This business is not BBB accredited.

Super 8

Phone: (541) 482-8887 2350 Ashland St, Ashland, OR 97520


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Super 8 include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Super 8 include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Super 8
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 06, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1987 Business started locally: 01/01/1987
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Human Services
500 Summer St NE STE E15, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/dhs
Phone Number: (503) 945-5944
dhs.info@state.or.us

Business Management
Manager, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Manager, Member
Business Category

Hotels


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2350 Ashland St

    Ashland, OR 97520 (541) 482-8887

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We checked into a room and at approx. 1 am I felt a bed bug crawling on me. I woke up my family to check the beds and found at least 6 more living bed bugs, some of them engorged with blood. My children are ages 2, 5, and 8. The customer service rep first offered to move us to another room, but I told him that without plastic mattress covers, moving made no difference. I told him we'd rather check out and he refused to refund my money at first. After an hour or so of arguing with him he decided he could check us out without charging us, which is all I wanted from the beginning. He was condescending and rude, as if I were over reacting about bed bugs crawling on my children. It was now 3 am and I had to pack up my family, put all of our clothes in plastic bags and find another hotel. Both the employee and myself left messages with the manager, ****** *****, and I have yet to hear anything from him.

Desired Settlement: They refunded my room charge, and I would like for them to pay for the other hotel we had to move to, the gas we used to get there, the cost of washing all of the clothing we had brought into the room with us and the cost of the meal we had on the road due to having checked out at 3 am. (We were supposed to check out in the am and be home before dinner, but due to 3:30 am check in, we checked out late to let the children sleep, forcing us to eat dinner on the road and drive at night.) The business should be made to use mattress covers on all of their beds and should be shut down to fully eradicate the bed bugs. No family should have to go through that experience. My children are traumatized and now fear that there are bed bugs in their own beds.

8/13/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We checked in June 7th for two nights. We discovered, late in the first night, blood on the mattress of one of the beds. Our son, who is autistic, was already asleep in the other bed. We proceeded to check out as soon as possible in the morning. We had reserved for two nights. We spoke with clerk, and took photos -- and were told we could have another room. We chose to leave and go to another motel for our second night. Upon arriving home, I contacted the motel and the manager informed me that not only would we not be reimbursed for the night we stayed, we would not be reimbursed for the night we did NOT stay, June 8th. He said we never checked out. This is a total lie as we did.

Desired Settlement: At the very least, reimbursement for the second night, which we did not stay. Blood on the mattress is disgusting and probably a violation of numerous codes within the state. At the very most, a refund of both nights, as my husband and I did not touch the second mattress after we found blood on it. We want what is owed to us.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/07/22) */ Dear Contact: Thank you for notifying our office of the concern filed by ******* *****, at the Super 8 property located in Ashland, OR. The Super 8 chain is committed to assuring that all of its properties provide good service and quality accommodations. This guest's comments have made us aware of an instance when one of our properties did not meet a valued customer's expectations. We regret that the guest had to contact you and our office regarding his concerns with the property. Each Super 8 hotel is independently owned and operated under a Super 8 franchise. This means that the property's management is responsible for meeting Super 8 standards and for day-to-day operations. After thorough review, we feel the best resolution would be achieved by direct communication between the property management and *** *****. Once again, we certainly do apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. If your office requires any further information regarding this resolution, please contact me at (XXX) XXX-XXXX. Count on me, **** ********* Customer Care Representative Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 8, 2013/07/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) They are refusing any resolution. The manager was rude and did not give one whit about the state of the room and refused to refund the one night that we did not stay there. We have photos showing the state of the room - he said there was no way he would compromise in any way. The room was paid for ahead of time AND we did not stay the second night. The best resolution is a refund of the ONE night we did not stay there. The room was disgusting but the manager felt that since he already got his money, he doesn't need to do anything. This is unacceptable to us. He would not even meet halfway with ANY offer. Business' Final Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/08/01) */ Dear Contact: Thank you for notifying our office of the concern filed by ******* *****, at the Super 8 property located in Ashland, OR. We are sincerely sorry to hear we did not provide the guest, with an excellent Super 8 experience. You can count on our team to help resolve *** ******* concerns. We apologize that the property did not meet *** ******* expectations of Super 8's high standard of guest service. Customer Care has resolved the situation with *** ***** via a check in the amount of $79.36. If you need any more information on this matter, please contact me directly at **************@wyn.com. Count on me, **** ********* Customer Care Representative


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Super 8
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)