This business is not BBB accredited.

Mark Spencer Hotel, The

Phone: (503) 224-3293 Fax: (503) 223-7848 View Additional Phone Numbers 409 SW 11th Ave, Portland, OR 97205 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.markspencer.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Mark Spencer Hotel, The include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Mark Spencer Hotel, The include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mark Spencer Hotel, The
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 13, 2005 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business started locally: 01/01/1984
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Human Services
500 Summer St NE STE E15, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/dhs
Phone Number: (503) 945-5944
dhs.info@state.or.us

Business Management
Ms. Pam Coser, General Mgr Gus Castaneda, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Pam Coser, General Mgr
Business Category

Hotels


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    409 SW 11th Ave

    Portland, OR 97205 (503) 265-4260 (800) 548-3934 (503) 224-3293

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

11/18/2015 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I attempted to check into the Mark Spencer on 10/25/15. Kirk asked for my credit card and then claimed he needed to authorize $25 for incidentals and I asked if he had it in writing. He said he did not so I declined. Then he typed it in on the reservation confirmation and I asked to speak with the General Manager. He phoned an on call supervisor named Magic who proceeded to threaten me that she would cancel my reservation. I told her she knew it wasn't legal to verbally ask for authorization and not have it included in the registration information or on the website.

Desired Settlement: The charges all have to be in writing on the registration and on the Mark Spencer website. The staff need to be properly trained and follow the law.

Business Response:

Ms. ***** originally booked her reservation through ******, which is a prepaid online booking site for consumers.  Since this was prepaid through ******, we would not have a copy of a receipt for her with room and tax charges.  Regarding the $25 authorization on her credit card, this is standard hotel practice and was just an "authorization" - not a charge.  Since she booked through an online agency, we had no credit card information on her with which to charge any incidental fees incurred at the hoel.  We only authorize $25 and it is never a charge unless the guest purchases something at the hotel and wants to bill their room.

My Assiatnt General Manager reached out to her as I was unavailable and tried to explain this authorization to her but was unsuccessful.  We would never refuse to allow someone to check in with a prepaid reservation.  It may have been a matter of principle for this guest, not wanting to provide a credit card, thinking it was a charge and not just an authorization.

A receipt was provided to her at check out showing her card was not chaged the $25 and authorization was released at that time.

Consumer Response:

 

Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because (1) the person who responded to the complaint boldly lied. No one reached out to me. I left my information and no one connected with me despite the fact that I stayed there for almost a week. Secondly, I asked for the policy and it is not on the website, another amount is there instead and the clerk who checked me in did threaten to deny me my accommodation so that needs to be checked into. I am demanding an authentic apology at this time. These lies have me incensed and I will post comments for other hotel guests to see this is not the place for them. 

Sincerely,

****** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Mark Spencer Hotel, The
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)