BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers a fitness center with personal training services and fitness programs.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that The Xtreme Edge meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for The Xtreme Edge include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on The Xtreme Edge
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: November 24, 2010 Business started: 11/01/2009 Business started locally: 11/01/2009 Business incorporated 11/12/2009 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Bob Briede, President Mr. Chris Bachman, General Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Bob Briede, President
Business Category

Fitness Centers Exercise & Physical Fitness Programs Health & Fitness Program Consultants Personal Trainers

Hours of Operation
Monday through Friday
5:00am - 11:00pm

Saturday
5:00am - 8:00pm

Sunday
8:00am - 8:00pm

Alternate Business Names
Vantage Point Fitness Inc

Additional Locations

  • 16365 NW Twin Oaks Dr

    Beaverton, OR 97006

  • 4933 Lakeview Blvd

    Lake Oswego, OR 97035 (503) 747-7497

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/2/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: At the end of July 2013 I purchased a membership at Xtreme Edge. Before I signed I asked the representative if they played rap music. He said "No, We don't play rap music." I said, "Good, because I cannot workout to rap music." A couple weeks later they started playing rap music. I ask the front desk if they can do anything about the rap music, and they would always change it. About a week before the end of august they started playing rap music. I said the same thing to the front desk. They said they will not change it, and that I complain everyday. I then told them, when I signed up they assured me they would not play rap music. Then ***** says that I should just cancel then, because he will not fix it. I said ok, but I will at least need my enrollment fee of $79 back, since I have used the gym less than one month, and they decided to play music I initially told them I cannot workout to. He agreed to refund it. He told me I would get the refund in 3 to 5 days. After not receiving the refund I called and talked to the owner. He also agreed to refund the money. But I have not received it.

Desired Settlement: $79.00 enrollment fee

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/11/09) */ We hold ourselves true to our word and when **** asked if we play rap the answer was no - that came straight from me *** ****** the owner. We play our music through content censored networks such as *******. We play 60s 70s 80s 90s and current rock 'n roll and hip hop. **** physically asked us to stop one of our aerobics classes because he did not like the music- we obviously told him that that was not possible. We suggested that he workout at different times to avoid the aerobics classes. We also suggested that maybe he should bring some headphones but refused. Our music is censored and not play rap - ******* our music station typically says hip hop or rock 'n roll - all music is censored for content as we do have kids and families-- **** was informed he is as we do with every member that you have three days to cancel to receive a full refund if you are not happy with the club. **** was almost hear a month before he asked to cancel. You may quit your membership at any time 30 days before your next billing - we do not obligate you for any long period of time. He was also informed of this when he enrolled. To me it is the principle here and in this case the customer is not right - not play rap - we play the same kinds of music daily and our aerobics classes are high energy and **** demanding we stop class is simply ridiculous - to me you do not be 90% of your meal and then say you don't like it and want your money back - you don't sit through 90% of a movie and then ask for your money back. There are people out there that take advantage of businesses in this way were they will ensue 90+ percent of whatever they have and then asked for their money back. If they don't get their way they will threaten to slam your business to the Better Business Bureau. If you look at any other workout facility will find they have hundreds if not thousands of complaints registered with the Better Business Bureau - and justifiably so as many businesses simply large workout facilities don't care. We have been in business almost 4 years now and this is our only complaint. Like I would've been happy to give you back all your money even after the three day cancellation policy but you used our club for almost entire month and then threaten action to slam our business simply did not sit well with me. I consider myself the very best at what I do and that is helping people make decisions that are good for them in a healthy and fun environment - In this case the customer was not right at any level and unfortunately does not know the difference between rap and hip-hop but he continued to use our club almost the entire month. Rules and policies are put into place to protect our members - **** did initial in each of these categories that he understood - I'm sorry we couldn't not satisfy you **** and maybe in the future you will respect any companies rules and policies Final Consumer Response /* (3000, 10, 2013/11/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The music played was rap when I asked not demanded the music be changed. I never physically asked to stop an aerobics class. I don't even know how I would "physically" do this. The first option I was given was to leave and come back at another time. The second option I was told I should just quit. So I said ok I will. When I went back to get my stuff and back to sign the papers, that is when I was told maybe I should get earphones to cover up the rap music. By that time it was too late. ***** was already so disrespectful to me, that I knew I could not stay at this gym. But now it just comes down to principal. I was told I was going get a refund by ***** when I cancelled. It is even in the cancellation papers. I was then told I was going to get a refund by the owner when i called wondering where my refund was. Just looking at yelp I see many complaints about this business including *****. So I do not know why you say you never had a complaint. I am not asking for all my money back. I am only asking for my enrollment fee. Seems fair enough since I did not get what I was told I was going to get. Sure I got it for the first week, when I could still cancel. But later they started playing the rap.