This business is not BBB accredited.

Courtyard Portland City Center

Phone: (503) 505-5000 View Additional Phone Numbers 550 SW Oak St, Portland, OR 97204

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Courtyard Portland City Center include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Courtyard Portland City Center include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Courtyard Portland City Center
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 03, 2010 Business started: 01/01/2009 Business started locally: 01/01/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Human Services
500 Summer St NE STE E15, Salem OR 97301
Phone Number: (503) 945-5944

Business Management
Mr. Eric Paul, General Mgr Bethany Lantz, Front Office Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Eric Paul, General Mgr
Business Category


Alternate Business Names
Courtyard-City Center Marriott

Additional Locations


    550 SW Oak St

    Portland, OR 97204 (800) 606-3717 (503) 505-5000


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/12/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: My wife and I reserved 3 hotel rooms for Friday July 5th and 4 rooms for July 6th. We got married on the 6th and the rooms were used for ourselves and other guest in our wedding. We had called the day before checking in to as how they billed and even asked at the time of check in. They said no money was charged to card or taken until checkout. They ended up taking $1150.00 from my account upon check in and it was held on my account until Wednesday July 10th. Even after paying cash at the end of our stay, our money was still being held. We had our honeymoon in Las Vegas and had no access to the money they held. After the charges dropped, there was one charge for $349.16 that did not fall off the account. When we called to ask the reason, they said we did not pay for all the rooms. When we checked out we were told 3 times by 2 different people that the balance of all rooms not paid by others was paid and we owed nothing and no more money would come out of our account. They completely ruined our honeymoon with all these transactions and cause to overdraw our account. The customer service is horrible and no one seems to know what to do. Product_Or_Service: Hotel Romms

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund All I want is my 349.16 returned to my account. Even if it were a mistake on their part, I should not have to pay for it. We were told 3 times no more money was owed. We were also told no money would be taken out until check out. All information they gave us was incorrect. We will be disputing charges with our bank. But If they ever want any of my business or a recommendation they need to refund my money and just learn from their mistakes.