This business is not BBB accredited.

Crowne Plaza Hotel Portland Downtown/Convention Center

Phone: (503) 233-2401 View Additional Phone Numbers 1441 NE 2nd Ave, Portland, OR 97232

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company is a hotel including a restuarant and lounge.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Crowne Plaza Hotel Portland Downtown/Convention Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Crowne Plaza Hotel Portland Downtown/Convention Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 13, 2009 Business started: 01/01/1998 Business started locally: 01/01/1998
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Human Services
500 Summer St NE STE E15, Salem OR 97301
Phone Number: (503) 945-5944

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Ms. Cindy Winter, General Mgr Meliza Arzu, Front Office Manager Zygmunt Lopuszynski, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Cindy Winter, General Mgr
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
Crowne Plaza

Additional Locations


    1441 NE 2nd Ave

    Portland, OR 97232 (503) 233-2401


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/8/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Saturday July 11, 2015 my wife and I were looking to book a hotel in Oregon. Through *******.Com we came across the Crowne Plaza Hotel Portland-Downtown Convention Center. As we always do when we book travel, we decided to book a refundable room for our two night stay in October 2015. Upon ******* the room, we received a confirmation email stating that the room was "Non-Refundable". Immediately we knew there was an error and called both *******.com and the Crowne Plaza Hotel Portland-Downtown Convention Center. Both *******.com and the Crowne Plaza Hotel Portland-Downtown Convention Center told us that there wasn't anything they could on Saturday (due to a manager not being in). We were told we would receive a response on Monday after ********.com contacted the hotel. We received no such response. We followed up Monday afternoon (July 13) and were told by both companies that they could do nothing and directed us to the other. The Crowne Plaza Hotel Portland-Downtown Convention Center said that they could rebook our travel on another date or give us a one night cancellation fee (roughly $280). That is not acceptable to us. Either *******.com or the Crowne Plaza Hotel Portland-Downtown Convention Center has now fraudulently charged our credit card. We will not be happy unless we get a full refund of the charge against our card. We tried to resolve this immediately after receiving the erroneous confirmation email and have been given the run around by both companies.

Desired Settlement: Full and complete refund.

Business Response: ***********

Dear ******** ********:

I have previously responded to Mr. **** and he did not accept my resolution. I have attached my
email response to him for your records. My position has not changed.

Zygmunt L*********
General Manager

Dear *******,

We apologize that this is not the resolution you desire, however, we feel we have been flexible
working with you. The options presented are consistent resolutions we extend to guests in your
situation. Should you feel the *******.com website is unclear about the terms and conditions, you
are welcome to contact *******.com directly. I also respect your choice to file your complaints
with the BBB and the FTC and
with that being said I am uncomfortable offering any other further resolutions.

Again my apologies for the change in your plans and my apologies for any misunderstanding
*******.com may have conveyed to you. Respectfully,

2/20/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: In December of 2013 i booked a one night stay through a third party (*******************************) to stay at the Crowne Plaza march 1st check in March 2nd checkout . I prepaid 165.74 on my visa credit card ending in **** expiration date 07/2016. I called the Crowne Plaza on 02-02-2014 and 20-03-2014 . i requested to speak to a manager and she referred me back to ********* and provided me with a number to call . i called the number and it was for ********* who had no record of me because i did not order through them . noone could tell me hw to get in touch with this **********" company ..finds out ********** was actually ************* . i called them 30 DAYS IN ADVANCE to cancel and they told me they would not refund my 165.74 . i advised i had to cancel due to unexpected medical issues and could they refund. They said no . I asked if i could get a partial refund seeing as cancelling 30 days in advance . they and the hotel both said no . i would like my 165.74 refunded back to my credit card .

Desired Settlement: i want my full refund of 165.74 in full back on my credit card due to cancelling 30 days in advance for reasons beyond my control .

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/02/10) */ Thank your letter, I was able to find the reservation for guest **** ****** and see that it was cancelled. The guest is correct, the reservation was made through a third party which means that we have not charged her card and have no record of her credit card. We have a contract with ********** the company she booked with and have presold them a room which they have purchased and paid us for then they resold it to *** ****** under terms and conditions that she should have agreed to. In other words I cannot refund *** ****** because I have not charged her card and have no record of her card. I sincerely regret that she has a medical issue and would respectfully request that she contact ********* or the associated travel company she booked her reservation with and whom she made a contract with. She did book through a large reputable company and I am sure they will stand behind any contract and or terms they mutually agreed to. Sincerely. ***** *********** General Manager Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2014/02/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ....... Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/02/18) */ Once again I would like to state that the Crowne Plaza Portland Downtown has not charged your credit card therefore we cannot credit it. I did check the number that you said you called and ***** ******* is affiliated with ********** so it appears that we gave you accurate information. I would suggest that you call them and seek a refund if you feel that they are not abiding by the terms and conditions that you agreed to or that they promised. If you feel this is the case I suggest you dispute the charge with you credit card company. Once again my apologies for the difficulty with ***** ******* and their refund policies. Please understand that I have not charged your card. Should the company you paid choose to credit you I am sure they will gain a loyal customer. Please understand that I will respectfully decline to answer your future correspondence because I cannot be of further assistance. Sincerely,