This business is not BBB accredited.

Eugene Mac Store, The

Phone: (800) 689-8191 Fax: (541) 687-8584 View Additional Phone Numbers 264 Valley River Ctr, Eugene, OR 97401 http://www.csnw.com View Additional Web Addresses


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers computer sales and services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Eugene Mac Store, The include:

  • Failure to respond to 1 complaint(s) filed against business

Factors that raised the rating for Eugene Mac Store, The include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 1
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Eugene Mac Store, The
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: March 04, 2002 Business started: 05/01/1949 Business started locally: 05/01/1949 Business incorporated 05/27/1949 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Kevin Anderson, President
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Kevin Anderson, President
Business Category

Computers - Dealers Computers - Supplies & Parts Computers - Service & Repair

Alternate Business Names
Computer Stores Northwest Inc The Eugene Mac Store

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    264 Valley River Ctr

    Eugene, OR 97401 (541) 343-1434 (800) 689-8191

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

8/3/2015 Billing/Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I am not sure if this is a contract or repair issue. My daughter's 1.5 year old laptop began to have display issues. I brought it in and was told it was a loose wire - "common problem" and covered under the expensive insurance I purchased through apple. They sent it off and the person called saying there was liquid damage and the policy was void. (There has never been a drop of liquid spilled on or near the computer.) He said it would cost $184 and be sent elsewhere for repair. I questioned the integrity of diagnosis. he sent a photo, but i have no way of knowing it was our computer. I asked if there would be further charges. He said absolutely not. It would not cost more than $184. The agreement was all verbal. Nothing in writing. I went to pick it up and they told me it was $884 and they would not release it to me until I paid in full. They said they were sure it was my mistake. Under great stress and duress I agreed to their financing option because I needed the computer. When I got home I realized they had left a message on my machine, which I still have clearly stating the amount of the repair would be $184. I asked 5 different people to listen and they all heard $184.

Desired Settlement: Investigated to see if this is a "racket". An apology from the store and a full refund($884). I feel it was not right for them to not send a quote in writing, and then tell me I could not have it back unless I paid in full for something I did not agree to. I'd like to see a change in policy that they have to give the quote in writing, so people know what they are authorizing. Pay any legal fees I may need to incur to get compensated from the company.

11/14/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I went in to find my options on my broken phone. The tech informed me it was covered at no charge and it would be 7 to 10 business days. 7 business days plue later I recieved a message stating my repair would be $269.00. The manager/company is refusing to honor what was originally quoeted to me. They have offered no other ways of resolution.

Desired Settlement: I am seeking for the company to honor our original agreement and provide me with the necessary repairs or replacement.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/09) */ When the iPhone was brought to us with a broken screen, our check-in person might have mistakenly opined that the phone might be covered under warranty. This is a decision to be made by ****** and unfortunately, they won't cover broken screens unless the customer has purchased AppleCare+ at the time of purchase, which she didn't. We regret the mistaken impression taken at the time of check-in, but these policies are dictated by ****** Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 7, 2014/10/16) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The check in tech IN FACT several times told myself and my husband that my phone was covered and there would be no cost. This was not a mistaken impression, the employee fully imformed me that there was no cost to fix the phone. This store refused to honor what was promised to me. My quoted price by the stores employee was zero cost, they did not honor that. I fully reject the statement from the business as they are lying. The employee and manager know very well I was told several times it was covered and there was no charge. Final Business Response /* (4000, 9, 2014/10/17) */ It makes absolutely no sense for any company to knowingly lie about something costing nothing only to come back later with a price, especially when the costs are dictated by the manufacturer. It was a verbal estimate error on our employee's part, but that in no way commits us to having to carry the entire burden of the cost when the manufacturer tells us otherwise. We're very sorry for the mistake, but it was just that: a verbal estimate error. I understand this customer will never be happy with us as a result (one good reason to never intentionally do something like this), but the customer broke her iPhone and no amount of bullying or ranting will absolve her of the need to pay for the resulting repair. We're very sorry, but our employee verbally misquoted with the best of intentions. Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 11, 2014/10/20) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) I as the consumer am not bullying nor ranting and such allegations are obsurd. The Mac Store employee fully and intentionally informed me on multiple occasions that my repair was covered. Even after I repeatedly asked if he was sure, he said yes. This was not a verbal estimate, this was a verbal contract that needed to be upheld. This comonay is trying to deflect from their gross mistake and avoiding taking responsibility for it. This company has still not offered any resolution to the issue. I as a consumer will not be bullied by this company, it is ethically right to uphold and honor what was verbally promised. I am still waiting on an acceptable solution to be offered, as this ckmpany has failed to make any attempts to right their wrong.

10/9/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My Macbook keys stopped working so I took it down, told the guy I wanted the keyboard replaced on 9/18/14. Nothing more, nothing less. I get a call a week later from some lady in Portland telling me they replaced the battery and the other details were sketchy, what else did I need them to do. My husband went to the store in Eugene that day, waited almost an hour for someone to give him the time of day and told the guy nothing was wrong with the battery, we ordered a new keyboard. The employee assured my husband he'd relay the message to Portland and we'd have it back shortly. He also said they'd sent an email and had been waiting for an answer. Well they transposed the email address, the guy fixed it and assured hubby all was fine. Well, this is the second week now. No email, no phone call, no Macbook. Hubby and I worked at ***** ******** for years, they do have great customer service and will bend over backwards to make things right but this is the last time I'll ever go to the mac store and have already told my Mac friends to stay away from them, most of them already knew though.

Desired Settlement: I want my Macbook's keyboard fixed and back home. Monday is week 3.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 5, 2014/10/07) */ Contact Name and Title: ***** ********, Pres. Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: **************@csnw.com Our records indicate that the computer was picked up yesterday. We completely agree that this repair took much too long. With the wrong email address for the customer in our system combined with a major internal software changeover creating unexpected internal system glitches, a "perfect storm" was created, resulting in what would look like inexplicable delays. We're glad the problem has been resolved, but there's no question we should have done better. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (2000, 8, 2014/10/08) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) I understand internal system glitches and software changes. I wouldn't have complained if someone in customer service would have explained that. Thank you for your response *****.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Eugene Mac Store, The
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)