This business is not BBB accredited.

Web Steel Buildings

Phone: (800) 782-7742 View Additional Phone Numbers 37396 Ruben Ln, Sandy, OR 97055 View Additional Email Addresses http://www.websteel.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers steel building manufacturing.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that lowered the rating for Web Steel Buildings include:

  • 1 complaint(s) filed against business that were not resolved

Factors that raised the rating for Web Steel Buildings include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 3 complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

3 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 1
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 3

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Web Steel Buildings
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 30, 1990 Business started: 03/15/1989 Business started locally: 03/15/1989 Business incorporated 04/12/1989 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Mr. Rob Boaz, Owner Ms. Mary Anne Sumpter, HR
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Rob Boaz, Owner
Customer Contact: Ms. Mary Anne Sumpter, HR
Business Category

Buildings - Metal Buildings - Pre - Cut, Prefab & Modular - Dealers Manufacturers & Producers

Alternate Business Names
Web Steel Sales Inc

Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    37396 Ruben Ln

    Sandy, OR 97055 (503) 668-3267 (800) 782-7742

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

5/22/2015 Delivery Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: Plan fee of $4,302.00 was hand delivered with the sales agreement to Web Steel on August 26, 2014. Plans were to take 2 weeks. I received them on October 17, 2014. This is 8 weeks, 3 days. Fabrication fee of $8,604.00 was mailed on November 3, 2014. Fabrication was to take 4 weeks. This eventually took over 12 weeks. Web Steel informed me that fabrication was complete and complete delivery was to occur on January 31, 2015; however, when the shipment arrived, it was missing about $2,000 worth of materials. Many parts were wrong and/or damaged. There was no insulation, and the shipment was missing some 2x8, bolts, wood lags, and concrete anchors. I attempted to contact Web Steel and could not get a hold of them for 10 days after delivery. I was able to talk to the Finance Executive, but could not talk to the owner whom I have been trying to contact for several months now. The project was grossly late in all areas, and I have yet to receive all the components. There are also issues with the quality of work. Many of the joists were bent. Some tabs were welded to the incorrect side of the beams. Tabs were missing altogether, and they labeled the beams backwards which cost me a lot of time. In addition to timeliness and quality issues, I have had many p***lems in the area of communication. The sales rep seldom calls me back; instead, he sends me an email to call him. Throughout the process, I have attempted to contact the owner, ***, to work out a discount. It has taken 16 days and a canceled check before he finally answered the phone when I called. In this conversation, *** expressed he does not care about the homeowner or me, the contractor. He threatened to file a lien against the homeowner and to take me to court. He refuses to offer any discount for improperly labeled, damaged, and incorrectly fabricated products.

Desired Settlement: I want a $4,600 deducted from the final payment for the damaged doors and missing insulation. In addition, I want a $3,000 discount on the incorrect materials received.

Business Response:

The following is our response to the referenced Complaint:

 

 

Please advise the complainant that he has sabotaged any chance we had of achieving an amicable settlement. The complainant owes us $4,264 and unless that total is received in our office by next Friday, March 6th, we will sue him for breach of contract for the entire contract balance of $8,604. And we will perfect the lien on his customer’s property to further protect our interests. We are prepared to ignore the remaining $4,540 for returned or non-delivered goods only if the complainant satisfies his obligation to us by the stated date.

 

It strikes us as more than a little duplicitous that the complainant would accept delivery of goods, put a stop on his check payment, and then complain to the BBB that we are the bad guys.

 

The complainant’s actions might even be fraudulent.

 

I believe it would be in the complainant’s best interests to visit the Oregon Revised Statutes 30.071.

 

This will be our final communication on this matter.

 

 

Regards,

 

****** ****

 

 

 

*** **** | Web Steel Buildings Northwest, LLC

 

* ************ * ************ * ************

************* | ***** ***** ****, Sandy, Oregon 97055

 


Consumer Response:  
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:
Web Steel has failed to address the issues. I was given an ultimatum rather than a solution.

Sincerely,

1/23/2014 Problems with Product/Service
10/17/2013 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: I contacted Web Steel to provide a quote on a metal building. I was told by representatives of the company that they had spoken with the planning department of the county and that my project might need a non-reflective paint on the roof of the building and gave me an associated cost estimate, but told me that the project would be approved. Based on this information from the company, I decided to move forward and paid them a deposit on the project. Upon submitting plans to the building department, i was told that the entire building would need to be painted with a rubberized paint, which would cost approximately 50% of the entire project cost. This change makes the choice of a metal building un-economic. I had a conversation with the representative of Web Steel that i had been dealing with and offered to cover their costs associated with plan preparation, etc and asked for a refund of any additional amount. He said this seemed reasonable, but that he needed to speak with his boss. Several weeks went by and i never heard back. I have called and emailed asking to speak with the boss and/or for a refund to be issued. To date, i have not gotten any response. I have tried to be reasonable with the company, but they seem to want to take advantage of the situation and make money off a situation where they are not providing goods or services to a customer.

Desired Settlement: i would like to get the portion of my project deposit above the company's cost of plan preparation refunded. which i estimate to be approx $1750 based on conversations with the company.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2013/10/02) */ Contact Name and Title: *** ****, General Manager Contact Phone: XXX-XXX-XXXX Contact Email: ******@wsbnw.com I fully intend to respond to *** **********'s complaint but will not be able to do so by October 3rd. He and I have communicated briefly by email and I believe that ultimately we will arrive at a mutually agreeable solution. Whether or not we do, please know that I do intend to respond to his complaints so our response will become part of the public record. Sincerely, *** ****, General Manager Web Steel Buildings Northwest, LLC Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 12, 2013/10/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2013/10/09) */ Please be advised that Web Steel Buildings Northwest, LLC, and *** ***** ********** have amicably resolved our differences. Please confirm in writing once you have verified our claim. Sincerely, *** ****, General Manager Web Steel Buildings Northwest, LLC Web Steel of Washington, LLC