This business is not BBB accredited.

Prospect Hotel, The

Additional Locations

Phone: (541) 560-3664 View Additional Phone Numbers 391 Mill Creek Dr, Prospect, OR 97536 http://www.prospecthotel.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Prospect Hotel, The include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Prospect Hotel, The
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 23, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1892 Business started locally: 01/01/1892 Business incorporated 01/07/2005 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Human Services
500 Summer St NE STE E15, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/dhs
Phone Number: (503) 945-5944
dhs.info@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Fred Wickman, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Fred Wickman, President
Business Category

Hotels

Alternate Business Names
Far Out Resorts LLC Prospect Historical Hotel

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    391 Mill Creek Dr

    Prospect, OR 97536 (541) 560-3664 (800) 944-6490

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 50

    Prospect, OR 97536

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/31/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I (***** ****) stayed at the "Prospect Hotel" on November 17th and 18th, 2013. I paid for the room in cash but gave the owner a debit card as security. When I arrived home from my vacation on November 29, I got a letter from the Prospect Hotel that I had been assessed a "cleaning fee" of $75.00 that had been charged to my credit card. Attached to the letter was a receipt showing the Prospect Hotel had charged $75.00 to my debit card. In the letter, the manager stated that the $75.00 charge was necessary because of a stain in the bed that required extra cleaning. I remember exactly what the stain was and it was coffee. I know that coffee comes out of bed linens for much less than $75.00. I also know that expenses such as cleaning coffee off of a bed sheet does not come close to costing $75.00. You could have bought a new bed at that motel for that price. I know the stain was coffee because I remember spilling it (mostly on myself and I noticed the coffee spilled some on the bed.) But I just can't understand how that results in a $75 charge. I had a conversation with **** *******, Manager of the Prospect Hotel. I explained that I remembered the stain and remembered that it was coffee. *** ******* insisted to me over the phone that it was definitely a stain from a "bodily fluids" and that it cost a lot of staff time and cleaning expenses to clean the stain. I know that it was not a "bodily fluid" stain, because I saw the coffee spill on the corner of the bed. Although I am not sure how *** ******* is so sure that it is and that actually seems strange to me, that he is so sure that it is a stain from bodily fluids, he seems to be rather obsessed with that. I think he is making it up to get an extra $75 off my debit card. I think that is a very poor business practice to make up cleaning expenses to try to get a little more money from somebody after they are gone. Thanks in advance for any assistance you are able to provide.

Desired Settlement: a refund of the $75

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 10, 2014/01/06) */ BBB 1000 Station Dr. Ste 222 DuPont Wa. 98327 Fax ************ Ref Case ********: ********** To whom it may concern, ********** complaint is full of lies. She did not call me, a male did. She NEVER talked with me or anyone at our facility. This is the beinging of her lies. As soon as the male called he immediately started cussing and swearing at me. I was called every name in the book and he made personal insults and threats directed at me. Not the business; me personally. I told him I would not continue the discussion if he was going to swear. It sounded as though I was being bullied by a 13 year boy that had grown up in the gutter. The language was unbearable, with NO effort to listen to anything except to swear. He continued his immature, vile, socially inept, gutter talk until I hung up on him. ***** never did talk to anyone. **** agrees that she did make a mess in the bed. She says it was coffee, though it didn't look like coffee. I make every effort to not embarrass guests and use more acceptable terms in our communications. We prefer to call it bodily fluids to be more respectful to someone who can't control themselves. Since this is obviously over the ****** intellectual ability to understand I will translate here. As far as we could tell from all appearances and odors THEY PEED IN THE BED. People have accidents, we see THOUSANDS of guest through here every year and sometimes things happen. The decent ones admit to it. Covering up and claiming it is coffee is ridiculous. If it was coffee it was the yellowest coffee ever and soaked all the linens on the bed. Additionally the stain had an 'unpleasant odor' coffee doesn't smell bad. They could have said "Oops we had a problem with a spill, can you change the linens. Instead they put a blanket over it and SLEPT on top of the PEE. They apparently peed in the bed the first night they were here as everything had soaked through and was dry when we got to the room upon their departure after the second day. They refused room service the first morning as they obviously were concealing their lack of social graces and bladder control. Just like little kids do who aren't trained to be responsible adults. Try to cover it up! We have no choice when someone Pees in our beds but to sanitize everything that may have been in contact with the Hazardous Materials (Yes, Pee is considered HazMat as we don't know what diseases the guest may carry). This is the Health Code. Everything has to be cleaned with special sanitizing solutions. **** agrees she spilled. She says it was coffee but covered it up, soaking more of our linens, slept on it with one of our blankets and then tries to get out of the CONTRACT she signed upon renting the room. It doesn't matter what the liquid was, they spilled it in our bed, enough to soak everything all the way to the mattress pad. The room registration card and legal contract with her signature, accepting responsibility for the room and any damages done is included. The specific text from the form authorizing cleaning charges is as follows: "If upon your departure we find that your room has been damaged or excessive cleaning is necessary, you will be charged in accordance to damage and replacement of items or for time needed to rectify the situation. By signing this agreement I accept responsibility and agree to pay for any charges as determined by Prospect Historic Hotel- Motel and Dinner House management." ****** evaluation of how much it should cost to clean the bed is irrelevant. She agreed to and accepted the contract terms to pay "charges as determined by... Management". She is apparently 'out of touch' with reality on what things cost as she thinks a new bed can be bought for $75. That is not an unreasonable charge for the additional cleaning, labor and materials. I have much better things to do with my time then make up things to get a whole $75 of 'extra money off her debit card'. This is about them being mature enough to be responsible for the damages they caused (and she admitted to). Honest, decent people would. But honest, decent people don't lie, try to renege on their contractual requirements or call people up and swear at them in a manner that would embarrass a drunken sailor. We did nothing wrong. We are only trying to recoup the costs of the damage caused by having the ****s stay here. Sincerely, ************** Manager ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 14, 2014/01/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I did not pee in the bed and sleep on my pee. That is distrusting. I am troubled that the Prospect feels they need to make such an accusation. I maintain that I spilled coffee.