead the client in any way. Further proof is given in the receipt e-mailed through a reputable service called DocuSign so that each client receipt is documented with an identification number.

After we go over our services with the client, the client signs up for our services, we record the telephone conversation, we send an e-mail with transaction ID number and we also offer a full money-back guarantee within 24 business hours if for any reason the client decides to not go forward with our services.

The client did not contact us until 1/13/2015 to request to cancel and he also requested a full refund. Since our services cost us money and the client did not contact us until a week after he signed up, we had to decline his request for a refund.

At this time, the client's website is still listed under the sold keyword until 2/6/2015 because his cancellation is pending until the full paid month has been completed.

**I have attached documentation and recordings between the client and our company.

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

09/25/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
Did not ok service that was charged to me for 4 months. Could not get a hold of company to cancel service, after 4 months, credit card company got involved, and also could not get a hold of company. they then reimbursed me 4 months of charges.(which was $600. After **** investigated, they withdrew money from Empire Marketing bank account. **** has told me not to do anything else from this company, and to make sure that Empire does not charge my account any more. Empire has now called me asking for the 600, and threatening me to sue me for fraud. I told them I would only give them 1 month at max of fee's but no more. No service was ever provided to me beyond the first month. They insist I owe 600 or they will take me to court. I am also filing charges to the Indiana BBB and the Atty General in Indiana that this company has taken money from my bank account, and does not allow you to cancel any order.

Desired Settlement
I thought it was fair that I give them 1 month of fee's (150) and no more. I would also like to be left alone, not hassled or threaten any more.

Business Response
In response to the customer client complaint. The client contacted his credit company stating he had no knowledge doing business with Empire Marketing and was refunded $600 from this statement. We contacted the customer and sent a copy of the billing, receipt and even emails sent from the customer's email. The customer told us that it was not him that signed up that someone stole his credit card and then used it to advertise his business. We asked if he reported his card stolen and he did not. He then told us the emails that were sent asking for the performance of the advertising we had been providing wasn't sent by him. That someone hacked his email and asked for statistics for his business but it wasn't him. We told him that we would hire an investigator to verify the identity of the person that sent the email. He then admitted it was him but then said he was unhappy with the service and offered to pay us back $150 of the $600 that fraudulently charged back for. Due to the back and forth with the customer we missed the opportunity to respond to the credit card company so we settled for $250. The customer sent a check and the account is closed.

05/21/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
This company contacted me almost 2 months ago to do FB advertising for my business page and I agreed to pay $100 for 1 month of advertising. They supposedly posted an ad on my behalf yet I've never seen the ad displayed anywhere nor has it brought one bit of activity to my FB page. I have not heard form this company until 2 days ago claiming they have been aggressively promoting my business and now I owe them $200?? If I don't pay they will send me to collections?? I never signed a contract with them agreeing to pay more than 1 month nor do they have the right to bill for services that were not provided.

Desired Settlement
To be removed from their contacts... they have been calling and emailing me nonstop for 2 days to collect yet I haven't heard a word from them in months ??

Business Response
I noticed that our response didn't go through.

After looking into this account, I personally spoke with our billing department to contact this client and let her know that this case was dropped and her balance was removed out of our system.

We have no problem with fulfilling the desired resolution as we try to make sure each of our clients are happy with the results that they receive from our services.

Please let us know if there is anything else needed from us. Thank you for your time.

02/26/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I have been trying to cancel my advertising campaign with Empire Marketing Solutions for months. After I joined they were slow to respond, provided none of the metrics to measure the advertising I was paying for. Every time I call the last person I spoke to is no longer with the company.

Desired Settlement
I would like a refund for all that I have been charged: ($699) for advertising, for 3 months I have seen no proof of the advertisements, no response when I request to see the number of times my ads have run, no response when I request to cancel.

I would like a refund for all that I have been charged: ($699)
1/31/14 - $150
12/31/13 - $150
12/02/13 - $150
10/24/13 - $249

Business Response
***** ****** originally signed up with **** **** on 10/23/2013 for advertising services through Facebook ads. **** **** was simply his first point of contact who explained the services to ** ****** and took the initial account and billing information. His account was then assigned to *** ******* who was assigned to be his Ad Strategist to design 3 illustrated ads linked to ** ******'s website sponsored through Facebook's advertising network. He scheduled to be called on 10/24/2013 to go over the custom targeting options and ad suggestions. After his call with his Ad Strategist, his account took a few days to create and was sent to *** ****** on 11/1/2013 to be approved. After several discussions with his Ad Strategist on changes to the ads, his ads were uploaded as of 11/13/2013 on Facebook and were started as of 11/14/2013 which initialized the first day of his prepaid monthly billing cycle to commence. ** ****** emailed **** ******* on 11/25/2013 asking whether his ads were live on Facebook or not and he was concerned about being transferred between representatives. **** ******* replied to ** ******'s email explaining that his original sales representative was no longer with the company and the roles of representatives that he spoke with as well as how to request a traffic report by email. ** ****** then emailed on 1/30/2014 requesting that his account be deactivated immediately as he did not feel the services rendered were adequate in his opinion. Since he emailed our cancellation department email address, he received an automatic reply to his email stating to allow up to 7 days to process his request of cancellation. His billing date was input as the 30th of each month due to his original ads being created as of 11/1/2013 (which I see is a billing mistake as his final ads were not approved and started until 11/14/2013 which should commence a billing date of the 13th. A refund of ** ******'s last payment on 1/30/2014 will be refunded because of the error on our company's part regarding the client's correct billing date.) On 2/1/2014 which was a Saturday, ** ****** posted a review on our company's Facebook fan page stating that he can't ever receive a response to his emails and/or calls and that our company continues to bill his credit card (even though he cancelled as of 1/30/2014). **** ******* saw this review on our company's fan page and emailed ** ****** from his home letting him know that he will be contacted regarding his situation as of Monday since we are closed on the weekend. On Monday 2/3/2014, **** ******* contacted ** ****** again by email asking why he is disgruntled. ** ****** stated that he has tried to cancel several times by email but his first request was on 1/30/2014. He also stated that he never received access to his account dashboard which our clients don't have access to but they are told how to request a traffic report by email. ** ****** never requested a traffic report throughout the lifetime of his account which is why he did not receive one. ** ****** then demanded a refund of $150.00 which **** ******* was willing to do if he did not post a BBB complaint and if he did then he was not going to be able to refund that amount until the BBB complaint was resolved. After **** ******* sent ** ****** an email on 2/3/2014 explaining that a refund of $150.00 would be processed after the BBB was resolved, he did not communicate further by email.

In conclusion, Empire Marketing Solutions agrees to refund ***** ****** a total of $150.00 for the payment of services made on 1/30/2014 per ** ******'s original request by email on 2/3/2014. ***** ****** will need to confirm acceptance of this refund to the billing information stored on file which is a Visa ending in *****


Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

11/26/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I subscribed to Empire Marketing Solutions Market Your Empire program for Search Engine Placement on 3/26/13. The Receipt and communication I received says, "Our services are on a MONTH-TO-MONTH agreement. Setup fees& Search Engine Placement (SEP) costs are NON-REFUNDABLE...To cancel or pause you must email 7 days prior to your monthly billing date. I had been billed on the 26th of every month. I send a cancellation email and received a confirmation of receipt of the cancellation email on July 23rd. I was billed on the 26th of July, which I expected, but then again on August 26th. I got a call from a salesman trying to talking me out of cancelling and refused. I was billed again on September 26th. I got another call from an even higher pressure salesman who tried to convince me to upgrade my package instead of cancelling. Again I refused and said I'd notify my credit card company. I send a follow up email on Oct 6th and notified my credit card company. They sent a dispute notification. Despite being notified of the dispute, Empire Marketing charged my account again on October 26th.

Desired Settlement
They need to cancel my account with them and stop charging my credit card. They also need to reverse the charges posted on September 26th and October 26th. And they should not have any salespeople or other representatives contact me.

Business Response
Upon ***** ****'s email request to cancel, her account was cancelled as of August 26, 2013. Even though her recurring billing subscription was terminated, we were notified that an error had taken place with our merchant services account which resulted in ***** continuing to be billed. Once notified of this error, we quickly corrected it and then gave our sincere apology. ***** ****'s entire account including services provided and billing has been fixed and fully cancelled.

Because ***** **** notified her bank to dispute charges, we cannot refund the disputed charges which we will not contest the dispute and allow the bank to return the charges made.

Again, we sincerely apologize for this error and the inconvenience involved. We hope to resolve this matter quickly and professionally to the satisfaction of ***** ****'s desired resolution.

Thank you.

Page 1 of 3
06/28/2012Advertising / Sales Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Internet Marketing Services, Search Engine Optimization Services, Marketing Consultants, Web Design

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 05/23/2012Business started: 09/01/2011
Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company

Contact Information
Principal: Mr John Sherman (Member)Customer Contact: Mr Matt Sherman (Member)Ms Linda Sherman (Office Administrator)
Business Category

Internet Marketing Services, Search Engine Optimization Services, Marketing Consultants, Web Design

Hours of Operation

Monday through Friday
9:30am - 4:30pm

Refund and Exchange Policy

Please see Terms and Conditions at http://www.marketyourempire.com/terms-conditions/

Service Area

All Countries

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Empire Marketing Solutions

6600 SW 92nd Ave STE 230

Portland, OR 97223-0704

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 6600 SW 92nd Ave STE 230 

    Portland, OR 97223-0704(877) 990-8090

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Empire Marketing Solutions is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 15, 2013. This includes all complaints filed electronically that meet our reporting guidelines.

X

Industry Tips for Internet Marketing Services

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.