This business is not BBB accredited.

Bedrooms West

Additional Locations

Phone: (503) 666-2376 Fax: (503) 618-1568 View Additional Phone Numbers 14143 SE Fircrest Ct, Portland, OR 97236 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.bedroomswest.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers the sales of bedroom furnishings and mattresses.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Bedrooms West include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Bedrooms West include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Bedrooms West
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 15, 2001 Business started: 09/01/1985 Business started locally: 09/01/1985 Business incorporated 09/01/1985 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Gordon Hagardt, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Gordon Hagardt, President
Business Category

Furniture - Retail Mattresses Bedding Beds - Retail

Alternate Business Names
Firstwave Inc

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    14143 SE Fircrest Ct

    Portland, OR 97236

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    19081 Beavercreek Rd

    Oregon City, OR 97045 (503) 655-3105

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/16/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband and I purchased a California King Mattress Set from Bedrooms West in Gresham in January 2015. We had the set for 2 weeks and it was extremely uncomfortable for us. I called the representative that helped us originally and I explained the situation to her. She let me know that they do not refund or exchange but she would check with the owner. I let her know that my receipt said no refunds, all we wanted was to exchange for a different one. I waited a couple of days and heard nothing so I called back and she informed me that they were not able to do anything for me. Needless to say I was not very happy. I waited another 2 weeks to see if the mattress would get more comfortable which did not happen. I decided to go into the store and talk to owner. I explained the situation to him and he told me it is illegal to sell a used mattress and basically there was nothing he could do for me. We spent $1,100.00 on the set which is a significant amount of money and we felt "ripped off"! Again, there was nothing said or printed about no exchanges. So, a couple of weeks later I was diagnosed with breast cancer and my life was changing dramatically. I could not get a good nights sleep on this bed so my husband went in a 3rd time to talk with the owner about the bed and again he let him know there was nothing he could do. I would not ever recommend this store to anyone, you spend a lot of money and they do not disclose that there are no exchanges! You are basically "screwed"! I also explained to them that all the other places we went too had return/exchange policies. I now have back trouble from using this mattress too long during all my treatments. We just purchased another mattress from a reputable place with refund/exchange policies. I decided that even though it has been 12 months since the purchase, people need to know how this business operates. We were extremely dissatisfied with their lack of customer service!

Desired Settlement: We would like the business to compensate us in some form as this was a substantial amount of money we spent on their product. We would of happily exchanged for a different kind that would have been better for us and this complaint would never have had to happen.

Business Response: To: The Better Business Bureau

Complaint ID ********

From: Bedrooms West

1-28-16

A response to the letter of Complaint from ***** ****:

 

We are disappointed to hear that Ms. **** was unhappy with her purchase that was made in January of 2015. We try to make sure that each customer is satisfied and educated with their selection. A mattress is a very personal choice and we all have different sleeping styles and sleeping needs. It is a purchase that needs to be made with ones unique circumstances and preferences in mind. We cannot guarantee that a customer will be able to sleep comfortably on any certain surface, as no one mattress is perfect for any individual. We try to educate the customer on the quality and the materials that go into each mattress and try to match that sleeping surface to the customers needs as best we can. We represent our products honestly both in pricing and the product information specifications given to us by our manufactures.

 

We are a small locally owned company selling bedroom furniture and mattresses for 31 years and we choose the products we represent very carefully. We sell locally “made to order” mattresses and do not purchase containers full of foreign made mattresses and mark them up for large profit margins. Because we operate on a smaller scale than the chain mattress stores we do not offer a “30 day Rest Test”. The customer just decided it wasn’t comfortable after taking possession. We do not sell used mattresses and even charities like Goodwill will not accept used mattresses. We are unable to offer a refund for buyer’s remorse issues. We are sorry that the customer is dissatisfied with their purchase decision.

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

I am not satisfied with the response. First of all, they did not address the issue of no exchanges. No where is it stated that you cannot exchange the mattress if it does not work for you within a reasonable amount of time. Second fact is this is not buyers remorse!! We needed a mattress and knew it would be an investment, we just wanted to exchange it for something more comfortable. Third fact is there are other local businesses that sell locally made mattresses that do have exchange policies and it is not from a foreign country.

Very disappointed with this business and would not recommend them, customer service needs a lot of work.

Sincerely,

***** ****

9/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service

Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Bedrooms West
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)