BBB Accredited Business since

ID Experts

Phone: (800) 298-7558 Fax: (800) 298-8457 10300 SW Greenburg Rd Ste 570, Portland, OR 97223 http://www2.idexpertscorp.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers identity theft protection and recovery services and credit monitoring services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that ID Experts meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for ID Experts include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 8 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

8 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 8 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 8
Total Closed Complaints 8

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

6 Customer Reviews on ID Experts
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 6
Total Customer Reviews 6

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 12, 2004 Business started: 04/01/2003 Business started locally: 04/01/2003 Business incorporated 04/21/2003 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rick Kam, President Mr. Chris Kane, COO Mr. Chuck Thomas, Controller
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rick Kam, President
Business Category

Financial Services Compliance Consulting Credit Services

Alternate Business Names
Identity Theft Guard Solutions, Inc. Zander IDT Solutions

Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Summary

ID Experts has received 0 out of 5 stars based on 0 Customer Reviews and a BBB Rating of A+.

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

Additional Locations

  • 10300 SW Greenburg Rd Ste 570

    Portland, OR 97223 (800) 298-7558

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

4/22/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I was offered credit monitoring through *** from ID Experts but after experiencing there awful, cheap, and unprofessional service, I sent a letter in writing asking them to cancel my credit monitoring for the remainder of the next three years I was supposed to have it. The emails stopped for a short period of time but now this month alone I have gotten at least 2 emails from ID Experts. I believe they greedy and is keeping my account open to continue to obtain money from ***/the United state government. They never answer the telephone when you call so I wrote a letter asking them in writing to cancel my monitoring.

Desired Settlement: I want BBB to report ID Experts to the Government and make them cancel my credit moniitoring. I am very unhappy with ID Experts. They only care about how much money they can keep getting from the government. I want the monitoring stopped and I don't want to receive any more emails from ID Experts. I want my account cancelled. They will still make a lot of money from ***

Business Response:

We are in receipt of Ms. ******** complaint and I have asked our call center to reach out to her directly to cancel her membership.  Membership cannot be cancelled via letter or email but, for security reasons, the member must call in to speak with a rep to verify themselves in order to be cancelled. This is so someone claiming to be the member cannot call in and cancel their coverage.  We are making the exception to reach out to her to handle this.

Thank you.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

ID experts did finally cancel my account. For that I am happy. 



Sincerely,

****** ****

3/12/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 2/13/16 around 6:04 PM, I received an email from MyIDCare telling me that "MyIDCare has found an alert that requires your attention. " I have an account through MyIDCare because OPM had a data breech ans they were monitoring my credit. I went to the website and I was notified that my account was locked out. I called the number listed 1-800-750-3004 to regain access to my account. I was placed on hold for 8 minutes. A customer service agent told me I would have to be transferred to a specialist. I waited another 17 minutes, with a recording saying there was a one minute wait every minute, before another customer service person picked up. She told me she would have to take my number and call me back within 24 hours due to high call volume. Unlocking an account online is not rocket science. It takes minutes at any other web site. I now have to wait to see what the concern was. It takes away 24 hours that I could have used to protect my identity and money. Given the lousy customer service, there is no guarantee I will ever be called back. OPM should have gotten a better company to protect me. OPMs poor decision making is what made the data breech happen.

Desired Settlement: I want them to put in place a simple way of unlocking a locked out account. Banks and other financial institutions have secure means of doing so, why can't they. Their customer service sucks. get rid of the recording that repeats "your call will be answered in a minute" every minute you are waiting.

Business Response:

We have received the dispute and are looking into this and will respond very soon.  We are pulling calls to research hold times/training and an agent has reached out to Mr. ****** to unlock his account.  They have created ticket #**** and left a voicemail yesterday.

Thank you.

Business Response:

I did want to let you know that we did reach Mr. ****** and we enrolled him successfully on 03/03/16.

Thank you.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** ******

3/11/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ID Experts sends letters out (I have received 2) alleging to be from a company with whom I have done business. These letters report that there has been a security breach at the company and your information has been compromised. It offers a free trial of their services with a subscription. In both cases, the alleged data breach was entirely fictional, which I verified by calling the companies (both TaxAct.com and Gyft.com), and neither company has any relationship with ID Experts. The letters, in purporting to be sent FROM the companies in question rather than from ID Experts, clearly and intentionally misrepresent themselves, and in cautioning over a fictional data breach, they cross the line into a very serious legal grey area. The letter continues to state that the company in question acted quickly to prevent further access, forcing all users to reset their passwords. Of course, periodic password reset is required for both companies, so when one goes to the site and sees that they must reset, the potential exists that they immediately react and contract ID Experts highly specious services. They even give a direct web page to visit (in this instance, http://www.myidcare.com/gyft), supposedly set up in response and with Gyft's cooperation. Again, Gyft.com denies any relationship with ID Experts and any data breach. These letters are full of falsehoods, fabrications, and outright lies.

Business Response:

The two breach notifications that Mr. ******* received are legitimate and our company is handling both of them.  I have called and left him two voicemails, 03/03 and 03/2/16, and I emailed him today to offer information about our handling of the breaches.

Please let me know if there is anything further we can do.

Thank you.

1/27/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I signed up for Identity Protection via https://www.opm.gov/cybersecurity with IDExperts due to a letter which I received from OPM.GOV which stated that my personal info had been compromised in a hack. Long story short, I had to enter all of my sensitive info on the IDExperts site but now I want to cancel the service. It does not appear legit because I cannot reach anyone from IDExperts on the phone. Also, there is no option online to cancel the service. The site also does not allow me to delete my SS# either. Every number is automated or says leave a message. I even called OPM and they were NOT helpful. The rep refused to give me her full name or even assist me with attempting to speak to a real person at IDExperts. It's a SCAM site!!!! One minute the web page reflected 2016 and when I checked again it displayed 2015. Something is NOT adding up. I DEMAND A FORMAL CANCELLATION OF BOGUS SERVICE. There's even a mention to sign up to their service BEFORE placing fraud alerts on your credit reports. I should've observed that as a red flag. I AM AFRAID THAT MY IDENTITY AS WELL AS MY LAPTOP AND CELLPHONE HAVE BEEN HACKED. There is a scam going on.

Desired Settlement: I DO NOT WANT THIS SERVICE AND MOST IMPORTANTLY, I WANT MY PERSONAL INFORMATION DELETED COMPLETED FROM THE WEBSITE AS WELL AS A CALL FROM A LIVE PERSON. I NEED THAT PERSON TO BE ABLE TO VERIFY WHO THEY ARE AND WHO THERE BOSS IS TOO. I NEED A LEGITIMATE COMPANY EMAIL ADDRESS FROM THEM AND A LEGITIMATE WORK PHONE NUMBER ***** WELL. I ALSO WANT A LETTER IN THE MAIL FROM IDEXPERTS AND A LETTER FROM OPM THAT THE SERVICE IS CANCELLED.

Business Response: Ms. ****** wanted to deactivate (close/cancel ) her service. She was contacted on 1/8 and her account was closed. 

1/19/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: During 2015 UCLA medical records were hacked. In response UCLA signed up all affected parties with ID experts to monitor our credit for 1 year. Every month I receive a lettter from ID experts telling me there has been no changes to our credit records INCLUDING NO change of address on any of our accounts. Several months after we were signed up with them we moved and changed our address on all our creidt accounts. Their October monthly report said no changes had taken place incluing any address changes. I notified them via e-mail and was told we should be notified on our next monthly report from them. The next monthly report again said we had no changes including any address changes. It has now been over 4 months and they continue to tell us no address changes had occurred. I do not know what they are doing but I have absolutley do not believe they are actaully monitoring our credit activity. Knowing our information was hacked I am very nervous about the inability of ID experts to detect something as major as a address change.

Desired Settlement: They were hired to monitor and protect us against fraudlent credit changes after our information was hacked. They either need to start doing that and demostrate that they are by providing accurate changes to our credit OR they need to notify us and UCLA that they are unable to perform the service they were hired to do so UCLA can transfer the service to a company that is going to protect all the people that were hacked. Right now our credit is vulnerable and I have no faith in this company.

Business Response: Spoke with Mr. ********* and am researching his issue with our monitoring department. HAve a commitment to contact him by Wednesday 1/20 with additional information. 

Consumer Response:

 
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and am awaiting ID EXPERTS to complete their research into the problem. They have commmitted to get back to my by Wednesday evening 01/20/2016 with more information.. The person I spoke with was very nice and polite. I provided her with all the details she requested and she is looking into the matter

 

Thank you for your work on this matter.
Sincerely,

***** *********

12/30/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Contacted by id experts could not get answers to several specific answers and now i seek resolution to this issue by president only of company

Desired Settlement: Contact by president of id experts and to get answers from president only in reference to unresolved questions and privacy of records that have occurred without resolution.

Business Response: Voicemail has been left with consumer to discuss complaint. will follow up 12/23 if no response.

12/15/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This company is supposed to provide supposed "id theft services", but I can't even sign up. The instructions sent in the mail didn't work and when I try to call, they make me wait for 10 minutes while their automated message tries its best to convince me to go online instead of bothering them on the phone. Then, when they see that I won't give up, they say they're too busy to talk to me and hang up. If this company is supposed to be under contract by the DoD in response to the ***** negligence, shouldn't they have the resources available to actually serve the victims in a timely manner? Note, I tried calling on multiple days with the same result.

Desired Settlement: Firstly, this organization should be investigated to see if they actually DO answer the phone or if the phone number is just a red herring. If they DO answer the phone, they should be required to hire temporary staff or pay overtime such that they can meet the demand. At worst, they should arrange the system to take names and phone numbers so that customers can be contacted back. In my case, I would accept a phone or preferably an e-mail communication with someone at "ID Experts" so I can get help with my non-functional PIN code.

Business Response:
12/2 15:37 Mr. ***** was contacted directly by the *** enrollment center and advised that he would need to lift his credit freeze if he would like to fully enroll in the credit monitoring services. He said he was going to lift the freeze and enroll and authenticate on his own.

10/31/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This organization has a terrible system for handling the recent security breach by the US Government. After spending 30 minutes on the phone with them signing up for the compensatory program offered by the government, they said I had failed authentication. I ask them how can this be, I answered all questions accurately. They said "no." I said well what didn't I answer correctly. They said "can't tell you"........So ....after having a security breach on a US government site, the government uses ID Experts to offer ID theft protection for the next three years free, and when I sign up for this protection I am told I failed authentication...... Then they have the nerve to say call back in three days and try again.....what?....

Desired Settlement: resolution of above issue, i.e., authentication.

Business Response: Mr ****** was contacted on 10/22/2015. He was asked to log in and attempt to authenticate.  He went through the questions and failed authentication once again. We explained that for security purposes we do not have access to the answers to his questions or have the ability to select different questions for him and he was advised to try again He was also informed that the authentication process is for his security and protection so that no one but himself could access his information.  He said he understood but was still frustrated due to this situation. However, he was appreciative that we contacted him promptly and tried to assist him.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

6 Customer Reviews on ID Experts
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Fusion Chart
Fusion Chart