This business is not BBB accredited.

Rothfus Family Dental LLP

Phone: (541) 858-7994 Fax: (541) 858-7997 3138 State St, Medford, OR 97504 http://www.rothfusfamilydental.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers general dentistry services, including cosmetic dentistry and implants.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rothfus Family Dental LLP include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rothfus Family Dental LLP
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 01, 2004 Business started: 03/01/1998 Business started locally: 03/01/1998 Business incorporated 03/23/1998 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Board of Dentistry
1515 SW 5th Ave Ste 400, Portland OR 97201
http://www.oregon.gov/dentistry
Phone Number: (971) 673-3200
jbones@orednet.org

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Business Management
Dr. Karla Rothfus, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Dr. Karla Rothfus, Member
Business Category

Dentists Dentistry - Children Dentist - Orthodontist Dental Hygienists

Hours of Operation
Monday - Thursday 8am - 4pm
Alternate Business Names
Rothfus Family Dental

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3138 State St

    Medford, OR 97504 (541) 858-7994

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/20/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: This practice was overpaid by insurance companies for services provided to my daughter ****** ********* I have asked *** twice to please send the leftover balance back to the Insurance company. From my understanding, it is considered fraud to not return the money. I feel this needs to be straightened out ASAP. I spoke to **** the biller for Rothfus Family Dental, today and inquired as to how long it would take to straighten this out. She would not give me a timeframe and was told it is not on her top priority of things to do.

Desired Settlement: Please just settle this issue in a timely manner so I can close this file.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/05/14) */ May 13, 2013 BBB re: Case # XXXXXXXX It is indeed ironic that the same guarantor who chose to ignore her account for more than 5 months, because she "put her life on hold and had not opened any mail for 6 months", is now filing a "complaint" that her insurance re-billing issues are not resolved within a 2 week time frame! Repeated attempts to collect payment, multiple phone messages, letters and billing statements regarding outstanding balance, all unanswered by Ms ********. Hand-written notes asking for her help to clear up insurance discrepancies, all ignored. This account was then turned over for collection. We bill a patient's insurance, completely as a courtesy. We are under no obligation to submit claims, but do so in order to make it simpler for our patients. Billing information is the responsibility of each guarantor. We subscribe to the rules dictated by insurance companies when dealing with "dual" insurance coverage. The birthday rule is one example and was the case for this patient. Ms ******** contacted us the first part of April to inform us that her insurance with ****** ********* was sending a payment (from treatment date of Oct 2012). She stated that her "divorce decree" had listed ****** ********* as the primary carrier, and that ******* (primary, according to birthday rule) was in fact the secondary. We of course would have no way of knowing this unless informed, in advance, by the subscriber. Upon receipt of payment by ****** ********* (on 4/9/13), the account was left with a small credit of $246.26. We explained to Ms ******** that we would have to refund the payments made by both insurance companies in order to re-bill with the corrected billing information. We told her that the overpayment refund would most certainly be requested by one or both companies. We also told her that we would contact the collection agency to see if we could stop the collections activity, again as a courtesy to her. This conversation took place on 4/17/13, when she presented to our office for her daughter's appointment. We received a phone call from Ms ******** on Monday, 5/6/13 asking if we had completed all the insurance issues and at that time Kim told her that insurance does not typically respond in less than 30 days and that we could not giver her an exact time-frame, and to be completely honest, her paperwork was not our top priority. We take extreme offense to the passive accusation of fraud. Particularly when we feel that we have extended above and beyond the normal amount of care and courtesy to this family. We appreciate that Ms ******** would like for this matter to be settled "in a timely manner". We can relate! ****** ******** Office Mgr. Consumer's Final Response /* (3000, 7, 2013/05/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) Rothfus Family Dental has still not committed to any concrete actions moving forward to resolve this issue. Facts are needed, please. Let's leave emotion out of this so as to not confuse the facts as they are today. In addition, I asked this office if they billed insurance when first bringing my daughter in. I was told they did. This is not a courtesy, it is what was agreed to initially. To resolve this issue, I would just like the handling of it to be given some concrete timeframe. Being told it was not a priority is not a factual response.

4/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Dr ***** *******, I write this with deep concern. As I have emailed before about the difficulty and called about the difficulty I have had with my dentures made less than 2 years ago. with no response/ I have been sued by you for the balance owing which I am paying monthly. I could not longer stand the uncomfortable fit and look of these dentures and went to a new dentist and then was referred to a denturist I have all documentation from both that these denture were not made right, do not fit right and to quote the denturist " the worst fit I have seen" I have been told by many friends that I am constantly biting at my teeth . I can not even go out to eat anymore because I can not eat with them at all. Hence causing me to lost 10 lbs. Not a good thing when you high weight is 110. The recommendation is a complete new set as these are so far off from what they should be that any amount of adjusting of relining with not fix it. I have been quoted a upper set at 950.00 and a lower a 900.00 I have been advised that this is NOT due to bone loss as it is not long enough to have lost this much bone to cause this. Also was advised that my gums are so red and inflamed from these dentures that I will end up losing the two anchor teeth I have if I do not replace the dentures. You are most likely aware my insurance will not pay for a new set this soon. I had a great deal of out of pocket for these dentures and now 1.5 years later they need to be replaced. I do not have alot of options here expect filing a complaint to the OREGON BOARD OF DENTISTRY as well as taking this paperwork I have from both the denturist and a local dentist to small claims myself and going to the BBB. I do not want to do this , but I feel I have no chice at this point and am at a crossroad. I will wait until Monday to hear from you if I do not I will have to proceed in that direction. ******** ******

Desired Settlement: At this point, I think the cost I am incurring to have correct dentures made is the only acceptable solution. I do not want to go to small claims but that is my next step.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 7, 2013/04/09) */ April 4, 2013 ******** ****** *** ******** Eagle Pt, OR XXXXX Ms. ******: I am writing in response to your letter on 3/28/13. You first came to our office in June of 2011. At that time the exam revealed rampant caries and bone loss due to periodontal disease. The condition of your mouth indicated long-term neglect. At your first appointment, you were presented with a treatment plan that included an upper, immediate denture after the extraction of all remaining upper teeth. Then extraction of #23-26 on the lower arch with the placement of a temporary “healing” partial, called a flipper. Ideally waiting 6 months and then doing permanent crowns on #22 and 27, for increased stability, and making a new, custom attachment, lower partial denture. All this information was given to you, in writing, including all fees so that you could manage your finances as well as your schedule. Dr. ***** ******* explained to you that the dentures would require lab relines because of the shrinkage of the tissue and increased bone loss following multiple extractions. This cost was also included in your initial treatment plan. He further explained that the relines would typically be needed 6 to 12 months post-op, to aid with the fit. Although Dr. ***** discussed the benefit of allowing the healing period of at least 6 months, you chose to go forward with the Immediate/Flipper because you had a wedding to attend in January and wanted everything done before then. Your requested treatment was completed by October of 2011. The fact that you did not follow through with the remainder of your recommended treatment, i.e. perio treatment, stabilizing crowns or custom lower partial, are all very good reasons why you could be experiencing the issues you currently have. Throughout your course of treatment, Dr. ***** extended generous discounts of 20% off our regular fees and no-charge for the use of nitrous, plus multiple office visits at no charge to you. Additionally, you were extended the opportunity of a payment plan to help you manage your finances. Numerous phone calls, hand-written letters, monthly statements and e-mails went unreturned for over 6 months. I’m not exactly certain how you do not consider that an extraordinary courtesy? When you finally did communicate with us, by e-mail on April 3, 2012, it was to inform us that you would not be making a payment until May and that it would be for only fifty dollars. Once again, we extended the courtesy of trying to work out a payment plan. In your e-mails you repeatedly stated that you were waiting for a settlement from an auto accident and would have your balance paid to us by June. I am enclosing documentation with specific dates of payment promises by you. Even after our final verbal communication in May, you were given until the end of June (more than 8 months since the last payment) to pay in full. By the 28th of June, it was apparent that you were not going to honor your end of the multiple payment agreements. The account was then, unfortunately, sent to collections. It does not benefit this dental practice to send accounts to the Collections Agency. It appears to us that you are not willing to take the personal responsibility for your own dental health, but rather, when pushed for payment, decided that we had somehow not provided the services promised. All clinical notes indicate that you were happy with your care and that your dentures fit comfortably. It is indeed unfortunate that you feel you need to proceed in such a fashion, but we respect that you must do what is best for you. In the same way, we must do what is ethical and fair for not only you, but for all our dental patients. We look forward to an equitable resolution for us both. Respectfully, ***** *******, DDS ***Supporting documents redacted by BBB*** Consumer's Final Response /* (-5, 11, 2013/04/10) */ I spent yet another 2 hours today at the denturist, she again stated these could not possibly ever have fit right. I told her what I was doing with the BBB and further action I may need to take and states she is happy to help with this. She states there could never have been a proper bite, for them to be this far off. I have refrained from sharing the name of the dentist with her at this point. Again only thing that will make this go away for me is a paid in full to ******** ****** ******* If I have to purse legally I will go with the entire cost of the new dentures I am having to have made Business' Final Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/04/18) */ April 16, 2013 ******** ****** *** ******** Eagle Pt, OR XXXXX Ms. ******: In your most recent letter of 4/10/13, you stated that a “compromise” could be reached by having us write off your remaining balance of $600, owed to ******** ****** ****** *******. After speaking with your account manager at ****, there seems to be a large discrepancy in regards to your actual balance. We would be willing to make adjustments to the balance owed to us, simply as a way of avoiding the inconvenience of taking any more time on this matter. We feel very strongly that the care and treatment you received we up to ADA standard of care, and re-iterate that your clinical notes state you were happy with your care and that the dentures fit correctly. Here is the accurate information about your financial obligation, according to our records and that of ****: Your account was assigned to **** in June of 2012, for the amount of $1388.52. Prior to that, your last payment was October of 2011 (8 months w/o payment). In December of 2012 (not 14 months from the last personal payment), we received your first adjusted payment from ****. Three payments were made: $130, $150 and $150, Dec, Jan and Feb respectively. A payment of $150 was also made in March, but was returned to **** as NSF. Calculating all of this information, the remaining balance owed from your original amount assigned is $958.52. The collections agency has internal charges associated with your account totaling $361.70, owed directly to them. We can do nothing about the amount you owe to ****, however we will write off the entire amount of $958.52 owed to Rothfus Family Dental. You will need to contact **** personally in order to make this settlement offer. Because dentistry is such a personalized service, a good rapport between dentist and patient is of vital importance. Good communication, trust and mutual understanding are key in a successful relationship. These elements are at the very least, questionable in our dentist patient relationship. I have come to the decision that it would definitely be in your best interest to seek all future dental care from another dental care provider. Perhaps you have already made that decision, and if so, I concur. It is indeed unfortunately that in the 14 months that we received no payment from you, we also did not here from you in regarding to your treatment. Had we been notified by you and seen you in our office for any appointments, we would have had the opportunity to offer any treatment that was needed. At this point in time we consider the matter closed. ***** *******, DDS