BBB Accredited Business since

Matheson Remodel

Phone: (360) 798-4598 Fax: (360) 573-1790 16614 NE 29th Ave, Ridgefield, WA 98642 http://www.mathesonhomeremodel.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers construction and remodeling services, including home building, siding, window, fence, deck, additions, kitchen & bath and flooring.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Matheson Remodel meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Matheson Remodel include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Matheson Remodel
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: December 15, 2009 Business started: 12/01/2007 Business started locally: 12/01/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.dor.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985
bls@dor.wa.gov

Washington Department of Labor & Industries
7273 Linderson Way SW, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.lni.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 647-0982

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Doug Matheson, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Doug Matheson, Owner
Business Category

Construction & Remodeling Services Bathroom Remodeling Countertops Kitchen & Bath - Design & Remodeling Kitchen & Bath Design Contractors - General Contractor - Remodel & Repair Home Improvements Home Improvements - Additions Residential Remodelers (NAICS: 236118)

Hours of Operation
7am - 7pm
Refund and Exchange Policy
1 year on labor

Additional Locations

  • 16614 NE 29th Ave

    Ridgefield, WA 98642 (360) 798-4598

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/19/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Project was to build RV carport, access gate, install new Codel fiberglass front door and window. Work started end of May 2013 and finished mid-August. Discussed special requirements for fiberglass door installation prior to work. Carport gutters not sloped properly to drain - repairs promised Oct 22 (never completed). Gate not supported and sagging - promised to fix Oct 22. Attempted gate repairs 6 months (March 14) past problem being identifed - problem is better; but gate is still too heavy and needs additional support. This issue resulted in damaging neighbors gate and fence. June 24, 2014 front door coming apart - inside and outside jamb pulled apart. Trim warped. Corners came apart. July 22, Matheson staff said door was installed incorrectly. Repairs made to jamb. Chalked door Aug 11th to hold it in place as recent exterior repairs not holding. Agreed then that molding was no longer plumb and would be replaced with real wood. Repairs never done. Requested repairs on Sept 2, Oct 4, and Nov 3. No responses received. Have had outside contractors assessments all aspects of work performed and all confirm repairs are needed and appropriate. Have dated pictures and all correspondence to back up events. Can submit if requested. Timely response was hard throughout process and now non-existent.

Desired Settlement: Gutters should be repaired to drain properly.Gate should be supported - gate rollers installed. Seven foot spans are too heavy and still sagging.As agreed upon, Exterior door trim should be replaced with real wood. Agreement to fix any future repairs to door due to incorrect installation; or if work cannot be guaranteed - then new door replacement is sought. I would have them pay for purchase and installation costs.

Business Response: Will work with customer to get resolved. He should call me at this time to work out an agreement. Thanks  Kevin  M*******  *** *** ****

Consumer Response:

 
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because: I do not want more repairs.  Two attempts was enough. Currently exterior door trim is showing expansion and warping with only minor diurnal temperature fluctuations.  About 10 months ago, Mr. M******* told me that the manufacture would not agree that we had defective materials; but the issue was the door not being installed correctly.  Last summer interior and exterior pieces of the door jambs pulled apart; Mr M******* tried twice to remedy this.  However currently with only minor temperature changes these repairs are not holding up.  Exterior trim is starting to pull apart and upper right corner is showing signs of separating.  I have no confidence that this door and in particular it's jamb, will stand up 25 years - let alone 2 years.

During last summers second repair attempt (August 2014), Mr M******* agreed to replace trim pieces (warped and no longer plumb) with real wood.  After that all attempts to communicate were ignored.

On March 19, 2015, I emailed Mr. M******* my request to have him cover my investment in the door plus the fees paid for installation. If he would do that, I will personally take care of the problems with the gutters and gate listed in my original complaint.

I prefer not to talk with Mr. M******* directly. I have offered every opportunity for communication and have been exceedingly patient. All of these efforts have meet with no success. I am attaching a bid from **** ***** for my exact door ($1508.33) and the installation cost paid was $500. If Mr M******* would send me a check for $2000 I will promptly submit proof that the complaint is resolved.

I have unsuccessfully tried twice to attach pictures showing door problems prior to repairs commencing and the bid from **** *****. Hopefully it will work this time.

Respectfully,
***** **********

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Business Response: I will reimburse customer the $2,000.00 he is asking for please provide an address to send check to.

Consumer Response:  
Better Business Bureau:

I have reviewed the response made by the business in reference to complaint ID ********, and find that this resolution is satisfactory to me.

Sincerely,

***** **********

Please have check mailed to:

***** **********
***** ** **** ******
Vancouver, WA. 98664


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Matheson Remodel
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)