BBB Accredited Business since

Mad Dog Computer Repair and Services

Additional Locations

Phone: (503) 922-1599 11533 SW Pacific Hwy, Portland, OR 97223

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


This company offers computer repair service, including data recovery, virus removal and maintenance service plans.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Mad Dog Computer Repair and Services meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Mad Dog Computer Repair and Services include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business

Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Mad Dog Computer Repair and Services
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: May 12, 2010 Business started: 12/27/2005 in OR Business started locally: 12/27/2005 Business incorporated 12/28/2011 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200

Type of Entity


Business Management
Mr. Andrew Bond, Member
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Andrew Bond, Member
Business Category

Computers - Service & Repair Computer and Office Machine Repair and Maintenance (NAICS: 811212)

Service Area
Portland Metro Area and surrounding areas.
Alternate Business Names

Additional Locations

  • 11533 SW Pacific Hwy

    Portland, OR 97223 (503) 922-1599

  • 9220 SW Barbur Blvd Ste 119-163

    Portland, OR 97219


BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview

BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/16/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details

Additional Notes

Complaint: On 4/16/14, ****** **** picked up my computer and took it to his place of business for diagnostics and repair. On 4/18/14, I spoke to a young lady at the business authorizing all repairs. I inquired as to when the repairs would be completed. She responded by saying she would talk to the technician and call me back. The implication was that she would call me back that day. She did not tell me that the technician was not working that day yet our conversation led me to believe I would receive communication back from the business that day. I emailed the business on 4/19 letting them know I never received a call. I received a reply from the owner stating he was out of the office Friday. The young lady I spoke with probably whould have told me that rather than leave me hangning. The business owner in no way offered any empathy or apology for her mis-communication. The business owner stated the repairs on my computer would be started around 10:00am on 4/19. I heard nothing further from the business all day as to the status of repairs. Once again I had to inquire at approximately 3:20pm on the 19th. The owner emailed me back stating the repairs were going slowly, that they were closed on the 20th, and they were expecting Monday morning completion. I heard nothing from the business on the 21st until after I again had to inquire. Still not done. The owner again offered no empathy or apology. He did write me condescending emails, though, which I saved. I get my computer back and there are programs missing. It is malfunctioning in a way it never did before as well. I have notified the business but judging from past behavior, I will be met with arrogant, indignant responses as this is what the business tends to do when they are challenged.

Desired Settlement: Reinstall the programs that were removed unnecessarily and at no charge to me, or refund all of my money so I can pay someone else to do it.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/05/08) */ Re: Complaint ******** Monday, April 28, 2014 Attached is the 10 page email chain which went back and forth between our company and ** *** including his instruction for us to "go ********** yourselves". Also attached are all of the documents related to this transaction, including work order, invoice and credit card transactions. To respond to ** ***** complaints: 1. Diagnostics were predicted to be completed by some time on 4/19. ** *** was informed of this face-to-face when I picked up his computer. When *** *** spoke to my assistant on 4/18, a day before diagnostics were predicted to be complete, he was informed (again based on incomplete diagnostics) that Windows on his computer was very "messed up" and needed to be reloaded. This was the best description available since we were still trying to determine the cause of the problem and ** *** demanded a status report based on incomplete information. ** **** authorized us to perform our "Windows Reload with Data Preservation" service which is described by his statement on page 8 that "all repairs including complete data preservation, were approved" 2. As evidenced by page 10 of the email, ** **** originally contacted us from our website on which, at ****************************** in the FAQ section of the page, it explains in detail what to expect from the Windows OS Reload service with data preservation service: Data preservation CAN ONLY PRESERVE DATA, it cannot transfer or preserve software programs that are on the computer. Data are such things as e-mail messages, favorites, documents, photos, videos, music, etc. We cannot transfer software programs (MS Office, QuickBooks, etc.) as there are tangled up with other parts of the operating system and the software relies on specific registry settings which are erased during an OS Reload. If you want us to re-install your programs for you we offer our Software Installation Service (at an extra cost) to get your computer back to a similar condition to where it was before it had it's problem). 3. By authorizing MDCRS, Inc. to perform the Windows OS reload service with data preservation, he was requesting that we wipe out his entire hard drive (after preserving the data) including removing ALL PROGRAMS. Therefore, all of the missing programs were removed at the specific request of ** *** which is totally contrary to what ** **** is claiming in his complaint. ** **** also did not request that we install software outside of our standard Windows OS reload service, nor did he provide us original media for us to do so. 4. ** *** claims "It is malfunctioning in a way it never did before" apparently referring to the intermittent failures of his DVD drive. In his email on page 1, he claims that he was never informed of a problem with his DVD drive even though on pate 5 in the final diagnosis I stated "A secondary a DVD drive with an intermittent failure". After being informed of this, ** *** did not make any request for us to replace his defective part. He was also notified of this problem on his signed invoice (attached) where it states "...the DVD drive was damaged in some way and now presents with an intermittent malfunction." A common problem with auto repair shops is that they find problems which don't exist and make repairs which are unnecessary AKA "upselling". MDCRS, Inc. does not engage in these reprehensible practices and, instead, notifies clients of what we find and perform ONLY THE SERVICES WHICH THE CLIENT SPECIFICALLY REQUESTS. ** *** never requested that we do anything about the malfunctioning DVD drive. In summary, we provided the services which ** **** requested and authorized. We did not perform services which he did not request (replacing the DVD drive and installing office) and did not remove software without his authorization. We provided these services in the timeframe which was agreed to when I picked up his computer. ****** ****, President MDCRS, Inc. ***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB*** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/05/09) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The staff at this business are too arrogant for me to work with and their communication skills, which consist mainly of excuses, are sub-par, to say the least. The business can say, read the contract, read our entire website, call the store, ask questions that generally don't cross the most peoples' minds, etc. so they can absolve themselves of any liability or responsibility and that is just a shabby way to do business. Apparently they believe they did an exceptional job. I disagree. It is a truism that the only repairs that were done were the repairs I authorized. If the business had given me the options of reinstalling software and repairing or replacing the DVD drive, I would have authorized those repairs. The business never presented me with those options so they were, of course, not authorized. The business calls this upselling. I call it providing customers with information and costs so they can make an informed decision. The business did not do this. I guess I'm just used to a better sales and service experience where I am not only told about problems, as this business did, but also offered options, which this business failed to do. I opted to have my computer issues taken care of by a reputable company so I no longer require the "services" of this business.

3/19/2013 Billing/Collection Issues
2/5/2013 Problems with Product/Service