BBB Accredited Business since

West Coast Shoe Company

Additional Locations

Phone: (503) 543-7114 View Additional Phone Numbers 52828 NW Shoe Factory Ln, Scappoose, OR 97056 http://www.wescoboots.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers boot manufacturing services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that West Coast Shoe Company meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for West Coast Shoe Company include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 1 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on West Coast Shoe Company
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: September 21, 1998 Business started: 11/01/1918 in OR Business started locally: 11/01/1918 Business incorporated 07/29/1933 in OR
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Corporation

Business Management
Ms. Roberta Shoemaker, CEO
Contact Information
Principal: Ms. Roberta Shoemaker, CEO
Business Category

Boots Shoes - Custom Made Shoes - Retail Shoe Stores (NAICS: 448210)

Products & Services

West Coast Shoe Company sells the following brand(s): WESCO

Method(s) of Payment
VISA,MC,DISCOVER,AMEX,CHECK,MONDY ORDER,CASH
Alternate Business Names
Wesco

Additional Locations

  • 52828 NW Shoe Factory Ln

    Scappoose, OR 97056 (503) 543-7114 (800) 326-2711

  • PO Box 607

    Scappoose, OR 97056

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/2/2016 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: In Feb, 2015, I contracted with a Wesco dealer for an expensive pair of custom boots. I sent two custom fit forms to WESCO in Feb and Mar 2015. I spoke with Pete and Jaime concerning this order several times. The boots arrived. My mistake of having the boots made too tall. I contacted my dealer and it was going to cost $50 for alteration. So paid. I shipped the original boots back to Wesco in Aug 2015. In late Sept 2015, I rec'd a brand new pair, this time marked in the collar of boot 7 1/2E. WRONG! I wear an 8 1/2 D or 9 D today. Wesco has sold be boots in this size. I contacted my dealer who was getting my fitting forms. Wesco furnished him one from 1989, not either of the ones sent in 2015. I recontacted the dealer and old him I can even get my foot in the boots. These were not my original boots. Meanwhile, the dealer closed up shop, close his website, and has ceased any and all communications. I am leave to fend for myself. I contact Roberta S********, president of Wesco to resolve this matter. She sent me an email basically telling me the boots I have presently or the one made originally There is no way. The original boots had to size or date stamped in the boot collar. These newer ones do, with the size of 7 1/2 E and date stamped of 38th week of 2015. That is Sept 2015. Ms S******** has basically told me she is not going to make good on her product and I am not stuck with a pair of $1,600.00 boots that are useless to me. I have pages of documents and communications with the dealer and Wesco. I sent Ms S******** a fax on 16 Dec without her regard to answer. I have resent on Jan 04, 2016, to no avail as well as sending her and several of her employees an email to communicate by the end of business on Jan 6th, 2015 or I would take evasive action. This complaint is one of several actions I plan on taking unless WESCO and its principles make good on their responsibility.

Desired Settlement: I wish I have a new pair of boots made from the custom fit forms that were sent to Wesco earlier in 2015, but three inches shorter, built on the proper last which the original ones were, size 8 1/2D or 9D.

Business Response:

Below is the email we sent to Jeff at Work Source, the dealer whom Mr. ***** purchased his boots from. This was in response to Mr. ******* complaint. Please note in the 2nd paragraph, 4th sentence, we noted that there was no work performed to the foot portion of Mr. ******* boots. We only worked on the upper portion of the boots.

In addition to the email below, we are including 3 attachments: Mr. ******* foot measure, leg measurements and request for taller boots (then to shorten them). There was no complaint regarding the foot portion of his boots.

Lastly, we rarely make a tall boot (over the knee). However, we did look through our order/production records to search whether or not a tall boot of this style was made during the time Mr. ******* boots were in the factory. The result of our search was we did not.

Roberta S********

President & CEO

West Coast Shoe Company

Jeff –

Regarding Mr. *****’ boots – his insinuation that we “changed” boots on him is ridiculous.  The measurements we received earlier this year, and built the boots to, sized to a 7½E.  I have included a copy of the measurements used to build the boots under ***** ***** 2015 Measure.  Even checking back to his original measure of 1989 he indicated a size 7 ½D; a copy of this is included under ***** ***** 1989 Measure.  At no time has Mr. ***** ever sized to anything larger than a 7 ½ in a Wesco boot and I am unsure where he came up with sizing of 8 ½ to 9.

Mr. ***** is correct that the 36” height he ordered was too tall for his needs.  Based upon the letter he sent back with the boots, we did an upper adjustment in height to his request at the standard charge.  As the eyelet placement was our error, we did correct them at no charge.  No adjustments were made to the foot portion of Mr. *****’ boots while work was being done to the upper portion.  As Mr. ***** failed to mention anything regarding the upper adjustment and eyelet replacement, can we assume that it is correct?

Wesco has fulfilled the orders as placed by Mr. ***** with Work Tough Play Tough.

Thank you,

Kim

Wesco

Consumer Response:


Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:

Sincerely,

***** *****

 

Please see my email to Wesco today concerning this matter:

 

In response to your response to the BBB, the measuring chart you say you used is dated February, 1989.  I had two fitting kits from Wesco here at my home that was used for my updated measurements of 11 months ago.  Where are those measuring chart today?  Those charts are the foot pattern and sizing that my "original" boots were lasted.  I am attaching photos of foot measurements of my feet today, the same that they were 11 months ago.  This measuring device is once that is used throughout the world, and I would believe the same in your showroom.  The measuring charts of 2015 were never furnished to Jeff G**** of Work Tough Play Tough, which he was supposedly trying to acquire when he closed shop.

 

Business Response:

Please refer to an attachment titled "***** ***** Request for Taller Boots - Then to Shorten" that was sent earlier in this complaint.

***** ******* original request to have the boots returned was to have the tops cut down to a shorter height. There was no mention regarding a foot size issue.

We did cut the tops down to his specifications and returned the boots. There was no other work completed on the boots.

 

***SUPPORTING DOCUMENTS REDACTED BY BBB***

Consumer Response:
Complaint: ********

I am rejecting this response because:   I stand on  my position, firm.  The boots returned to me WERE NOT the original boots.  PERIOD!  I can bring two other people who tried on the boots and the foot fit them perfect, and these that were sent back to me, neither can I get my foot in nor this other person.  With proper satisfactiom, I am moving forward with my next step.

Sincerely,

***** *****


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on West Coast Shoe Company
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)