BBB Logo

Better Business Bureau ®
Start With Trust®
In Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington

BBB Business Review

BBB Accredited Business since 05/08/2007

CSO Financial, Inc.

Find a Location

Phone: (800) 888-6597Fax: (541) 957-4576View Additional Phone Numbers1229 SE Stephens St, RoseburgOR 97470-4823 Send email to CSO Financial, Inc.

BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers billing and collection services in addition to providing credit reports and employment and criminal background checks.

BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since 05/08/2007

BBB has determined that CSO Financial, Inc. meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.

Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 16 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised CSO Financial, Inc.'s rating include:

  • Length of time business has been operating.
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size.
  • Response to 7 complaint(s) filed against business.
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business.
  • BBB has sufficient background information on this business.

Customer Complaints SummaryRead complaint details

7 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 2 closed in last 12 months
Complaint TypeTotal Closed Complaints
Billing / Collection Issues4
Problems with Product / Service3
Advertising / Sales Issues0
Delivery Issues0
Guarantee / Warranty Issues0
Total Closed Complaints 7

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on CSO Financial, Inc.
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Complaint Breakdown by ResolutionAbout Complaint Details

Complaint Resolution Log (7)BBB Closure Definitions
12/03/2013Problems with Product / Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Inappropriate behavior by customer service personnel

Complaint: Spoke with service handlers ***** and **** They were both quick to hostile nature and tone. *** stated,"We deal with people who have thousands of dollar claims, yours is $10, they are fees, they are due." She went on to be very condescending and abusively aggressive. I had to at one point ask her to take perspective: I was not being aggressive or rude, simply asking questions regarding my fees. To which she responded, "It's $10, pay it."
I understand these woman deal with extremely rude people daily. However, I was not. They used inappropriate, unprofessional, and hostile tactics with someone they did not need to.

Initial Business Response
I have reviewed the file/account for **** ********. I do not believe that ** ******** was treated appropriately by our collection staff,and I apologize for the way the entire matter was handled. ** ******** was correct in that it is not the amount she may or may not owe, it is a matter of principal. ** ******** deserved to have her questions answered completely and with courtesy. I was out of my office at the time ** ******** called me to report that she was upset, and then later I was unable to reach her by phone. The file has been appropriately noted and I have asked my assistant ***** to contact ** **** ******** as I am retiring from CSO and will not be available for discussion. Thank you.

Final Consumer Response
(The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.)

Complaint Resolution: Company resolved the complaint issues. The consumer acknowledged acceptance to BBB.

05/20/2013Billing / Collection Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint Category: Improper collection practices

Complaint: Credit Services of Oregon bought our account from Kroger(Fred Meyer) for a $130.00 returned check last year. They are now attempting to collect $1962.05 for this $130.00 check. Fred Meyer was in total contact with us all the way through the process. Credit Services of Oregon never attempted to serve/reach or contact us prior to going to court for a judegment. I have always wanted to stay in great standing with Kroger. This should have been resolved in a different manner. According to a collection manager at Credit Services of Oregon,they have the legal right to "sub-serve" us. What that means,I am not sure.

Business' Initial Response
The dishonored check was ASSIGNED for collection to our company by Fred Meyer/Kroger; Credit Services of Oregon,Inc. for collection. Credit Services did not buy the check; our company is not a debt-buying company. We do not get paid until the check is paid to or company by the consumer. Credit Services pays out-of-pocket for any collection costs incurred in the collection of accounts. If it is necessary to file a lawsuit to effect collection, Credit Services pays all costs: Court filing fees, Service fees, and Attorney fees. If judgment is entered against the defendant(s) the law allows the Plaintiff to collect those costs from the Judgment Debtor(s) consumer/defendant. When our company received no
response and no payment from the consumer, after collection notices were sent and were not returned by the post office, we left a phone message at the consumers residence for a return call. When the check remained unpaid, and we had no contact from the consumer(s) a lawsuit was filed in Multnomah County Circuit court via our attorney. The consumer/complainant was personally served our lawsuit on December 09, 2012. When no answer was filed to the lawsuit and the balance due at that time remained unpaid, a Default Judgment was entered in favor of Credit Services of Oregon, Inc. on Feb 07,2013. I was contacted by the consumer via phone on March 18,2013 after judgment had been awarded to Credit Services by the court. A complete breakdown of all amounts due on the judgment were
explained to the consumer at that time. I offered a payment plan option which was refused by the
consumer, as the consumer was at that time disputing the total balance due. I explained that no discount was available, that the full balance needed to be paid per the default judgment entered. The check was written at Fred Meyer on
March 12,2012. When the check remained unpaid,
Fred Meyer assigned it to our agency on July
18, 2012. When the check continued to remain
unpaid and we received no response to our collection efforts, the lawsuit was filed in
December, 2012. At this time no discount is
available on the judgment. If the consumer wishes to obtain legal advice, she/he must contact their own legal counsel. Credit Services of Oregon is prevented by law to give legal advice. At this time, the full balance of the
judgment remains unpaid. If the consumer wishes to again discuss these issues she *** contact me at either of the below tollfree numbers.

Sincerely,

******** ****************
VP, Collection Division Supervisor
Credit Services of Oregon, Inc.
Tollfree # XXX-XXX-XXXX.
My personal company tollfree # XXX-XXX-XXXX

Complaint Resolution: Company addressed the complaint issues. The consumer failed to acknowledge acceptance to BBB.

10/14/2013Billing / Collection Issues
11/13/2012Billing / Collection Issues
08/07/2012Problems with Product / Service
Page 1 of 2
03/21/2012Billing / Collection Issues

Industry Comparison| Chart

Collection Agencies, Screening - Background & Employment, Credit Reporting Agencies, Billing Service

Additional Information

top
BBB file opened: 08/05/1991Business started: 03/01/1956New Owner Date: 05/01/2005
Licensing

This company is in an industry that may require licensing, bonding or registration in order to lawfully do business. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Division of Finance & Corporate Securities
350 Winter St NE Rm 410
Salem, OR97301-3881
(503) 378-4140
http://www.cbs.state.or.us/dfcs

Type of Entity

Corporation

Incorporated: March 1956, OR

Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Mary Inscore (President)Customer Contact: Ms Dollie O'Neill (Complaint Manager)
Business Category

Collection Agencies, Screening - Background & Employment, Credit Reporting Agencies, Billing Service

Alternate Business Names
Kency Credit Service, Credit Services of Oregon, Credit Services Northwest, Medical Services, Receivables Management
Industry Tips
A Poor Credit History Impacts More Than Credit; BBBTips Advise How to Improve Your Credit Report
BBB Teams with Equifax to Help Military Families Guard their Credit
Consumers Have New Protection Against Identity Theft
Medical Billing Opportunities
What are Fair Debt Collection Practices?

Map & Directions

Map & Directions

Address for CSO Financial, Inc.

1229 SE Stephens St

Roseburg, OR 97470-4823

To | From

Find a LocationX
Or, display all locations
Industry Comparison ChartX

The information in the table below represents an industry comparison of businesses which are of the same relative size. This is based on BBB's database of businesses located in Alaska, Oregon & Western Washington. Businesses may engage in more than one type of business. The percent of time the business engages in a type of business is not accounted for. There is no known industry standard for the number of complaints a business can expect. The volume of business and number of transactions may have a bearing on the number of complaints received by BBB.

*CSO Financial, Inc. is in this range.

X

Types of Complaints Handled by BBB

BBB handles the following types of complaints between businesses and their customers so long as they are not, or have not been, litigated:

  • Advertising or Sales
  • Billing or Collection
  • Problems with Products or Services
  • Delivery
  • Guarantee or Warranty

We do not handle workplace disputes, discrimination claims or claims about the quality of health or legal services.

X

Additional Phone Numbers

  • (541) 259-3141
  • (541) 687-7542
X

Additional Email Addresses

X

BBB Complaint Process

Your complaint will be forwarded to the company within two business days. The company will be asked to respond within 14 days, and if a response is not received, a second request will be made. You will be notified of the company's response when we receive it (or notified that we received no response). Complaints are usually closed within 30 business days.

X

BBB began including complaint response text in BBB Business Reviews on July 15, 2013. This includes all complaints filed electronically that meet our reporting guidelines.

X

What is BBB Advertising Review?

BBB promotes truth in advertising by contacting advertisers whose claims conflict with the BBB Code of Advertising. These claims come to our attention from our internal review of advertising, consumer complaints and competitor challenges. BBB asks advertisers to prove their claims, change ads to make offers more clear to consumers, and remove misleading or deceptive statements.

X

What government actions does BBB report on?

BBB reports on known significant government actions involving business' marketplace conduct.

X

About BBB Business Review Content and Services

Some Better Business Bureaus offer additional content and services in BBB Business Reviews. The additional content and services are typically regional in nature or, in some cases, a new product or service that is being tested prior to a more general release. Not all enhanced content and services are available at all Better Business Bureaus.

X

Thank you for your feedback.

Help us improve by taking our survey.

X

What is a BBB Business Review?

We offer free reviews on businesses that include background, licensing, consumer experience and other information such as governmental actions that is known to BBB. These reviews are provided for businesses that are BBB accredited and also for businesses that are not BBB accredited.

X

BBB Reporting Policy

As a matter of policy, BBB does not endorse any product, service or business.

BBB Business Reviews are provided solely to assist you in exercising your own best judgment. Information in this BBB Business Review is believed reliable but not guaranteed as to accuracy.

BBB Business Reviews generally cover a three-year reporting period. BBB Business Reviews are subject to change at any time.