This business is not BBB accredited.

Ramada-Portland Airport

Phone: (503) 255-6511 Fax: (503) 255-8417 6221 NE 82nd Ave, Portland, OR 97220 http://www.ramadaportland.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Ramada-Portland Airport include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 2
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Ramada-Portland Airport
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 02, 2010 Business started: 08/25/2005 Business started locally: 08/25/2005
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Human Services
500 Summer St NE STE E15, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/dhs
Phone Number: (503) 945-5944
dhs.info@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Jarvis Melton, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Jarvis Melton, Manager
Business Category

Hotels


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Ramada-Portland Airport has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6221 NE 82nd Ave

    Portland, OR 97220 (503) 255-6511

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/24/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I stayed here for 2 nights beginning February 26, 2016 through February 28, 2016. my credit card was charged for the first night and then charged twice for the second night. I have called them to rectify this issue and they refuse to assist me. My bank account has begun to accrued excess charges due to the fact that Ramada was not authorized to charge 217. 56.

Desired Settlement: I would like a refund for all excess charges that were not authorized by myself in the amount of $217.56 as well as rectify the charges that were acquired from my banking institution in the amount of 140.73 from overdraft charges.

Business Response: I have contacted the guest and reversed the charges prior to them submitting this complaint. 

9/15/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Visited the Ramada on August 5th. Unpacked items into room 301 and as I was headed out to dinner, noticed the outside entry door immediately adjacent to my room was broken and not able to be secured, allowing anybody off the street access to the hotel corridors. I brought this matter to the front desk's attention and explained to them that I needed a room with a secured outside entry. They offered a room further away from the entry door, but this room was still accessed from the same unsecured entry door. They explained that they had no room available that was not accessed from this unsecured entry door. A***, the manager on duty stepped in and offered for the maintenance guy to "have a look at it". This felt like a brush off attempt to appease me without addressing the root of the concern, which was the unsecured entry door. I told him that until the door was fixed, I was not comfortable staying in the room and if he was not able to fix it or provide a room with a secured outside entry door, that I would have to seek other accommodations and expect a full refund. A*** reiterated his offer to have the maintenance man--who was still standing beside him the entire time!!--have a look at it and if this did not satisfy my concerns, then I was not welcome to stay at the hotel. I asked if the door was fixed. Of course it was not as the maintenance man had not been dispatched. A*** then kicked me out of the hotel to extreme inconvenience to myself and refused to refund my money. I e-mailed the general manager, J***** ****** regarding the matter on Monday August 17th after returning home from vacation and have yet to recieve a reply to my complaint.

Desired Settlement: I wish a full refund to my credit card for the room charges, as I was kicked out of the hotel and not able to spend the night.

Business Response: 08/24/2015

 

Better Business Bureau complaint #********

 

Dear Ms. ****,

 

I want to take this opportunity to apologize for the
unsatisfactory service you received during your stay at the Ramada in Portland.

 

I understand that you had an issue with the hotel exterior
entrances not locking. My manger did have my maintenance man look into this and
found the doors to be operating properly. We also have 3 locks on every
guestroom door. WE also have signs in the room advising guest not to leave
valuables in the room but rather bring them to the front desk and lock them in
a safety deposit box. My manager did communicate to you that we would look into
this matter and sent the maintenance man to investigate before the maintenance
man came to the front desk which is why he never left after he got there. My
manager did also inform you that everything was working and rather than going
and checking you began to argue with my manager and causing a scene at which
point he kicked you out of our property. Furthermore to the best of my
knowledge we do not advertise anywhere that our building is 100% secure as
there is always at least one unlocked entrance. As you were in the room over an
hour and fully utilize the room by taking a shower and messing up the bed we
will not be giving a refund.

 

 

Jarvis M*****

General Manager

Ramada Portland Airport

**** ** **** ***

Portland OR 97220

Phone: ************ *** ***

Fax: ************

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: It contains many factual errors regarding the encounter. 

I reserved the room at your hotel for stays on August 5th and 12th
nearly a month in advance of my planned visit to Portland.  The decision
was based on the hotel's convenient location to PDX and I-205 and my
past experiences in staying with Ramada.
 
Thank  you for your apology regarding the unsatisfactory way your
staff dealt with my concerns regarding the unsecured rear entry door.  I
was shocked at the remainder of your reply and troubled by your
misunderstanding of the situation.  Your reply contains several factual
errors.
 
1) My correct title is Mr.  I am a man as hinted at by my first name of *******. 
2) Alan, the manager on duty never informed me that the door had
been fixed.  This should have been communicated immediately upon repair,
as it addressed my chief concern with the room!  In fact, during our
conversation I asked Alan point blank if the door had been fixed.  He
reiterated his offer to have the maintenance man "have a look at it",
but as I stated before, an inspection did not address my concerns
regarding the door security.  Only the repair of the door would have
allayed my fears.  Until the rear entry door had a secure locking
mechanism, I was unsatisfied with the room at the hotel and did not feel
safe leaving my belongings while at dinner. 
3) I never argued with your manager or the other front desk staff,
but politely and respectfully relayed my concerns regarding the
unsecured rear entry door.  I did not raise my voice, use inappropriate
language or act in a disrespectful manner to any of your staff. The only
thing approaching a "scene" that I can recall was actually caused by
front desk staff incompetence when they attempted to check another guest
into room 301 (my room that evening) as the hotel was attempting to
move me to room 318 (further from the unsecured entry door, but still
accessed from the same unsecured door).  This caused an awkward
situation as the guest had overheard that I was staying in room 301 and
had utilized the shower before attempting to head out for dinner.  The
other guest was obliviously not pleased with the hotel offering him a
dirty room.  I informed the guest that if he did end up staying in that
room, that the main entry light bulb was burnt out, causing one to have
to pry open the room door to allow enough light in to allow one to
locate another light source.  I also informed the guest that the shower
was slow to drain causing backwater to the shins.  (I did not bring
these matters to Alan's attention as he was struggling to address the
rear entry security concern.)  Later in the parking lot, the guest in
question approached me as I was removing my articles from the room and
confided that he worked in the hotel business and has never witnessed
management deal so poorly with a customer.  As he is in the hotel
business and was obviously interested in improved customer service,
perhaps he will feel obliged to comment on this matter if politely
contacted. 
4) I hope you are not insinuating that there was not an issue with
the door at all, by stating "My manger did have my maintenance man look
into this and found the doors to be operating properly."  When I first
brought this matter to the attention of the front desk, they informed me
that the rear entry door in question has a southern exposure and direct
sunlight causes the card reader to malfunction.  Thus, they explained,
the door is routinely left unsecured. 
5) I understand that the facility is not 100% secure nor was I
requesting that it be.  The main entry is a be a better choice to have
unsecured as it funnels visitors past the front desk where hotel staff
are able to observe.  Unsecured rear doors that allow anyone off the
street unrestricted access to hotel corridors are often associated with
illegal activities such as human trafficking, prostitution, and
drugs--not the types of activities with which you want to have your
hotel associated.
6) I did use the shower and freely offered this information to the
front desk when they asked if I had used the room; however I was in the
room for no longer than 45 minutes.  The beds had not been used; they
remained in the same condition in which they were found. 
 
This entire experience has caused extreme inconvenience as I was
forced to find other last minute accommodations in an unfamiliar city. 
Currently, I am losing sleep over this unresolved matter and spending
valuable time rebutting your misunderstanding of the situation.  Being
charged for accommodations I was unable to utilize is an injustice akin
to common robbery. 
 
I hope that you will remedy the matter by promptly refunding my money in full. 
 
Respectfully,
 
******* ****




Sincerely,

******* ****

Business Response: Complaint ********

 

Dear Mr. ****

 

I am sorry that my response was unsatisfactory. I understand
the way you remember the situation greatly differs from the way my staff
remembers it so I will stick with the facts on this response.

You booked a room at our hotel.

You checked into the room at our hotel.

You utilized the room at our hotel.  

We incurred a cost due to you using the room.

You were unsatisfied because allegedly the exterior door
next to room was not functioning properly.

You came to the front desk and asked for a room move.

My staff tried to accommodate that request but you were not
satisfied.

 You feel as though
you should not have to pay for the room as you claim that the exterior entrance
was not working properly. 

We do not advertise anywhere that our exterior hotel doors
are secured.

We do not guarantee anywhere that our exterior doors lock
nor do we have a money back guarantee on our rooms.

You are trying to hold us to a standard that we do not
advertise much less offer a money back guarantee on.

The fact of the matter is that you used the room and now are
trying to not pay for the room which is theft. I would like to offer you a 50%
discount on the room, I will not offer a full refund as you did utilize the
room and we did incur an expense. I would only be able to apply this offer
after the credit card dispute that you have filed comes back ruling in the merchants
favor and you have forwarded me a copy of that letter.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: The terms offered are not acceptable given the inconvenience incurred at your hotel. 

Sincerely,

******* ****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Ramada-Portland Airport
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart