This business is not BBB accredited.

Rock Soft Futon

Phone: (503) 236-0921 3200 SE Hawthorne Blvd, Portland, OR 97214 http://www.rocksoftfuton.com


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.


BBB Accreditation

This business is not BBB accredited.

Businesses are under no obligation to seek BBB accreditation, and some businesses are not accredited because they have not sought BBB accreditation.

To be accredited by BBB, a business must apply for accreditation and BBB must determine that the business meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses must pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that raised the rating for Rock Soft Futon include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 1 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

1 complaint closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 1
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 0
Problems with Product/Service 0
Total Closed Complaints 1

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Rock Soft Futon
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: April 05, 2000 Business started: 01/01/1989 Business started locally: 01/01/1989
Business Management
John Kashuba, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: John Kashuba, Owner
Business Category

Bedding


Additional Locations

  • THIS LOCATION IS NOT BBB ACCREDITED

    3200 SE Hawthorne Blvd

    Portland, OR 97214 (503) 236-0921

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

7/14/2014 Advertising/Sales Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: The stores website states that they make all their futons and frames right down the steet. That was the main reason we bought from them because it was a local product. When we brought it home I noticed the box said "made in Malaysia". I reviewed the product on facebook and the proprietor stated that only one of his many models is made locally and that we were supposed to infer that "made from imported hardwood" meaned frame in its entirety is imported. Very misleading in many ways. Here is the stores comment (several of their comments were deleted) I know of only one other futon store who makes their own futons and frames besides us....in the WHOLE COUNTRY! Who does what we do? Nobody! I was 20 years old when I made my first futon frame. That was over 25 years ago. As a matter of fact, from that day I decided to make the frames I could I've sold every one of thousands with a LIFETIME WARRANTY! I wanted to make the best and stand behind every one of them and that is how we operate today. Our products are in our store because of one reason only. They are the best we can find. No one makes as good of futons as we do.******* Futon Frames are not something we could make. They are much better. The******* Futon Frame line is only sold in Oregon in our store. We are proud to still be making and selling high quality futons in Portland. Seriously, futon quality has never been better, from the low to the high end. After twenty five years of futons I can say that what's in our store is the best in the nation. And it always has been. Another comment from proprietor To clarify, our exclusive line of******* Wall Hugger Futon Frames are not made by us but by******* Furniture! They are imported from Malaysia and are of the highest quality. Also, the line of futon frames we do make are made by us right down the street from the store as well as all of our futon mattresses! We sell great products, some we make, some we don't. All high quality and great prices! he states here that he does not make all locally, but does not on his website as I asked him.

Desired Settlement: Change his misleading website so people dont think they are buying a locally made product. Futon mattress is locally made and one of the fifteen frames is but his website states verbatim "we make our own futons and frames right down the street from the store and have been since 1989" FALSE ADVERTISING!

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 9, 2014/06/30) */ Hi. This is **** ******* at Rock Soft Futon Co. responding to a complaint by Mr. **** **********, case #XXXXXXXX. I think Mr. ********** has gone out of his way, the reason is not clear to me, to attempt to destroy a small business in good standing which has good ethics and sound business practices. My website says quite clearly that we make our own futons and frames. This is very true and not misleading! We have done this for OVER 25 YEARS! My website, just under that statement, says "We also carry ****** wall hugging frames and ******************* beds." Mr. ********** either didn't read that or refused to read it for some reason. He says we are "very misleading in many ways." But I can't see any instance where that could prove to be correct. Each photo of our frames we sell which we don't make is imported, thus our website says it's "made from imported wood," ie., the frames which are imported from Malaysia by ****** Furniture, one of our suppliers. We make 4 different futon frames in 3-4 different sizes which gives us a total of 12 different choices in those models, not one like he states I said. I have no idea where that came from. It seems to me that Mr. ********** chose to cherry pick the website. No one else has said anything about our website in the negative except Mr. **********. In fact, people tell us everyday how helpful our website is! No such attempt was or is taken by this company to "cover up" or "mislead" anyone. Quite the opposite! Mr. ********** never called the store to ask any questions about what is made where. He never even called to "complain." He went straight to a public forum, Facebook, and defamed me and my company and employees, attempting to destroy a local business all because he wasn't thorough enough in his website reading! It really burns me that he never called us after figuring us for misleading him. If you have a problem with a product or company you need to make contact with them, not take your concerns to a public forum, complain and accuse and then have your friends jump in and defame and accuse as well! It blows me away how this situation has unfolded. My website contains plenty to help some one make an informed decision about our products. It's pretty clear. Unless you choose not to read from one line to the next and make assumptions on your own that turn out to be incorrect. However, in the light of this situation I have no choice but re examine the website and possibly make changes to further clarify it so that nothing of this sort can happen again. Sincerely, **** *******, owner, Rock Soft Futon Co.