BBB Accredited Business since

Crunch

Additional Locations

Phone: (503) 227-8624 Fax: (503) 954-3410 View Additional Phone Numbers 355 NE 223rd Ave, Gresham, OR 97030 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.crunch.com/locations/oregon/gresham/gresham/ View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company is a fitness center offering classes, equipment and trainers.

Request a Quote

Request a Quote from Crunch


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Crunch meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Crunch include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 16 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

16 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 11 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 12
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 4
Total Closed Complaints 16

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Crunch
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: June 27, 2012 Business started: 11/01/2011 Business started locally: 11/01/2011 Business incorporated 11/21/2011 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Steve Block, Member Mr. Mark Clark, Personal Training Manager Ms. Nicole Danenberger, Member Services Manager Ms. Pam Hargrave, Membership Service Manager Mr. Sam Hargrave, Membership Service Manager Mr. John LaRosa, General Manager Ms. Lindsay Taylor, Membership Service Manager
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Steve Block, Member
Business Category

Fitness Centers Exercise & Physical Fitness Programs Personal Trainers

Hours of Operation
Monday through Thursday
5:00am - 11:00pm

Friday
5:00am - 10:00pm

Saturday and Sunday
7:00am - 8:00pm
Alternate Business Names
Crunch LLC

Additional Locations

  • 12112 SE Division St

    Portland, OR 97266

  • 355 NE 223rd Ave

    Gresham, OR 97030 (503) 894-9790 (503) 227-8624

  • 8585 SW Cascade Ave

    Beaverton, OR 97008

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was advised by a personal trainer that I could cancel my training without using it at any time. I called the gym first to see what was needed to do this. I was then advised by service manager that this was incorrect. NO ONE ever went over the cancellation policy with me and I feel that they prey on larger customers to get them to buy into expensive training packages.The service manager refused to let me talk to his boss or the owner of the franchise to resolve this.

Desired Settlement: I want my money that I paid for training that I never used refunded back to me. It was around $200 that I have lost.

Business Response: To whom this may concern-While we take all complaints very seriously, this one is a little strange. The reason I say that is ******** has bought training from us on three other occasions. In each of those agreements it says clearly that the only way to get a training refund is either moving 25 mile's away from our clubs or having a doctors note that won't let the member work out for a year. This new one is exactly the same as the last three. Also we did not pressure ******** to buy more at all but in fact she asked to get more sessions and we did so. My suggestion is for her to come back in and will waive the balance on the current training of $199 and use the training. Otherwise we can not offer a refund at this time. Thanks.

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********
 
I am rejecting this response because: last time I was a member was years ago. They need to go over the terms every time someone is buying something from them OR have member sign a waiver station so. I want my money back. I WILL not go back to them ever again. So for them to say that I do this frequently is absurd. 

Sincerely,

******** ********

Business Response: We gave our best offer and tried to be fair but there will be no refund. Thanks. 

4/23/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for the Basic membership of $9.95 later I came in with my daughter and upgraded to the $19.95 and they beber asked my daughters age nor didthey say my guest has to be a certain age to qualify as a guest in my $19.95 per month membership. A couple days after that I came in again with my daughter and they asked ehh age didnt have her pan membership. I told them i had upgraded and they even charged my card. They wanted to know my daughters age and then they said age was not allowed because she was not 15 yet because they failed to vive me that information at time of sign up, i told them i wanted to Cancel my membership and that I want my money back. I also send them a message on their website, Its been a few days and they have not answerd my messages nor have they refunded me the $39.95 membership few nor the $19.95 monthly payments.

Desired Settlement: I want a full refund of the membership few plus the $19.95 monthly payment.

Business Response: Ms. ******** joined again, (she was a member before), on March 16th on our Base membership. The next day she decided to upgrade to our Peak membership to take advantage of the extra items that come along with that membership including free guest privileges. When we have members join, we have them check off our welcome to Crunch sheet which includes a handful of club rules. One of them is this, "If I bring a guest they must be 18 years or older unless I m their parent or guardian, and they are at least 15 years of age". This has been our policy since we opened her at Division over two years ago. Now while Ms. ******** may have either forgotten or just looked right over that rule, it has always been in place and therefore we did nothing wrong. We have cancelled Ms. ********** membership so she will be charged nothing else moving forward but based on the information provided, will not be issuing a refund. Thanks.

3/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ON 10/25/2014 I PAID $179.00 TO CRUNCH (EMPLOYEE ******) FOR AN ENTIRE YEAR CONTRACT AT CRUNCH. I WAS ASKED IF I WANTED MY RECIEPT E-MAILED TO ME AND I SAID YES, BUT I DIDN'T LOOK AT IT THINKING EVERYTHING WAS OK.ON 11/07/2014 I WENT TO WORK OUT WITH A GUEST AND WAS DENIED ENTRY. I WAS TOLD I DIDN'T HAVE A PAYMENT METHOD ON FILE TO PAY MY MONTHS DUES AND I TOLD HER I PAID A WHOLE YEAR. I WAS ASKED FOR PROOF AND WENT TO MY RECIEPT SHOWING I PAID FOR A WHOLE YEAR, BUT THE RECIEPT WAS ONLY FOR $99.00 NOT THE $179.00 I PAID. I TOLD THE MANAGER ***** TO ASK ****** HE WAS THE ONE WHO HELPED ME, ****** SAID YES SHE PAID AND HE SAID HE WOULD FIX IT AND I KEPT ASKING HIM WHY I PAID $179.00 BUT MY RECIEPT ONLY SAID $99.00. ***** THEN SAID, "I CAN EITHER FIX IT OR NOT, YOUR CHOICE." I SAID OF COURSE I WANT YOU TO FIX IT, BUT MY QUESTION ON DIFFERENCE IN PAYMENT AND THE RECIEPT IS STILL UN-ANSWERED. MY FRIEND AND WENT TO WORK OUT AND NOTICED THE EMPLOYEES ***** AND ****** POINTING OUR WAY LAUGHING AT US, AT THIS POINT I NO LONGER FELT SAFE.ON THE SAME DAY 11/07/2014 I WROTE AN E-MAIL TO COORPORATE LETTING THEM KNOW OF MY CONCERNS OF WHAT'S GOING ON AT THIS LOCATION, ETC. SHE SAID THEY WERE FRANCHIZED AND THAT SHE WOULD FORWARD MY CONCERNS TO THEM.ON 2/2/2015 I WAS CONTACTED BY ***** (MY CO-WORKER WAS LISTENING) HE ASKED ME MY MAILING ADDRESS FOR WHERE TO SEND MY REFUND CHECK TO.ON 2/10/2015 I CALLED AND SPOKE WITH ******, HE SAID THE REFUND SHOULD BE TO ME BY 2/12/2015 AND IF NOT TO CALL AGAIN. I CALLED 2/12/2015 AND SPOKE WITH ***** (WHICH MY WITNESS WAS LISTENING ON SPEAKER PHONE) HE TOLD ME THAT I HAD NO GROUNDS FOR A REFUND AND THAT I WAS NOT GETTING ONE. I TOLD HIM THAT HE ALREADY PROMISED ME A REFUND AND THAT I DIDN'T FEEL IT WAS RIGHT AND WANTED TO SPEAK WITH THE OWNERS. HE TOLD ME THAT WAS NOT POSSIBLE, NO REFUND WILL BE GIVEN AND IT WOULD BE BEST TO NOT EVEN COME BACK. Product_Or_Service: 1 YEAR GYM MEMBERSHIP Account_Number: *********

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I WOULD LIKE MY REFUND RETURNED TO ME AS ORIGINALLY PROMISED BY ***** ON 2/2/2015 AT CRUNCH FOR WHAT I PAID, SUBTRACT THE 2 WEEKS I USED $171.50.

Business Response: Here is our response. While some of what the member says is true, some is also false information. Here is the story.
Member came in to buy a membership on October 25th of last year. Member first wanted the Base membership month to month at the $9.95 cost per month. She then changed her mind because she wanted the guest privileges and pre-paid a year for the Peak membership at $179. Here is where we made a mistake. Our front desk person wrote it up as a pre-paid Base membership which is $99. When she came in on 11/7/14 to workout with a friend, we told her that because we thought she was a Base member, that her friend had to pay to use the club. While it was our mistake, the member became angry and started yelling about the fact that she paid for the Peak. Our front desk supervisor calmed member down and realized we had made a mistake and said that in fact she did pay for the Peak membership. Even though we admitted to our mistake, member said they would never come back.The member came back to workout on 11/16/14 with a friend and claimed that our front desk staff was laughing at her. That is plain not true as they would have no reason to do so. Then in late January of this year member called and asked for a refund. As in all requests for refunds, they are sent to our office to review and see if in fact they do deserve a refund based on the agreement the member signed. On 2/12/15, our front desk lead called member and said that the refund was being processed and would get it in a week or so. Front desk lead spoke to early as the decision had not been made. The decision was made on the 11th of February that member did not qualify for a refund based on the agreement they signed and our front desk lead called member the next day on 2/12/15 to explain that. I was present during the conversation and what our front desk lead said to member was that because of our mistake that we would put on an extra 4 months to members membership so they would still have a full year left. At NO time did our front desk lead say anything to the member about not coming back. So our position is still that we will be happy to extend the membership but there is no grounds for a refund based on the agreement they signed.

1/30/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I first contacted Crunch Fitness on Division in June 2014 to cancel my account because I moved and we set up a home gym in our new home. Crunch was a wonderful place to work out, but there was no use in my membership now. I asked for my account to be canceled and they said I had to mail a letter, so I did. My account was not cancelled and, by my own fault, I did not realize the error until August 2014. I immediately called, and I had to come in in person. As a high school teacher and coach, it is very difficult for me to make it into their workplace, so I arrived on a holiday which was a Monday and the manager was not in and I could not cancel my account without them there. I have called seven times, talked to the manager personally three times, and have sent two more letters (one of which was today). I only want to my account cancelled and it has been seven months of fighting with this company. This is ridiculous and disappointing because I recommended a lot of people to attend here, but now I tell them not to bother because the accounts are so difficult to cancel (even though they appear to be easy). I am really disappointed in the professionalism here and I feel like they are extorting money from me at this point.

Desired Settlement: I would like my money reimbursed and my account terminated. I feel that I have made a significant effort on my part to do this several times, but to no avail. The amount I would like reimbursed is $150. Mostly, I would love my account to be terminated finally. This is ridiculous and extremely poor business practice.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/28) */ Well first off we want to apologize to *** ***** for our mistake here. Sometimes we don't do our job as well as we should and we just plain made a mistake here. The fact is it should have been very simple to cancel as all a member needs to do is come in and fill out a form or send us a letter. So as you can tell by that, we dropped the ball. Anyway, we have cancelled Ms. *****'s account and have put in for a $120 refund which is $19.95 times 6 months. She should receive the refund late next week. Again so sorry for the mix up and thank you for being a member Ms. *****. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/01/30) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Thank you for responding in a timely manner and taking care of your business operations. Maybe a training that a manager does not have to be present for an account to be closed is in order? I appreciate the efforts that have finally been made.

1/9/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was a member of Crunch Fitness for a few months but had to stop attending due to personal reasons. I received a letter from a collection agency about a week ago asking to issue a balance of $74.75. This came as a complete surprise as Crunch never attempted to contact me asking for any balance to be paid. I tried to contact them to get more information but never heard back; I paid the collection agency today because I didn't want them to think I was ignoring their letter. I don't think that sending a customer's account to a collection agency without one warning (a phone call or email) is acceptable.

Desired Settlement: I am looking for a refund of $64.75; I believe this is the interest collected on my account; I have no problem paying my bill but I don't believe the interest was rightfully charged.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/02) */ At Crunch fitness we make it very easy for members to cancel their membership. At the time they sign up we have them sign a welcome to the club sheet that explains they can cancel by mail or in person. It is also in their membership agreement. As it is a month to month agreement, members will continue to be billed regardless of the number of times they use the club until they cancel. *** ****** never cancelled his membership and when he went past due 90 days his account was handed over to collections. What the $74.75 charge covers is 5 months at $9.95 and 5 late fees of $5 each. What we can do is refund *** ****** the $25 of late fees but that would be it. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2015/01/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I still believe that sending an account to collections without attempting to contact the customer first is a terrible business practice, but I will not pursue this matter any further. Please issue a check in the amount of $25.

11/10/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ***** ********* at Crunch Fitness sold me some personal training sessions for myself and my son. I was not shown any contract or told about any "policies". ***** left employment with Crunch before I could use the sessions. I asked for a refund of my money from ********* ******* ******** another trainer at Crunch who contacted me to let me know that ***** had left. She told me I had signed a contract and could not receive a refund because of the terms of the contract. I asked for a copy of the contract and was provided a contract without my signature and just a notation saying "signature on file". I asked to see the "file" with my signature and was sent a spread sheet with my signature on it twice. Clearly this signature was obtained when I joined Crunch about a month before I bought the training sessions. The contract contained all kinds of disclaimers and stated that by signing it I was stating that I have no medical/health conditions or injuries! I was provided the free consultation with ***** by Crunch BECAUSE I have chronic musculoskeletal problems and was under a doctor's care. (They advertised at the front desk a complimentary session for people recovering from injuries, and I accepted the invitation!) She would not let me speak to her manager or any other person in a management position with the company. Wouldn't even tell me the name of the manager or owner. They advertise on a BIG sign that they are an "Oregon Owned Company" but their "Authorized Representative" on the State of Oregon website shows a Mr. ***** ***** that lives in Carlsbad California! I cancelled the credit card I used with them, out of fear they would use my "signature on file" to charge additional $$$ to my card.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking a cash refund, or a check in the amount of $198.00 for the unused personal training sessions that I purchased for myself and my son. No services were EVER rendered. ***** ********* was gone before we could use the services purchased. I do NOT wish to work with any of the "personal trainers" who are still working there. *****'s credentials were much different and far superior to his colleagues at Crunch which gave me confidence in his ability to provide me with services safely, considering my physical condition. They referred me to him for the complimentary consultation specifically because of my medical/health conditions.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/22) */ *** ******** bought training for her and her son on 6/4/14. In order to sign up for training a member MUST answer three questions that are given on our signature pad. Question 1 is that they approve the contract their about to sign. They tap yes or no. Question number 2 is they have a 3 day cancel in which they can get their entire dollars back they tap yes or no and finally the 3rd question is please sign for acceptance. Once they sign and then hit the O.K. button, only then are we able to charge them for the sessions. The computer will NEVER allow us to take money out unless a member signs the agreement. Ms. ******** did all three. In the agreement it says, "Crunch NW makes a reasonable effort to provide the personal trainer of choice. However, member is purchasing a program and not the services of an individual trainer. If the personal trainer of choice is not available, another trainer will be assigned and member is not entitled to a refund". Ms. ******** never actually took a workout with ***** but only a consultation. We have many other trainers who actually are an upgrade from ***** and could provide Ms. ******** the kind of experience and training she needs for her condition. Since we always try to work out issues with our members, we will be happy to refund one of the $99 and she can either take the 3 sessions for herself or give them to her son. We have tried to work with Ms. ******** to work this out but she just makes accusations that have NO merit. By the way, I do live in Oregon and that's why we say Oregon owned and operated.Carlsbad is where our payables department is. Let us know if she is willing to do as I suggest as we believe this is a fair resolution. Thanks. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Their response is based on their claim that my son and I were shown contracts, and signed contracts. I have repeatedly asked for proof that we signed anything that day. My appt. on June 4th was at 11:00 am for a 1 hour complimentary session with *****. My son had to be to work at 1:00pm so we left immediately after ***** and I came downstairs from the gym. I actually agreed to the training session while we were walking down the stairs and I proceeded to exit the bldg. after briefly stating to the man behind the front desk that I wanted to make the purchase that ***** offered to me and also add the tanning package to my son's membership. There is NO WAY that ***** could have created 2 contracts for us to sign in the minutes between my decision to make the purchase and the time I left the bldg. I did not see ***** again after that day (except once in passing). My son NEVER even met *****, EVER.(***** can verify that!) All I've ever asked for was a copy of the signed contract which they kept referring to when making their MANY excuses for not refunding my money. They have never produced one. And the rest of their claims haven't been proven either. I didn't check a box, I didn't sign a contract, and they used my signature to process the charge to my account, not my PIN which I would ordinarily use with that card. Where the two signatures they have sent me pictures of, came from remains a mystery. They should be able to produce MULTIPLE copies of my signature if they are claiming I signed 1 contract, and 3 charges to my card that day, and 3-4 on the day I joined. They should also have my son's signature on his contract, but again they simply put "member's signature on file". How many copies of his signature do they ave? (NONE have been provided) He didn't even know I had made the purchase on his behalf until days later! Their response changes none of the facts. They have simply given more hollow excuses and hyperbole, while failing to produce a single shred of evidence that this transaction took place as they claim it did. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/10/23) */ Once again Ms. ******** is not telling the truth. We have her signature on both her fitness package and her son's. I am going to send in a separate email with her signature on these for your review. As a point of reference, most companies that use signature pads attach the number of the agreement with the signature. As mentioned in the first response we can NOT run a CC unless the person who is buying the service clicks on the signature pad and then signs it. In both cases Ms. ******** did so. I will again offer refunding one package but that is it.

11/10/2014 Billing/Collection Issues
9/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The card Crunch was using to bill me was stolen 03/14. I replaced card & contacted them w/new card info via email (after hours). They still billed old #. Contacted them again & responded to their email w/ new info. This went on every month since 08/14 when I went to Crunch Beaverton to pay bill & see if could find out info on what happened. Bill turned over to collection, but I PAID IN FULL 08/02/14 AND FUNDS CLEARED ACCOUNT 08/04/14. Crunch employees told me not to worry if contacted by collections; matter resolved. Recd letter from *******************, atty. out of Utah say I owe crunch money. Called them (again after hours due to work schedule); left msg. that bill paid, gave them receipt # and told them never contact again as bill not owed. receiving DAILY calls from ****** employee **** ****** who says NEVER contacted, crunch never sent anything stating paid (crunch telling me otherwise, acct shows paid in full per them) & says she will 'call daily until I pay this/resolve this matter'. She will not accept anything but $ from me & repeatedly implied that I am a liar in stating matter resolved. Crunch initially told me I had to turn over bank statements to prove paid; would not accept their own receipt as proof, even though has transaction # listed on it! Stress from this is impacting my health - migraines, et al., which makes it impossible for me to work or care for aging parents 0 one of which it dying from ALS. I joined Crunch to help stay healthy after STAGE III CANCER; not to be REPEATEDLY harassed & called a liar, ignored in my attempts to resolve & STILL no answer or explanation on what they did with my card info all those months I sent it to them & requests to contact me to resolve. Product_Or_Service: Gym membership Order_Number: XXXXXXXXXX auth code

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Other (requires explanation) I want ALL collection activity against me to stop! I want a written apology from Crunch (Corporate & Gresham) AND ******************* ACKNOWLEDGING that this was an illegal collection attempt by them, that I am NOT a liar as they have repeatedly implied & they are accountable/sincerely apologize for the harassment of me & the illegal collection attempt AND I want it posted to the Crunch websites, et Al as well as hung at Crunch Beaverton & Gresham locations PROMINATELY for not less than 30 days!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/09) */ As a business we try to do the best we can at all times. In Ms. ****'s case we failed. This is totally our fault. When ******** paid her fee's at the Beaverton club, unfortunately we did not communicate to the Gresham club therefore her membership appeared to be behind. We have already called the collections so they will not be involved anymore. I'm going to write to Ms. **** and explain how sorry we are for not handling this situation like we should have. As an FYI, we will be offering Ms. **** a free years membership for our mistake. While I know this does not change what happened, I hope it will show our sincere apology for the mistake we made.

9/25/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am a 100 percent disabled army veteran. On the advice of my doctor, in regards to my disabilities, try and get out of the house and find someone place that I thought I could handle being in public. So I with the help of my caretaker, got a gym membership at crunch fitness. After a couple of months of trying to get myself out of my house and not being able too, I called crunch fitness customer service number and tried to cancel the membership, they told me I had to go to the store...ha, ha, ha. I am a vet who has a hard time leaving my house. So I called down to the store and asked them to cancel the membership. Last month, August, I did not get billed by the company and thought that the canceled membership went through, this month, September, on the 2nd I got billed 39.00. Monthly charge for membership 19.00. I woke up today on the 8th to go over my account and noticed not only the 39.00 charge, but now a 19.00 charge as well, for a total of 58.00 this month after I had tried to cancel the membership twice. So I called my bank and then immediately called the customer service number again to resolve this matter, when I called I was greeted by a rude person who proceeded to try and tell me why I was calling, that I had missed some payment. I explained that I was not calling because of a missed payment but because of a canceled membership and over billing, the conversation got rude, I asked for a manager several times and was denied until I was hung up on again. I called back to got a woman on the phone, I straight asked for a manager and was refused. a consumer should not be treated in this manner in order to cancel a membership. Product_Or_Service: Gym Membership

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund Since they have made it impossible for me, the consumer, to cancel the membership, and to further aggravate my disabilities and make it even harder now for me to feel comfortable doing something that should help me. They in my opinion have stolen money from at this point and are making it impossible to resolve this matter. They are obviously psychic and knew why I was calling, then they should have known that they charged my 58.00 this month for a service not used and should have been canceled.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/09/11) */ When a member joins our club, we tell them that it is a month to month membership and they can quit anytime. All they need to do is come down to the club or write us a letter. The only stipulation is that they do it 10 days prior to their billing cycle. Also when new members sign up we tell them both verbally and in writing that there is a once a year annual fee of $39. When Mr. ***** called the customer service line, which by the way does not get to us, their instructions were correct. If Mr. ***** then in fact called the Division club, he would have told that he could not cancel over the phone and that he would have to come down or write us a letter to cancel his membership. As mentioned, the customer service number is for the Crunch corporate clubs. We are a local franchise with direct phone numbers but I would still like to apologize for what appears to be bad customer service from them. In any case, the $39 annual fee and the September dues of $19.95 will be refunded to Mr. ***** and his membership cancelled. We appreciate Mr. *****'s service to our country and wish him the best.

9/4/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: i joined Crunch Fitness in Jan. 2014 to get in shape. I cancelled my membership in March 2014. there was no contracts or anything yet they are still billing me when i have cancelled my service with them.

Desired Settlement: i would like them to erase the 'fees' they have applied to my account because i have canceled my membership.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/08/13) */ At Crunch Fitness we are a month to month membership and make it very easy for members to cancel if they wish. The way they cancel is either at the front desk at the club and fill out a form that takes 5 minutes. The only other way to cancel is to send us a letter. In Mr. *******'s case we have no record of him requesting to cancel therefore as stated in his agreement he would continue to be charged as we do not base monthly charge on usage. At this point Mr. ******* owes us the money stated and if he wants to cancel he needs to do as is stated in his agreement. Thanks. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/08/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) i cancelled at their front desk and they continue to add to my bill. i cancelled at their front desk, i cancelled each and every time they sent me a 'new bill' by responding to their email. i finally, after months and months, decided to file a complaint with the Better Business Bureau. If their employees are not trained enough to cancel a membership with me standing right there then they need to re train their employees. i still expect them to wipe out the bill they have falsely charged against me. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/08/25) */ Mr. ******* did not cancel. We have a form that he would have filled out of which he would have received a copy. We could not find any cancel form from Mr. *******. He paid us last on 4/20 and we can not cancel a membership until it is paid in full. What we will do since his current bill is now at $108.80 is reduce it down to $48.95. That is his annual fee that was due on 5/1 and his 5/20 dues of $19.95. The other months and late fee's have been eliminated. Mr. ******* will need to come down and pay us so we then can cancel his membership. If Mr. ******* does not come in and pay the $48.95 he owes by mid September then we will have no choice but to turn it over to collections. . Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/08/27) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) i did cancel and i refused to sign their form. if by me refusing to sign their form- they consider that not cancelling then they need to change their business practices. i will not pay for what i have cancelled and not used. if they want to turn it over to collections than i will take my arguement to me Facebook and Twitter accounts. Thank you. (i still expect a full erase of the bill i supposedly owe.)

7/23/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My husband called them and talked to them first. He is the payer, and wanted to cancel my membership. They told him they cannot cancel over the phone, and I must write a letter asking them to cancel. I sent the letter on June 18th. On July 3rd, they tried to charge my husbands card again. They called me today 7/9 to update our card information since the card was expired. I told them I didn't want to update the card because I've already asked them to cancel my membership. They said they cannot cancel it if there is a balance. The only balance is the fee that occurred on the 3rd. Several days after I cancelled. They then told me that if I did not pay them for this month, they would send me to collections.

Desired Settlement: I just want my membership cancelled.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/07/20) */ We never received a letter from Ms. ****** to cancel her membership. Not to say she didn't send it but we never received it at our club location. That is why it was still active in the computer and why we called her as it was still an active membership. When CC expire we always make the call as the member may not know that they do not have an updated CC on file. In any case, we will cancel Ms. ****** membership immediately and make sure there is no balance. Sorry for the confusion and thanks to Ms. ****** for being a member. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 7, 2014/07/22) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

3/13/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I moved from Gresham in August and contacted Crunch Gym via phone. I was told my membership was cancelled. Approximately a month ago I received a collection call stating I owed Crunch Gym over sixty dollars for my wife's and my own memberships. I contacted customer service and was told "I cannot cancel over the phone and had to go into the gym to cancel in person." I don't have the time or money to take a four hour round trip out to Gresham to figure this out. I should be able to cancel over the phone since I was originally told I had my membership cancelled. I have attempted to contact the billing department multiple times via email (no phone number provided) and have received no response.

Desired Settlement: I want my money back for my own and my wife ****** ******) account. I want my memberships cancelled so that I don't have to drive four hours to Gresham over something that should have been resolved six months ago. I have been very patient. The amount taken totals 9.99 per month per membership which amounts in total to: $119.88 that has been stolen from me. Thank you

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/03/11) */ When members sign up they are given both an agreement and a new member checklist. On both of those it states clearly that if a member wants to cancel, they just need to do it 10 days prior to their billing date and can do it either at the club or by mail. *** ****** would have never been told he could cancel over the phone because we do not allow that as we have to have a signature on file from the cancelling member that they in fact did cancel. Also our agreement states that monthly payments are not based on usage so if they do not cancel, then they will continue to be billed. We will cancel both of these memberships but the money will not be refunded. Also it seems strange that 6 months worth of payments have been coming out and now it was just noticed????? Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2014/03/12) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

2/19/2014 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: 1. I started membership 11.18.2011 2. I suspended service for moving overseas until I notify Crunch with my return. Billing resumed 6 months later on 12.20 20111 or authorization to resume service without my knowledge and continued on until January 2014. 3. I personally visited the company and talked to manager ***. She said they only suspend for 3 months. In reality it was suspended 6 months. Since my stay overseas extended to being permanent, I never used the service but billing resumed without notifying me. Since my husband who pays bills was also overseas, he had set up the credit card for auto pay and did not notice Crunch billing until I reviewed credit card billing upon returning. 4. I am going overseas again tomorrow and can only be reached by email (overseas number +XXXXX XXX XXXX). 5. I have been billed since 12.20 2011 for service I suspended and never used at all

Desired Settlement: Refund of $9.95 per month from 9.20.2011 thru 1.20.2014 (16 months) for service which was never used suspended pending my order to resume since I was overseas the whole period.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/02/05) */ *** ***** froze her membership from 9/20/11-3/19/12. She then called us and we froze it for another 3 months until 6/19/12. Are policy is that we normally only freeze for up to 3 months per year but we did her a favor because of the circumstance. Now with that said, we never told her that we would freeze for 2 years or until she came in and unfroze it.We told her once the last three months were up, the membership would become active regardless of usage. We gave her a copy of the agreement she signed which clearly states the above. She had the right to cancel but never did so we charged her as we would any member and no refund will be issued. Thanks.

10/3/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Someone signed up for the membership online. The company has been charging me for the last 10 months. I did not know or check since it was the a card that I do not use at all. Since cost was less than $10 a month i did not realized it. I went to the office and spoke with an agent and explain them the situation. They told me that the membership was never used and no one ever showed up that I can not get a refund. She gave me a paper to cancel the membership which I did immediately.

Desired Settlement: A refund

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/09/18) */ When a person signs up on line and hit's the accept button, it is there responsibility to know the rules and regulations of the club. We are open 7 days a week and whether a member uses it everyday or not at all, that is their choice. We also make it very easy to cancel as it say's in the agreement by coming down and signing a cancel form or by just sending us a letter in the mail. For this member to say they went 10 months without realizing the $9.95 was being deducted is absurd especially since this person signed up them self on line. He came into the club, we gave him his cancellation form and he is now cancelled. No refund will be given. Thanks Crunch Fitness

11/15/2012 Billing/Collection Issues
7/18/2012 Billing/Collection Issues