This business is not BBB accredited.

Econo Lodge Port of Portland

Phone: (503) 252-6666 Fax: (503) 257-4848 View Additional Phone Numbers 9520 NE Sandy Blvd, Portland, OR 97220

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Econo Lodge Port of Portland include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Econo Lodge Port of Portland include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Econo Lodge Port of Portland
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 27, 2009 Business started: 06/01/1991 Business started locally: 06/01/1991
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Human Services
500 Summer St NE STE E15, Salem OR 97301
Phone Number: (503) 945-5944

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Cindy New, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Cindy New, Manager
Business Category


Additional Locations


    9520 NE Sandy Blvd

    Portland, OR 97220 (503) 252-6666 (800) 424-4777 (503) 252-6666


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/21/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Valentines Weekend of 2014 me, and my fiance booked two nights with Econo Lodge. Very shortly after check in, the hotel had a dirty bathroom in the room we stayed in as if it weren't cleaned. The hottub had dirt in it. We went out to a movie, and came back to our room reaking of marijuana smoke. Directly below us, was a smoking room. So, I am guessing that was the source of the smell. Me, and my fiance went and complained to the front desk clerk. She called her manager, and the manager said no refunds is all the front desk clerk told us. Mind you it was late at night, and we thought we were being charged, and were exhausted so we stayed the night because it was so late, and it was too risky for my fiance to drive home as tired as he was. We checked out the very next morning, and actually saw the customers below us that were in the smoking room below us, going in and out of the van smoking, and the marijuana smell was all over the parking lot. We told the manager who was present the next morning, and she said why had we not told her sooner, they would have called the cops. She stated we would get a full refund, and even called housekeeping to check the smoking room for pot. I have only recieved a partial refund, and the bank has even called the manageer, and she ended up screaming at me saying she said no such thing when my bank called her to get the rest of my refund.

Desired Settlement: For this ordeal, I would like the full 127.98 compensated to my account. I also would like Econo lodge to mail an apologize, and put no drugs signs on their property so future customers do not have this issue.

Business Response: Mr. *** and Ms. ********** checked in at 4pm and that night around 10:15pm mentioned to the front desk staff of a smell of pot coming from their room and that they demanded a refund. The guest did not mention anything else except this. So the front desk agent immediately went up to check the room and was unable to smell anything. They were asked if they would like to move to another room or if they could do anything else for the guest but the response was no. *The hotel policy does state 'no refunds' on guest paperwork as well as at the front desk however if there are every any issues whatsoever, we will make it right.
The guests came down to check out at 11am, the manager checked on them to assure that there was no smell in the room and the guest mentioned that the smell they were referring to night before actually came from a car in the parking lot. The guest paid up for two nights, and insisted that they wanted to checkout early, so the manager made an exception and honored a refund of $61.32 for the unused night. The refund was then processed in the computer and credit card machine, signed by the guest, and the guest was given their copy.
A few days later, Ms. ********** called and asked why her refund of $127.70 had not shown up yet. The manager re-explained the situation and noted that her signed credit card slip that was given to the guest displayed the unused night's refund as the guest decided to check out a day early. She proceeded to hang up the phone in the middle of the conversation but received a call back from herself and her bank on a 3-way call while yelling that she wanted her refund for $127.70. Unwilling to listen and while continuing to talk over the manager, the guest hung up again and the manager finished the conversation with her bank. It was confirmed and verified with the bank that she got her $61.32 refund and signed and approved it to go back on her card.
The situation was escalated to the district manager because the guest was unreachable via phone. The district manager called the guest and 2 messages on voice mail and on the 3rd attempt, someone answered the phone and screamed at her to stop calling.
We have done everything in our power at the hotel level to in any way, shape, and form to accommodate this guest and feel that unfortunately it was not enough.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Complete false facts

Business Response: Dear Ms. **********,

I apologize for any inconvenience however when a charge back is submitted, we are unable to stop or change the credit card company's submission because the hotel is not in control of the charge back. We did call them back this morning and they said it could take up to 60 days to resolve which is what they mention to their customers who submit any charge backs. Hope that this information helps give a timeline for you.

Have a wonderful day.

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
Again this a bank account. And again no funds were submitted. Also my bank doesn't open til 8am. So there was no way you could reach anyone before then as this was filed before 8. So, please actually refund me the money you have not. My account is again private and you guys need the wire number to credit back funds to my account. It's not a credit card. My bank is montoiring my account for fraud because I tikd them yoy guys keep saying they get info from my card company. They've assured me they cant give you any information.

4/9/2013 Problems with Product/Service