BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers in house financing services for new and used vehicles.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Auto Acceptance meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Auto Acceptance include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Auto Acceptance
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 01, 1997 Business started: 01/01/1988 in OR Business started locally: 01/01/1988 Business incorporated 12/17/1991 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Oregon Department of Motor Vehicles
1905 Lana Ave NE, Salem OR 97314
http://www.oregon.gov/odot/dmv
Phone Number: (503) 299-9999

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Brad Tonkin, Co-President Mr. Ed Tonkin, Co-President Mr. Mike Burgess, GM Ms. Charmaine Colvill, Collections/Legal Mr. Danny Dragomir, Digital Marketing Director Ms. Lisa Nichols, Executive Assistant
Contact Information
Customer Contact: Ms. Lisa Nichols, Executive Assistant
Principal: Mr. Brad Tonkin, Co-President
Principal: Mr. Ed Tonkin, Co-President
Business Category

Consumer Finance & Loan Companies Loans Miscellaneous Financial Investment Activities (NAICS: 523999)

Method(s) of Payment
cash, check, debit and credit cards , money orders
Alternate Business Names
Berco Finance Corp Portland Car Loan Ron Tonkin Auto

Additional Locations

  • 12155 NE Airport Way

    Portland, OR 97220 (503) 254-2787

  • PO Box 30237

    Portland, OR 97294

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

1/14/2016 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: These people are a HUGE ripoff. They prey on people with bad credit and they lie! I had a bankruptcy and her student loans reported derogatory after the BK which brought her score down a lot. I purchased a vehicle that said $7999 in the window, I had $800 down and her payments were $391/mo!!! A few months later I realized they added some bogus "warranty" for $1600 AND sold the car for $9600!!! When I asked about this, I was told that Ron Tonkin dealership is a separate entity than Ron Tonkin Auto Finance...hmmm. When I contacted the dealership, they said that it wasn't on sale when I bought it. So after making payments on time for 2 years, my son was in a bad accident out of state and had some hospital bills. The lady at Ron Tonkin Auto Finance was kind enough to give me "hardship" for a few months and make $200 payments. The lady said my interest would be brought down during this time also. Well, that didn't happen! The lady all of the sudden isn't employed there any longer! The lady "in charge" is a ****** *********. She said it didn't matter what the other lady said and that while I was making $200 payments the principal balance was actually going up! 3 years later I still owe $7000 on a car worth $3000. The car has problems from a previous undisclosed accident an after not being able to make my payment and being a month behind the car was repo'ed. I even had an agreement to make a payment THAT DAY but they took it while I was at work. I hate this place with a passion and will do all I can to help this place lose business.

Desired Settlement: I want to be refunded every last penny I have this lying business.

Business Response:

I received the Better Business Bureau complaint submitted by Ms. *********
******* regarding Auto Acceptance loan# *******. Auto Acceptance is, in fact, a
part of Ron Tonkin but a separate entity from Ron Tonkin Mazda, the dealership
where Ms. ******* purchased her Nissan Maxima. Auto Acceptance is the finance
company only, and is not involved with the purchase price of the vehicle, the
price of the service contract, or other things of that nature that are agreed upon
at the dealership. Ms. ******* agreed to a purchase price of $9,700.00 and a
service contract of $1,400.00, both of which are clearly shown on the legally
binding, retail installment contract that was signed on 9/17/2010. Any questions
or concerns regarding these amounts would have been between Ms. ******* and
the dealership, and should have been brought up at the time the vehicle was
purchased. The monthly payment amount of $380.20 was a function of the
interest rate of 26%, which was a very typical interest rate at the time of
purchase for customers with credit such as Ms. *******'.

In May of 2013, we did decide to reduce Ms. *******' payments and interest, in
an effort to help her, which is not something that we were obligated to do. On a
contract modification, signed by Ms. ******* on 5/19/13, it shows we reduced the
payments to $300.00 per month, we reduced the interest rate to 17%, and we
also brought Ms. *******' past due account current. The principal balance does
not increase while paying reduced payments, but interest does accrue and there
is less money going toward the principal balance when the payments are
reduced. Clearly stated on this agreement is that "failure to keep your account
current can result in the account reverting back to the original contract terms and
to default status." Ms. ******* then defaulted on her loan, again, in April of 2014.
The last payment Ms. ******* made was on 3/26/14. She did not pay in April, or
May, and we repossessed the vehicle in June. The account was 81 days past due
at the time of repossession, which is almost 3 months in arrears.

After the vehicle was sold at auction, Auto Acceptance mailed to Ms. ******* a
Notice of Sale and Deficiency showing there was still a $4,424.69 deficiency
balance due. Since Ms. ******* did not respond or make payment on the
balance, Auto Acceptance then filed small claims through ********* ****** and
obtained a judgment. We then garnished Ms. *******' wages per the judgment.
The final garnishment, that paid the account in full, was just received on 12/3/15.
We then contacted Ms. *******' employer to stop the garnishment. As the
judgment is now satisfied with no remaining balance, I am confused by Ms.
*******' statement, "3 years later I still owe $7000." All money collected from
Ms. ******* was based on a legal contract and a judgment from the State of
******, and was money owed by her. Since the balance is now paid in full, we
are considering the matter closed.

Sincerely,
Michael B******
General Manager
Auto Acceptance

10/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I turned in a vehicle they sold me in 2006, the car broke down 1 month after purchasing it. I asked them what was to happen next. They stated it was going to be sold at auction and they were going to bill me for what was owed after the auction. They failed to do that. Then they served my mother in law in 2008, who I did not live with, with court documentation for garnishment. They never contacted me regarding this matter. Then sept 2013 I started getting garnished. I tried to contact them regarding this issue and ********* was rude to and would not give me any type of information. Calling me inappropriate names and refusing me to speak to anyone else. I called them several times trying to resolve this matter. Also doubling the amount owed to them for what I initially bought the car for. I filed bankruptcy and tried to call for information regarding when the funds were going to be issued back to me, the secretary ****** refused to let me speak to anyone else, I told her I did not want to speak to ********* as I have had troubles with her in the past.

Desired Settlement: I want my money they owe me back.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/10/17) */ Concerning, Judgment case #***XXXXXX : Auto Acceptance was notified 10/3/13 by *** *** ************ ( ********* ) employer that she had filed bankruptcy on 09/30/13 with the Western District of Washington Case #XX-XXXXX-BDL. Since *** ********* has an Attorney on record ( ***** ***** ) and she is now protected by the bankruptcy court, I informed *** ********* that she will need to have her attorney call and discuss any issues and/or questions with me the Legal manager ( I handle any and all small claims/garnishments/bankruptcy's ),regarding to specific questions about the amount of the debt, we are required to discuss this with the debtor's attorney while the Bankruptcy is open. We follow the all rules concerning each Bankruptcy and all monies garnished before the debtor filed Bankruptcy has been sent to the Trustee on record **** ******* **** ******* **** * Tacoma WA 98466 on 10/16/13.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Auto Acceptance
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)