This business is not BBB accredited.

Hoodoo Ski Area

Phone: (541) 822-3799 Fax: (541) 822-3398 20 Highway 20, Sisters, OR 97759 http://Hoodoo.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Hoodoo Ski Area include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hoodoo Ski Area
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 02, 2010 Business started: 01/01/1992 Business started locally: 01/01/1992
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Human Services
500 Summer St NE STE E15, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/dhs
Phone Number: (503) 945-5944
dhs.info@state.or.us

Business Management
Chuck Sheperd, President
Contact Information
Principal: Chuck Sheperd, President
Business Category

Hotels


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    20 Highway 20

    Sisters, OR 97759 (541) 822-3799

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/11/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I made reservations through ***************.com in March for a July weekend. This was my anniversary weekend, but also ended up being the weekend of the 4th of July. I made it so early so we would have someplace to stay. Two weeks before my trip I get an email from Hoodoo saying that they mislabeled the site as a trailer site and it was tent only. The email said to call and cancel if I could not bring a trailer. Why it took so many months to catch their error, I don't know. I called and clarified WITH HOODOO CORPORATE AND *************** that I had a tent, I was coming, and gave them my updated phone number. I drove two hours with all my stuff packed and my family crammed in my car to the campsite only to find it was already given to someone else. According to them, I was "supposed to call and didn't". I pointed out the email did not say I needed to call, and that I DID call anyway. Didn't matter, I had to drive ANOTHER two hours home. It was the holiday weekend and there was no one to call to ask for help or escalate this to. Finally, after the weekend, I call and call and get no answer from Hoodoo Corporate. I email and no answer. I send a form through their website and no answer. I finally send a tweet through twitter and get a response. They tell me that they did indeed email the camp host with my details but "they're not sure what happened". I'm told that I need to call *************** and request a refund for Hoodoo's mistake before they will refund it. I call the number, I'm on the phone, transferred twice for an hour before the request is made. It is a week later and I still don't have a refund. I was told that a campsite manager would contact me about all of this because I told them that making ME do the work to get a refund when THEY canceled my reservation by mistake was completely unacceptable and they needed to make that right. A week after they said a manger would contact me, I heard nothing and asked why I had never heard. I was told that the refund is "being processed" and they "consider the matter closed".

Desired Settlement: I want to have my refund, I want to have an apology from management as they said they would apologize and an explanation about how you are going to make sure you don't do this again to other people! It would also be nice if you came up with something to try to make up for the 4 hour drive, the gas I wasted etc since you never even emailed me to tell me that my reservation was canceled!


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Hoodoo Ski Area
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)