This business is not BBB accredited.

First Community Credit Union

Additional Locations

Phone: (541) 396-2145 Fax: (541) 396-2231 View Additional Phone Numbers 200 N Adams St, Coquille, OR 97423 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.myfirstccu.org View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers a credit union, providing personal and business account and loan service, brokerage and insurance.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for First Community Credit Union include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on First Community Credit Union
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: February 05, 2007 Business started: 01/01/1953 Business started locally: 01/01/1953
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

National Credit Union Administration
1775 Duke St, Alexandria VA 22314
http://www.ncua.gov
Phone Number: (800) 827-9650
oismail@ncua.gov

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Ms. Denise Dewald, Regional Vice President-Region 1 Ms. Robyn Borrow, Regional Vice President-Region 4 Mr. David Elmer, CEO Ms. Traci Gederos, VP Marketing Ms. Susan Harrington, Regional Vice President-Region 2 Ms. Wendy Osgood, Regional Vice President-Region 3
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Denise Dewald, Regional Vice President-Region 1
Business Category

Credit Unions Loans Insurance Services

Hours of Operation
Monday - Thursday 9am - 5:30pm
Friday 9am - 6pm

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    101 SW Kinkade Rd

    Boardman, OR 97818

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    103 S Redwood Hwy

    Cave Junction, OR 97523

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    108 NE Savage St

    Grants Pass, OR 97526

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    115 N Howard St

    Newberg, OR 97132

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    12530 NW Main St

    Banks, OR 97106

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1308 NE 7th St

    Grants Pass, OR 97526

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1330 Highway 101 S

    Reedsport, OR 97467

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1380 Biddle Rd

    Medford, OR 97504

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    150 Johnson Ave

    Coos Bay, OR 97420

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1504 NE 9th St

    Grants Pass, OR 97526

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    151 S Columbia St

    Milton Freewater, OR 97862

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1531 NE Park Ln

    Fairview, OR 97024

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1551 Harbeck Rd

    Grants Pass, OR 97527

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    168 Melton Rd

    Creswell, OR 97426

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1771 NE Stephens St

    Roseburg, OR 97470

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    1960 W Harvard Ave

    Roseburg, OR 97471

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    200 N Adams St

    Coquille, OR 97423 (541) 347-3521 (541) 267-5115 (541) 902-9599 (541) 759-2380 (541) 572-2301 (541) 756-5415 (541) 271-2145 (503) 324-9280 (541) 895-3061 (503) 831-3331 (503) 992-1768 (503) 648-8642 (503) 538-4620 (541) 957-9099 (541) 459-5444 (541) 382-7280 (541) 481-3110 (503) 492-8976 (541) 567-8077 (541) 938-2929 (541) 276-4876 (541) 296-3585 (541) 592-3191 (541) 884-8387 (541) 282-7700 (541) 479-2601 (541) 582-0561 (541) 673-6613 (541) 479-2601 (541) 681-6336 (541) 396-2145

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    200 S 8th St

    Lakeside, OR 97449

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2002 Inland Dr

    North Bend, OR 97459

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    2077 Highway 101

    Florence, OR 97439

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    372 E Ellendale Ave

    Dallas, OR 97338

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3737 Shasta Way

    Klamath Falls, OR 97603

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3924 Pacific Ave

    Forest Grove, OR 97116

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    434 SE Washington St

    Hillsboro, OR 97123

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    518 E Main St

    Rogue River, OR 97537

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    62080 Dean Swift Rd

    Bend, OR 97701

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    624 E Central Ave

    Sutherlin, OR 97479

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    701 Hostetler St W

    The Dalles, OR 97058

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    705 SW Emigrant Ave

    Pendleton, OR 97801

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    710 8th St

    Myrtle Point, OR 97458

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    75 12th St SE
    PO Box 609

    Bandon, OR 97411

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    925 SE 4th St

    Hermiston, OR 97838

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/16/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Recently, the online banking functions I was promised have ceased to work correctly. I attempted to contact support about the issue, and received one unhelpful response from a **** ******** <*************@firstccu.org> who has since failed to respond to further messages. I have now been unable to access my account for over three weeks. This is a very serious concern, as I cannot verify that unauthorized transactions are not taking place.

Desired Settlement: Immediate access to MY account information; disciplinary action against unresponsive support persons.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 8, 2013/06/25) */ Dear Better Business Bureau Representative, Thank you for sending the second response request to us as we had not received the first correspondence regarding *** ****** complaint. Our Customer Service Center Manager communicated via email with *** **** regarding his dissatisfaction about security questions for Online Banking both on May 2nd and May 3rd, 2013. First Community Credit Union's Online Banking platform employs elevated security features that are in place before accounts can be accessed. This is one of many strategies used to protect our member's privacy and financial information. Part of these security features includes answering three RSA security questions. These questions are member selected and they can answer the questions to their choosing as well. RSA is an industry standard, Internet encrypted authentication system that is in place to ensure it is secure for our members to conduct their banking via Online Banking. As a side note, once these questions are selected and answered, the User will only be asked one of these questions again if they use numerous IP addresses or if the software detects patterns based on a variety of IP address or "hotspots" being used. The questions will then be asked to authenticate our member and ensure there is not fraudulent activity and ensure it is our member logging-in. First Community Credit Union does not have access to the questions the member selects nor their answers which provides yet another layer of protection. June 24, 2013 one of our Online Banking specialists communicated via email with *** ****. They explained that we do not have the ability to exclude his account from this security feature. The RSA system is commonplace in the financial industry and is becoming more and more commonplace to websites that allow a person to "log-in" and conduct business. Answering security questions is a best practice providing heightened privacy and security required by our Risk Management Team as well as our Internal and External Auditors and Examiners. We hope this provides adequate information concerning our Online Banking security features. If you need additional information, or if I can be of further assistance, please contact me directly at ************* Sincerely, ****** ****, Executive Vice President/COO Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 14, 2013/07/03) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I've made it very clear that I'm not interested in the increased security that is being offered. While I'm sure some people feel it is necessary, right now it is only an obstacle to my unrestricted access to my own account. Having made every attempt to come to a reasonable compromise between security and usability, I can only leave disappointed that my banking institution isn't equally willing to work towards a satisfactory solution. Final Business Response /* (4000, 12, 2013/07/01) */ Dear Better Business Bureau Representative, *** **** indicated in his latest response that we refuse to work with him to resolve the online banking login issue. It is a simple resolution for him to comply. He simply needs to comply with the security feature we have in place called multifactor authentication. The feature requires him to select and answer three security questions of his choice. Once he does this he will be able to access online banking. If the credit union did not have multifactor authentication in place, we would not be allowed to offer online banking to our 40,000 users and we do not have the ability nor are we allowed by regulations to turn it off per his request. We have 40,000+ other online banking users that have gladly complied with the security feature and enjoy using online banking knowing their account access is safe. We have educated *** ****, over the phone and via email about the exposure of risk without this safety feature. As I noted in my last response, we are highly regulated by the Internal and External Auditors and Examiners. We are required to follow the FFIEC guideline for online banking security requirements. Below you will find a few pages of the guidance from the FFIEC that requires our compliance with multi-factor authentication. I hope I have clarified any confusion about why *** **** needs to comply with the security feature in order to access online banking and the education we have provided him about the security feature. If you need further explanation, please be specific in your request. Sincerely, ****** ****,EVP/COO


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on First Community Credit Union
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)