BBB Business Review

What is a BBB Business Review?

Consumer Complaints

BBB Accredited Business since 09/30/2010

FITera LLC

Phone: (866) 796-7204Fax: (503) 850-4617

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Customer Complaints Summary

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues4
Guarantee / Warranty Issues1
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Total Closed Complaints8

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (8)BBB Closure Definitions
12/02/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
I signed up for a free trial of diet advice emails, but did not sign up for any recurring charges to my checking account from this company. I have sent correspondence to them both by email and phones calls asking them to confirm any charges and to cancel the service and any charges. I received one email from a diet consultant a month ago called *** **** confirming there will be charges to my account but she could not confirm how much or could not cancel the service herself. She directed me to Fitera customer service but customer services have not replied to either my emails or phone calls. I have left two phone messages and emailed twice. In my first email and phone call, i requested the amount of the service costs and explained that i wanted to cancel if these charges were over $5-10 per month. However, having failed to respond they failed to inform me of any ongoing costs and failed to cancel the service. So my next email and phone call over a week ago, said that due to them not contacting me, i wanted to go ahead and cancel. In the phone message, I also requested a refund for any previous charges for the past couple of months during the dispute period. My email address is *************@hotmail.com. I am currently in Canada and my cell number is XXXXXXXXXX.

Desired Settlement
i would like them to stop the service and refund the past three months charges

Business Response
Contact Name and Title: ****** ******* Cust Care
Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX
Contact Email: *******@fitera.com
Ms. ******* initially signed up for a 30-day trial of our service on 04/25/2014, and that trial was cancelled on 05/25/2014 with no charges assessed. There have been no charges of any kind assessed from our company in the intervening 6 months. We have attempted to contact the customer via email multiple times to resolve the confusion surrounding this issue, with no response.

08/28/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
In reconciling my bank statements, I have identified (7) unauthorized charges by Fitera totaling $329.00. I have never signed up for any recurring charges to my checking account from this company. I have sent correspondence to them to identify a process for refunding all monies taken from my account without my authorization.

Desired Settlement
The recourse I am looking for is to have $329 refunded to me for the unauthorized withdrawal from my account by this company (FITERA).

Business Response
Customer did in fact place an online order with us for this service on 01/27/2014. I have contacted customer directly and advised of the order date, that the service was never cancelled, and that cancellation is now complete. We have also refunded the last 2 monthly payments in accordance with our 60-Day Return/Refund Policy (http://www.fitera.com/contact).

In summary, this was in fact a subscription that was authorized at the time of order by this customer, that subscription has been cancelled, and the customer has been refunded the full eligible amount under our return/refund policy - the refund action was completed prior to the BBB complaint being filed.

03/18/2014Guarantee / Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
On 1/27/14 I ordered an e-book of recipes that had a 60 day guarantee. After reading the recipes, I was unsatisfied because many of the recipes contained ingredients I am allergic to. So on 2/10/14 I sent an email asking for my money back guarantee. I received an email saying they would respond within 24 hours. On 2/14/14 I sent another email to them as I had not heard anything. On 2/19/14 I called the company, but they were closed and gave me a web address for customer service so I emailed them. Got same response-I would hear from them within 24 hours. On 2/25/14 I called them again. Automated service stated that due to high volume of calls, I needed to leave a message with my phone number and they would return my call. I stated I wanted to know how to get my money back and all the times I had contacted them without any response. I also stated I was notifying the BBB if I did not hear from them. It is 2/27/14 and I have gotten no response from Fitera.

Desired Settlement
$37.00

Business Response
Customer was refunded in full on 02/26/2014, and an email was sent advising her of refund status and timelines. Customer did send several emails to our support email address, but there was no message body included in those emails - simply replies to her purchase confirmation email with no new text added. The first indication we received from this customer requesting a refund was a voicemail left on 02/26/2014, and refund was processed same day.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I have not received any email from the company as of 2/28/14. My credit card company has said they cannot confirm any refund for 7-10 business days. So as of now, nothing has been resolved.
Thank you for your rapid investigation of this situation. Also, I have printed all the emails I have sent to FITERA so I do not understand what they are saying.
Sincerely,
**** *****

Final Business Response
We are unsure as to why our response was not accepted, as this customer's refund has already been processed - the desired resolution was a $37 refund, and that refund (as stated in the previous response) was processed on 02/26/2014.

01/22/2014Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
FITera, LLC, has been billing me $97 a month for several months. I am not what I am supposed to be receiving for the $97. I have tried repeatedly to contact them at their phone number to ask that they stop charging me. However, their message says they answer phones only 4 hours a day. They encourage callers to leave a message, but they do not return messages. Their caller volume is so heavy that I have found it impossible to reach them by staying on the line.

Desired Settlement
I would like FITera, LLC, to stop billing me, and I would like a refund of the $97 per month for the months in which I did not receive any service from them.

Business Response
*** *********'s account was cancelled in accordance with her wishes on 01/02/2013, and a refund was issued for her last subscription payment from 11/28/2013 in accourdance with our Return/Refund Policy (http://www.fitera.com/contact).

10/08/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Complaint
The phone # and email address to cancel this membership and a 100% money back in either 30 or 60 days (both are stated) does not work....I've been trying to cancel for a week now and effort have failed. I'm afraid to just send product back for fear won't get credited.

Cost also misleading from the beginning. To receive service they promised you have to pay an additional $97 a month.

Desired Settlement
Money back for product.

Business Response
**** ***** is covered by our 60-day return policy until 10/04/2013, but as she received a hard copy of the products she ordered from us, she would need to return those products in order for a refund to be issued. No email received from customer requesting return address/procedures. I will email return instructions directly to **** ***** in an attempt to resolve dispute.

Page 1 of 2

Industry Comparison| Chart

Health & Fitness Program Consultants, Health & Wellness

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.