BBB Accredited Business since

Computers Made EZ by Jim

Phone: (503) 263-4547 431 SW 1st Ave, Canby, OR 97013 http://www.cmez.org


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers computer repair services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Computers Made EZ by Jim meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Computers Made EZ by Jim include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Computers Made EZ by Jim
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: July 11, 2005 Business started: 07/01/2001 in WA Business started locally: 07/01/2001
Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Jim Cooksey, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Jim Cooksey, Owner
Business Category

Computers - Service & Repair Other Computer Related Services (NAICS: 541519)

Hours of Operation
Monday, Tuesday, Wednesday 9am - 5pm
Thursday, Friday 10am - 6pm
Saturday 10am - 2pm
Refund and Exchange Policy
30 days on unopened parts

Additional Locations

  • 431 SW 1st Ave

    Canby, OR 97013 (503) 263-4547

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: *** told me the hard drives had fail in my computer and needed replaced. I said ok fix it. He had the machine for approx. 2 months and I had to keep calling him. He keep getting very mad and saying the ****** about me calling and bugging him about getting the machine repaired. When I originally purchased the machine from him it came with Mirco Soft Office loaded on it. When I got it back it had been removed moved and he would not loaded it again for me. He lost files that were on my hard drive. He did not retrieve my documents that were on my Public folder so all of them were lost. When I called him today he first words are you ******* kidding me. You really want me to get your hard drives back to you. I spoke with another company who said they maybe able to find my documents on the hard drives if I get them back and give them a chance to see if they could recover my documents. *** has been very abusive thru out this business transaction. I also feel that someone needs to check into him not have the proper keys for micro soft office on to multiple machine. He is bootlegging copies on to multiple machines.

Desired Settlement: I want my hard drives returned to me.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2015/01/12) */ Business owner reply 1st this customer had 1 hard drive in her computer that we replaced OUT OF Warranty at NO charge for the drive. My tech replaced her drive and warrantied it even though her machine was purchased almost 2 years ago (we have a 1 year warranty.) I can provide a copy of the original invoice. We did the data recovery on the hard drive recovering everything possible, also at no extra charge. Our work was completed within the time frame given, she returned her computer complaining about data missing, and we backed up everything that was in the user profile. Her drive being failed we could not recover the software keys. We never requested she bring the computer back to us. We had the original drive to try other recovery methods. The claim that I used the******* is correct, it was 1 time not several and it was after she screamed at me on the phone for 5 straight minutes, I apologized to her when I called her back, she screamed at me a couple of more times and then hung up on me. I called ******* ******* to see if they could send the drive we RMA'ed to them back and was told to call back while they try and locate it. It is standard when you get a warrantied part replacement the company that replaces your part gets the old one back, or you pay for the replacement. I can also have the customer that was in the shop verify the conversation if necessary. Also not that it is an excuse (I had the tail end of the flu and was not feeling well when she started screaming at me) I reacted poorly, again I am sorry. This customer came into my shop on the day before and bullied my technician into giving her the wrong computer because she could not be patient and let him look in the back of the shop where I told her on the previous Saturday it was. Upon coming back to the shop to get her actual machine she sent her son in, rather than let my technician explain to her where her computer was, He had her come in and showed her, her computer was where I said it would be and it was tagged. I called to tell her she would need to pay for the replacement drive if she wanted the old drive. She told me I used defective parts in her computer so she would not pay for the drive, and hung up on me again. I also have the invoice from my vendor showing the drive was purchased NEW when I built her computer. HENCE it having full warranty from ******* ******** In her yelling at me on the phone she said if I did not give her the drive she would cause me trouble with the BBB and sue me. At that point I made copies of the work order with her signature and a copy of the original invoice for the computer (showing the computer was well out of our warranty) and the terms of service, that state we are not responsible for client data. As for the Microsoft office, we did put it on her computer when we built it, She had it on the machine we replaced, Our policy is to NOT transfer software but again my technician tried being nice to her. I have enforced my company policy that we do not install office for anyone without the CD's and Key (it is on the service agreement RIGHT AT THE TOP displayed right on the counter where computers are checked in) her claims that I "bootlegged" software for her are flat out slanderous. Her complaint states that I won't pirate office for her. (The original sales invoice shows, she did not BUY office when she bought her computer.) HER HARD DRIVE FAILED, I DID NOT REMOVE OFFICE, WE RE-INSTALLED WINDOWS AND THE SOFTWARE WE HAVE RIGHTS TO. If she wants the drive, I will have to pay *************** for the replacement. She will need to pay that cost, plus shipping for both ways. This could have been a different experience had she not started the conversation by yelling at me.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Computers Made EZ by Jim
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)