BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2002

Hiebert, Smith Dental Group PC Inc

Phone: (503) 397-6144Fax: (503) 397-44331550 Saint Helens St, Saint HelensOR 97051-1728

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers full service dental.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 07/01/2002

BBB has determined that Hiebert, Smith Dental Group PC Inc meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised Hiebert, Smith Dental Group PC Inc's rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Problems with Product / Service1
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Billing / Collection Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Hiebert, Smith Dental Group PC Inc

Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (1)BBB Closure Definitions
07/09/2014Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper or inferior service

Complaint: n or about 12/16/2013 I had an initial consultation with dentist ***** ******* practicing as ***** & ******* in St. Helens, Oregon. I accepted his treatment plan after some discussion, dental exam and X-rays. In exchange for cash payment he was to extract four teeth and provide a removable partial denture. Treatment was between 12/16/2013 and 2/20/2014 and included a hygiene appointment that included X-rays, exam and cleaning for $500.

This complaint is about the following:
1. Administering an anesthetic to which I am allergic, which I stated both verbally several times and in writing. I had an allergic reaction, which he said was "normal."
2. Altering and falsifying medical records. Especially pages 5 of 10 and pages 8 of 10 through 10 of 10.
3. Double-charging and triple-charging of duplicate X-rays an charging $99.00 for an exam that was never performed
4. Making radical and inappropriate adjustments to the denture, causing pain and headaches. There is most likely damage to the supporting teeth which will result in their loss. He did not address my pain. He would not send the denture back to the lab at his expense to correct the mistakes he made.
5. Using verbally abusive language and shouting at me when I asked for his help to restore the denture to a wearable, non-painful state. He stands 6'4" or taller to my 4'11" petite height.
6. Failure to deliver a healthy and viable partial denture.
7. Threatening me when I, living on social security, said that I couldn't afford hygiene appointments at the recommended frequency of four times yearly (because I have so few teeth, the top specialist who previously treated me charged about $125.00 whereas ******* charged me $469.00). He said if I didn't have 4X yearly hygiene appointments, the recommended frequency then he wasn't responsible for my teeth.

Once I receive a case number, I will email supporting documentation.

Initial Business Response
Dear BBB,

I welcome the chance to respond to *** *****'s complaint in hopes of resolving our differences. However, in order for me to respond, I must first have her written consent to do so.

The HIPAA consent forms that she signed in our office are to protect her privacy and give us authorization to discuss her case with all treating dental professionals. Since the BBB falls outside the scope of the HIPAA form she signed, she will need to provide me with new authorization to discuss her case.

Please have *** ***** provide me with a written, dated and signed document authorization me to discuss this and any other particulars of her case with the BBB. I will be happy to respond to her points then.

Sincerely,

***** *******


Initial Consumer Rebuttal
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I wish to keep this case open until it is satisfactorily settled. Tomorrow, May 15, 2014 I will go to the dental office and sign HIPPA form so he can discuss this with the BBB.

Thank you,
****** *****

Final Business Response
Dear BBB,

I have provided Ms. ***** with several opportunities to have a board certified prosthodontist corroborate her claims. The offer still stands yet she continually refuses to exercise this option.

While initiating this complaint with the BBB, Ms. ***** has also initiated a complaint with the Oregon Dental Association which I support fully. I was looking forward to the opportunity to have a Peer Review Committee review this case based on the facts. After reviewing Ms. *****'s case they concluded that the "complaint does not meet our guidelines for acceptance" and have subsequently closed the case.

Ms. ***** was given the highest quality of dental care, dental materials, billing practices and inter personal communications. I categorically deny any of her claims otherwise.

Ms. ***** has blurred the lines between her opinion and the facts and has been unsuccessful in providing factual evidence to support her claims. I have provided unalterable electronically date and time stamped chart notes and have had witnesses present at each dental visit.

Ms. ***** never mentioned any displeasure with the quality of our work, billing or interpersonal issues until I refused Ms. *****'s demands to blame the Dental Lab for her carelessness in damaging her RPD. As I told her then, this was dishonest and I would not be party to it. Following this event, Ms. ***** levied her frustrations and accusations at me.

In summary, Ms. ***** presented to our office with generalized failing Mandibular dentition. Sound dental principles and practices were applied and followed. She asked of us a service, we delivered that service with the highest of standards and professionalism. We are confident that the facts support this.

We continue to wish Ms. ***** the best.

Sincerely,

***** *******, DDS

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
I do not accept because no resolution is offered.
I do not accept *******'s response to my complaint because it does not address the complaint issues. Instead, he contradicts information in the electronic notes and launches a personal attack on my character. Nothing about this complaint is personal; I do not know him personally. This complaint is based upon my experiences as a long-time dental consumer and patient. The work was unsatisfactory and potentially damaging to existing teeth.

I am no stranger to dentures, as he is aware I have an upper denture. Further, it is documented that the denture fit perfectly out of the box from the lab and it was his radical adjustments that caused problems and left me with a device that causes pain and headaches. He refused to send the denture back to the lab for recalibration at his expense, and was unconcerned with my pain and remains so.

I will be happy to consult with a neutral third-party specialist at the recommendation of the Oregon Dental Association.

Because he did not fulfill his part of the contract by delivering a viable, healthy denture, I expect that he will refund $2,094.00 that I paid for the denture and related services. This refund will be used to have the work done elsewhere.

In hopes of having a satisfactory resolution resulting in a refund of monies paid, I will list the issues in this complaint, and again ask that he address these issues specifically and truthfully.

This complaint is about the following:
1. Administering an anesthetic to which I am allergic, which I stated both verbally several times and in writing. I had an allergic reaction, which he said was "normal."
2. Altering and falsifying medical records. Especially pages 5 of 10 and pages 8 of 10 through 10 of 10.
3. Double-charging and triple-charging of duplicate X-rays an charging $99.00 for an exam that was never performed
4. Making radical and inappropriate adjustments to the denture, causing pain and headaches. There is most likely damage to the supporting teeth which will result in their loss. He did not address my pain. He would not send the denture back to the lab at his expense to correct the mistakes he made.
5. Using verbally abusive language and shouting at me when I asked for his help to restore the denture to a wearable, non-painful state. He stands 6'4" or taller to my 4'11" petite height.
6. Failure to deliver a healthy and viable partial denture.
7. Threatening me when I, living on social security, said that I couldn't afford hygiene appointments at the recommended frequency of four times yearly (because I have so few teeth, the top specialist who previously treated me charged about $125.00 whereas Huebert charged me $450.00). He said if I didn't have the recommended frequency then he wasn't responsible for my teeth.

****** *****

Complaint Resolution: BBB determined the company made a reasonable offer to resolve the issues, but the consumer did not accept the offer.

Industry Comparison| Chart

Dentists

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 07/01/2002Business started: 01/01/1978New Owner Date: 05/31/2003
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Board of Dentistry
1515 SW 5th Ave Ste 400
Portland, OR97201
(971) 673-3200
http://www.oregon.gov/dentistry

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: February 1981, OR

Contact Information
Principal: Dr Keri Smith (President)Customer Contact: Ms Shirley Smith (Business Manager)Dr David Hiebert (Dentist)
Business Category

Dentists

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for Hiebert, Smith Dental Group PC Inc

1550 Saint Helens St

Saint Helens, OR 97051-1728

To | From

LocationsX

1 Locations

  • 1550 Saint Helens St 

    Saint Helens, OR 97051-1728(503) 397-6144

Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*Hiebert, Smith Dental Group PC Inc is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 15, 2013. This includes all complaints filed electronically that meet our reporting guidelines.

X

Industry Tips for Dentists

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00-5.99
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.