This business is not BBB accredited.

Rothfus Family Dental LLP

Phone: (541) 858-7994 Fax: (541) 858-7997 3138 State St, Medford, OR 97504 http://www.rothfusfamilydental.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers general dentistry services, including cosmetic dentistry and implants.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rothfus Family Dental LLP include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rothfus Family Dental LLP
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 2004 Business started: 03/01/1998 Business started locally: 03/01/1998 Business incorporated 03/23/1998 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Board of Dentistry
1515 SW 5th Ave Ste 400, Portland OR 97201
http://www.oregon.gov/dentistry
Phone Number: (971) 673-3200
jbones@orednet.org

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Business Management
Dr. Karla Rothfus, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Karla Rothfus, Member
Business Category

Dentists Dentistry - Children Dentist - Orthodontist Dental Hygienists

Hours of Operation
Monday - Thursday 8am - 4pm
Alternate Business Names
Rothfus Family Dental

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3138 State St

    Medford, OR 97504 (541) 858-7994

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This practice was overpaid by insurance companies for services provided to my daughter ****** ********* I have asked *** twice to please send the leftover balance back to the Insurance company. From my understanding, it is considered fraud to not return the money. I feel this needs to be straightened out ASAP. I spoke to **** the biller for Rothfus Family Dental, today and inquired as to how long it would take to straighten this out. She would not give me a timeframe and was told it is not on her top priority of things to do.

Desired Settlement: Please just settle this issue in a timely manner so I can close this file.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/14) */ May 13, 2013 BBB re: Case # XXXXXXXX It is indeed ironic that the same guarantor who chose to ignore her account for more than 5 months, because she "put her life on hold and had not opened any mail for 6 months", is now filing a "complaint" that her insurance re-billing issues are not resolved within a 2 week time frame! Repeated attempts to collect payment, multiple phone messages, letters and billing statements regarding outstanding balance, all unanswered by Ms ********. Hand-written notes asking for her help to clear up insurance discrepancies, all ignored. This account was then turned over for collection. We bill a patient's insurance, completely as a courtesy. We are under no obligation to submit claims, but do so in order to make it simpler for our patients. Billing information is the responsibility of each guarantor. We subscribe to the rules dictated by insurance companies when dealing with "dual" insurance coverage. The birthday rule is one example and was the case for this patient. Ms ******** contacted us the first part of April to inform us that her insurance with ****** ********* was sending a payment (from treatment date of Oct 2012). She stated that her "divorce decree" had listed ****** ********* as the primary carrier, and that ******* (primary, according to birthday rule) was in fact the secondary. We of course would have no way of knowing this unless informed, in advance, by the subscriber. Upon receipt of payment by ****** ********* (on 4/9/13), the account was left with a small credit of $246.26. We explained to Ms ******** that we would have to refund the payments made by both insurance companies in order to re-bill with the corrected billing information. We told her that the overpayment refund would most certainly be requested by one or both companies. We also told her that we would contact the collection agency to see if we could stop the collections activity, again as a courtesy to her. This conversation took place on 4/17/13, when she presented to our office for her daughter's appointment. We received a phone call from Ms ******** on Monday, 5/6/13 asking if we had completed all the insurance issues and at that time Kim told her that insurance does not typically respond in less than 30 days and that we could not giver her an exact time-frame, and to be completely honest, her paperwork was not our top priority. We take extreme offense to the passive accusation of fraud. Particularly when we feel that we have extended above and beyond the normal amount of care and courtesy to this family. We appreciate that Ms ******** would like for this matter to be settled "in a timely manner". We can relate! ****** ******** Office Mgr. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/05/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Rothfus Family Dental has still not committed to any concrete actions moving forward to resolve this issue. Facts are needed, please. Let's leave emotion out of this so as to not confuse the facts as they are today. In addition, I asked this office if they billed insurance when first bringing my daughter in. I was told they did. This is not a courtesy, it is what was agreed to initially. To resolve this issue, I would just like the handling of it to be given some concrete timeframe. Being told it was not a priority is not a factual response.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Rothfus Family Dental LLP
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)