Are you the Owner of this Business? ×
BBB® Accredited Business Seal

Are you...?

If yes, click here to login.

Are you...?

BBB Accredited Business since

Xtreme Auto Repair

Phone: (541) 479-5455 Fax: (541) 479-4709 4040A Highland Ave, Grants Pass, OR 97526


BBB Business Reviews may not be reproduced for sales or promotional purposes.

Description

This company offers auto repair and maintenance services.


BBB Accreditation

A BBB Accredited Business since

BBB has determined that Xtreme Auto Repair meets BBB accreditation standards, which include a commitment to make a good faith effort to resolve any consumer complaints. BBB Accredited Businesses pay a fee for accreditation review/monitoring and for support of BBB services to the public.

BBB accreditation does not mean that the business' products or services have been evaluated or endorsed by BBB, or that BBB has made a determination as to the business' product quality or competency in performing services.


Reason for Rating

BBB rating is based on 13 factors. Get the details about the factors considered.

Factors that affect the rating for Xtreme Auto Repair include:

  • Length of time business has been operating
  • Complaint volume filed with BBB for business of this size
  • Response to 2 complaint(s) filed against business
  • Resolution of complaint(s) filed against business


Customer Complaints Summary Read complaint details

2 complaints closed with BBB in last 3 years | 0 closed in last 12 months
Complaint Type Total Closed Complaints
Advertising/Sales Issues 0
Billing/Collection Issues 0
Delivery Issues 0
Guarantee/Warranty Issues 1
Problems with Product/Service 1
Total Closed Complaints 2

Customer Reviews Summary Read customer reviews

0 Customer Reviews on Xtreme Auto Repair
Customer Experience Total Customer Reviews
Positive Experience 0
Neutral Experience 0
Negative Experience 0
Total Customer Reviews 0

Additional Information

BBB file opened: August 03, 2010 Business started: 07/01/2007 in OR Business started locally: 07/01/2007
Licensing, Bonding or Registration

This business is in an industry that may require professional licensing, bonding or registration. BBB encourages you to check with the appropriate agency to be certain any requirements are currently being met.

These agencies may include:

Oregon Secretary of State Corporations Division
255 Capitol St NE Ste 151, Salem OR 97310
http://www.sos.state.or.us
Phone Number: (503) 986-2200
corporation.division@state.or.us

Type of Entity

Sole Proprietorship

Business Management
Mr. Frank Miranda, Owner Ms. Robin Miranda, Owner
Contact Information
Principal: Mr. Frank Miranda, Owner
Business Category

Auto Repair & Service Auto Repair - Tune-Up Auto Repair - Maintenance Brake Service Transmissions - Automobile Auto Services - Oil & Lube Auto Diagnostic Service General Automotive Repair (NAICS: 811111)


Additional Locations

  • 4040A Highland Ave

    Grants Pass, OR 97526

X

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating Overview


BBB Customer Reviews Rating represents the customers opinions of the business. The Customer Review Rating is based on the number of positive, neutral and negative customer reviews posted that are calculated to produce a score.

Customer Review Experience Value
Positive Review 5 points per review
Neutral Review 3 points per review
Negative Review 1 point per review

BBB letter grades represent the BBB's opinion of the business. The BBB grade is based on BBB file information about the business. In some cases, a business' grade may be lowered if the BBB does not have sufficient information about the business despite BBB requests for that information from the business.
Details

BBB Letter Grade Scale

BBB Rating Value
A+ 5
A 4.66
A- 4.33
B+ 4
B 3.66
B- 3.33
C+ 3
C 2.66
C- 2.33
D+ 2
D 1.66
D- 1.33
F 1
NR -----
Star Rating scale

  Average Score
5 stars 5.00
4.5 stars 4.50-4.99
4 stars 4.00-4.49
3.5 stars 3.50-3.99
3 stars 3.00-3.49
2.5 stars 2.50-2.99
2 stars 2.00-2.49
1.5 stars 1.50-1.99
1 star 0-1.49

BBB Customer Review Rating plus BBB Rating is not a guarantee of a business' reliability or performance, and BBB recommends that consumers consider a business' BBB Rating and Customer Review Rating in addition to all other available information about the business. If the BBB Rating is NR then only Customer Reviews are used for the Star Rating.

Complaint Detail(s)

2/5/2015 Problems with Product/Service | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: on 4/24/14 interlock model ams2000 serial#7598 installed in car. I drove it next2 days. On 4/27/14 car would not start battery dead. I called ***** ******* explained situation, he said it had to be my battery and said interlock would not interfere with battery.My battery was only a year old. On 5/2/14 had to buy new battery cost $100.00.The car started that day with new battery.Following day car would not start it did not ho;d charge thereafter,unable o use car. 5/23/14 had to hand carry handset to calibration appt.***** still insisting it was my car causing battery to die.On 6/25/14 had to return for a new one,***** wanted to check my for fault at a cost to me, I told him my had never had a problem before, ***** co-owner said it could be in the interlock which was never checked.******** checked batteries and found them to be completely dead.7/23/14 had to once again had to hand carry handset for calibration.***** still insisting it was my car.On 7/28/14 had to return battery for new one.I made appt.On 7/29/14 at 10am with ***** to check car.When we got there all doors were locked but his vehicle was there but no *****. So I left my car anyway. When I returned to get car ***** had to removed interlock which put me in violation of order by D.M.V.I had new interlock installed by different company.I think ***** ******* is a bad business and tried to take advantage of me

Desired Settlement: I'm asking all money paid to be refunded. also 100.00 for battery,$59.95 for installation of new interlock and 59.95 for each calibration appt. atotal of 3 appt. and 44.02 for removal of interlock. receipts available upon request.

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 7, 2014/12/05) */ ****** ******* had a interlock installed on her car on 4/24/2014 she didnt have problems with her battery staying charged until may of 2014, she came in on may 28, 2014 with new battery she bought somewhere else and ***** (owner) installed it at no charge to her,we also replaced base unit.***** informed her that their was a dead cell in the new battery she purchased which was causing the interlock to not perform properly.made appt for her bring vehicle in to check elec. draws in system at that time her friend that came with her started cussing, calling us names and insisted we owed her and ordered us to drop everything and focus only on her car right now. told her that she needed to leave car for a couple of hours to check out. her friend was very beligerent and they took the car and left. we contacted ******** *************** owns the equipment for interock services) informed them what was taking place with this customer, and was advised by them to schedule appt. to remove equip. from vehicle.Equip was removed on 7/29/2014 no charge to customer. she did not pay an installation.she receives foodstamp assistance and because of the vouchers she was only charged 7.00 per month for 2 months.we nor ******** will not be paying for her new system or charges. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 9, 2014/12/15) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) My car never had a battery issue til ***** installed interlock.The cars existing battery was a year old.I was never told by anyone that base had been replaced or new battery had a dead cell.I called ***** on 04/2/14 to tell hin battery was dead.I did not take battery in til 05/02/14 because that when help was available to get car in to *****.I could not get ***** to check interlock device, he was insisant that it was my car.I knew history of car before I bought it,never had any issue at all.My friend did swear at him he told me to be there at 10;00am when I got to appt. he said I had to leave car, but I had a 10:00am appt scheduled by *****.She felt also that he was giving me the run around,I was never alone when I went in. On 05/23/14 I took car in with new battery.If he called ******** in may why wait til 07/29/14 to remove.I believe he removed system because he;s inept as mechanic and interlock installer.I finally had to get my senior advocate to make apt on 07/29/14, had 10:00am appt. that's when he removed interlock, he told my advocate that he was going to check electrical in vehicle, not remove system.He removed system without speaking to me.When he did so I was in DMV violation,and financially unable to have new system put in, I borrowed money from my advocate.Once the system was installed properly never had another battery issue.***** hooked to my radio but he went through area to install.New system was installed through drivers side of car on inside of car.I only went to ***** because **************** gave me the information regarding fees,So no I didn't pay installation nfee because that's part of food stamps discount. He accepted this agreement on food stamps discount,so why complain about it.I do have receipts and statement from my advocate.Had I known he was poor mechanic and really not what is called an interl9ock tech.I certainly would have gone somewhere real professionals work.Too much stress and financial burden.That's why he's resaponsible for not installing properly 7 Final Business Response /* (4000, 11, 2014/12/27) */ There really is no dispute here .the interlock system has been installed by ***** on hundreds of vehicles with no issues. ****** was never charged for any mechanical work and has no mechanical knowledge or experience to accuse our tech of being a poor mechanic. Plain and simple the system was not working with her vehicle or ignition system. System was removed for that reason and because she and her guest treated our staff beligerent and rude. We did not cause her to need an interlock. We were instructed by ******** to remove system from her vehicle the next time she was in which was in july of 2014, because of her behavior. She was also informed that she needed to get new system installed asap by another company or dmv would revoke her drivers licence. We or ******** ********* are not responsible for any charges she paid as we are not responsible for her DUII conviction.We have no problems with accepting foodstamp notes as many of ********s clients use them here. We also dont install through radio. They are installed through the starter and ignition. As stated before no monies will be paid to ****** *******. Complaint Response Date bumped because: Holiday Final Consumer Response /* (4200, 13, 2015/01/17) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) The issue is not my dui,it is the poor business practices of ***** *******. I was told by ***** ******* that they had installed the minterlock in this type car before and never had a problem.They probably didn't because it was installed properly or equipment was not faulty. ***** did not check interlock at any point, although ***** told me that "black box" on interlock could be faulty, this was said in the presense of my mother.I don't care who told him to remove system, a reputable business would have spoken to consumer.***** took responsibility to do the customer right when he accepted ******** contract.He is nothing more than a back yard mechanic who does not care about customer,all he wanted was more money. As I stated I have witnesses to how the car ran before I bought it and how it ran after his shoddy work.When I picked car up neither ***** or ***** said one work to me,so that statement is a falsehood as so was many other things said.

11/14/2014 Guarantee/Warranty Issues | Read Complaint Details
X

Additional Notes

Complaint: "*****", who claims to "Work" on transmissions is on the right side of the driveway after you pull into this Xtreme auto repair at *** ******** ave. It's just after the storage place on the left. ***** is a bait and switch artist. He told me that he rebuilt Ford explorer transmissions for $1850.00 all day with clutches and electric included. I took my 1998 For Explorer to him. 3 days later I visited the shop to check on my car. The Explorer was up on the rack with the transmission out and no where to be seen. It was the only car there. I told ***** it was a good thing I found him, a 1998 Explorer wasn't worth much more than $2000.00. He said yeah. I had given ***** $1100.00 dollars up front and expected no more than $2500 tops, total. ***** called after about a week and said the grand total was $4363.00. In what universe does $1850 turn into $4363.00. When I arrived after borrowing money and draining my bank account ***** had the audacity to tell me the Actual total was $5363.00 and I owed him another $4363.00. Who keeps $5000.00 lying around? ***** couldn't even get the math right. I had given him $1100.00 not a thousand. I shamed him down a thousand dollars. But ***** had parked my Explorer behind 3 other cars in the lot with the idea that I wouldn't pay the outrageous fees, and he would be able to keep it. He had to move all those car to get mine out. ***** had written a 2 year warranty on the receipt. In less than a year the truck broke down in White City. Luckily a friend I was with had a *** tow and they let me use it to tow a 4 wheel drive vehicle to grants pass and my house. That would have cost about $350.00. I let it sit for a while then had it towed to **** ***** They repaired the shifter linkage that had not been lock tighten onto the transmission and fell half way off. This didn't allow the linkage to send a signal to the computer saying the vehicle was in park. So the truck would not start. They described all of this on the bill. The bill was $43.00 dollars. It cost $74.00 to have the vehicle towed the 5 blocks to Star auto. I presented the bills to ***** at Extreme Auto. He paid the repair bill $43.00, he said he wasn't paying the tow charge. He also said the guys at **** **** were a bunch of idiots and some other expletives. But they fixed the truck for 43 dollars *****. He refused to pay the $73.00 tow charge. I said he got off lucky, the white city charge would have been about $350.00. He asked why didn't I bring it to him. I told him I didn't trust him, he asked why, I said because he told me the charge would be $1850.00 and then charged $5363.00. He denied the whole incident saying he called me. I left. The very next morning ***** called my house to tell me my warranty was void. I told him I expected something like this out of him. It would appear his 2 year warranty is only worth $43.00 and his transmission work isn't worth about the same.

Desired Settlement: My Warranty

Business Response: Initial Business Response /* (1000, 6, 2014/10/20) */ ***** ****** was informed of the price of transmission and transfer case repair at the time they were removed and inspected. and we did not charge him labor for installing 02 sensors or gear oil. we gave him a discount of $1077.00 because he came up short. The discount was more than the labor that was charged for the job. If we wanted to lean his car as he stated he wouldn't have received a discount.As for the warranty, if he would have brought it back to our shop to warrant the work, the tow would have been paid.Our warranty is not covered through *********. It was a simple fix for a year passed, work is holding up.warranty is now void because now another shop has now worked on the transmission and we will not warrant another shops work.transfer case was also rebuilt along with other work to bring total to 4340.00. Also we were never informed or contacted by customer or other shop that there was a problem with vehicle. customer came in door and threw receipt on counter and demanded payment in full immediately. customer was informed that our warranty is an inshop warranty not a nationwide warranty as we are a small business. Initial Consumer Rebuttal /* (3000, 8, 2014/10/23) */ (The consumer indicated he/she DID NOT accept the response from the business.) ***** ******* likes to make it up as he goes along. Everything I've stated in any statement about him has been true, with no embellishment. *** ***** was with me during the entire conversation and can attest in a written statement, (if required), that I did NOT throw the receipt on the counter and I did NOT Demand payment immediately. There would never have been any discussion of a discount if the price hadn't gone from $1,850.00 to $5,363.00 with no call or warning. While the transmission was out of the car I even visited the shop and spoke with ***** *******, ( the owner of "Extreme Auto Repair") in person. My Exact words were, I'm sure glad I found you at $1,850.00, 1998 Explorers aren't worth much more than $2000,00 these days. ***** said nothing about any extra charges at that time or any other time. Only when he called for me to come and get the car and at that time he said the grand total was $4,363.00. When I arrived I found that that "grand total" wasn't a grand total at all, it was supposedly on top of the $1100.00 I had paid down. Final Business Response /* (4000, 10, 2014/11/07) */ I ***** ******* of Xtreme Auto Repair have not made up stuff as ***** states. The dispute of my understanding was about the warranty not whether he is dis-satified with the price and how it came to be over a year ago.I have already reponded my comments on this case. This customers warranty is void and will have to remain void as he had another technician or shop not affliated with Xtreme Auto do work on said transmission that was under warranty with our business. Final Consumer Response /* (2000, 12, 2014/11/14) */ (The consumer indicated he/she ACCEPTED the response from the business.) *************** is a registered member of the BBB. extreme auto is not. unless they have registered in the last two months. ********** repaired my truck for 43.50. This is the verbiage used on the bill; Lifted Vehicle on rack-checked and found shift linkage bolts loose and not going into park. Tightened and lock tightened the bolt. Starts and goes into park every time. Because *****, the guy who farmed out the work on the transmission in my Explorer couldn't even reinstall it with any kind of skill the shift linkage was falling off causing the Explorer to break down 33 miles from my home, I had to have it towed at a cost of 280 dollars to my house. ********** is 3 blocks from my house the tow bill was 73 dollars to their shop. The repair was 43 dollars. ***** *******, at extreme auto decided he didn't have to pay the tow and that his 2 year warranty was worth 43 dollars. Note the language used in his replies, "almost a year" and "over a year" I was extremely generous with ***** in only asking for his warranty to be honored and not the entire repair fee returned in cash. ***** quoted $1850.00 and charged $5363.00. To rebuild the transmission in a 1998 Ford Explorer. I knew he would not honor his warranty. I am a United States Veteran, I know Honor. Honor is not a trait you are born with it is a skill that is learned through hard experience. All those who read this complaint should take heed. Thank those at the BBB who have tended this complaint. I would never take anything to ***** again so I will end this. May it serve as a warning to others.


Customer Review(s)

The customer review(s) below are un-filtered. These positive and negative reviews are not used in the calculation of the BBB Rating. If you wish to file a complaint and request a resolution to your issue please click here. This customer review section is not BBBs complaint resolution system. Customer Reviews are the subjective opinion of the individual who posted the review and not of Better Business Bureau. A customer review is not posted on a business if a BBB complaint on the same issue(s) is also filed. BBB cannot guarantee the accuracy of any customer review and is not responsible for the content of any customer review. Public comments are not customer reviews.

Customer Reviews Summary

0 Customer Reviews on Xtreme Auto Repair
Positive Experience (0 reviews)
Neutral Experience (0 reviews)
Negative Experience (0 reviews)