BBB Accredited Business since

Island Family Dental

Phone: (360) 718-8861 Fax: (360) 718-2704 View Additional Phone Numbers 16335 NE 23rd St, Vancouver, WA 98684 http://www.islandfamdental.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers general dentistry services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Island Family Dental meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Island Family Dental include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Island Family Dental
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 01, 2013 Business started: 10/01/2009 Business started locally: 10/01/2009
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Secretary of State Corporations Division
801 Capitol Way S, Olympia WA 98504
http://www.secstate.wa.gov/corps
Phone Number: (360) 725-0377
corps@sos.wa.gov

Washington Department of Health
101 Israel Rd SE, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.doh.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 525-0127
hsqa.csc@doh.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Norman Newkirk, Co-Owner Mrs. Lisa Newkirk, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Norman Newkirk, Co-Owner
Business Category

Dentists Offices of Dentists (NAICS: 621210)

Hours of Operation
Tuesday
8:00am-5:00pm
Wednesday
9:00am-6:00pm
Thursday
8:00am-5:00pm
Friday
7:00am-3:00pm
Alternate Business Names
Lisa A.E. Newkirk DDS PLLC

Additional Locations

  • 16335 NE 23rd St

    Vancouver, WA 98684 (360) 635-2332 (360) 718-8861

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

6/6/2013 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The dentist office told us that they took our insurance. After we got treated they told us that they found out that they did not. Then they sent us a bill for the treatment that would have been covered 100%. We would have never used there services if they would have told us the truth.

Desired Settlement: DesiredSettlementID: Refund I would like them to admit it was there fault and refund me the money.

Business Response: Business' Initial Response /* (1000, 8, ****/05/23) */ The complaint filed against our office is an unfortunate situation for all involved. We were told by a certain insurance company that we were an "in network/PPO" provider with them. The party that reported this complaint was never seen at our office, the spouse and child were. Only after the patients were seen, and their insurance was billed was our office notified that we were NOT in fact in their PPO network. We have worked diligently with this particular insurance company to correct the mistake on their part. The insurance company does recognize that a mistake happened but is unwilling to make our participation in their network retro active. Our office notified the patient immediately after payment was declined by their insurance company. As a means to help rectify the situation our office reduced the balance due by 50% and offered to let the patient make payments on the remaining balance due. The patient agreed to the reduction and agreed to make payments. The two patients involved did receive treatment at our office and did sign a financial policy stating that if their insurance does not pay for said treatment, it is their responsibility to pay for the services rendered. In addition, at the advice of their own insurance company we advised the patient to make an appeal with them in order to possibly reverse their decision. The insurance company states to this date, there has not been an appeal filed by the patient. We sent several statements and made several phone calls over the course of 4 months trying to set up payment arrangements and did not get any response until a final demand for payment was sent. Upon receiving the demand letter, the patients spouse called our office, was very upset and was yelling at our staff. He stated that we were crooks, liars, and were stealing from him. Our office advised that we are very sympathetic to the situation and that it is unfortunate for all involved. He stated that we are not sympathetic or we would not ask him to pay the bill. He shouted that he was filling a complaint with the BBB and hung up. Our office emailed him immediately after stating that we would again make an appeal with his insurance company and that he should do so also. In addition, we relayed that we would NOT process his payment until all avenues were revisited again. We have asked him to please notify us when he makes the appeal. To date we have not heard from him, nor his spouse. In addition, to date we have not collected any monies from him nor his spouse so there is not refund to give him. Our office has also followed up with the patients insurance company and provided all documentation showing that they told us we were in their PPO network. We have reached out to his insurance company several times regarding this matter and have yet to receive a response. Business' Final Response /* (-10, 13, ****/06/07) */ Business supplied email: ****@islandfamdental.com Use this address for any contact with the Better Business Bureau