This business is not BBB accredited.

Ramada Inn Portland Airport

Phone: (503) 255-6511 6221 NE 82nd Ave, Portland, OR 97220 http://www.ramada.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Ramada Inn Portland Airport include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Ramada Inn Portland Airport include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 6 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

6 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 5
Total Closed Complaints 6

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

2 Customer Reviews on Ramada Inn Portland Airport
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 2
Total Customer Reviews 2

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 28, 2012 Business started: 01/01/1988 in OR Business started locally: 01/01/1988
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Human Services
500 Summer St NE STE E15, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/dhs
Phone Number: (503) 945-5944
dhs.info@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Franchisee

Business Management
Mr. Jarvis Melton, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jarvis Melton, General Manager
Business Category

Hotels

Alternate Business Names
Ramada

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Ramada Inn Portland Airport has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A-.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6221 NE 82nd Ave

    Portland, OR 97220 (503) 255-6511

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/13/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: was in hotel and experienced  the worst hotel experience I have had in my career of travel. Tonight I was traveling with my 5 month old baby. I booked this hotel almost 3 weeks ago & if I had known what I saw today I wouldn't have stayed there. Granted they gave me a smoking rooms because of an error in the reservation but what drove me to leave was the fact that the stench was throughout the hotel, it was dirty,  there are cob webs in the entrance, poor maintenence throughout the hotel. Overall just below standard . I went to the front desk and let Hollie know I could not have my baby stay there and she said that because I booked through a 3rd party (priceline) that I needed to contact them. She did offer to change room but like I mentioned earlier the issues here stretch well beyond the room & the environment did not match the website. When I contacted priceline they said they would honor the refund as long as the hotel said it was okay & Hollie denied it. I walked back in & asked why it was denied & she was extremely rude,condescending, lacked empathy & used sarcastic mannerisms when speaking with me. I let her know that this was unacceptable behavior coming from a employee & she responded with " well that's your opinion" & refused to get me a business card. It wasn't until I began to record this horrific experience that she changed her tone & behavior & began to act somewhat professional.  I am completely disappointed that I had to begin to record this atrocious customer service just to get professional responses from the team. I asked if there was anyone with the authority to help me and they said no & that to they couldn't call you because they would get in trouble and my situation was not worthy of a call. At this point I ended up leaving & not staying at hotel for all the reasons and experience I have described above. Priceline said they will grant me a refund if the hotel approves. Tried contacting manager Jarvis & have yet to hear back from him.

Desired Settlement: Would like to have approval for refund as it has been granted by 3rd party priceline and just need manager approval from hotel. Would also like to see this business improve their standards in cleanliness and customer service as I am sure it is below standard of what ramada world Inc expects from their franchises. Also would like them to update their pictures on websites to match true condition of business so that customers aren't baited and tricked with false images.

Business Response:

05/05/2016

Dear *** *****,

 

Thank you for taking the time to speak to me again today. I am very sorry to hear of the issues you experienced at our hotel. I understand that this started with you booking a reservation on line and when you got to the Hotel you found out that you had booked a smoking room. You came down to the front desk and was offered a room move which you declined because while walking through the hotel you noticed several things that made you feel like this hotel was not adequate. Subsequently you left and went and stayed at another property for your two day reservation.  You also stated that my agent was not providing good service and was not willing to help you. I am terribly sorry that you feel this way about our hotel and our staff.

When we spoke earlier you reiterated these concerns to me. I asked you some questions regarding your reservation and about your experience. I asked you if you had received a confirmation for your reservation, you said yes. I asked you if your confirmation was for a smoking room and you said you did not know. I asked you if you wound up staying somewhere else, you explained to me that you had gone to another hotel for these two days. I apologized and explained to you that if you could get me a copy of your receipts showing that you stayed elsewhere I would happily refund your stay. For some reason this did not sit well with you. I am very sorry that you are offended by my request to show that you did stay at another hotel on the nights in question as you have informed me. As soon as I receive this information I will be able to contact your booking agent and send over authorization to refund your stay. If you are unwilling to provide me with this information then the best I will be able to do for you is offer you a discount on a future stay. Keep in mind most hotels will gladly resend you the receipt if you paid them directly or if you booked through priceline again you can simply forward your confirmation. Thank you for your timely response.

 

2/9/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The room we rented for the night was disgusting, there was mold in the bathroom, not only in the tub but on the ceiling as well. The front desk was no help, there was lube on the TV stand, there was spider webs and spider nests in the cracks, there were rips and cigarette burns in the sheets, The hallways were smoke stained as well as moldy and wet to the touch. Plus I had the pleasure of finding a rusty razor blade on the window sil in the hallway. We left after two hours of being completely disgusted and they couldn't refund us plus gave us a lovely notice of a $150.00 security deposit AFTER running the credit card

Desired Settlement: Complete refund, as well as compensation for the potential health risks as well as damage to a game bag

Business Response:

Dear Mr. *******,

 

My name is Jarvis M***** and I am the General Manager at the Ramada Portland Airport. I am very sorry to hear of your frustrations. I thank you for bringing this matter to my attention. I have tried to find you in our system so that I can look into this matter but do not see a reservation under your name anytime in the last year. Can you please tell me the name of the registered guest as well as the date of the reservation so that I can properly respond to this case. I look forward to your response so that I can address these issues. 

9/2/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Upon checking in, we arrive to find that the room was a smoking unit .The condition of the property was in unacceptable condition , the hall ways were not not clean. At entering the rental unit , the room was not in acceptable condition , please not , there were no bed coverings on the beds , just light blanket and sheets, ( normal is bed coverings in very hotel I have ever stayed in the last 45 years) , the room was not clean, appeared to not have been not vacuumed , not acceptable standard in cleaning .This was a smoking room , I had my 6 year old and my 8 month old grand children with my daughter and me , we were checking in around 9:00 pm . My daughter called the front desk with no result. I went to the front desk with no result to resolve this problem , told me that 's just the way it goes, no help or offer to refund. We left found a clean and save hotel for for my family , 1:00 am this took all most to hours.

Desired Settlement: Would like a refund , and make a policy to handle problems with more of a personnel attitude when dealing with customers and concern for children , ( like grand kids , smoking room not acceptable). should help in relocation when the needed

Business Response: 08/24/2015

Better Business Bureau complaint #********

Dear Mr. *******,

I want to take this opportunity to apologize for the unsatisfactory service you received during your stay.

I have looked into your reservation and found that you had booked a smoking room with 2 queen beds through ******.com. It also shows that there were only supposed to be 2 adults in the room and no children registered. You also agreed to certain terms and conditions when you booked on this sight; one of which being the cancellation policy. The cancellation policy on this reservation is, "Free cancellation until the day of arrival. If you change or cancel your booking after 4:00 PM, day of arrival you will be charged for 1 night. We will not be able to refund any payment for no-shows or early check-out."  This reservation was not modified or canceled before 4:00 PM.Your reservation was for a smoking room which can be confirmed by looking at your confirmation letter. We were not able to change the room type as we can not change reservations made through hotels.com; furthermore we did not have a nonsmoking room available. We will hold you to the conditions of this contract.


For you inconvenience we would like to provide you with 30% off on your next stay with us. To get the discount you will need to book directly with me. Thank you for choosing the Ramada and I look forward to the oppurtunity to better serve you in the future. 

1/13/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife booked a non-smoking room and I was not only put into a smoking room, The Room was very Unsanitary with VOMIT on the walls and dirt and ashes under night stand table next to the bed. I have video of this disgusting room they put me in. The General admitted to the Vomitt being on the walls in the email he sent me. But then he calls me a dishonest person and says he can trust my complaint, and says don't come back to his Hotel. I have his email and the video that they have not even asked to see. This was terrible service on all levels

Desired Settlement: If they would have said sorry for his actions and words and refunded the first night stay we would not be at this point.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/11/25) */ Hello Sir, I am writing in response to the case you opened with the BBB. It is true that your wife booked you a non smoking room. She made this reservation through a third party. As per the terms of the third party agreements you are not guaranteed a specific room type but instead it is a preference and is a run of house reservation. As a courtesy to our guest we allow them to cancel in situations like yours and go else where. When you came to check in you were informed that we were overbooked on non smoking rooms and you were advised that we could accommodate the reservation if you did not mind a smoking room for the first night and then we could move you to a non smoking room on the second night. You agreed to these terms and were given a room. I know this to be true as I have watched the video footage on this several times. According to my agents you called down a while after check in to report that there was vomit on the wall. My agents asked if you would like to move to a different room and you declined and said you would just move in the morning. You then sent me an email advising me that you were unknowingly placed in a smoking room. You also informed me of the vomit on the wall and advised me that you would give me a chance to respond before going to corporate or anyone else. This all took place on Saturday and I am off on the weekends. When I returned to work on Monday I performed my morning task and then started investigating the situation that you had to see what happened. Before I had a chance to reach out to you, you had checked out. At checkout you raised an issue with the front desk agent because he could not give you a receipt due to our contract with the third party you booked through. You became confrontational and stated that you always got a receipt from the hotel when you booked through this third party. You then phoned corporate and issued a complaint. At this time I started to question the things that you brought to my attention. I know for a fact that a hotel can not issue a receipt when you book through this particular third party as I have had to pay them the difference when we gave out receipts by mistake in the past . I knew that you did not give me time to respond to you before contacting corporate. I then went and checked my video surveillance and found that you definitely knew of the overbooking issue and were aware that you room was a smoking room and that we would move you in the morning. You stated that this was fine. I then talked to my staff about the issue with the vomit and they informed me that you had called down and informed them of the vomit and they offered to move you to a different room to which you declined. I decided to believe my front desk agent over you at this time as they had no reason not to be honest and you have already established a lack of honesty. By declining this offer to move rooms you were accepting this room as it was. I will not offer you any compensation on this room due to the above. I do not care how many people you tell, I refuse to be bullied into giving you a free night for a room that you accepted the condition of and would not allow us the opportunity to place you in a better room. Sincerely ****** ****** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 10, 2014/12/10) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) He was very rude and unprofessional, with terrible serive and corp, agreed he was giving bad service and the email he sent me provides evidence of his bad service and the very nasty room they provided Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2014/12/10) */ I am sorry that you feel like I am being unprofessional. I listened to your complaint in its entirety then researched the complaint because it sounded like my employees failed to inform you that you were going into a smoking room. We do have every right to do this when you book through a third party and you are advised of that in the terms and conditions of booking the room however I feel that this is unprofessional and require my staff to advise the guest before check-in in case they want to cancel the reservation and go elsewhere. The reason for this is that they don't have up to date inventory counts. When I asked my agent if she had informed you that you were going into a smoking room she said yes and that you were OK with it. Since I had two different stories I decided that the best way to figure this out was to watch the video footage. Upon watching the footage I seen that you were informed 3 different times and even acknowledged it by saying that you would be moved to a non-smoking room the next day. In your correspondence you had also told me that you were in a hurry to get to your room as you got in late and were very tired. Upon watching the video I found that you did not seem to be in any kind of a hurry and in fact took over 40 minutes to check in as you were inquiring about the Jacuzzi suite for a future stay. You also informed me that you had vomit on your wall. I looked into this and found it to be true. I asked my front desk agents if you had informed them of this and asked what they had done. My front desk agents informed me that you had notified them but advised them that it was OK and you did not want to move to a different room right away but would instead wait until the next day to switch to a non-smoking room. There were two agents on duty at this time and they both agreed that this was how it went down so again I watched video trying to hear the conversation, I could only hear bits and pieces of what my agents were saying to you so I left that out of our previous conversations but it was evident that you declined moving rooms. I do not feel as though we did anything wrong in this case and I have video evidence to back it up. I feel like I took every effort to ensure that the information that I based my decision on was accurate and could be proven and it was only after all of this that I responded to you. When I called you I had you explain everything to me again so that there were not any mistakes about what you were upset about. After hearing your story again, I informed you that I had watched footage and seen them tell you that it was a smoking room. You again said that this never happened rather than argue with you I informed you that I would watch the video again and if there was evidence that you were informed I would email it to you. I watched the video again and seen that you were informed 3 different times. I attached the video along with the times that you were informed and the time that you acknowledged that you would be switching to a non-smoking room the next day so that you did not have to watch all 40+ minutes of it. I am willing to share this video with the BBB if I need to so that everyone can see why I made the decision I did.

2/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I booked a hotel room for my husband and me over the phone. They had my card number on file. When he checked in for us on 1/10/14 they told him he had to provide a credit card at check in. When I got there, I told them that I wanted my credit card to be charged not his. The girl at the front desk said no problem, and that they would credit the money back to my husband's account. Both if our accounts have been charged $117.60. When we checked out if the hotel on 1/12/14 we talked to the attendant at the front desk and she said it will most likely be credited back to him the next business day since the ramada had released the funds. We waited until Tuesday 1/14/14 and called the hotel back because we still had not been credited back the money. We have called my husbands bank multiple times to see if there were any pending credits and there are none. I have called the ramada multiple tines and the person I talk to always says they are new to the company and if I can call back later. I called their corporate number and got the runaround as well.

Desired Settlement: We want $117.60 credited back to my husband's account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/01/23) */ Contact Name and Title: ****** ****** GM Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: **@ramadaportland.com I have spoken with ***** ****** in regards to this earlier this week. What had happened was that **** ****** reserved a room for her and her husband using her cc. *** ****** had arrived first and as we require a cc to be authorized at time of check-in and he did not wish to wait for his wife. When his wife came in she wanted to pay for the room on her card. Our system automatically releases the authorization upon check out if the card is not charged. Upon check out we charged **** ******'s card and our system released the authorization on *** ******'s card. The bank then places the money back onto the card according to their procedure this takes at least 3-5 business days but may take longer. I explained all of this to **** ****** and informed her that if the authorization is still there after 5 business days to give me a call back and I would contact the bank to resolve the issue. I told her that if I do need to call the bank I would need the number on the back of the card and asked for that number. **** ****** did not have that number and was advised that she would need to call me back with that so that I may contact the bank and resolve the issue. Until I read this complaint I had thought that the bank had placed the money back into the account as I had no further contact from *** or **** ******. As soon as I read this I called them to get the number for the bank so that I could resolve the issue but was only able to leave a message for the guest to call me back.

9/20/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 08/21/2013 I checked my wife and mother in-law into room 319 at the Ramada Inn. My wife later contacted me and stated that the room had several stains on the carpet which appeared to be fecal and urine stains from a pet. I called the front desk and ask to speak with a Manager at which time I was informed that there was no night time manager on site for that evening. I informed the desk clerk of the pet stains in room 319 and asked her to go to the room and correct the problem and/or move my wife and mother in-law to a more sanitary room. The agents name was******* and she refused to assist me in any fashion other than transfer me to the General Managers voice mail. Being my wife and mother in-law were catching a plan out in the morning and I was in route back to Washington, the had no transportation which resulted in them being forced into staying in an unsanitary room at the Ramada Inn. The following day I contacted the General Manager ************* at the Ramada Inn and informed him of the situation. During the conversation ****** informed me that******* was is in fact a manager but excused her statement about no night manager by saying she is a manager but may not know that applies to night time as well. ****** said he would go to the room and investigate the issue and call me back. Approximately, thirty minutes later, ****** called me back only to inform me that he had witnesses to verify that he found fresh pet stains in the room as I had indicated but proceeded to tell me that it was my pets that had urinated on the carpet and he was not going to charge me for pet fee. I had previously inquired if it was alright to bring me two small dogs to the room in order to get them out of the sun in the hot car while I transported my wife and mother in-laws bags to the room but left the in the car when I was told that I would be charged a pet fee regardless of the time the pets were in the room. I reiterated that my dogs never entered the property let alone went into the room but he insisted that they had and charged me $45.80 for a pet fee. Bad enough that my wife and mother in-law was forced to sleep in an unsanitary room but to have a charge added on for blame he placed on me for something I had not done is over the top. It is obvious to me that someone went into the room after my wife and mother in-law left for the airport and attempted to clean the urine and fecal spots on the floor in an effort to cover their incompetent actions when refusing to clean and/or move my wife and mother in-law to a sanitary room.

Desired Settlement: I want a written apology from ************* for his negative actions and false statements. In addition, I want all charges to my credit card for the room and pet fee immediately refunded.

Business Response: Consumer's Final Response /* (4200, 11, 2013/09/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) *** ****** has manipulated the facts once again in an effort to justify his actions. ***** ******** is my mother in-law as stated in my documentation. Clearly *** ****** has an agenda as he previously stated that "no one entered the room before I did". His response does not say that he asked the housekeeper if she attempted to clean the stains. As for being new, she may have not known the process. As for the money, no big deal. What matters to me is that *** ****** and ***** are held accountable for the despicable treatment my mother in-law and wife were subjected to. ***** is lying about me requesting her to inspect the room as I previously stated. For the last time, I never asked anyone to bend the rules. I simply inquired about the policy as to what was authorized and/or not! I did the right thing and now am subjected to this line of ****!


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

2 Customer Reviews on Ramada Inn Portland Airport
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart