This business is not BBB accredited.

Holiday Inn Express

Phone: (503) 325-6222 204 W Marine Dr, Astoria, OR 97103 http://www.astoriahie.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Holiday Inn Express include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Holiday Inn Express
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 03, 2013 Business started: 01/01/2003 Business started locally: 01/01/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Business Management
Caroline Wuebben, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Caroline Wuebben, General Manager
Business Category

Hotels


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    204 W Marine Dr

    Astoria, OR 97103 (503) 325-6222

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/24/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First off the room was flea ridden and my dogs are ok since they have been on medication in the past it was me who got the worst of it and I am pregnant with more than 20 flea bites all on my body. The second thing was my dog almost ate a macadamia nut which was under the bed and wasn't vacuumed. I also found a peanut on the couch after he found the macadamia nut under the bed. Peanuts are ok but macadamia nuts can kill dogs and cats.In fact I believe I left the peanut still in the Amana air/heating unit in the box that opens and closes as I was trying to look under the bed and couch for anything else that could have harmed my dogs.I apologize for forgetting about it but I wanted to make sure that my dogs wouldn't be harmed. Maybe you can check it now and make sure it has been thrown away. Third there was 2 large New Finland dogs barking at 4am I woke up and tried to toss and turn to go back to sleep. I knew it was the two new Finland Dogs since they barked at myself and my dogs in the lobby every time our paths crossed and outside while the owners locked them in their car. Then a smaller dog and those two New Finland dogs started barking at 8am and I woke up twice in the same night. As you know a pregnant woman needs as much sleep as she can get. I woke up extremely tired and nauseated from having a restless night sleep.Then I noticed all the small bites on my body from the fleas. My husband had a few but not as bad as my flea bites. I was shocked to see that as I was shaking off my clothes when I awoke and more fleas jumped off of me. I have never had fleas before in my house or a hotel where I stayed. I now have to worry about my cats who stayed at home because obviously the fleas traveled home with me and got into our luggage as I saw them as I was unpacking. My two cats cannot have flea medicine like advantage they actually have to take baths and have oral treatment as they are allergic to advantage unlike my dogs. Which is going to cost me a lot of money in vet visits and grooming. I work so hard to have some time off and love to get away to go to Astoria and stay at the Holiday Inn because the first time was more than perfect and my husband and I remembered that from our Anniversary weekend. This time was a complete nightmare and we left feeling drained and stressed. At checkout I started to tell ****** who was working at the front desk all that happened I started to tell her about the dogs waking us up and she said I should have called the front desk someone is here 24 hours a day. Well I was startled out of my sleep and I didn't think of that right away and I wanted to fall back asleep. I continued to try and explain about the fleas and other problems and she repeated the same thing. I didn't know the room was covered in fleas until I woke up and saw them bouncing off my robe. Instead of getting upset at her I wanted to write a letter I was too tired to argue and I needed to stay clam being pregnant. I stayed here July 20th 2013 and everything was perfect. Maybe it was because I used a coupon this time that they gave me last year that I got a horrible room? I am very disappointed and upset at the lack of customer service and just someone even caring or taking responsibility instead of it being placed back on me because I didn't call.

Desired Settlement: Would like a full refund for my stay totaling $154.71 and someone to contact me due to ******** ******* failing to do so as she is the General Manager

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/01/28) */ Good morning, and thank you for your time with the above referenced case. The hotel and our brand's corporate Guest Relations department have both been in contact with *** **** prior to her contacting your office. I provide you with a timeline of contacts, etc. with copies of some of the email responses attached: Jan 4 *** **** stayed in our room 204 with her two dogs. Jan 5 *** **** departed the hotel, commenting to the front desk clerk about a nut found on the floor under the bed. At no time during her stay did she contact either hotel management or front desk staff regarding the multiple flea bites she claims to have experienced. Jan 14 *** **** opened the Guest Relations case with our corporate office with the same email she sent your office. Jan 18 Guest Relations contacted *** **** in response to her email. Guest Relations also contacted the hotel to inform us of the complaint/case. *** **** was offered an apology and the addition of bonus points to her rewards club account. *** **** accepted this offer and the case was closed. Jan 19 *** **** contacted Guest Relations, reopening the case and requesting a full refund for her stay on Jan 4. She was referred to the hotel as Guest Relations cannot "comp" rooms at a property. Jan 19 I sent *** **** an email in response to the Guest Relations case (email copy attached - #1), asking her if she reported her problems during her stay and if she had any documentation to support her claim of 20 flea bites since the claim was for something that happened 2 weeks prior, and *** **** was traveling with her own two dogs. Jan 21 *** **** contacted Guest Relations again, escalating the case to Senior Management. She again asked for a refund on her stay and stated she would be taking further action. Jan 22 I contacted Guest Relations to provide an update to the case (email copy attached - #2) and providing detailed information about the guests in the room both prior to *** ****'s stay and for the two weeks after her stay. The room was occupied each night by a variety of different guests (leisure, corporate clients, a week-long group guest) and that no one had reported any similar problem to *** ****'s flea bites. Jan 24 *** **** contacted Guest Relations, inquiring what type of documentation was needed from her (email copy attached - #3). Guest Relations responded (email copy attached - #4) that the "information requested by hotel management is supporting documentation regarding your claims". Jan 26 *** **** contacted Guest Relations asking for the name of the Guest Relations agent's supervisor. To date, the hotel has not been provided with anything that would support *** ****'s claim of multiple flea bites. The case is still "open" with Guest Relations. A thorough check of the guestroom used by *** **** has been completed and no evidence of fleas were found. The facts that *** **** was traveling with her own dogs and no other guests reported any problems after staying in the same room before or after *** **** is significant. The hotel is not trying to dismiss *** ****'s claims, nor do we take the comfort of all of our guests lightly. Without further information from *** ****, there is not much more we can do. Thank you for your time as you review this information. ******** ******* General Manager Holiday Inn Express & Suites *** **** ****** ***** Astoria OR 97103 XXX-XXX-XXXX fax XXX-XXX-XXXX reservations XXX-XXX-XXXX ********@astoriahie.com www.astoriahie.com Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 7, 2014/02/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) To Whom It May Concern: Thank you for forwarding me the response from ******** ******* of The Holiday Inn Express in Astoria Oregon. In reading her timeline and emails that she has responded with I have found many discrepancies and false information. In her documentation please find that she states that she sent you a timeline of contacts with copies of only "some" of the emails attached. She has left out my phone calls and additional emails to her. In my documentation please find a copy of the timeline of events,all email documentation, summary of my Dr's visit one visit was two days prior to my stay my only complaint was my extreme nausea and vomiting the second was my follow up visit with my Dr who checked my flea bites, a copy of my prescription given to me for the flea bites including a referral to a dermatologist if they do not heal. My doctor explained that my energy is producing the baby and my immune system is compromised due to being pregnant. That is why my bites are taking longer to heal than normal. As you can see for the documentation attached that I have never received a call from ******** ******* and just one email dated Jan 19, 2014 13 days after I originally tried to call her. I would also like to bring to the attention that I had never accepted the 3,500 points that was offered to me that was not a truthful statement by ******** *******. As you can see from the email dated Saturday 18, 2014 was sent to the corporate offices for the Holiday Inn Express and I copied ******** ******* as well and was appalled at their offer. I am hoping that you can help me. This has been very stresssful while pregnant and I have been getting the run around from the General Manager ******** ******* and even the corporate offices of Holiday Inn Express. It is quite disappointing the lack of customer care. Please let me know if you need any explanation of the documentation or anything else I can provide. I appreciate your time. Sincerely, ********* **** ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/02/10) */ The hotel will not continue the back and forth as to who called when, who emailed when, etc. The hotel has responded to *** ****'s complaints in accordance to our corporate Customer Relations policies. All responses and communications with *** ****, once the guest relations case was opened, have been and will be handled through that channel. The hotel does, however, wish to respond to *** ****'s documentation in support of her claim of the "room was flea ridden" and that she had "more than 20 flea bites all over my body" as a result of her stay on January 4, 2014. The hotel offers the following: 1 - *** **** checked into our hotel with two of her own dogs, which obviously travel in her car. According to her guest relations case, she also has cats at home. If she suffers(ed) from flea bites, who's to say she did not get them from her own animals, home or car? 2 - *** **** visited her doctor on 1/2/14 and according to the "Summary of Your Visit" document that she provided to you, she had a scheduled appointment for another visit on 1/31/14. 3 - From the date *** **** checked out of the hotel, 1/5/14, it took her 12 days to contact anyone to complain about the bites when she opened the guest relations case on 1/17/14. It also took her 27 days to have a physician look at her symptoms when she showed for her next scheduled appointment on 1/31/14. The hotel has to wonder why the lapse of considerable time between actions associated with this claim. 4 - The photos provided by *** **** as documentation of her claim were taken on 1/29/14, according to the "properties" of the attachments. Why would she wait until 1/29/14 to document her claim? This is 12 days after her opening of the guest relations case and 10 days after I initially requested documentation via email on 1/19/14. The photos were obviously not taken at our hotel, and do not provide any proof of when or at what location she was bitten. 5 - Our hotel, while certainly not perfect, is ranked within the top 1% of all Express hotels in the United States for quality and customer service. We are also the busiest hotel in Astoria, running an 80+% occupancy year-round. We certainly could not be as successful as we are and have such a problem as flea infestation. 6 - Attached is an Excel spreadsheet showing the reservations from December 15, 2013 - February 2, 2014 that stayed in the same room *** **** occupied (I am happy to provide the actual hotel paperwork if necessary). The room was unoccupied only two nights prior to *** ****'s stay, and has been unoccupied only 7 nights since. The guests that have stayed in the room since mid-December range from regular-stay corporate clients, tourist guests, guests who paid discounted and full rate, guests who used gift certificates, and a guest that extended his stay an additional night after he had already stayed two. Additionally, most of the guests who stayed in the room are also members of our IHG Rewards Club. These guests in particular are given multiple opportunities to provide feedback on their stay, from check in and check out experience, to quality and cleanliness of their guestroom, to overall satisfaction with their stay. No one has made any complaint/report/comment regarding a stay in *** ****'s room much less complained of flea bites. Based on the above, the hotel regrets to think that perhaps *** **** is simply trying to cause enough conflict to have the hotel reverse her charges from her stay. But, with all of this said, the hotel has spent enough time and energy defending itself against unsubstantiated claims, and wants to move on. I will be writing *** **** a letter stating that while the hotel is confident that her bites are not associated with her stay at our hotel, we will be refunding her money and will consider this case/claim to be closed. Thank you again for your time and effort on this case. ********


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Holiday Inn Express
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)