BBB Accredited Business since

Bella Villa Home Corporation

Additional Locations

Phone: (360) 727-3092 Fax: (360) 727-3094 22710 NE 7th Ct, Ridgefield, WA 98642 http://www.bellavillahomes.biz


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers custom residential home building services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Bella Villa Home Corporation meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Bella Villa Home Corporation include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

1 Customer Review on Bella Villa Home Corporation
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 1
Total Customer Reviews 1

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 13, 2009 Business started: 02/01/2008 in WA Business started locally: 02/01/2010 Business incorporated 02/17/2010 in WA
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Jeffrey Creagan, President Ms. Deanna Pauli-Hammond, Controller Mrs. Serena Creagan, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jeffrey Creagan, President
Principal: Ms. Deanna Pauli-Hammond, Controller
Business Category

Home Builders Contractors - General New Single-Family Housing Construction (except For-Sale Builders) (NAICS: 236115)

Alternate Business Names
Bella Villa Homes

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

Bella Villa Home Corporation has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 22710 NE 7th Ct

    Ridgefield, WA 98642 (360) 727-3092

  • 800 NE Tenney Rd Ste 110-2

    Vancouver, WA 98685

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/25/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I have lived in my new home for over four months. I have been trying to get everything fixed that was not done correctly when we moved in. My expensive entry doors have not been repLced. It was originally warped and it stuck when you tried to open it. The color was wrong and the clips in the double doors when slid in order to open the doors were cheap and have been already replaced 2 times but one clip is broken again! They finally told me a few weeks ago that they would replace it but it has not been replaced. My jacuzzi in my master bath does not work at all and they sheetrocked over the access panel. They came out and cut a large hole into the siding to try to find the electrical wires. I now have a hole in the back of the house with exposed boards. They have not come back to find my access or fix the hole in the back. My master bath fan does not work. They did not finish my master closet. I don't have any shelves fover the custom drawers. I have squeaks in my upper bonus room floor. This was something we discussed before the floors even went in. We had a house that had squeaks before and we made sure we discussed this with them severLs times. The electrical outlets were not put in the right area in a downstairs bedroom and needs to be moved. My slider door from the bedroom to the guest bath is bowed. It has rubbed the paint right off the door when you slide it open. I have been told by Tony that it has been ordered 6 times and it Rrives bowed every time. The textured wall in my dining room needs to be redone in an area that they tried to patch. It looks patched!! It needs to be redone and repainted. The door to the garage does not shut easily. The curb in our driveway is too high and everyone that comes to visit and tries to drive up on our driveway has their car dented in the front. My Bosch dishwasher is still in the process of trying to be fixed. At first, the door just dropped, then the springs did not allow it to open easily and it still is not fixed and the rubber pieces will still need to be installed around it. There are areas on my garage doors that are still white and not painted. The sink upstairs looks like it has been repainted. It is not smooth like a new sink should be. The stopper in the master bath does not fit and will not stay in. There is more but I think you can get the picture.

Desired Settlement: I want them to come out to fix ALL of the things that need to be fixed Right away !!! I have a disabled sister and 2 elderly parents in 2 separate retirement homes and 3 businesses. I need this off my plate ASAP. I have bent over backwards and accepted sub-par work in a lot of cases. We paid well over 1,000,000 for this house and we had to fight them all the way not to put in cheap stuff,

Business Response: 4 page3 response was faxed (again) on 1/29/15.
Need to confirm receipt please.

Dear ******,
It is our plan to continue to follow up with **** and ****** ****** and attend to any issues that have
arisen with their home or may arise in the future. The difficulty we incurred during the construction of
the home in getting the ******'s to understand the process in which work needs to take place is the
same thing causing them heartache now. For example, In order to coordinate the schedule of the
painter to touch-up a handful of repair items, all repairs incurred by electricians, trim carpenters and
sheet rockers need to be complete so the painters can be the last one in. Since the complaint letter from
Mrs. ****** rambles on Without clear direction, it may be important to address certain issues so it's
clear to all the reality of her complaint. There are some things that Mrs. ****** attempts to hold Bella
Villa accountable for when in fact it was not part of our contract. There are other issues that we have to
rely on the manufacturer's warranty on the product for replacement and repair or their decision not to
repair or replace if not deemed outside of acceptable industry standards.
1) The very expensive front doors: The ******'s elected to select an alternate front door set-up with
our door supplier than was not included in the construction contract. From the original installation of
the doors, the latch mechanism on the stationary door was not functioning correctly and eventually had
to be replaced by the door manufacturer. We have had Manufacturer's Rep's along with Rep's for the
door supplier out to see the doors and test the latch system to determine that they are functioning the
same as every set of doors they sell with the same latch system. During the construction of the home,
The Painting contractor had a very difficult time getting both **** and ****** ****** to agree on a stain
color for the Fiberglass doors. Since the fiberglass door manufacturer has a limited number of stain
colors available, this process was pain staking for the painter and the ******'s and Mr. ****** did not
like the look of the stained fiberglass (or the factory grain pattern) and felt it looked like cheap Oak Furniture. After completing the first coat of stain on the exterior of the doors, Mrs. ****** told the
painter the doors looked good. After Mr. ****** looked at the doors for a few days, he voiced his
opinion that he did not like the coloring and quickly had Mrs. ****** raise the issue with the painter.
Since none of these issues were that ofthe painter, he was stuck not being able to satisfy the ******'s
and offer them a naturally looking set of stained doors that were made from fiberglass. It was after this
that ****** ****** started demanding new front doors. It is still the contention from the ******'s that
they get new front doors. Everyone from the supplier to the distributor to us are puzzled to understand
what new doors will do for them if they are replaced with the same doors. The latch will function the
same and the coloring of the fiberglass will accept the stain color the same and the factory grain pattern
will be the same.
2) The master jetted tub: The original construction contract included a soaking tub in the master
bathroom. After it was installed, the ******'s made the comment that they wanted a Jacuzzi tub and
went through countless price options of jetted tubs before opting for the same tub that was installed
but with jets included. By the time this decision was made, we were starting to hang sheetrock, so the
Electrician scrambled and pulled power from the far side of the home to the tub location so the jetted
tub motor would have power. Once the tub was ordered and arrived many weeks later, we were
requested to position the tub so that a person lying in the tub would face the TV in the bathroom. Upon
the completion of the home, the fact that the power for the recent tub was overlooked by the
electrician and was not discovered until the ******'s had lived in the home a little while. Since code
requires an access panel to be located within reach of the motor and the fact that the motor was
located away from any accessible interior all, we were forced to cut an access panel on the exterior of
the home. The ******'s lack of understanding of the situation leaves them to think a hole was cut in the
outside of their home for no other reason than to search of wires to hook up the motor. The length of
time that this work took to be done had a lot to do with the coordination of ******'s schedule with the
electrician In and around extra side work they were doing for the ******'s on their pool house. The
access panel has been tacked in place and not caulked or finished while we waited for the Electricians to
complete the hook-up of the jetted tub. If the access panel had been caulked in place and secured, the
electricians would have to cut the caulking free to gain access multiple times and require return trips to
finalize the access panel. Again, lack of true understanding has caused the ******'s heartache and
frustration, when their decision making during construction played part in this headache for all involved.
To add heartache for the Electrician, it was at the completion of the home when the Electrician tried
collecting money from the ******'s for their electrical upgrades and the ******'s did not want to pay the
amount of the full breakdown because they felt the amount was too high, so the Electrician cut them a
deal and didn't charge them for adding electrical for the jetted tub and some other things to be nice to
them. As they say, no good deed goes un-punished.
3) Master closet: During the construction of the home, the ******'s met with the Rep that sells us the
doors and trim for the home and designed the layout for the master closet. The closet design was drawn
out by the Sales Rep for the trim carpenters to follow and build. This design left room for a tower of
drawers (like a short dresser) that would be built by the cabinet maker hired and contracted by the
******'s as well and a small area for a shoe tree that the ******'s would provide when they moved in. As the cabinet maker provided simple drawers on drawer guides attached to the closet shelving
structure that had been built, the finger became pointed at the trim carpenters to provide a finished top
to the drawers that were added. As we wrapped up the details of the home to get the ****** moved in,
the tops to these cabinet drawers did not take place. I have procured extra material needed to cap off
the tops of these 2 set of drawers in hopes that the trim carpenter would be kind enough to install them
when he has to return to swap out a warped pocket door. The trim carpenter has had a frustrating time
dealing with the ******'s and reluctant to do anything free and extra for them in the way of adding
shelving for them.
4) Warped pocket door: Shortly after moving into the home, the ******'s noticed that the pocket door
in their main floor bathroom was rubbing on the frame and had warped. After receiving multiple new
door slabs from the door manufacturer we had to keep bumping back our plans to paint and swap out
the door for a new one. We currently have a new straight door painted and ready to insta II on 1/8.
Once this door can be swapped out we can have the painted return to the home for4-5 small paint
touch-ups that are separate from the pocket door, but not necessitating a special trip until there for the
pocket door trim touch-up is ready.
5) Sheetrock touch-up in the Dining Room: There Is a 2'x 2' repair spot in the texture in the Dining
Room. The texture is not a perfect match to the rest of the room and will need to be softened when the
sheet rockers arrive on 1/5 for their scheduled work related to the master jetted tub wiring work. The
sheet rockers need to have all repairs done to make 1 trip to the home and not a trip every couple
weeks once another trade causes damage that needs repaired. This sheet rock work is something else
that needs to be done before sending the painter back in to the home.
5) Squeaks in the floor and carpet seams: During the construction of the home, there were multiple
conversations between myself and Mrs. ****** about her desire for floors that do not have floor
squeaks. I assured her that we would supplement the nailing of the plywood floor with screws before
the carpet is installed as we do with every home we build because we feel the same way about squeaks.
The Bonus room in their home has a wood floor structure that has a span that is near that maximum
distance that engineering can support as it spans over a large kitchen area. Mrs. ****** complains that
we did not install the screws as she requested and as such the floor squeaks, but in fact this is far from
the truth. Prior to installing the carpet, we installed hundreds of screws which did not eliminate any
squeaks. We paid our framing company to take up the ply wood sub-floor and install additional support
members and added insulation in the floor which eliminated 98% of the noise. The remaining sound that
the ******'s hear is not a squeaky floor but the sound of wood flexing a little when people walk in the
middle of the room and not something that additional screws will elim'1nate.
In addition to the floor squeaks that we can't eliminate 100%, there are a couple seams in the carpet
that we have had the installer come back and attempt to address. These seams look very good, but yet
Mrs. ****** complains that she can tell where they are in her master bedroom and bonus room and
doesn't think she should be able to see them at a II. We have not neglected this issue, but these seams
are well within industry standards and there is nothing more that can be done. 7) Dishwasher issues: The manufacturer has sent the Appliance Hospital out to repair the dishwasher
multiple times around Mrs. ******'s schedule. These are direct mantJfacturers repairs of appliances that
the ******'s selected and paid for with their allowance. The repair and schedule is outside our control,
but is something that Mrs. ****** keeps attempting to hold us responsible for. There is a side complaint
that Mrs. ****** has with the mounting brackets for the dishwasher. Our plumber used the (2)
attachment brackets supplied with the dishwasher from the manufacturer, but yet Mrs. ****** feels
that the dishwasher should have more brackets used and installed in a different location. Given that the
plumber followed the manufacturer's installation instructions and used the manufacturer's parts, I'm
not sure why this is still an issue. I have forwarded a confirmation e-mail from the manufacturer's Rep to
Mrs. ****** confirming that the installation of the dishwasher is correct, but even though the Repair
Company returns to remove and reinstall the dishwasher to do work on it, Mrs. ****** still keeps this as
something Bella Villa has not done for her.
8) Master Tub drain issues: Since occupying the home, we have reinstalled the master tub pop-up
drain for Mrs. ****** by screwing it back in place. If the pop-up drain is twisted instead of I ifted up and
down, the threads of the pop-up drain can back out and lift off in your hand. The plumber is scheduled
to reinstall this again on 1/5, but if incorrect use of the drain continues, the pop-up drain will come apart
again and again as happens at my house once a year when my kids play with the drain.
9) Upstairs bathroom sink finish issues: Mrs. ****** claims that the finish on her $30.00 bathroom sink
has imperfections in the finish. I have coordinated and had the supplier of the sink order a new one and
attempt to replace it with a new one and find that the finish on her current sink is better than the new
sink straight out of the box and no different than any other $30.00 sink that could be found to replace it
with. Mrs. ****** told the supplier of the sink not to replace it with the new one because it looked
worse then what she had. I have passed on the information to Mrs. ****** that there isn't anything that
can be done other than swap the sink for a higher quality sink If she wanted a higher quality finish.
10) Driveway: The ****** had brought it to my attention after moving into their home that some of the
cars driven by friends and family have scraped over the curb when visiting. The cul-de-sac is built with
rolled curbs which was built by another company years ago and not part of the contractual agreement
between Bella Villa Homes and the ******'s. I have forwarded the contact information to the ******'s
on who to address any issues with the curb since it does not fall under our contract.
Our ability to complete repair items on the ******'s home relies on availability of replacement products,
the coordination of contractors in the correct order, and ultimately the available schedule of the
******'s.
Sincerely,
Bella Villa Homes corporation (22456669BR.pdf)


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

1 Customer Review on Bella Villa Home Corporation
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart