This business is not BBB accredited.

Web Steel Buildings

Phone: (800) 782-7742 View Additional Phone Numbers 37396 Ruben Ln, Sandy, OR 97055 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.websteel.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers steel building manufacturing.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Web Steel Buildings include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Web Steel Buildings include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Web Steel Buildings
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 30, 1990 Business started: 03/15/1989 Business started locally: 03/15/1989 Business incorporated 04/12/1989 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rob Boaz, Owner Ms. Mary Anne Sumpter, HR
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rob Boaz, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Mary Anne Sumpter, HR
Business Category

Buildings - Metal Buildings - Pre - Cut, Prefab & Modular - Dealers Manufacturers & Producers

Alternate Business Names
Web Steel Sales Inc

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    37396 Ruben Ln

    Sandy, OR 97055 (503) 668-3267 (800) 782-7742

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/22/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Plan fee of $4,302.00 was hand delivered with the sales agreement to Web Steel on August 26, 2014. Plans were to take 2 weeks. I received them on October 17, 2014. This is 8 weeks, 3 days. Fabrication fee of $8,604.00 was mailed on November 3, 2014. Fabrication was to take 4 weeks. This eventually took over 12 weeks. Web Steel informed me that fabrication was complete and complete delivery was to occur on January 31, 2015; however, when the shipment arrived, it was missing about $2,000 worth of materials. Many parts were wrong and/or damaged. There was no insulation, and the shipment was missing some 2x8, bolts, wood lags, and concrete anchors. I attempted to contact Web Steel and could not get a hold of them for 10 days after delivery. I was able to talk to the Finance Executive, but could not talk to the owner whom I have been trying to contact for several months now. The project was grossly late in all areas, and I have yet to receive all the components. There are also issues with the quality of work. Many of the joists were bent. Some tabs were welded to the incorrect side of the beams. Tabs were missing altogether, and they labeled the beams backwards which cost me a lot of time. In addition to timeliness and quality issues, I have had many p***lems in the area of communication. The sales rep seldom calls me back; instead, he sends me an email to call him. Throughout the process, I have attempted to contact the owner, ***, to work out a discount. It has taken 16 days and a canceled check before he finally answered the phone when I called. In this conversation, *** expressed he does not care about the homeowner or me, the contractor. He threatened to file a lien against the homeowner and to take me to court. He refuses to offer any discount for improperly labeled, damaged, and incorrectly fabricated products.

Desired Settlement: I want a $4,600 deducted from the final payment for the damaged doors and missing insulation. In addition, I want a $3,000 discount on the incorrect materials received.

Business Response:

The following is our response to the referenced Complaint:

 

 

Please advise the complainant that he has sabotaged any chance we had of achieving an amicable settlement. The complainant owes us $4,264 and unless that total is received in our office by next Friday, March 6th, we will sue him for breach of contract for the entire contract balance of $8,604. And we will perfect the lien on his customer’s property to further protect our interests. We are prepared to ignore the remaining $4,540 for returned or non-delivered goods only if the complainant satisfies his obligation to us by the stated date.

 

It strikes us as more than a little duplicitous that the complainant would accept delivery of goods, put a stop on his check payment, and then complain to the BBB that we are the bad guys.

 

The complainant’s actions might even be fraudulent.

 

I believe it would be in the complainant’s best interests to visit the Oregon Revised Statutes 30.071.

 

This will be our final communication on this matter.

 

 

Regards,

 

****** ****

 

 

 

*** **** | Web Steel Buildings Northwest, LLC

 

* ************ * ************ * ************

************* | ***** ***** ****, Sandy, Oregon 97055

 


Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
Web Steel has failed to address the issues. I was given an ultimatum rather than a solution.

Sincerely,

1/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: When we purchased our Web Steel building from salesman, ************, he assured us that the materials needed for trimming in the four windows and two vents would be included in our contract price. I returned to the Sandy, Oregon office on August 20th to make sure that our order was exactly as we had discussed on July 12th and that****** knew the exact sizes and placement of the windows we had purchased. Unfortunately, I did not get copies of the documents I signed that day and though I have requested them repeatedly by phone and e-mail from three different people in the company I have not been able to get my copies. When our builders started constructing the building we purchased they informed us that the materials necessary for installing the trim were not in the packages. I immediately tried to contact our salesman,******, but he was unavailable due to a family crisis. Then both my husband and I spoke with *** trying to settle the issue. I also e-mailed the woman that I had made the final payment to at Web Steel,***************** and asked her to please figure out the problem. I received an apology for the confusion and an assurance that trim packages should be "very inexpensive" since she had not specifically charged me for it and I could not get the paperwork showing it was included. We ended up having our contractors replace those materials at an additional cost of $200 so that the building could be finished. I sent a final e-mail to***************** on September 13 but there has been no further communication received.

Desired Settlement: A refund of $200 for the materials that we had to have the contractors purchase, copies of the three documents ordering the manufacture and trim of our building I signed on August 20th and an apology!

Business Response: Before I offer my response to the complaint filed by ******* *****, please know that I protest the BBB's refusal to identify the complainant, as well as their refusal to allow us to identify our accuser. ***** ** ***** (hereinafter referred to as 'customer') is allowed to identify us by name, thereby devaluing our reputation in the marketplace, but we are not allowed to refer to her by name? That practice is blatantly unfair and for the record I protest.

Now, also for the record, we would be happy to send the BBB a copy of the Sales Agreement signed by the customer and her husband on July 12th of this year. On it you would note there is no reference to trimmed openings for windows. The only trimmed opening mentioned is for an entry door, and the customer paid for and received those materials. There was discussion between the customer and our sales representative about adding material for trimmed openings for windows in the future, but they were not included at that time. Their agreement was that it would be discussed later when the customer had decided the number and dimension of the trimmed openings for windows.

Additionally, we would be happy to provide the BBB with copies of the two documents signed by the customer during her visit to our facility August 20th. The first of these, the Building Approval Checklist, addresses customer responsibilities, fabrication and shipping, fabrication payment, and choice of colors. There is no reference to, nor mention of, trimmed openings for windows. The second of the two documents, the Jobsite Information Sheet, is specific to delivery of components. Again, there is no reference to, nor mention of, trimmed openings for windows.

Contrary to the customer's assertion, there is no signed paperwork validating her claim that she ordered material for trimmed openings for windows. We did not charge her for material for trimmed openings for windows. And she did not pay us for material for trimmed openings for windows. I challenge her to provide one compelling reason why we would ignore an opportunity to generate additional revenue.

I have spoken with the contractors who built the customer's building and they have informed me that they installed four (4) windows in that building. The minimum we would have charged for material only for those four trimmed openings is $56 each, or $224 total. If they paid only $200 for material and the labor to install windows, then they got a bargain indeed.

Also, for the record, and as I said earlier, there was in fact discussion between the customer and our sales representative about adding material for trimmed openings for windows. The customer was to provide the number and size of windows for which we were to provide trim. To my knowledge, that additional conversation never took place. There is no paperwork, change order, parts order, addendum, nothing, to substantiate her claim. We didn't charge the customer for material and the customer didn't pay for material. I challenge the customer to show that she paid additional moneys over and above the original contract price.

I am struggling to understand how we are at fault here.

You do have my permission to publish this response providing you publish it in its entirety.

Respectfully submitted,




Rob B***, General Manager
Web Steel Buildings Northwest, LLC
Web Steel of Washington, LLC

Consumer Response: I apologize for the long delay in answering Mr. B***'s response to my complaint. As a Marine Corps veteran November is a very busy month for me and resulted in illness before all the events were completed.

I understand that your office has closed this case but I do wish that you understand that we are NOT satisfied by Mr. B***'s response, especially as at the time he wrote to you ******* ***** of ** ********* ************, who assembled our building was out of the country until November 1st - so just who did he speak with?

I could argue almost every line of his letter and point out that the salesman, Randy J*****, called me but would not leave a message regarding this case before Mr. B*** wrote. I did call Randy back and explained everything to him in detail but none of that discussion was included in Mr. B***'s rant, nor have any of the missing three (not two) documents been provided to me.

We paid Web Steel of Washington $8, 253.05 (including tax) for our building. The myriad of other expenses to have the building placed and assembled were not explained well. We encountered our first delay in trying to get the entire kit we had ordered and paid for. The kit was not delivered to DP Northwest on time and they had to make two trips to Web Steel just to get the basic parts.

The missing trim caused another large delay in the assembling of the building as the ***** brothers were forced to leave the property to obtain the needed materials and then return on another day. Far from being "a bargain indeed" as Mr. B*** claims, this one issue has ensured that we will never recommend anyone to his company, we have lost all faith with Web Steel and have spent hours trying to find some satisfaction!

When I wrote my final e-mail to Web Steel on September 13th (addressed to Mary Ann S******) I let them know that if Web Steel did not wish to solve the problem I would report the issue to the Better Business Bureau. They did not seem to care as there was no response to that letter. How could Mr. B*** be so very angry with me for doing exactly what I stated I would do?

It is my humble opinion that anyone within the business world would have more correctly assumed that the $200 in question would have been much better spent trying to solve the problem and have a returning customer and one who would be willing to recommend my product to all of their friends, family and associates rather than warning them against me.

There is no way that Mr. B*** can argue that I was in his office on August 20th. If we did not discuss the windows needing trim, how would I know that they required extra vertical lumber bracing? I watched Randy make the notes on his own sheet as he figured what would be needed! I do not know what he did with those notes but do know that he faced a very severe family crisis soon after that visit so many details were undoubtedly lost during that time.

Why would I drive from La Center, Washington to Sandy, Oregon (94 miles round trip) just to deliver a check or color choice that could be mailed for $0.48 unless I had information that I wanted to be sure would be completely understood and applied correctly? When I called Randy J***** to let him know I would be coming out I explained that I had the window measurements and wanted to make sure that we understood where the windows were going. In fact, it was during my visit with Randy that he pointed out that my original understanding of the window placement would not work as the window would have crossed the center steel support!

Mr. B*** has made his position quite clear and I no longer expect anything from Web Steel other than more animosity, falsehoods and righteous indignation. If such is that stance he wishes to take there is little that you or I can do about it but I certainly will not be recommending this company to anyone else!

Sincerely,

***** ** *****
(NOT ******** as the Web Steel paperwork continued to show even after we requested a name correction!)

Business Response: I stand by my statement of October 22 of this year. ***** ** *****'s claim is ridiculous.

Respectfully submitted,

Rob B***, General Manager
Web Steel Buildings Northwest, LLC
Web Steel of Washington, LLC

Consumer Response: (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.)
It seems that Mr. B*** feels that anything may be promised or guaranteed as long as it isn't actually a line item on the invoice it cannot be expected to be delivered. That is one reality, I chose to live in another and expect the same from those I do business with.

We will continue to warn people against dealing with this company and thank the Better Business Bureau for their efforts to find a resolution. Mr. B*** has made it quite clear that no resolution is possible.

Sincerely,
****** and ***** *****

10/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Web Steel to provide a quote on a metal building. I was told by representatives of the company that they had spoken with the planning department of the county and that my project might need a non-reflective paint on the roof of the building and gave me an associated cost estimate, but told me that the project would be approved. Based on this information from the company, I decided to move forward and paid them a deposit on the project. Upon submitting plans to the building department, i was told that the entire building would need to be painted with a rubberized paint, which would cost approximately 50% of the entire project cost. This change makes the choice of a metal building un-economic. I had a conversation with the representative of Web Steel that i had been dealing with and offered to cover their costs associated with plan preparation, etc and asked for a refund of any additional amount. He said this seemed reasonable, but that he needed to speak with his boss. Several weeks went by and i never heard back. I have called and emailed asking to speak with the boss and/or for a refund to be issued. To date, i have not gotten any response. I have tried to be reasonable with the company, but they seem to want to take advantage of the situation and make money off a situation where they are not providing goods or services to a customer.

Desired Settlement: i would like to get the portion of my project deposit above the company's cost of plan preparation refunded. which i estimate to be approx $1750 based on conversations with the company.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/10/02) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ****, General Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@wsbnw.com I fully intend to respond to *** **********'s complaint but will not be able to do so by October 3rd. He and I have communicated briefly by email and I believe that ultimately we will arrive at a mutually agreeable solution. Whether or not we do, please know that I do intend to respond to his complaints so our response will become part of the public record. Sincerely, *** ****, General Manager Web Steel Buildings Northwest, LLC Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 12, 2013/10/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/10/09) */ Please be advised that Web Steel Buildings Northwest, LLC, and *** ***** ********** have amicably resolved our differences. Please confirm in writing once you have verified our claim. Sincerely, *** ****, General Manager Web Steel Buildings Northwest, LLC Web Steel of Washington, LLC


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Web Steel Buildings
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)