Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Oregon Fence Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (541) 746-8324 Fax: (541) 746-8843 View Additional Phone Numbers 1259 N 35th St, Springfield, OR 97478 http://www.oregonfencecompany.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers commercial and residential fencing services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Oregon Fence Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Oregon Fence Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Oregon Fence Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 11, 1991 Business started: 01/01/1979 Business started locally: 01/01/1979 Business incorporated 01/18/1994 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Construction Contractors Board
700 Summer St NE Ste 300, Salem OR 97301
http://www.oregon.gov/ccb
Phone Number: (503) 378-4621
ccb.info@state.or.us

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Cherry Harris, President Mr. Ron Harris, Secretary Ms. Starr Triplett, Vice President
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Cherry Harris, President
Business Category

Fence Contractors Patio & Deck Builders


Additional Locations

  • 1259 N 35th St

    Springfield, OR 97478 (541) 746-8324 (800) 746-0904

  • PO Box 36

    Springfield, OR 97477

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/18/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: An unsafe, hazardous livestock fence was installed by Oregon Fence. I finally had another professional to come out and inspect the work that had been done, and make immediate repairs. The fence was not installed to industry standards and will not survive over time due to numerous structural issues. My job was not a difficult fencing job to complete; it should have taken only a week and should have been able to be installed to last for a very long time (20+ years). I had specifically asked Ron when he bid the job if his company had experience with livestock fence. He assured me they did. The following is a list of the major issues of the fence: • The fence was installed wrong livestock, and had to be reinstalled. T-posts were pulled,reset, and are not stable now • Corner post are not 2 “ larger in diameter than other wooden support post as is standard practice; post will not withstand the pressure of the long fence lines • Wire was not adequately stretched in many sections, making it unsafe/hazardous • Clips connecting the wire to T post not attached tightly. They can/will fall off, wire will become unattached • Most wooden post have severe “checking”, deep cracking that compromises the post • Concrete holding posts already failed, had to be redone and cracked on others, allowing moisture to get to the post at ground level and will rot post • Wooden posts that were cut off, not sealed to prevent moisture and rot • Ground was not cleaned up before installing wire as was to be done. Wire installed slackly around those areas, can’t be tightened and the brush can’t be cleaned out now • Brace wires in corner area too loose, horizontal braces not being held together by the cross wires • Wooden cross post not nailed in tight (only 1 or 2 nails), cut out in the vertical post so poorly cut that horizontal post will not stay stable over time. • Job not completed after 2 months. Fence still hazardous, unsafe and not installed to industry standards

Desired Settlement: I am now looking at incurring numerous and continuous repair cost on a fence that should have easily stood for 20+ years without needing replacement or major repairs. This fence is going to cost me additional time and money for years to come as the fence continues to fail. I sent a Certified Letter on December 10, 2015 to Oregon Fence with my request of reimbursement. I have had no contact from the company. I am seeking reimbursement of my payment to Oregon Fence Company be repaid to me to my current and continued cost to repairing the fence. I have current put of pock cost for immediate repairs and materials so far. I am also going to have additional cost for repair and replacement of the fence as it continues to be unsafe and hazardous for my livestock in the future.

Business Response:

Response to complaint #********

      My original estimate appointment with ‘unnamed prior customer’ was on April 3, 2015 and was for field fencing. I measured the area and gave her a job cost of $8,150.00, of which $530.00 was for a separate chain link repair.  She mentioned at the time that she had planned on brushing the fence line in preparation for the installation, but that she had hurt her back in the process of removing the brush & old posts. She asked that my crew finish the clearing.  This specific two man crew has had fifteen years of experience.
       We work hard at purchasing the highest quality material available on the market. The wooden posts and bracing that are used for this particular kind of fence are four inch in diameter & are pressure treated, which prevents the need to seal when making inevitable cuts. They are set on fifty foot intervals. Heavy metal t-posts are driven on twelve foot spacing.  The posts & bracing are manufactured with checks (nicks) & cracks.  We try for the best looking ones, in as far as our supplier will allow sorting.
        The wire used, which she provided, was two by four by four feet high mesh.  This mesh fabric can only be stretched so far in order to get the wrinkles out, especially the last fifty feet.  This is also due to manufacturing.  The finished side faces the road for aesthetic purposes, always when there is a hot wire on the inside.  When stretching and terminating a fence with a cross truss, one side does loosen somewhat, as the cross trusses are holding the vertical braces.
        We began her job on May fourth and were there through the fifteenth.  We went back on June sixth, seventh, & eighth to address her complaints, at no additional charge to her.  Before we had a chance to finish, she told the crew not to return, so I invoiced her on June seventeenth; deducting a fair five hundred dollars.  She sent a check for $5,530.00 on August 20th, deducting $2,620.00 of her own volition.  I accepted it, although it meant losing more labor cost.  It was clear by then, that no matter how hard I tried to make her happy, it would be to no avail.
         We do not argue with people, even in an instance when someone, after the fact; expects more than is reasonable or possible.  It is very rare that we pressure people for payment.  In this case, though, payment was long past due. We have never hired collectors to go after anyone.  I called her twice and explained that, in her case, I might have to resort to collecting legally.
           We do not go around cutting down the work of other fence companies either, although we’ve had plenty of requests to do so.   It would not be professional.  I do not believe we deserve this, but I am willing to go back & redo where the cement cracked around posts & add additional nails to the braces.  

Thank You,
Ron H*****
Oregon Fence Company



Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Oregon Fence Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)