This business is not BBB accredited.

Once Upon a Child

Phone: (360) 253-7742 Fax: (360) 253-5818 11505 NE 4th Plain Rd # D3, Vancouver, WA 98662 http://www.onceuponachildvancouverwa.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers children's clothing, furniture and toys resale services.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Once Upon a Child include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Once Upon a Child
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 26, 2011 Business started: 03/01/1995 Business started locally: 03/01/1995
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Washington Department of Revenue
6500 Linderson Way SW Fl 1, Tumwater WA 98501
http://www.dor.wa.gov
Phone Number: (800) 451-7985
bls@dor.wa.gov

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mrs. Deb Weimer, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mrs. Deb Weimer, Owner
Business Category

Childrens & Infants Wear - Retail Furniture - Childrens Toys - Retail

Hours of Operation
Monday - Friday 10am - 8pm
Saturday 9:30am - 6pm
Sunday 11am - 5pm

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    11505 NE 4th Plain Rd # D3

    Vancouver, WA 98662 (360) 253-7742

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

10/30/2013 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: On September 02, 2013 my wife brought some clothes into this business to sell. She was told to come back two (2) days later and receive payment for the clothes. On September 04, 2013 my wife returned to the business and was issued a check for $37.45 (check ******* The check was signed by *** ******. This issued check was returned to us indicating that it was written on a closed account. After numerous phone calls and a fifteen (15) day demand to pay letter we have still not received payment.

Desired Settlement: At this time I am seeking the original $37.45 that I am due, plus $10.00 (a total of $47.45)to cover postage and fees associated with this bad check. If I am not provided with this I will be forced to file a lawsuit and ask for the maximum amount available to me by law.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/10/10) */ On September 9, 2013, Once Upon A Child was a victim of check fraud on the bank account from which we pay our customers for items that we purchase. After much discussion with the police, and the Credit Union, it was decided that we immediately needed to close this account. As there were over 300 checks still open on that account, there was no feasible way to contact each customer to notify them of this issue. We developed a process, and script to communicate with each customer as they called or came into the store. We also developed a letter to provide to the customer to present to their banks, if charges were incurred for this issue. We immediately, upon proof of the check and bank fees, reimbursed each customer 100% of all monies owed, in cash. Since that time, we have been working on a cash only basis with our customers. On September 22nd, we received the demand to pay letter. We tried three times by phone, to contact the customer, but only reached a voicemail box, that was not identified by name. For security purposes, we kept the voice mails left rather vague, as we could not confirm whom the voicemail box belonged to. We did not receive a response, so we drafted a letter, explaining what had happened, as it was claimed we wrote this 'bad' check knowingly, on a closed account. We also requested that on their next visit, they simply bring the check with them, and we would be happy to reimburse them for what was owed. On October 8th, in the afternoon, the store key person received a call from this customer, angry and demanding. The customer hung up on her, after demanding that the store owner will call him back. I returned that call on the morning of the 9th, and spoke to the customer personally. Although requested, I explained that I would not, due to security reasons, drive to his house and replace the check. We did agree that I would send a money order for the amount of $37.45. This was mailed by11:00 am on the 9th. The customer agreed to call me to confirm delivery when the money order is received.