This business is not BBB accredited.

Comfort Suites Southwest

Phone: (503) 768-4400 11340 SW 60th Ave., Portland, OR 97219 http://www.comfortsuites.com/hotel-portland-oregon-OR073/Hotel-Reviews


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Comfort Suites Southwest include:

  • Length of time business has been operating

Factors that raised the rating for Comfort Suites Southwest include:

  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Comfort Suites Southwest
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 07, 2014
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Human Services
500 Summer St NE STE E15, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/dhs
Phone Number: (503) 945-5944
dhs.info@state.or.us

Business Category

Hotels


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11340 SW 60th Ave.

    Portland, OR 97219 (503) 768-4400

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: First of all, I am an out of Towner who is here in Portland to take my son to ************** ******** on a medical referral. I went onlinemid-March, and found this motel because I was looking for something off Barbur Blvd. We came to ************** ******** on a related medical procedure two years ago and stayed at *********** *** ON ******* HWY.This was the motel I was looking for and wanted! By the pictures online the motels are identical besides the color of the buildings. (It had been 2 years; I didn't remember what color the building was!) I decided to make a reservation....So I came to *********** **** and found out my mistake I got a room at *********** **** *********** and ********** ***** is in walking distance. I called the listed business, and waited a good 5 minutes while the girl placed me on hold. **** gets on the line I tell her my dilemma and because I was 1 HOUR LATE she charged my debit card the full price for the night! $103.05!!! Keep in mind, I told **** that I was willing to pay a cancellation feebut not the full price of the room! When I told her I was staying at *********** *** for $20 lower all she did was ask me if I wanted the manager "*******" to call me in the morning, and see if we could work something out. I made an honest mistake which by the way I'm sure all traveler's do every day! YOU KNOW THEY GAVE MY ROOM TO SOMEONE ELSE, AND MADE DOUBLE PROFIT!!! The manager "*******" never called me!!!

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like a refund of my money. Full refund, but I would settle with a partial refund.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/04/08) */ First, I would like to thank you for bringing this issue to my attention. Our cancellation policy is that guests need to cancel by 4PM the day of arrival or be subject to one night's room charge plus taxes. Because you called after 5PM the cancellation fee was assessed appropriately. I can certainly work with guests who need to cancel on account of a family emergency or a delayed flight, however I cannot waive the cancellation fee because you were offered a lower rate at a motel nearby. I apologize for not calling you the next morning. I didn't get the message, and I will be discussing this with **** this afternoon. I take customer complaints very seriously and most certainly would have called had I received notice that you wished to speak with me. If you would like to discuss this matter further please do not hesitate to contact me. I will be more than happy to talk with you. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/04/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The lower rate at the different hotel has nothing to do with my complaint. The issue is I called 1 hour too late, and that your business looks a lot like *********** *** from the pictures online. It seems to me that this must happen quite a bit, and this is why you continue to keep handling business with this conduct. I also want to state that you probably gave my room out to another customer after I called making double profit which isn't right either. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/04/14) */ I am sorry that you feel this way. You did not cancel your reservation by our cancellation deadline and were therefore assessed the cancellation fee per hotel policy. You stated in your previous complaint that you were willing to pay the cancellation fee. That is exactly what you were charged. I am not aware of any other guests ever mistaking us for the *********** *** so I am unable to attest to that remark. Your room was not given to another guest as you are assuming. We strive to be very understanding of and compassionate toward our guests. And again, if you would like to discuss this matter with me I would be happy to talk with you. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 12, 2014/04/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) In my complaint I said that I was willing to pay a cancellation fee, but NOT THE FULL NIGHT'S RATE of $103.05. 33-50% maybe but NOT the full night. I will not be contacting you**** supposedly took down my contact information, or you have it on the computer, so if you want to discuss this matter you can call me.