This business is not BBB accredited.

Star Fish Manor

Additional Locations

Phone: (541) 996-9300 Fax: (541) 994-5208 View Additional Phone Numbers 3135 NW Inlet Ave, Lincoln City, OR 97367 http://www.onthebeachfront.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Star Fish Manor include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Star Fish Manor
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 24, 2006 Business started: 03/27/2000 Business started locally: 03/27/2000
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Human Services
500 Summer St NE STE E15, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/dhs
Phone Number: (503) 945-5944
dhs.info@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Partnership

Business Management
Ms. Dianna Dunlap
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Dianna Dunlap
Business Category

Hotels

Alternate Business Names
Nantucket Inn

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2735 NW Inlet Ave

    Lincoln City, OR 97367

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3135 NW Inlet Ave

    Lincoln City, OR 97367 (541) 996-9300 (800) 972-6155

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/28/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: We made a reservation online for a hotel room a few weeks ago. We were unable to check in tonight due to my fiance newly developing kidney stones and being hospitalized. This happened at 3 am this morning, and could not be anticipated. I called to request a cancellation at 8 am and they were not open. Called again at noon and spoke to a pleasant guy named **** who noted the 4 day cancellation policy, but stated that he would contact the owner to request an exception due to the emergent medical circumstances. I did cancel the room at that time, since there was no answering machine at 8 am. I did receive a call at 4 pm, while I was working, with no message left. When I called back, I spoke to a young-sounding female who told me that they would not refund my money. She said that the 4 day notice was binding even in an emergency, since I booked online. She also said that if I had called to reserve a room by phone, that I could have paid upon check in and not have been liable for the night's bill of nearly $200. There is nothing online that states this practice, or I would have done that instead. I don't think it's fair or a good business practice to allow some folks to reserve a room with no financial liability and others to pay the full charge even in unforeseeable and unavoidable bad circumstances if they are unable to come. I asked for a credit so we could come in the future when he is well again, but she said no, that we are simply out of luck. I thanked her and hung up. I called back on another phone line awhile later to see if they had any open rooms. Sometime during the day, they had apparently rebooked my reserved room, as she said that there was no availability. So, they are apparently keeping my money AND renting the room to another person for the night! Totally not ethical, in my opinion.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money refunded at this point -- the total was $197.80. I would have been happy with a room credit at the time, but the phone conversation with the 2nd receptionist left me with a very bad taste in my mouth.

Business Response: I am sorry to hear about this persons last minute medical situation! We have a 4 day cancellation policy and hold that room specifically for that guest as our rooms are usually rented for special occasions and not the type of room to book up last minute. Our cancellation policy is the same regardless which way (phone or online) a guest reserves a stay. This guest is not due a refund as she states she called and cancelled with less then even 24 hrs.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

It is unacceptable.  The business made no effort to resolve the complaint.

You re-rented my room, as evidenced by there being "no vacancy" when I called back later on that day.  You shouldn't be paid twice for the same space -- that is unethical and ridiculous.  A 4 day cancellation policy is also pretty crappy.  Even if he had become ill 3 days prior, we apparently still would not have been able to cancel.  I am very displeased and I know that other people would be interested in hearing about my experience if you can't make it right.

Sincerely,

****** ****