This business is not BBB accredited.

Cedars Ocean Veiw Inn

Phone: (360) 642-5400 Fax: (360) 642-5422 208 Bolstad Ave W, Long Beach, WA 98631 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.cedarsoceanviewinn.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Cedars Ocean Veiw Inn include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Cedars Ocean Veiw Inn include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Cedars Ocean Veiw Inn
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 05, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1984 Business started locally: 01/01/1984
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Health
101 Israel Rd SE, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.doh.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 525-0127
hsqa.csc@doh.wa.gov

Business Management
Mr. Myron Barnum, Owner Robin Barnum, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Myron Barnum, Owner
Business Category

Hotels


Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Cedars Ocean Veiw Inn has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of C+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    208 Bolstad Ave W

    Long Beach, WA 98631 (360) 642-5400

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the weekend of 5/6 through 5/8, 2016, Mother’s Day weekend, my wife, daughter, son and I stayed at the Cedars Ocean View Inn, located in Long Beach, WA. Prior to check out my special needs daughter became quite ill (suffering vomiting and diarrhea) from something she had eaten the previous day. This made it difficult or impossible for us to pack up the room and care for our daughter--who also suffers from an intractable seizure disorder. The manager/owner at the front desk, in response to my request for a late check-out due to these issues, refused, stating that he didn't care, and that we had to be gone at 10:00 check-out time. I returned to the room, when my daughter, now on the toilet, suffered a prolonged seizure which also caused her to fall off the toilet, into a puddle of vomit and diarrhea, striking her head on the floor and door of the bathroom. Because we could not call 911 from the room phone, my wife frantically called the front desk to explain the escalating situation, and to request that 911 be called immediately, which the manager did. I proceeded back to the office to reiterate my need for a later check-out. The manager, who by now is well aware of the health issues my daughter is currently experiencing, steps right into my face, yells profanity right in my face, and orders my family out of the hotel immediately, even though the ambulance had not even arrived yet. I definitely felt that a physical confrontation was imminent, so I retreated from the office. By this point, my wife had used her cell phone to call 911 requesting police aid. The responding officer requested additional time to check-out on our behalf from the management. However, he too was refused. In fact, the manager attempted to make a case that I had been an unruly aggressor, despite the fact that there were numerous other guests who witnessed both exchanges. As a postscript, the company's website at that time specified an 11:00 am check-out, and that late check-outs can be accommodated.

Desired Settlement: Letter of apology and public recognition of inappropriate treatment of guests and conscious indifference to the needs of an ill, handicapped hotel guest. This letter to be posted in the Chinook Observer newspaper Letters to the Editor column. Once posted, I should be made aware of the letter and forwarded a copy of the article. No representative of the Cedars Ocean View Inn, or its parent corporation, should contact me directly except to convey the submission of the letter to the newspaper.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Cedars Ocean Veiw Inn
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart