This business is not BBB accredited.

Once Upon a Child

Phone: (360) 253-7742 Fax: (360) 253-5818 11505 NE 4th Plain Rd # D3, Vancouver, WA 98662 http://www.onceuponachildvancouverwa.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers children's clothing, furniture and toys resale services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Once Upon a Child include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 2
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Once Upon a Child
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 26, 2011 Business started: 03/01/1995 Business started locally: 03/01/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.dor.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985
bls@dor.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mrs. Deb Weimer, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Deb Weimer, Owner
Business Category

Childrens & Infants Wear - Retail Furniture - Childrens Toys - Retail

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 10am - 8pm
Saturday 9:30am - 6pm
Sunday 11am - 5pm

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11505 NE 4th Plain Rd # D3

    Vancouver, WA 98662 (360) 253-7742

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

9/11/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: My granddaughter's mother went to Once upon a child to sell some clothing and a rocker. She has done it before so she can get her some new clothes since she is growing fast. When she went in this time they said they would contact her when they go through it all. This was on Aug. 24th. On Aug 25th they called and left a message with my son that they had a quote and she went in before she went to work. They gave her a quote only for the clothes and she asked about the rocker and they said they declined that and since she didn't pick it back up they donated it. She was confused and left it at that. I didn't see her till I got off of work today the 26th and she told me what had happened. So I called and I was told usually they aren't suppose to leave the store for big items and they have a certain amount of time to pick up the item up if declined and I asked how long and they said a 24 hour period. My daughter inlaw said she does not remember them telling her that she couldn't leave because her plan was to wait for it anyway but they said it was going to take awhile they would call. So we decided to go in and get a copy of the contract and it does not say 24 hours the contract states: I own the items I have brought in to sell. I will return for my quote by the end of the day contact is attempted by Once Upon a child. If I do not return within the allotted time; the items Once Upon a Child wishes to purchase will be paid by store credit (available for 30 days) with the items refused (and the containers) donated to a non-profit group. Once upon a child is not responsible for lost or stolen items. So Once upon a child did not contact her till 8-25 so by the contract it does not say anything about big items would be donated the same day it was dropped off. She was there on the 25th and the item was already gone. So it was not even 24 hours and they gave it away or sold it. And she did contact them by going in on the 25th the same day they contacted her so she.

Desired Settlement: Its not the issue of it being donated, the issue is we don't know if it was donated and she didn't get a chance to take her item back. I am making this complaint for her because she is a young mother trying to do the right thing and do it on her own and when you have a company that takes advantage of that it is sickening. And than having to go in and deal with an employee who is trying to make it look like you are stupid doesn't make the situation any easier to deal with. This employee had a cocky attitude and should not be a key holder I have worked in guest service all my life and that attitude made it look like there was something else going on. This employee was looking at her saying, maybe you should had said something yesterday, with attitude. This is a business and the employees there don't act like they are key holders to that business. I have a call in to a friend at *** to see if items were picked up on the 24th or the 25th. She wants to be paid for her item that they sold.

Business Response: Looking into our records, this customer has sold to us before, in June 2015. This customer brought in a large item, as well as a bag of clothes.  As we do not assume that just because a customer has sold to us before, we communicate the process each time.  We requested that she stay in the store while we process the large item, and we would look at the clothes in a separate transaction.  She indicated that she understood.  This is typical in this situation, to avoid congestion behind the counter. We indicated to her that we would write her name on the white board when we were finished.  It was explained by an experienced employee, reminding her of the process for large items.  The employee initialled the form that the customer understood  that she needed to stay in store.

When we were investigating the Rock n Play Sleeper, we found that we could not purchase it.  However, the customer had left the store.  Therefore we donated the Rock n Play Sleeper to the charity that we work with the next morning before we opened.  Again, this is a normal part of the process.  We record all donations in a log at the time of donation.

When the customer came in to retrieve her quote on the clothes (this took an extra day, as it is our busy season), she asked about the Rock n Play Sleeper, and the employee reminded her of the process, and explained that we donated it to the ***.  We offered to give her the phone number so she may call and re-claim it, but she declined, indicating to the employees that she was okay with the process.

Our customers sign a contract, which is verbally communicated as well, that they will return the same day that we contact them when a quote is ready.  For large items, that contact is made by use of the white board.  For all other items, it is typically by phone call.  I am unsure where the 24 hours statement comes from.  I can only guess that due to communication between several parties on the customer's behalf, it was inferred.

Although we regret the experience the customer encountered, in investigation, each step of the process was followed correctly.  Unfortunately we cannot pay for an item we declined to purchase and had been donated, per our policy.

10/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 02, 2013 my wife brought some clothes into this business to sell. She was told to come back two (2) days later and receive payment for the clothes. On September 04, 2013 my wife returned to the business and was issued a check for $37.45 (check ******* The check was signed by *** ******. This issued check was returned to us indicating that it was written on a closed account. After numerous phone calls and a fifteen (15) day demand to pay letter we have still not received payment.

Desired Settlement: At this time I am seeking the original $37.45 that I am due, plus $10.00 (a total of $47.45)to cover postage and fees associated with this bad check. If I am not provided with this I will be forced to file a lawsuit and ask for the maximum amount available to me by law.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/10/10) */ On September 9, 2013, Once Upon A Child was a victim of check fraud on the bank account from which we pay our customers for items that we purchase. After much discussion with the police, and the Credit Union, it was decided that we immediately needed to close this account. As there were over 300 checks still open on that account, there was no feasible way to contact each customer to notify them of this issue. We developed a process, and script to communicate with each customer as they called or came into the store. We also developed a letter to provide to the customer to present to their banks, if charges were incurred for this issue. We immediately, upon proof of the check and bank fees, reimbursed each customer 100% of all monies owed, in cash. Since that time, we have been working on a cash only basis with our customers. On September 22nd, we received the demand to pay letter. We tried three times by phone, to contact the customer, but only reached a voicemail box, that was not identified by name. For security purposes, we kept the voice mails left rather vague, as we could not confirm whom the voicemail box belonged to. We did not receive a response, so we drafted a letter, explaining what had happened, as it was claimed we wrote this 'bad' check knowingly, on a closed account. We also requested that on their next visit, they simply bring the check with them, and we would be happy to reimburse them for what was owed. On October 8th, in the afternoon, the store key person received a call from this customer, angry and demanding. The customer hung up on her, after demanding that the store owner will call him back. I returned that call on the morning of the 9th, and spoke to the customer personally. Although requested, I explained that I would not, due to security reasons, drive to his house and replace the check. We did agree that I would send a money order for the amount of $37.45. This was mailed by11:00 am on the 9th. The customer agreed to call me to confirm delivery when the money order is received.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Once Upon a Child
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)