This business is not BBB accredited.

Century Hotel

Phone: (503) 692-3600 Fax: (503) 691-9142 View Additional Phone Numbers 8185 SW Tualatin Sherwood Rd, Tualatin, OR 97062 http://www.thecenturyhotel.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Century Hotel include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Century Hotel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Century Hotel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 05, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1994 Business started locally: 01/01/1994
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Department of Human Services
500 Summer St NE STE E15, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/dhs
Phone Number: (503) 945-5944
dhs.info@state.or.us

Business Management
Charlie Sitton, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Charlie Sitton, Owner
Business Category

Hotels


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    8185 SW Tualatin Sherwood Rd

    Tualatin, OR 97062 (503) 692-3600 (800) 024-0949

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/21/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After reading all the reviews of this place, I decided I had to try it. My gut feeling told me that it was too close to a major transportation route to be quiet, but booked it anyway.... Mistake Number #1. Upon arrival, I had to say she appears a little tarnished and showing her age these days...... I had specifically asked for and reserved the lakeside room, for I did NOT want to be on the highway side. When I arrived? You guessed it - Room was switched from what I reserved! Room was noisy. Got to enjoy every ambulance and police car going code 3 to the nearby hospital, all truck traffic and vehicles all night for 2 nights. Not to mention a lovely view of the hotel parking lot, rather than the pretty lake. Room was NOT CLEANED - PUBIC HAIRS on the toilet seat and Stains on the pillow. No sleep for 2 nights..... Staff not very well trained and not attentive to guest requests. Checking in, was told the breakfast was complimentary. NOT TRUE Next morning - was told a very different story by the restaurant staff. The breakfast is in fact, NOT COMPLIMENTARY, only "discounted" if I wanted to order one of the 4 highly overpriced items they selected on the menu. The silverware and water glass were dirty. I left, went out to eat at a better restaurant for the same or less money..... Internet was pretty much a joke (like most places), TV didn't work in the bedroom, previous guest had left cigarette butts out on the deck. Overall - a HUGE DISAPPOINTMENT.

Desired Settlement: I'm not sure what if anything would help. Management pretty much IGNORES their client when they try to speak to them about issues.One guarantee - I won't be back to this place. That's for sure.

10/7/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I phoned Century Hotel 08/06/13 afternoon to check availability for one night single occupancy. I asked the front desk clerk if i needed to reserve it and there was enough vacancy that it should be fine. I arrived shortly after checking in at 6:30pm. started the shower. After stepping in, i heard thought was the door, no one was there. It dawned on me there was not a double lock to ensure my safety. Due to a life changing prior incident at a hotel, in which the double lock literally saved me from someone trying to get in, i simply couldn't even finish my shower. Let alone sleep! I promptly gathered my things and decended to the front desk. I explained my dilemma to the front desk gentleman. I stated i began showering and used a couple towels though the rest of the room was untouched. I simply cannot relax without the security and too many memories resurfaced kicking in my common sense to leave. He said it wasn't a problem, though, he would have to check the room before he could reimburse me. I waited in the lobby until he confirmed there was no problem and proceed to reimburse my $155.90. He said the computer was freezing. Another gentleman (manager? plain clothes) came to assist as the clerk updated the situation. They were having pc difficulty and requested my credit card again to which i thought nothing of. I asked for a receipt which had $00.00 as charged and i said "ok so this is like it never happened, right?" "yes" he replied. I discovered the next day at my bank, when i handed my card to them because they had "pc freezing" they had charged an additional $161.40 , which was reimbursed but not the initial intended reimbursement of $155.90. I returned personally to inform them of their mistake. I spoke with the owner, ******* ******, who was extremely rude saying he couldnt rent the room because of the towels. I gave him the story though he was not interested and refused to honor my reimbursement. He was insulting stating he couldn't just let "anyone off the street use the shower and leave." He looked at my tattoo and sneered. He refused to honor his employees promise to reimburse my money. I said "excuse me?" I reminded him verbal contracts hold in the state of Oregon. He boasted nothing nefarious had ever taken place at his Hotel in20 years nor had a complaint of my sort. I made case in point that he should then realize the genuine uniqueness of the situation and honor the decision made by his employees who fallowed standard procedure though had failed computer skills. I feel set up and disgraced. I want my money and an appology!

Desired Settlement: My full reimbursment of $155.90 as promised. I left the establishment with the understanding i had been reimbursed and i want this honored!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/09/06) */ This lady check into our hotel 5 or 6 pm went to the room and took a shower laid on bed After a few hours she came down and told my front desk person that she did not feel safe with out 2 locks on the door. There are 2 locks on the door. 1 when it closes automatically and the dead bolt. We charged here for using the room she came back a few days later and made a seen in my lobby in front of numorous gust about what a bad place we run . She used the room and all of my house keepers where gone so I could not clean the room and resell it. Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2013/09/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) A double lock system includes a manual security lock that cannot be opened from the outside. I actually sat on the bed catching up on emails on my own wifi. I did not take a full shower when i realized there was not a security lock. I promptly packed up and went to the front desk. The first thing i said was i had used a couple towels and exactly why i wasnt comfortable in staying. The front desk clerk had the room checked for cleanliness as i waited in the lobby, to which he then said it was fine and attempted to refund me, though charged me again and refunded that instead. After checking my statement i returned to have their mistake corrected. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/09/20) */ All of our rooms have a electronic double lock system, We have Miwa locks on all of our doors and if you flip the dead bolt no one can enter that room even with a housekeeping key the only way we can get into a room with the dead bolt lock locked is with a over ride key that we have locked in a drawer at the front desk. This lady came in to my hotel at 5 pm after all of my housekeeping staff had left had for home for the day. She says she used one towel, I am not sure how many towels she used but I am sure she used the shower and sat on the bed, the bathroom was used eo I could not resent the room so I have to charge her. Also our cancellation policy is a 12 pm so she could not check out with out paying anyway. In 20 years of me operating this property I have never had someone come into our hotel and shower then leave with out being charged. Also there is only one way in and out of our hotel through the front doors and the desk is staffed 24 hours which means I have never had a problem with people breaking into a room in 20 years. ******* ******