BBB Accredited Business since

OnPoint Community Credit Union

Phone: (503) 228-7077 View Additional Phone Numbers PO Box 3750, Portland, OR 97208 http://www.onpointcu.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers a credit union.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that OnPoint Community Credit Union meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for OnPoint Community Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 5 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

5 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 3 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 3
Total Closed Complaints 5

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on OnPoint Community Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 17, 2006 Business started: 01/01/1932 Business started locally: 01/01/1932
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

National Credit Union Administration
1775 Duke St, Alexandria VA 22314
http://www.ncua.gov
Phone Number: (800) 827-9650
oismail@ncua.gov

Type of Entity

Limited Liability Company (LLC)

Business Management
Mr. Rob Stuart, President/CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rob Stuart, President/CEO
Customer Contact: Ms. Cecile Wood, Sr. VP
Business Category

Credit Unions Financial Services Credit Unions (NAICS: 522130)

Alternate Business Names
Montgomery Park Branch

Additional Locations

  • PO Box 3750

    Portland, OR 97208 (800) 527-3932 (503) 228-7077

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/7/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: After moving, an address change was overlooked and not completed for Onpoint Credit Union. Recently I noticed that $5 was being taken out of my account. At no point did I receive any notification that I had overlooked updating my address after I had moved, even though I have a current/active email address attached to their system. When called inquiring about why $5 was taken out of my account I was told that this is how they notify patrons. Next to the $5 withdrawal it said "unknown address", however, I didn't realize that this was pertaining to me, I assumed I had used my card at a location that was not registering with my financial institution or for some other reason. Having been a patron of this credit union for multiple years, always having money in my savings account and never even being close to an overdraft, I believe that this is an unjust notification policy. The customer service agent was able to refund three months of charges to me, however, I believe I feel like they should refund the remaining months of fees taken without any attempt to notify me.

Desired Settlement: I would like to have the remainder $20 of money taken from my account returned.

Business Response:

OnPoint’s Membership Account Agreement, Section 21. Notices, states it is the member’s responsibility to notify the Credit Union upon a change of address or change of name. OnPoint’s Personal Fee Schedule discloses the Unknown Address fee of $5.00 per month.

OnPoint flagged ******** membership as having a bad address on 9/28/2015 in response to mail returned by USPS. The first Unknown Address fee was assessed on 10/26/2015 and the description on the statement read “Unknown Address”. OnPoint changed the description of the fee to read “Unknown Address Fee – Please Update Your Address” beginning 2/25/2016 to better reflect OnPoint’s desired response of members updating their addresses with OnPoint. ****** notified OnPoint of her change of address on 4/26/2016.

Although OnPoint did not mishandle ******** address change, we have refunded the additional $20 in fees because of ******** relationship with OnPoint.

We thank ****** for her suggestion about email notifications for unknown addresses.  We will use her feedback, as we do with all member feedback, to continue to develop better member experiences.

2/5/2016 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: OnPoint has allowed a company, Proactiv, to charge my credit card without my consent since September 2015. The first charge showed up on my credit card statement in September. Proactiv obtained my credit card information and my address without my knowledge or consent. I never contacted Proactiv and have no idea how they obtained my information. I called OnPoint and they reversed the charge. Since three other charges were made on that card without my consent, there was possibility of fraud and OnPoint cancelled my credit card and sent me a new one. About a month later, Proactiv made another charge on my new credit without my consent. I called OnPoint again but they weren't too eager to cancel that charge even though they had no problem with the previous charge, they finally (reluctantly) agreed to reverse the charge. I also asked them to block Proactiv from making any more charges on my card. I was told on 10/16/2015 that Proactiv was blocked and will not be allowed to make any more charges. I still monitored my transactions, just in case. I just saw a charge from Proactive on my credit card from 01/07/2016! I don't understand why OnPoint representatives would lie to me. Why do they allow a company to charge a customer's credit card after multiple phone calls and a very thorough explanation? I told them multiple times I NEVER EVER contacted Proactiv in my life. I need OnPoint to reverse the charge of $43.94 from 01/07/2016. I also need them to block Proactiv from EVER charging my current credit card or any future credit cards. I don't have time to call them every month arguing about the same issue over and over.

Desired Settlement: I need OnPoint to reverse the charge of $43.94 from 01/07/2016. I also need them to block Proactiv from EVER charging my current credit card or any future credit cards. I don't have time to call them every month arguing about the same issue over and over.

Business Response: OnPoint has reversed the Proactiv charge of $43.94 on Ms. ******** credit card.  We appreciate Ms. ****** bringing this to our attention.  While we do not expect additional charges, we are working with Proactiv and our credit card processing partner on a solution to prevent additional charges to Ms. ******** card.  Thank you.

Consumer Response:
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

****** ******

10/9/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I took out a car loan from OnPoint at the beginning of July, 2015. OnPoint is supposed to pay for and send me the Oregon DMV license plates for the car. As of today, the car license plates have not been received yet. Meanwhile, the car is being driven without a temporary permit as that expired already. I have contacted OnPoint several times with no positive results. Each time I contact them they make up a new excuse as to why the car plates have not been sent to me yet. They keep telling me different length's of time it takes to get the plates from the State of Oregon.

Desired Settlement: I want OnPoint to honor their committment to get this car licensing done! When I took out this car loan I wanted to pay for and proceed to do the car licensing but they insisted that they had to do this. So, since they wanted to do this, they should be held accountable to finish the job. Additionally they should be getting me another temporary permit to place on the vehicle until they come thru with the license plates. Or, if I am given a citation for driving the car without a permit, OnPoint should pay any fines.

Business Response: Our member **** ******* purchased a 2011 Honda CRZ  #***************** on June 30, 2015.  Our check to ********** ****** was issued on July 3, 2015.
The dealer did not transfer the title.  OnPoint Community Credit Union received the title work and title on July 20, 2015.  OnPoint issued a check for $194.00 payable to the DMV and sent it along with the title transfer documents to the DMV on July 23, 2015.
August 31, 2015 DMV sent a letter to the member and copied OnPoint, requesting an additional $38.00 for the Multnomah County tax. Mr. ******* sent a check for the $38.00 on September 2, 2015. 
I called DMV after we received your notice of our member complaint and was told that the documents would still be in Vehicle Processing 1 and we would need to wait a few weeks. 
I checked in with the member to see how long his trip permit was issued for.  He told me that his trip permit was expired.  During that same call I let the member know that Onpoint would be reimbursing his checking account for the $38.00 that day.  I then let him know that I would research what can be done.
I checked with the dealership and was told by the person who answered the phone that they can only issue one trip permit.  We then called DMV and was able to get
an updated trip permit issued through November 16, 2015 faxed to us that day.
I left Mr. ******* a message asking him how he wanted to receive it.  By Friday morning the 18th, I had not heard from the member so I put the trip permit in the mail and left him another message.
I received a call from Mr. ******* over the week-end and called him first thing Monday morning.  He said he would check his mail that afternoon and if I did not hear from him, that would tell me that he got it.
I did not hear anything yet.  We will keep following up with DMV until we know that his plates have been sent.
Thanks

Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:First of all, the only reason I am rejecting this response is because the problem has not been completely resolved yet. I am happy that OnPoint has finally stepped up to the plate to get some action on this matter but as of this writing, the license plates have not been received yet.

It is true that the extended permit has been received in yesterdays mail and I do appreciate that. But I will hold my complaint on file and open until the license plates are received.

Sincerely,

**** *******

Business Response: I just received verification from ****** that a package was being delivered to Mr. ******* today @ 3:00 from DMV.  The package will have the plates for the vehicle.
Please let me know if this does not happen.
Thanks Paula H*****

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau: Yes, the plates were just picked up this morning! Oddly enough, I was online yesterday with my bank and saw where the State of Oregon went ahead and cashed my personal check that they had written to me about with the wrong year on it. So, the $38 was taken from my account. That's fine as I'm very glad to have this all done with.

Thank you for all your efforts to get this resolved.

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

**** *******

10/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On the 20th of April 2013 at about 10pm, I was mugged in Shanghai China just outside of the subway terminal on Hengshan Rd. I was taken to a locked room where I was held and threatened for hours by five men who took all of my cash as well as both of my OnPoint cards. Once I was released, I had a 16km walk back to my hotel which took about three hours. As soon as I arrived I went to sleep shaken up and quite distressed. The next day I called VISA and cancelled my cards so they could not be used and I called the emergency services number for VISA. (According to OnPoint's contract I have 48 hours) They assured me that the cards were suspended and that I would have a replacement card sent to me so that I could pay for my hotel in a few days. I thanked the person on the phone and went to work. I noticed on my VISA statements that the cards had been used in the amounts of $1,292.02 on my OnPoint credit card and $2,913.80 on my OnPoint Debit card. There was also a foreign transaction fee of $29.14 on my debit card. I called these and reported them and I was told to fill out affidavits of fraud for each account which I have done. On Thursday the 25th I received my replacement card and read the instructions which read that the card had already been activated and I needed to sign it before using it. I signed it and put it in the safe to prevent further issues. On Sunday the 28th I went to check out of my hotel and found that the card was declined. They tried it several times and it would not work. I called VISA again and I was told the replacement card had been cancelled by my bank the same day it had been issued. She told me it was an obvious mistake and that should not have happened. I spent about an hour on the phone with her (at $2/min.) and after speaking to her supervisor, I was told that there was nothing that could be done until Tuesday China time when OnPoint was open again. I explained that I needed to pay for the hotel as my flight was leaving in 4 hours but there was nothing that they would do to help me. I was trapped in a foreign country where I could hardly speak the language, where I was recently mugged and held captive and I was being told that due to a clerical error I was likely going to miss my flight to my home country, which at this point I desperately missed. One of my friends from the United States and used his card number to pay for the hotel. If I would not have been able to reach my friend I would have been forced to sleep on the streets of Shanghai (which is a crime there) because I could not pay for a hotel. On the 21st of May I was presented with a letter that said that the charge was legitimate and that I would have the $2913.80 removed from my checking account in 5 days. I looked at my account and it was already gone. I was then rendered unable to pay my mortgage payment, which was due in 9 days. I called On Point and I was told that the matter was being looked into but the money would remain out of my account until it was resolved. I contacted my company and asked them for a loan to cover my mortgage, which I am hoping will not be a problem. I had a bad experience in China that OnPoint and VISA could have made into little more than an inconvenience and a story to tell. Instead they have been uncooperative and created a lot more stress and expense for me. I have sent several letters to them and other than telling me that I am a liar I have received little from them. They stopped responding to me all together in Sept. 2013. It has cost me a lot of money dealing with this and I have had to miss work dealing with this matter. This event was terrifying and I have to relive it every time I have to explain the situation to another person.

Desired Settlement: I want the money that should have been protected by their fraud polices returned to my accounts. $4234.96

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/07/10) */ We have investigated and reinvestigated this claim since April, 2013, and continue to stand by the results. Our last communication regarding this situation was in response to a letter from an attorney the member enlisted to assist him. Our attorney responded to this letter on Sept. 5, 2013. That was the last correspondence we have had on this issue. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/07/13) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) This is false on both claims. The first claim by OnPoint is that I am fraudulently claiming the loss. I have never had a claim and have a perfect payment history. I reported this as soon as it happened and they have not even considered that I might be telling the truth. After all that they did to me I should be asking for a lot more but all I want is the money that they owe me. The second claim they made is that there have been no further correspondence between their attorneys and mine since their letter of Sept. 5th. My attorney sent a letter on October 15th 2013. We have received no response. A second request for a response to the October 15th letter was sent in February. Still no reply. This is why I have filed this complaint here. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 17, 2014/09/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) There is no resolution proposed. They simply stated that they found my letter from October 15th 2013 and will respond. It is now September 15th 2014 and I am still awaiting a resolution. Final Business Response /* (4000, 20, 2014/10/01) */ We've had ongoing communication between the member and OnPoint. Attorneys on both sides are attempting to resolve.

12/19/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: ******, (my wife) and I wished to refinance our home mortgage, way back in July 2012. We paid a deposit of $950 to complete the application, using our OnPoint credit card at 7.9% interest. Upon receiving the results of the appraisal, OnPoint insisted that we make "deferred maintenance" repairs of approximately $1500 or they would not proceed. The contract stated that the status was "conditional lock-in" and terms were clearly stated. Additionally, the appraisal was disappointingly low and would have required "mortgage insurance" to be added to the monthly payment. These facts defeated our purpose of improving our budget, and on Aug. 2, 2012, we gave OnPoint employee ***** **********, at our ** *** ** branch, our thanks and regrets. We realized that we would be out the amount of the appraisal, but we wanted the balance of our deposit returned. Every two or three months since then I have checked into it, always being told "We'll have to look into the archives and get back to you." in June of 2013 OnPoint Mortgage employee ****** ******* responded that we were going to receive the amount, $950 minus the appraisal. I still have the voicemail. I also mentioned repayment of the 7.9% interest since August 2, 2012 on whatever that amount would be. Since then, three more calls and an email have been ignored. I no longer have faith that OnPoint will refund this amount.

Desired Settlement: We (****** ****** and I) are seeking $950 minus the cost to OnPoint of the appraisal, plus 7.9% interest (approximately 0.079/12 per month) on that amount since Aug. 2, 2012. We would accept a credit on the credit card account, or payment in that amount. I have never determined the actual cost of the appraisal, despite over ten inquiries, eventually leaving an (unanswered) message with the appraiser *** ******* of Portland and Vancouver, who was chosen by OnPoint. If this amount cannot be determined, we would like a full refund of the $950 and we would waive interest.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2013/12/12) */ After receiving the notification from the Better Business Bureau, we researched the request from our member, ******* ******. As a result it was discerned *** ****** was entitled to a refund of $425 after he withdrew his loan application; however, the funds were not credited appropriately to his account. *** ****** has also requested a refund of the interest charged to him due to the balance of his application deposit remaining on his credit card at an annual rate of 7.9%. OnPoint has accommodated this request and credited him an additional $50 to provide more than sufficient coverage for any interest charged. A total of $475 was credited to *** ******'s account on Friday, December 6th. After the deposit was made, I personally spoke with *** ****** and believe the complaint and requests have been fulfilled. We would like to apologize to *** ****** for the oversight and any frustration that it may have caused. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 7, 2013/12/19) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) The request was satisfied promptly. I believe that this was an oversight and not representative of our usual interactions with OnPoint. I thank the BBB and OnPoint mortgage representative ****** ******* for resolving the refund request.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on OnPoint Community Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)