This business is not BBB accredited.

Courthouse Athletic Club

Additional Locations

Phone: (503) 364-1731 Fax: (503) 371-0773 View Additional Phone Numbers 6250 Commercial St SE, Salem, OR 97306 http://www.fitfx.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Courthouse Athletic Club include:

  • 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Failure to respond to 2 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Courthouse Athletic Club include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 4
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Courthouse Athletic Club
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: January 30, 2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Business Management
Manager, Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Manager, Manager
Business Category

Health Clubs Exercise Equipment & Machines - Sales


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2975 River Rd S

    Salem, OR 97302

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    300 Glen Creek Rd NW

    Salem, OR 97304

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    6250 Commercial St SE

    Salem, OR 97306

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    PO Box 3125

    Salem, OR 97302 (503) 364-1731 (503) 364-8463 (503) 588-2582 (503) 588-3375

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/6/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Paid the account to close and all fees, then got another bill the following month. Customer Service rep stated "he didn't see it so its not his problem" Then the late fees they charged me were $20 vs the $15 stated in their contract

Desired Settlement: I would just like the $44 balance that is due to be cleared out as they have over charged me then billed me after cancellation as well as charged more for the late fees than is documented in their contract.

11/8/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I had a two year contract that ( I honored even after needing to cancel early by paying in full to end of contract. After many phone calls of being told that they needed more money to end contract .I tried to meet with the manager of the business and when I came in she had left early I have been treated rudely at the counters when I come to resolve the problem Now after nearly a year of me bein left to belive that I have washed my hands I found multiple charges on my bank statement that the have been talking money from me with out knowledge I felt like I was bullied when I tried to terminate the contract now I feel I'm still paying to be bullied by this company

Desired Settlement: I Want membership terminated and all money taken past the orig.2 year contract payed back as well as any cancellation fees refunded I would also like a apology for stresses caused and time spent dealing with this business

3/24/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Husband joined for $39/month with the understanding that it would be month-to-month instead of contract. He was unable to continue after 1 month. Filed resignation form and medical form on-line as instructed. Was told he has a contract that goes until 11-30-15. I asked to see "contract." Paper I received did not have a signature on it. I told the bank to stop payment on the checks. They did. Courthouse was told beforehand that we would stop payment. They tried to collect anyway. Bank charged them for returned check. They are now trying to pass that cost to my husband as well as additional money in dues. **** ****** from the corporate office on State St. in Salem told my attorney that he would "try to find a signed contract." That will be difficult as we have not signed a contract.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) Stop trying to take money from my husband's checking account. Stop badgering us with "official" letters. LEAVE US ALONE. It's bad enough that my husband cannot continue for health reasons without having to also deal with this harassment.

Consumer Response: Received another bill from Courthouse on 2-9-15. Sent it back. On 2-11-15 received the form I had signed so they could take money from my husband's account. At the time I signed they told me it was to allow them to take money for auto-pay. I questioned that it looked like a contract. I told them I didn't want a contract. They told me a contract cost $150/year and this was just a month-by-month thing. Now they are trying to call it the "contract." That was NOT my understanding of this document. They have a letter from my husband's doctor. In the "contract" that I didn't sign it says he can terminate membership with a letter from a doctor. I will not pay this company one cent. Their business practices are deluding and highly questionable.

Business Response:

We did exactly what Ms. ****** was requesting of us as soon as we received the document we requested from her.  So I'm not sure what exactly her complaint is, except perhaps that we required documentation to approve a medical release for her husband.

 

Thanks for listening.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
The issue was not the medical release form. The issue was that he had a "contract". I signed paperwork so they could take an auto-pay from his checking account each month. Despite the fact that the form looked like a contract, I was told it was only a permission to withdraw funds. I was told that, if I wanted a contract, the cost was $150/year. Additionally I was told that the paperwork I signed was a "month-by-month" agreement with no contractual obligation. I know of several other people who have been similarly "duped" by Courthouse Athletic Club. They told me, without any prompting on my part, that they had a "no contract" agreement with Courthouse. Courthouse has not attempted to remove any more money from my husband's account and have not contacted us again since they sent, a month after the dispute started, the paperwork they considered a contract for a year's membership. My only concern now is their misleading information.
Sincerely,

**** ******

2/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After being a loyal customer for 10 years I cancelled my membership for only 2 months and upon re-enrolling I was told that no policies had changed. A few months later I unexpectedly moved out of town, 27+ miles away. (a 35 minute drive). In my original contract there had been a clause that you could cancel when moving 25 miles or more away from the nearest club. When I went in to cancel they told me that the policy had changed and they would not be letting me out of my contract. I cannot make a 35 minute drive each way to attend a gym class. I asked management to talk to the employee who advised me nothing changed with my policy and they said it didn't matter. Even if the employee agree'd that I was being truthful they still wouldn't honor what was said because their contract allows them to "CHANGE POLICIES AT ANY TIME and you have to adhere to them even if the change was made AFTER YOUR CONTRACT WAS SIGNED!" Very disappointing business practice to say the least.

Desired Settlement: I am simply requesting that they cancel my contract without any further deductions from my bank account.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2015/01/20) */ As noted in the subject line, this email is in response to case # XXXXXXXX. The consumer's name is ******** ***. Ms. *** joined our club on two different occasions. On the first occasion our policy was to provide members with the option of being released from a contract if they could prove they had moved away from Salem. This policy was clearly stated on the front page of our agreement at that time. We changed this policy in early 2014, and of course changed our agreements to reflect the new policy. Ms. *** joined again in August 2014 and chose to make a one year membership commitment to receive a lower joining fee. She is now requesting to be released from that commitment due to the fact she has moved away from Salem. That policy is not in Ms. ***'s membership agreement, a copy of which is attached hereto. Her complaint claims the older policy should apply. We feel it is reasonable to expect the current policy, and Ms ***'s current agreement to dictate the terms of our agreement. We did offer to Ms. *** the option to reduce her membership dues by 75% (to $15 per month) for the remainder of her agreement. This is not a special accommodation we made for Ms. ***. This is our policy for all members that have joined on the same agreement Ms. *** joined under. We have honored our agreement with Ms. ***. As she indicates, we did change our policies, but we continue to honor those agreements that are under the old policy. Ms. ***'s agreement is simply more recent. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 11, 2015/01/29) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This email is in response to case # XXXXXXXX. When re-enrolling in my courthouse membership (which had lapsed for only 2 months) I was advised by the staff member who filled out the contract with me, that the policy had not changed since my previous agreement. He said "nothings changed, just initial and sign" as he indicated the appropriate areas to do so. I advised the management of this conversation and even asked that they speak with the employee (His name was ***** *****.) Management advised me that even if ***** confirmed the conversation, they would still not honor his word because the new agreement states that they can change their policies at any time and the client must adhere to them. I don't see how that would be legal, and aside from the legality of the issue, I just can't believe that they would not honor the words of their employee if policy is misquoted. The company claims to have given me a 75% discount on my membership for continuing to come in.The reduction in rate means that they are only allowing me into the club 1 day a month, rather than the unlimited use that was included with my membership. This is not a discount on my plan, it's a different plan completely. As it is, I am not able to make the drive to go in, so I am still paying for a plan which I am not using. I still cannot see how a company can force a member to drive 35-40 mins to fulfill their membership. When someone moves out of town, or out of state it is completely unreasonable to not allow them out of the agreement when proof of the move is provided. Final Business Response /* (4000, 13, 2015/02/09) */ Courthouse is a family run business that I have operated since 1981. We sincerely try to do the right thing by the customer, without allowing ourselves to be steam rolled by the occasional unreasonable demand. Part of our efforts to "do right" involves making our membership agreements easy to read and simple to understand. In the few cases we have where a customer is unhappy with the contract they signed, and yet it is obvious we are only doing exactly what the contract clearly states, (on the front page, in a large font, separately initialed by the customer, twice), customers will invariably claim our employee said something to mislead them. The "well I was told" tactic, is convenient for the customer, as no proof can be offered to verify it wasn't said. I can and do claim it wasn't said for two reasons. a) We train our employees well. And b) No employee would say one thing, and then ask the customer to sign and initial a document that states something to the contrary. Therefore, we refer to what we agreed to in writing, to dictate our policy with the customer. If the situation were reversed, the customer would certainly demand we uphold our written commitments, even if we told them something different....and could prove it. If that were ever the case, there would be no dispute, because we would always honor our contract. I simply believe it is fair to expect a customer to do the same. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 15, 2015/02/11) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The company is claiming that I am being dishonest, and am using a "well, I was told tactic..." to get my way. The fact is I requested that the manager speak with the employee who went over the agreement with me, I am sure he simply didn't realize he was giving me misinformation and would be willing to admit that yes, he did tell me no information in the NEW AGREEMENT had changed from the old one. The management REFUSED to even ask the old employee, stating that the following: "Even if the employee confirmed your conversation, we still wouldn't honor his words, because the contract you signed states that we have the right to change our contracts at anytime and you still would be responsible to fulfill them." How is this in any way doing what is right for the customer? Also, the company is labeling my request "a unreasonable demand" It is not unreasonable to ask to be let out of a contract because you have moved out of town, and now live more than 30 minutes away. It is completely unreasonable for the company to expect me to commute an hour to attend their gym. I have changed all other memberships, plans, and am in the process of relocating my job closer to home to avoid commute. My request is very reasonable. I simply ask that the courthouse honor my original contract which stated if I move 25 or more miles away, they would cancel my agreement.

11/14/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I joined in January 2013. I started looking for a trainer & inquired about different training packages, I was informed to train with a trainer would be $400 a month/ with a three month commitment for 3 days a week. When I asked what I can do that would cost less I was informed if I brought another friend it would be a $50 discount per person. I was able to get my friend ***** ****** to join the training. We were informed that if we missed any days we could make it up at the end and vice versa if he was unable to train. I personally was injured while training March 15 and was unable to train per my doctor for three weeks due to tearing my shoulder. When I came back my training was over as of April 30 and no conversation of making up time between days he had missed my shoulder and other prescheduled times off. He had asked if we wanted to continue training, and we both said we couldn't afford to continue to do it and what if any other options are there. He said we could do group training with two or more people for two days a week at $110 a month no minimum months required. So in May we both started. I had ******* (trainer) clarify my bill since I had a been billed for $350 + $110 she informed me she would take care of it and it would not be a problem. In June once again I had the same Bill $350+$110 due, my husband I choose to pay by mail, so he continue to pay our bill not aware we were being overcharged, when I called to inquire into why that was happening I was informed by ***** I was to have called in and canceled the three month membership. Clarify that I only signed up for a three-month & the billing department should've never continued to charge me. ******* also informed me that that should not have happened and also I should not have been charged full month of May due to not fulfilling my original training. After ***** not helping me resolve my billing issue and forcing me to contact **** and ******* to get it resolved they both felt terrible about the miscommunication and overbilling. I contacted ***** right away June 21, 2013 and informed her I wanted to cancel my membership due to the lack of respect for my money & I wanted my refund mail to me. That was never done& in September I discovered once again I was still getting billed, this time the money was being taken out what was owed to me instead of giving me as I requested. Upon further conversation ***** and I both questioned why we were never once offered to do two days/week training for $110 and realizing we never even use the full amount of training and really getting the value of a two day a week training during the three-month duration. My complaint is against the misleading and misdirecting for my desire to do training and getting the most money out of me and when I was unable to continue to pay that all of a sudden they had many options that were much more affordable. In September when I finally discussed this again with **** at billing she was much more helpful in trying to resolve my issue. She passed me on to **** (head trainers) and the two of them discussed and then did a phone conference with me...during that time I felt belittled and berated by **** not once did he listen to understand me he simply talked over me to inform me how things worked! I plan on taking this further and have an attorney willing to sign papers to send to the Courthouse for a full refund of the $700 for over charging May/June plus a refund for the unfulfilled $350 that they owe me for the month not used! ***** is prepared to ask for the same.

Desired Settlement: I was overcharged by $700 for may/June & $350 unable to use due to **** not being available to fulill our agreement to make up time for mar/April. $1050 total

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/10/29) */ I am sorry that this issue has gotten to this point. I would like to address several of the issues **** brings out. 1-We DID over bill **** the May and June charges for $350. We have already refunded that $700 amount. 2-Contrary to standard practice in our industry, we are completely transparent when it come to pricing our training programs. The two programs **** partook of have different price points because they offer completely different experiences. The $350 in the full deal, training/ nutrition/tracking/accountability. The $110 price point is just two "workouts" a week. All of this information is available to anyone at anytime on our website. It is never our intent to mislead anyone in anyway. We have different products at different price points to serve different members needs. 3-I would also like to apologize if **** felt talked over or unheard during our conversation. I can assure you she was heard and although the outcome was not as she desired it was more than fair. We are disappointed to lose her membership and feel badly that she is no longer doing business with us. Due to the contentious manner that we parted ways we waived her $200 buy out as well.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Courthouse Athletic Club
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)