This business is not BBB accredited.

Northwoods Inn Motel

Phone: (503) 728-4311 945 E Columbia River Hwy, Clatskanie, OR 97016

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Northwoods Inn Motel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Northwoods Inn Motel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 05, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1985 Business started locally: 01/01/1985
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Human Services
500 Summer St NE STE E15, Salem OR 97301
Phone Number: (503) 945-5944

Business Management
Sach Patel, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Sach Patel, Manager
Business Category


Additional Locations


    945 E Columbia River Hwy

    Clatskanie, OR 97016 (503) 728-4311


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

3/1/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made a reservation on the phone 2 days before I would arrive, to stay at this motel for 3 nights. When I made the reservation, no mention was made that there was a NO REFUND policy for early check out. When I checked in, it was late, and although the fine print does say that there is, " discount or refund for EARLY CHECK OUT", I did not notice it, and I would contend that the way it is written almost assures that a reasonably alert person would miss it as well. In my 30 years of making reservations and staying at motels, I have never known that this could legally be a policy. I believe that any reasonable person would assume that the policy at this motel was the same as any other, unless it was specifically pointed out either during the initial reservation, or at check in, or at least displayed in a prominent sign at the check in area.

Desired Settlement: I would like a full refund for the two nights I did not stay at this motel, $159.98 and a change in policy such that the NO REFUND FOR EARLY CHECK OUT POLICY is shown on the bill as printed here, also is verbally mentioned at each reservation and check in as well as prominent signage to this effect is posted at the front desk.

Business Response: Northwoods Inn
*** ** ******** ***** **** Clatskanie,Or. 97016 ************

Re: Complaint Response case #******** February 12, 2015

To whom it may concern:

Despite any policies we have it is always our priority to have happy and satisfied guests. That
being said, I am going to try and keep this complaint response as simple as possible. I think the best way I
can do that is by going through the complaint letter and addressing each point.

The complaint initially states that when the reservation was made over the phone that no mention
was made of the NO REFUND policy. No, typically that is not discussed during the reservation
process. That is the time where cancellation policy is discussed and things of that nature. The
reason for that being, a phone reservation customer is not charged for their stay before they have
checked in, so the NO REFUND part does not come into play at that time.

The customer mentions it was late when they checked in. It was 9:36pm. **** also says, "and
although the fine print does say there is no discount or refund for early check out" that he did
not notice it and would contend the way it is written almost assures that a reasonably alert person
would miss it as well. I'd first like to say there is NO fine print on our folios. All font is the
same size top to bottom. The statement on the folio that says there is no discount or refund for
early check-out is printed in the very first line of the portion of the folio that is initialed by
the customer acknowledging some of our policy's. And the words early check-out is printed in BOLD
CAPITAL letters. Even though it is the consumers responsibility to read anything they sign or
initial, we still have an excellent routine of what is said to a customer when handed the folio. We
point out that their signature is for the room rental and by initialing below you acknowledge our
refund policy, no smoking In the rooms, and also addresses pets, etc. This is done with every person
at the point of check-in.

Now,**** says in his 30 years of making reservations and staying at motels, he has never known
that this could legally be a policy. And believes that any reasonable person would assume that the
policy at this motel is the same as any other. Unless specifically pointed out. I have had guests
from ALL areas of the country and beyond. Many of those guests out here on work projects, never
knowing when they will depart. And we gladly work with them and encourage them to not purchase more nights than needed.
That they can always add more nights. We get more into that with longer stays, a week or more. And
then discounts and things come into play for them. And yes there has been an occasion where a
refund has been issued due to extreme circumstances. But just like having a cancellation
policy, this policy is just as important. If it did not exist people could book whatever they want and never have to
commit to anything. We can't make reservations in a room that is already booked. So if we are giving money
back because someone decides to leave early, but we have also lost out on reservations that could
have been made for that room, that would be a double loss. Now that wouldn't make any sense for
business. And again, having dealt with guests from all over, this has not been a foreign concept to
people. We do not post a prominent sign in the lobby as **** suggests we should. But we are diligent in our check-in
process and chatting with our customers and asking what brings them to us. And knowing those
answers often leads us to have more detailed discussions with them, as far as their stay is
concerned, and what will be best for them.

For example: I know that **** and his friend were here to hunt. **** was walking towards the
office on the second day of his stay and I was outside. I greeted him and asked how his day was. It
was great! They "bagged" their hunt the first day and filled the tag, so they would be checking out
I said that was great, and thanks for letting me know. The discussion of refund came up and I
went over that with him, inviting him to feel free to go home unload and bring the wife back and
enjoy the time left, that the room would still be his, as we do not re-rent just cause someone
leaves early.

While he expressed that didn't make him happy, he said, I suppose it says that? And I signed it. At
that point, I made him an offer because I want guests to be happy with their stay and return. I
told him, while I can't issue a full refund, the next time you come out I'll give you a great deal,
with discount. Now, this was not ****** first visit to us. When they came in December for hunting
or fishing (I can't remember which) they stayed all their days. When they were here in December I
did not have as much vacancy for the room type they wanted and gave them a great discounted price.
So, when he returned in January, I told him on the phone I was going to keep him at that discounted
price as he is a returning customer and we appreciate the business.

So, the reason for all that explanation is: If they hadn't gotten their deer or elk the first
day, would they have been able to add another day to their stay if they wanted? Yes. But if they
get lucky on the first day, we lose money? **** ******** booked the room for 3 nights. Besides a no
discount or refund policy for early check-out, the 48-hour cancellation policy starts to come into
play if nothing else, which is very standard practice In the hospitality industry.

I am not happy that there is an unhappy customer. However, imagine what business would be like if
there were no policy in place that held customers accountable to the reservation they made... I
offered to **** the best resolution possible, a great discount as a returning customer.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me, as I am certain I have no other recourse.  I appreciate Crystal's offer of future discount, and apologize for any extra work this may have made for her. I do still believe that the owners should, as a courtesy to guests that do not travel often, assure that the desk clerk verbally inform guests of the NO REFUND POLICY when they check in, and/or have the policy posted in an easily observable spot at the front desk.


**** ********