This business is not BBB accredited.

Columbia Inn

Phone: (503) 325-4211 View Additional Phone Numbers 495 Marine Dr, Astoria, OR 97103 http://www.columbiainnastoria.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Columbia Inn include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Columbia Inn
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 05, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business started locally: 01/01/1984
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Human Services
500 Summer St NE STE E15, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/dhs
Phone Number: (503) 945-5944
dhs.info@state.or.us

Business Management
Ms. Carrie Grissom, Manager Janak Patel, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Carrie Grissom, Manager
Business Category

Hotels


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    495 Marine Dr

    Astoria, OR 97103 (800) 721-9440 (503) 325-4211

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/10/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On Saturday, May 9th, 2015 I had made a trip to Astoria, had never been to Astoria before but selected this establishment despite its rundown exterior based on information found on the internet about being "newly renovated". The room we stayed in, Rm 16, was absolutely horrifying. Mattress was stained and had a huge hole, floor corners were filled with dirt and fingernail clippings. Lampshades had dirt and stains. The shower had hair in it and a used band-aid on the upper lip. I don't mind old furnishings for a bargain hotel but this place was disgusting and I'm concerned about health. If we could have found another vacant hotel that night we would have left and stayed somewhere else. The next morning I tried talking to a man in the office. He seemed like I woke him up and reeked of cigarette smoke and yelled at his dog. When I explained the issues, his only response was staring at me with annoyance and said something about " ***** housekeeping". Then said..."well...sorry. Have a nice day." I have never experienced worse service.

Desired Settlement: This stay was absolutely not worth the 86.90 I paid for it and the service the following morning was unacceptable. If I don't receive a refund I'll be sure to write reviews and post pictures of the horrific room we stayed in on all major travel websites.

Business Response: Complaint ID #********
Customer Name: ******** ********



Response to the complaint dated 05/11/2015.



This property does not have a rundown exterior. All our rooms are newly renovated, and we have new
beds in all the rooms. Health is our main concern for our customers. We are sorry for the bad
customer service she has experienced, but we are making changes in our customer service as soon as
possible.

There was a hole in the side of a mattress box, was done by one of the nasty people, stayed in the
room previous night before this customer, and we are replacing the mattress soon. We have checked
with the housekeeping, and they did not find any nail clippings or band aid in the room after they
check out.

We want to keep our customers happy, and we are ready to refund them full amount.



Sincerely


Janak P****
Management.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: As if this place couldn't get any worse the owner is now implying I am a liar and made all this up. That hole does not look like it was from the night before. This is the worst experience I have ever had. Thankfully I took pictures of the filth which I tried to show thier employee but he refused. Please see my attachments. If I don't receive a refund I will be using these photos to persue a stop payment with my credit card company. I was hoping this business would do the honorable thing.


Sincerely,

******** ********

Business Response: Complaint ID #********
Customer Name: ******** ********



Response to the complaint dated 05/22/2015.



In response to your letter, we would like to refund her the full amount. Unfortunately we do not
keep the credit card number on file. So we need her credit card number to refund her the money.
Please have her call at ************ to give the credit card details, and we will credit her
account.

Sincerely


Janak P****
Management.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

******** ********