This business is not BBB accredited.

Michaels Fine Furniture

Phone: (503) 674-0414 Fax: (503) 674-2435 2011 NE 181st Ave, Portland, OR 97230 http://www.michaelsfinefurniture.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company provides the sale of new furniture, home furnishings, mattresses, and bedding.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Michaels Fine Furniture include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Michaels Fine Furniture include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 4 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

4 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 4

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Michaels Fine Furniture
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 28, 2003 Business started: 08/01/2001 Business started locally: 08/01/2001 Business incorporated 10/19/1995 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Michael To, President Mr. Peter Janz, Store Manager Ms. Hana Kha, Corporate Officer
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Mr. Peter Janz, Store Manager
Principal: Mr. Michael To, President
Business Category

Furniture - Retail Lamps & Lamp Shades - Retail Mattresses Bedding

Alternate Business Names
To & Sons Corp

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2011 NE 181st Ave

    Portland, OR 97230 (503) 674-0414

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/29/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Purchased a couch on 7/31/14 and it was delivered on 8/4/14 after 2 weeks couch started to fall apart. Contacted Michaels because the frame is under warranty. They sent out a repair guy who said the couch needs to be replaced. When I heard back from Michael they said they were not going to replace the couch because there are no defects. I told him the staples are coming out of the couch and it needs to be replaced. He said there's nothing he can do.

Desired Settlement: I want the couch replaced.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 12, 2014/10/07) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** **** Contact Phone: XXXXXXXXXX Contact Email: *********@yahoo.com We sent ******* ***** (XXX-XXX-XXXX) who is an authorized Ashley Furniture repair company: this is there report: "Customers sofa was broken in 3 different areas of the seat base and 3 areas on back frame, No way damage all happened at once or it was dropped from a high level. This is customer abuse or neglect to call when first frame break occurred" If need I can fax official report from Leather Medic, thanks you Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 14, 2014/10/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) When the guy from ************* came out he told me that michaels would have to replace the couch and that is looked to him like the damage happened during delivery. He said he usually sees that type of damage when a couch has been dropped off the truck. He told me he was going to submit a request that michaels replace the couch.

5/27/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Recently purchased sofas from this store. Furniture in my family room when getting up the frame was making a weird noise. Went into location and asked about the warranty and was told the frame had a 1 year warranty. Store sent someone out the following week to take pictures. A few days later received a call from the store that someone was coming get out to fix the section or replace if they were not able to fix. Another gentleman called and scheduled a time another week out to come fix it. I let the gentleman in went upstairs to change my clothes after 5 minutes he was gone, no word, no paper, no nothing. About 5 hours later received a call from the store telling me my claim was denied. The reason why the gentleman that came said my furniture was used for non sofa reasons. Well for one my couches are not beds and it is in my family room where my family spends 90% of our time is he stating that because I had blankets downstairs well if he would of asked, stayed around or took a report he would of noticed laundry was being done and blankets are around to keep warm. His reported stated my furniture was being used for a bed which is false, a lie and an assumption. How can a claim be denied without any facts. For the amount of money I paid for these couches and for them to not stick to their word is wrong. I am filing an complaint because they are not trustworthy and they do not complete repairs as stated in their warranties. Also for the gentleman who came into my house to not ask any questions what kind of customer service are they running. I do not recommend and will not. The furniture store told me to call Ashley I did and they told me to go through the retailer and wasn't give help. They already sent one man out who took pictures and did a report and asked me questions to a phone call that said they were going to fix or replace that section now being told it was denied??? Doesn't add up I was being bounced around and my couch is still broken.

Desired Settlement: Repairs to fix couch or replacement like I was told once the first gentlemen came out. Stick to their agreement that is all. What's right is right.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/04/22) */ The factory had sent a independent repair company to inspect and to fix the frame issue. The message to us from the repair person was that reported that "he was let in by the customer who had just woke up. She showed him where the sectional was and then went back upstairs and told him someone would be right with him. By the time he finished his inspection no one had come downstairs. He called out several times to let someone know he was done and no one responded so after a few minutes he left". His report including pictures of the furniture showed that the sofa had fabric was torn away from the frame and wood exposed damaged corner. This would be considered abuse and due to this report the factory declined the warranty repair. I want to clarify sleeping on this sofa does not void the warranty. I will forward this response and the customers complaint to the manufacturer. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/05/04) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Their response is bogus. The first gentleman the one who actually delivered the furniture was the the first one that came out and inspected the broken section of the couch. He is the one that flipped the couch over and removed a section from the broken part which is the thin lining of material under the couch and in their statement they called it abuse well that means their employee abused the couch because he is the one that removed the thin piece of fabric to see the broken frame under the couch. Also the manager I spoke with told me that it was denied and read the details of the detail stating it was being used as a bed which caused my initial compliant with this company as it being an assumption. Also I opened the door and came down in 5 min so their other gentleman that came out said he edited several minutes so that means he was able to make a claim in 2 or less minutes and waited for me I went to put on a robe. Their while response is a lie from the initial man who their sent out to tear that piece under the couch to see the frame and take pictures is now why they are saying it is considered abuse? Really? From being told by the store that it was denied because they assumed it was a bed which its not I have 4 bedrooms with all rooms including beds my couches are for my family room where we spend time watching TV and interacting. I'm really outraged that this company can lie about what was told that to me and now their employee was the one that removed the fabric under the couch to see the frame and saying it was abuse well they abused the couches so they need to fix what they broke and cover the warranty on the frame which is one year. There is no other tears or damaged areas on my couch except the one area where the frame is broken. My couch is well taken care of except the broken frame and the material that their employee removed to see under the he couch. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/05/09) */ I have decided that we will repair the sofa frame. My Customer Service person will call the customer to schedule. ***** ***** Sales Manager

12/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In February of this year we had a sectional delivered. At the time of purchase we were given two options. Either pay for tax and receive free delivery or pay to have a company they would provide us with deliver. We were told this was a standard practice. Since having it delivered saved us money we had it delivered. We immediately noticed some issues and called **** ******* our sales rep. We also told him that we did not recieve the throw pillows that were to come with our sectional. He said someone would stop by to look at it. No one ever did. Shortly after we had a family member die and everything was put on the back burner.Since then we have called Michaels six times. The cable cord to one of our recliners is broke. The lumbar on three of the chairs is gone and there is a definite indentation in one of the chairs in the seat.We are now told that we are out of the "local area" and our only option is to bring the entire sectional in so they can assess the issues. When we told *******, the customer service rep, that we were never told this would be our only option, she said she would use it as a training exercise. Please note, **** our rep has been there several years and still is. We have spent $2500 on a defective sectional that Michaels won't even send a rep out to see the extent of the issues. We do not want a brand new sectional "repaired" nor do we want to have to go without furniture because Michaels will only repair our brand new furniture, that we will have to pay to bring in at our own expense. Please help us. ************* ******* Product_Or_Service: Sectional Sofa Order_Number: XXXXXXX

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Replacement We would like our brand new sectional that is defective either replaced, not repaired, or have our money back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/11/14) */ In response to the customer's complaints I will address them one at a time: In response to the customer being told they could either pay the sales tax and receive free delivery or pay to have it delivered, this is incorrect. It is not an option to receive free delivery to Washington. We do not deliver outside the state of Oregon. We have an outside delivery company that will do the deliveries for us, however the customer must pay the delivery company separately or the customer can pick up the furniture themselves. This customer chose to pay the delivery company separately. They did not receive "free" delivery nor were they given the option of paying the sales tax. We have never offered this option. As far as the pillows, the salesperson was to follow up on why we did not get those in and get them brought in for the customer. The customer then would have needed to come to our store and pick up the pillows as, again, we do not deliver or provide service outside our local area or out of the state of Oregon. I do agree the pillows should have been ordered for the customer, however the customer did not call again on this or any other issues for several months. The customer has not called our store 6 times. They have called twice since the original call about the pillows. That makes a total of 3 times. The 2nd time they called the warranty process was explained to them. The customer said she would discuss it with her husband and call us back. Over a month passed before they called again. When they called again they called demanding that an entire new sectional be built for them or that we come to their home to inspect and fix the furniture in their home. We do not provide warranty service outside of our local area, as it is stated on the sales contract that the customer signed. The manufacturer warranty does not cover the replacement of an entire sectional due to a couple pieces being defective. They will fix the pieces and it was explained to the customer that they can bring in the pieces they are having problems with, and can do so one at a time if they choose so as to not be without all of their furniture, and we would take them into the factory for them to be examined and repaired. Normal turn around time for repairs is one week. The manufacturer warranty covers the merchandise against defects but does not cover transportation of the merchandise. We offered to send them a copy of the warranty explaining the coverage to them, they insisted they do not want their pieces repaired, they want the entire sectional replaced. It was never told to the customer that this would be used as a training exercise. If the customer would like to bring in the pieces they are having issues with we are more than happy and willing to take them into the factory to have them repaired within the scope of the warranty. Copies of the customer's sales contract and the manufacturer warranty are attached. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 20, 2013/12/18) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Final Business Response /* (4000, 18, 2013/12/13) */ We are happy to get this done for the customer. We can arrange to have it picked up on a Wednesday or a Saturday. It would be taken to the factory the next Friday and all the repairs done within approximately one week's time. If the customer can call me at the store to make all the arrangements I am happy to set everything up for her. I can be reached Monday-Friday 10am-6pm. Thank you, ******* **** Customer Service Manager Michael's Fine Furniture

6/18/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I purchased furniture from Michael's; however, realized I didn't need it any longer and called to cancel within the 3 day period. The rep I spoke with ***** ******** put me on hold and went back to speak with his manager *****. He told me his manager said it was fine and they will take care of it. I still have not recieved my refund so I went into the store to see what was going on and they said that I had to cancel within 3 days. I told them that I did because I called and ***** and ***** both told me that it would be canceled. They said that is not the way the policy works that I have to go in personally we argued for awhile about it and they still refused. I asked for the manager when I was in the store but he refused to come talk to me and instead sent me over to their store right next door... those people told me about the 3 day cancelation as well and I told them that I did cancel because I called and ***** told ***** the cancelation was fine but I never got my money back on my card. They said I would have to speak with *****. I left the store and called *****. He answered but when he realized who he was talking to said that he had no idea of the issue but that he would not cancel it because he had to approve all cancelations and he was never informed of the issue w/in the 3 days. I told him I don't want the furniture and will not accept it when it is delivered. I will send it back to the store and file a complaint with the BBB. He said to do whatever I want because I was still not going to get my money back.

Desired Settlement: I do not want the furniture I just want my refund of the money!

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 10, 2013/06/06) */ Contact Name and Title: *******/Customer Svc Mgr Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: *******@*** The customer did call on the 4th day to cancel her furniture. We have a 3 day cancellation policy. At that time she was told to come in to the store that day and we would refund her money. She did not do so, and in fact did not come in or make any other contact with us for two weeks after that. When she came in to get her money back we told her she could not cancel becuase at this point it had been two weeks, well beyond the 3 day cancellation policy. We were more than willing to extend out policy for 1 day, even 2 days would have been acceptable, however 14 days is well beyond the acceptable policy. She was obviously very upset and in the end we did end up allowing her to cancel and gave her a refund minus a 25% restocking charge on May 3rd. Consumer's Final Response /* (2000, 12, 2013/06/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Money was refunded